: 2016 Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Qs & As

Q1. What is the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund?

A.

The Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) is the Province’s main unconditional transfer payment to municipalities.

In 2012, we announced the review of the OMPF and the phase-down of the program by 2016.  This is the final year of the phase-down that was part of the Province’s agreement with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and municipalities in 2008 to upload social assistance benefit programs as well as court security and prisoner transportation costs off the property tax base.

Despite the phase-down of the program, overall support provided to municipalities will continue to increase, with the provincial uploads more than offsetting the reduction to the program.

Q2. How much funding will municipalities receive through the OMPF in 2016?

A.

The Province will provide over $2.3 billion to municipalities through the combined benefit of both the OMPF and provincial uploads.

  • $505 million through the OMPF, and
  • over $1.8 billion in provincial uploads.

This combined benefit is nearly four times the level of funding provided in 2004, and is the equivalent of 13 per cent of municipal property tax revenue in the province.

Q3. How is the 2016 OMPF different from 2015 program?

A.

The 2016 OMPF builds on the redesigned program that was announced in 2014.

The 2016 OMPF reflects the core objectives of the redesigned program, while balancing the range of views expressed by municipalities through this year’s consultations. 

Specifically, the 2016 OMPF will continue to increase targeted support to municipalities facing more challenging fiscal circumstances by increasing the Fiscal Circumstances Grant to $67 million, an increase of over 20 per cent to this grant component. 

In addition, beginning in 2016, the Rural Communities Grant, which continues to support rural farming communities, will be enhanced to $143 million.  This funding increase will be targeted to municipalities with the highest levels of farm land, in recognition of their unique challenges.

Finally, in response to municipal feedback, the 2016 minimum funding guarantees for municipalities in southern Ontario will be increased to at least 85 per cent of their 2015 OMPF allocation. Northern municipalities will continue to receive at least 90 per cent of their 2015 OMPF allocation.

Municipalities with the most challenging fiscal circumstances will continue to have their funding maintained at 100 per cent of the prior year’s allocation.

Q4. How will the 2016 OMPF support rural, farming communities?

A.

The OMPF has always recognized the unique challenges of rural farming communities.

Beginning in 2016, the Rural Communities Grant, which supports rural farming municipalities, will be enhanced to $143 million.  This funding increase will be targeted to municipalities with the highest levels of farm land as measured by the Farm Area Measure.

The Ministry of Finance has worked with municipalities to develop a Farm Area Measure, which calculates the percentage of a municipality’s land area comprised of farm land.

Per household funding provided through the Rural Communities Grant will be enhanced on a sliding scale for municipalities with a Farm Area Measure of more than 70 per cent, in recognition of their particular challenges.

Q5. What is Transitional Assistance?

A.

In addition to the OMPF four core grant components, the 2016 program continues to include a significant amount of transitional assistance in order to provide municipalities with stability as they adjust to the redesigned program.

Through the consultation process, we have heard that ensuring a manageable transition to the redesigned program continues to be an important focus for many municipalities. In response to this municipal feedback, the 2016 minimum funding guarantees for municipalities in southern Ontario will be increased to at least 85 per cent of their 2015 OMPF allocation. Northern municipalities will continue to receive at least 90 per cent of their 2015 OMPF allocation.

Municipalities with the most challenging fiscal circumstances will continue to have their funding maintained at 100 per cent of the prior year’s allocation.

Q6. What will the program look like beyond 2016? What is the longer-term vision for the OMPF?

A.

In 2016, the phase-down of the OMPF will be complete, and the design of the core grants now reflects the long-term objectives of the program.

While the program continues to include transitional funding, the core objectives of the program have been established. While this confirms the long-term goals of the program, we will continue to work with our municipal partners on potential refinements to the program to ensure the OMPF reflects the priorities of municipalities.

Q7. What is the government doing to help municipalities?

A.

Our government has a very strong record of supporting and working with municipalities.

In 2016 alone, municipalities will benefit from over $3.8 billion in ongoing support through the OMPF, provincial uploads and other provincial initiative – an increase of $2.7 billion from the level provided in 2003. 

In 2016, the Province continues to deliver on its commitment to upload social assistance benefit programs as well as court security and prisoner transportation costs off the property tax base.

It is important to note that the provincial uploads have ensured that more property tax dollars are available for important municipal priorities, including investments in infrastructure and economic development.

Furthermore, our significant investments in municipal infrastructure are supporting communities across the province.

Ontario is making the largest infrastructure investment in Ontario’s history with more than $130 billion over ten years. These investments will benefit municipalities across the province, whether it’s a new school, repairs to provincial highways or funding to help a municipality make critical repairs to a local bridge. This includes the permanent $100 million per year Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF), as well as the $15 million annual investment for the new Connecting Links program beginning in 2016.

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario de 2016
Q et R

Q1. Qu’est-ce que le FPMO?

R.

Le Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) représente le principal paiement de transfert inconditionnel de la province aux municipalités.

En 2012, le gouvernement annonçait l’examen du FPMO et la diminution progressive du financement d’ici 2016. Il s’agit de la dernière année de la réduction progressive du FPMO qui faisait partie de l’entente, conclue en 2008 entre le gouvernement de l’Ontario, l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO) et les municipalités, concernant la reprise des coûts relatifs aux programmes de prestations d’aide sociale et des coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des détenus, et la suppression de ces coûts de l’assiette foncière.

Malgré les ajustements apportés au programme, l’aide totale accordée aux municipalités continuera d’augmenter, et les reprises provinciales feront plus que compenser la réduction du programme.

Q2. Quel est le montant de financement que les municipalités recevront grâce au FPMO en 2016?

R.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera plus de 2,3 milliards de dollars aux municipalités grâce à l’avantage combiné des subventions du FPMO et des reprises provinciales.

  • 505 millions de dollars grâce aux subventions du FPMO;
  • plus de 1,8 milliard de dollars grâce aux reprises provinciales.

L’avantage combiné sera de près de quatre fois supérieur au niveau de financement octroyé en 2004, et il équivaudra à 13 pour cent des recettes tirées de l’impôt foncier municipal dans la province.

Q3. En quoi le programme de 2016 sera-t-il différent de celui de 2015?

R.

Le FPMO de 2016 s’appuie sur le programme remanié qui a été annoncé en 2014.

Le FPMO de 2016 reflète les objectifs clés du programme remanié tout en équilibrant les points de vue exprimés par les municipalités lors des consultations de cette année.

Le FPMO de 2016 accentuera particulièrement le soutien aux municipalités aux prises avec une situation financière plus difficile en augmentant la Subvention liée à la situation financière à 67 millions de dollars, soit une hausse de plus de 20 pour cent de cette subvention.

Aussi, à compter de 2016, la Subvention aux collectivités rurales, qui vient en aide aux collectivités rurales agricoles, sera augmentée à 143 millions de dollars. Cette augmentation ciblera les municipalités comptant le plus grand nombre de terres agricoles, en raison des défis uniques auxquels elles sont confrontées.

Enfin, en réponse aux commentaires des municipalités, les niveaux d’aide minimum pour 2016 pour les municipalités du Sud de l’Ontario seront augmentés à au moins 85 pour cent des affectations consenties dans le FPMO de 2015. Les municipalités du Nord continueront de recevoir au moins 90 pour cent des affectations consenties dans le FPMO de 2015.

Les municipalités dont la situation financière est la plus précaire continueront de recevoir 100 pour cent du montant alloué l’année précédente.

Q4. De quelle façon le FPMO de 2016 soutiendra-t-il les collectivités rurales agricoles?

R.

Le FPMO a toujours reconnu les défis uniques auxquels sont confrontées les collectivités rurales agricoles. À compter de 2016, la Subvention aux collectivités rurales, qui vient en aide aux collectivités rurales agricoles, sera augmentée à 143 millions de dollars. Cette augmentation ciblera les municipalités comptant le plus grand nombre de terres agricoles déterminées selon la mesure de la superficie agricole.

Le ministère des Finances, en collaboration avec les municipalités, a travaillé à la conception d’une mesure de la superficie agricole, qui calcule le pourcentage de la superficie de la municipalité réservé aux terres agricoles.

Le financement par ménage fourni dans le cadre de la Subvention aux collectivités rurales sera augmenté progressivement pour les municipalités dont la mesure de la superficie agricole est plus de 70 pour cent, afin de tenir compte de leurs défis particuliers.

Q5. Qu’entend-on par « aide transitoire »?

R.

En plus des quatre subventions de base du FPMO, un montant important sera une fois de plus accordé en 2016 sous la forme d’une aide transitoire afin d’assurer une stabilité aux municipalités à mesure qu’elles s’adapteront au programme remanié.

Dans le cadre des consultations, nous avons appris que, pour de nombreuses municipalités, la garantie d’une transition facile au programme remanié est une importante préoccupation. En réponse aux commentaires des municipalités, les niveaux d’aide minimum pour 2016 pour les municipalités du Sud de l’Ontario seront augmentés à au moins 85 pour cent des affectations consenties dans le FPMO de 2015. Les municipalités du Nord continueront de recevoir au moins 90 pour cent des affectations consenties dans le FPMO de 2015.
           
Les municipalités dont la situation financière est la plus précaire continueront de recevoir 100 pour cent du montant alloué l’année précédente.

Q6. À quoi ressemblera le programme au-delà de 2016? Quel est l’objectif à plus long terme du FPMO?

R.

En 2016, la réduction du FPMO sera complétée de sorte que la conception des quatre subventions de base reflète maintenant les objectifs à long terme du programme.

Si le programme prévoit toujours un financement transitoire, ses objectifs fondamentaux ont été déterminés. Si cela confirme les objectifs à long terme du programme, nous poursuivrons le dialogue avec nos partenaires municipaux afin de déceler des améliorations possibles au programme et de nous assurer que le FPMO reflète les priorités des municipalités.

Q7. Que fait le gouvernement pour aider les municipalités?
R.

Notre gouvernement offre son soutien et sa collaboration aux municipalités depuis longtemps.

En 2016 seulement, le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera aux municipalités plus de 3,8 milliards de dollars grâce aux subventions du FPMO, aux reprises provinciales et à d’autres initiatives provinciales, ce qui représente une hausse de 2,7 milliards de dollars par rapport aux montants accordés en 2003.

En 2016, le gouvernement de l’Ontario maintiendra son engagement concernant la reprise des coûts relatifs aux programmes de prestations d’aide sociale et des coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des détenus, et la suppression de ces coûts de l’assiette foncière.

Il est important de noter que les reprises provinciales ont permis de consacrer plus d’argent de l’impôt foncier à d’importantes priorités municipales, notamment à des investissements dans les infrastructures et le développement économique.

De plus, nos importants investissements dans les infrastructures municipales viennent en aide à des collectivités dans l’ensemble de l’Ontario.

L’Ontario effectue les plus importants investissements dans l’infrastructure de l’histoire de la province – plus de 130 milliards de dollars sur 10 ans. Ces investissements profiteront aux municipalités de la province, que ce soit par l’ajout d’une école, par des réparations d’autoroutes provinciales ou par l’octroi de fonds pour aider une municipalité à effectuer des réparations urgentes à un pont de sa région. Cela comprend le montant fixe de 100 millions de dollars par année consenti au Fonds ontarien pour l’infrastructure communautaire (FOIC) ainsi qu’un investissement annuel de 15 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Programme des routes de raccordement aux routes principales qui commencera en 2016.