: Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Heads of Council Letter

Ministry of Finance


Office of the Minister

7th Floor
Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

Office of the Minister

17th Floor
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

Province of Ontario coat of arms

November 17, 2015

Dear Head of Council:

We are writing to announce the release of the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) program allocations for 2016.

In 2016, the Province will provide a total of $505 million in unconditional funding through the OMPF to 388 municipalities across the province.  This funding, combined with the municipal benefit resulting from the provincial uploads, will total more than $2.3 billion in 2016.  This is nearly four times the level of funding provided in 2004.

As you know, 2016 is the final year of the phase-down of the OMPF program that was announced in 2012, and was part of our 2008 upload agreement with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and other municipalities.  The redesigned program, introduced in 2014, supports municipalities with limited property assessment; recognizes the unique challenges of northern and rural municipalities; and better targets funding to northern and rural municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances. 

Over the past year, the Province has continued to consult with AMO and other municipal representatives to further refine the design of the OMPF to ensure that the program meets the long-term priorities of municipalities. The 2016 OMPF reflects the core objectives of the redesigned program, while balancing the range of views expressed by municipalities through this year’s consultations. 

As announced in the 2015 Ontario Budget, to further support northern municipalities, the Northern Communities grant component of the OMPF will be enhanced to $84 million in 2016, increasing the total 2016 OMPF to $505 million rather than the $500 million previously planned for 2016.

The 2016 program will further  target funding to northern and rural municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances by increasing the Northern and Rural Fiscal Circumstances Grant to $67 million from $55 million in 2015. 

Also beginning in 2016, the Rural Communities Grant, which continues to support rural farming communities, will be enhanced to $143 million.  This funding increase will be targeted to municipalities with the highest levels of farm land, in recognition of their unique challenges.

Through the consultation process, we have heard that ensuring a manageable transition to the redesigned program continues to be an important focus for many municipalities. In response to this feedback, the 2016 minimum funding guarantees for municipalities in southern Ontario will be increased to at least 85 per cent of their 2015 OMPF allocation. Northern municipalities will continue to receive at least 90 per cent of their 2015 OMPF allocation. These minimum levels of support will be further enhanced up to 100 per cent for municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances.

The Ministry of Finance’s (MOF) Provincial-Local Finance Division will be providing your municipal Treasurers and Clerk-Treasurers with further details on the 2016 OMPF.  This information and other supporting materials will be posted in both English and French on the MOF website:

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2016  

We are also pleased to continue our commitment to the phased upload of Ontario Works (OW) benefits and court security and prisoner transportation costs. This builds on the Province's previous uploads of Ontario Drug Benefits (ODB) and Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP). 

As a result of the uploads, municipalities will benefit from more than $1.8 billion in reduced costs in 2016 alone. Combined with the OMPF, this is the equivalent of 13 per cent of municipal property tax revenue in the province.

Despite the phase-down of the OMPF, our commitment to the provincial uploads means that overall support to municipalities will continue to increase, with the provincial uploads more than offsetting the reduction to the program.

Our government has a very strong record of supporting and working with municipalities.  In 2016, municipalities will benefit from more than $3.8 billion in ongoing support through the OMPF, provincial uploads, and other provincial initiatives – an increase of $2.7 billion from the level provided in 2003.

Our significant investments in municipal infrastructure are supporting communities across Ontario.

Ontario is making the largest infrastructure investment in Ontario’s history with more than $130 billion over ten years. These investments will benefit municipalities across the province, whether it’s a new school, repairs to provincial highways or funding to help a municipality make critical repairs to a local bridge.

Included in this plan is Moving Ontario Forward – the Province’s plan to invest $31.5 billion in transit, transportation and other priority infrastructure across Ontario over ten years. As part of Moving Ontario Forward, the permanent $100 million per year Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF) is supporting the revitalization and repair of roads, bridges and other critical infrastructure in small, rural and northern communities. Also included as part of this plan is the $15 million annual investment for the new Connecting Links program beginning in 2016.

We look forward to continuing to work with our municipal partners to ensure the design of the OMPF continues to reflect the long-term priorities of municipalities.

Sincerely,

Information copy
Original signed by

Charles Sousa
Minister
Ministry of Finance

Information copy
Original signed by

Ted McMeekin
Minister
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de L'Ontario - Lettre adressée aux présidentes et présidents de conseil

Ministère des Finances


Bureau du ministre

7e étage, Edifice Frost sud
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON  M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca

Ministère des Affaires  municipales et du Logement

Bureau du ministre

17e étage
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

Province of Ontario coat of arms

Le 17 novembre 2015

À la présidence du conseil:

Nous vous écrivons pour vous faire part des affectations au titre du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) pour 2016.

En 2016, le gouvernement de l’Ontario octroiera un financement inconditionnel totalisant 505 millions de dollars aux termes du FPMO à 388 municipalités à l’échelle de la province. Ce financement, conjugué aux avantages accordés aux municipalités du fait des reprises provinciales, totalisera plus de 2,3 milliards de dollars en 2016. Cela représente près de quatre fois le financement consenti en 2004.

Comme vous le savez, 2016 est la dernière année de la réduction progressive du FPMO annoncée en 2012, et qui faisait partie de notre entente de reprise provinciale de 2008 avec l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO) et d’autres municipalités. Ce programme remanié, lancé en 2014, vient en aide aux municipalités dont l’évaluation foncière est limitée et tient compte des défis particuliers auxquels font face les municipalités rurales et du Nord tout en ciblant le financement de celles dont la situation financière est la plus précaire.

Au fil des ans, la province a régulièrement consulté l’AMO et d’autres représentants des municipalités afin de peaufiner le FPMO pour veiller à ce que le programme réponde aux priorités à long terme des municipalités. Le FPMO de 2016 reflète les objectifs clés du programme remanié tout en équilibrant les divers points de vue exprimés par les municipalités lors des consultations de cette année.

Comme il a été annoncé dans le cadre du budget 2015 de l’Ontario, afin de mieux soutenir les municipalités du Nord, la Subvention aux collectivités du Nord du FPMO sera augmentée à 84 millions de dollars en 2016, ce qui fera passer le total du FPMO à 505 millions en 2016, au lieu des 500 millions initialement prévus.

Le programme de 2016 ciblera le financement des municipalités rurales et du Nord dont la situation financière est plus précaire en augmentant la Subvention liée à la situation financière pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord à 67 millions de dollars comparativement aux 55 millions octroyés en 2015.

Aussi, à compter de 2016, la Subvention aux collectivités rurales, qui vient en aide aux collectivités rurales agricoles, sera augmentée à 143 millions de dollars. Cette augmentation ciblera les municipalités comptant le plus grand nombre de terres agricoles, en raison des défis uniques auxquels elles sont confrontées.

Dans le cadre des consultations, nous avons appris que pour bon nombre de municipalités, la garantie d’une transition facile au programme remanié est une importante préoccupation. En réponse à ces commentaires, les niveaux d’aide minimum pour 2016 pour les municipalités du Sud de l’Ontario seront augmentés à au moins 85 % des affectations consenties dans le FPMO de 2015. Les municipalités du Nord continueront de recevoir au moins 90 % des affectations consenties dans le FPMO de 2015. Ces niveaux d’aide minimum seront bonifiés jusqu’à 100 % pour les municipalités aux prises avec une situation financière plus difficile.

La Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances du ministère des Finances fournira à vos trésoriers et secrétaires-trésoriers municipaux plus de détails sur le FPMO de 2016. Cette information et du matériel de soutien seront affichés en français et en anglais sur le site Web du ministère des Finances :

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2016 

Nous sommes également ravis de poursuivre la reprise progressive des prestations du programme Ontario au travail (OT) et des coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des détenus. Cela s’appuie sur les précédentes reprises de la Province dans le cadre du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO) et du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH).

Grâce aux reprises, les municipalités constateront un avantage de plus de 1,8 milliard de dollars en réduction de coûts pour 2016 seulement. Les reprises et le FPMO représentent donc 13 % des recettes tirées de l’impôt foncier municipal dans la province.

Malgré la réduction progressive du FPMO, notre engagement envers les reprises provinciales signifie que notre aide totale aux municipalités continuera d’augmenter, puisque les reprises provinciales font plus que compenser la réduction du programme.

Notre gouvernement offre son soutien et sa collaboration aux municipalités depuis longtemps. En 2016 seulement, le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera aux municipalités plus de 3,8 milliards de dollars grâce aux subventions du FPMO, aux reprises provinciales et à d’autres initiatives provinciales, ce qui représente une hausse de 2,7 milliards de dollars par rapport aux montants accordés en 2003.

Nos importants investissements dans les infrastructures municipales viennent en aide à des collectivités de partout en Ontario.

L’Ontario effectue les plus importants investissements dans l’infrastructure de l’histoire de la province – plus de 130 milliards de dollars sur 10 ans. Ces investissements profiteront aux municipalités de la province, que ce soit par l’ajout d’une école, des réparations d’autoroutes provinciales ou par l’octroi de fonds pour aider une municipalité à effectuer des réparations urgentes à un pont de sa région.

Ce plan s’appuie sur l’initiative Faire progresser l’Ontario : le plan de la province pour investir 31,5 milliards de dollars dans les transports, notamment les transports en commun, et d’autres infrastructures prioritaires partout en Ontario, sur une période de 10 ans. Dans le cadre de Faire progresser l’Ontario, le Fonds ontarien pour l’infrastructure communautaire (FOIC) – un montant permanent de 100 millions de dollars par année – soutient la revitalisation et la réparation des routes, des ponts et des autres infrastructures essentielles dans les petites collectivités rurales et du Nord. Ce plan propose aussi un investissement annuel de 15 millions de dollars pour le nouveau Programme des routes de raccordement aux routes principales qui commencera en 2016.

Nous souhaitons poursuivre le dialogue avec nos partenaires municipaux pour faire en sorte que le FPMO reflète les priorités à long terme des municipalités.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, nos salutations distinguées.

Copie pour information
Original signé par

Charles Sousa
Ministre
Ministère des Finances

Copie pour information
Original signé par

Ted McMeekin
Ministre
Ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement