: 2017 Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Qs & As

Q. What is the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF)?

A. The OMPF is the Province’s main unconditional transfer payment to municipalities.

In 2017, the Province will maintain OMPF funding at $505 million, which will provide unconditional support to 388 municipalities across the province. The Province will continue to provide unconditional funding in 2017 and beyond.

The OMPF was redesigned in 2014 following consultations with municipalities from across the province. A key component of the redesigned OMPF is that it better targets funding to northern and rural municipalities with challenging fiscal circumstances.

Consultations with municipalities have continued over the past year and have focused on refining the program to ensure it meets the long-term priorities of municipalities.

Q. How much funding will municipalities receive through the OMPF in 2017?

A. In 2017, the Province will provide over $2.4 billion to municipalities through the combined benefit of both the OMPF and provincial uploads. This is equivalent of 13 per cent of municipal property tax revenue in the province.

  • $505 million through the OMPF, and
  • over $1.9 billion in provincial uploads.

This combined benefit is nearly four times the level of funding provided in 2004.

Q. How is the 2017 OMPF different from 2016 program?

A. The 2017 OMPF reflects the core objectives of the redesigned program, while balancing the range of views expressed by municipalities through this year’s consultations. Specifically in 2017, the program will:

  • Further target support to municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances by increasing the Northern and Rural Fiscal Circumstances Grant to $82 million from $67 million in 2016;
  • Further enhance funding for municipalities across the province with the highest levels of farm land by increasing the Rural Communities Grant to $148 million from
    $143 million in 2016. This builds upon the enhancement for farming communities introduced in 2016; and
  • Continue to ensure that minimum levels of funding assist municipalities by providing $41 million through Transitional Assistance. Minimum funding guarantees will be set at 85 per cent of 2016 allocations for municipalities in southern Ontario and 90 per cent for municipalities in northern Ontario. These minimum levels of support will be enhanced up to 100 per cent for northern and rural municipalities, across the province, with more challenging fiscal circumstances.

Q. How does the 2017 OMPF support rural, farming communities?

A. The government has always recognized the unique challenges of rural communities.

In fact, the majority of support – nearly 75 per cent of total OMPF funding – will be allocated to rural communities, compared to just over 50 per cent in 2008. 

Under the 2017 OMPF, the Province will provide rural municipalities with $731 million in support through the combined benefit of the OMPF and provincial uploads – an increase of $348 million, or more than 91 per cent over 2004. This includes:

  • $377 million in funding through the OMPF, which translates into $300 per household – more than 3 times the provincial average.
  • $354 million in provincial uploads.

In addition, the Rural Communities Grant will be enhanced to $148 million from $143 million in 2016, with this funding targeted to rural municipalities across the province with the highest levels of farmland. This funding increase will build upon the funding enhancement introduced last year to recognize the particular challenges of these municipalities.

Rural municipalities will also benefit from the increase to the Northern and Rural Fiscal Circumstances Grant.

Q. How does the 2017 OMPF support northern communities?

A. The government continues to recognize challenges faced by northern communities.

In fact, the OMPF is now largely a northern and rural grant, allocating over 90 per cent of total funding to northern and rural municipalities.

Under the 2017 OMPF, the Province will provide northern municipalities with
$348 million in support through the combined benefit of the OMPF and provincial uploads – an increase of $95 million, or over 38 per cent over 2004. This includes:

  • $207 million in funding through the OMPF, which translates into $560 per household – nearly 10 times the average in the rest of the province.
  • $141 million in provincial uploads.

Q. What is Transitional Assistance?

A. In addition to the OMPF’s four core grant components, the 2017 program continues to include Transitional Assistance to assist municipalities as they adjust to the redesigned program. This funding ensures that municipalities receive a guaranteed level of support in 2017 based on their 2016 OMPF allocation.

In 2017, minimum funding guarantees have been set at 85 per cent for southern Ontario and 90 per cent for northern Ontario.  This means that municipalities in southern Ontario will receive at least 85 per cent of their 2016 OMPF allocation and northern municipalities will receive at least 90 per cent of their 2016 OMPF allocation.

These minimum levels of support will continue to be enhanced, up to 100 per cent, for eligible northern and rural municipalities across the province with more challenging fiscal circumstances, as measured by the Northern and Rural MFCI.

Q. What will the program look like beyond 2017? What is the longer-term vision for the OMPF?

A. While the program continues to include transitional funding, the core objectives of the program have been established and will continue. In 2017, the Province will maintain OMPF funding at $505 million, which will provide unconditional support to 388 municipalities across the province. The Province will continue to provide unconditional funding in 2017 and beyond.

Within this framework, we will continue to work with our municipal partners on potential
refinements to the program to ensure the OMPF reflects the priorities of municipalities.

Q. What is the government doing to support municipalities?

A. Our government has a very strong record of supporting and working with municipalities.

In 2017 alone, municipalities will benefit from more than $4 billion in ongoing support through the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF), provincial uploads, and other provincial initiatives — an increase of $2.9 billion from the level provided in 2003.

  • This includes over $2.4 billion to municipalities through the combined benefit of both the OMPF and provincial uploads.

Going forward, the government’s focus will be on investing in the infrastructure that is vital to the health, prosperity and quality of life of Ontarians. In partnership with communities, Ontario is making significant infrastructure investments to create jobs and help the Province grow and prosper.

The Province’s infrastructure commitments include transit, transportation and other priority infrastructure through Moving Ontario Forward that is supported by $31.5 billion in dedicated funds.

  • This plan includes about $15 billion for projects outside the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area (GTHA) and about $16 billion for projects in the GTHA.
  • As announced in the 2016 Ontario Budget, as part of Moving Ontario Forward, the Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF) is being expanded to $300 million per year by 2019, which will provide ongoing support for critical local infrastructure priorities.  The expanded fund was launched in July of 2016.  
  • Also announced in the 2016 Ontario Budget, the government is introducing a new Connecting Links program that will provide $20 million in 2016-17 to help municipalities pay for construction and repair costs for municipal roads that connect two ends of a provincial highway through a community or to a border crossing.
    • Funding for this program will increase to $30 million per year by 2018-19.

In addition, the Province signed a bilateral agreement with the federal government to make funding available under the federal Clean Water and Wastewater Fund (CWWF). The Province will contribute about $270 million in funding through the program to support immediate improvements to water distribution and treatment infrastructure, starting in 2016-17. This is in addition to a federal contribution of about $570 million.

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario de 2017
Q et R

Q. Qu’est-ce que le Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO)?

R.  Le FPMO représente le principal paiement de transfert inconditionnel de la province aux municipalités.

En 2017, la province maintiendra le FPMO à 505 millions de dollars, ce qui fournira une aide inconditionnelle à 388 municipalités à l’échelle provinciale. La province continuera de fournir un financement inconditionnel en 2017 et au-delà.

Le FPMO a été redéfini en 2014 à la suite des consultations auprès des municipalités à l'échelle de la province. Un élément clé du FPMO remanié est qu’il cible mieux le financement des municipalités rurales et du Nord dont la situation financière est précaire.

Les consultations avec les municipalités se sont poursuivies au cours de la dernière année et se sont concentrées sur l’amélioration du programme pour s’assurer qu’il respecte les priorités à long terme des municipalités.

Q. Quel est le montant de financement que les municipalités recevront grâce au FPMO en 2017?

R. En 2017, le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera plus de 2,4 milliards de dollars aux municipalités grâce à l’avantage combiné des subventions du FPMO et des reprises provinciales. Cela représente 13 pour cent des recettes tirées de l’impôt foncier municipal dans la province.

  • 505 millions de dollars grâce aux subventions du FPMO;
  • plus de 1,9 milliard de dollars grâce aux reprises provinciales.

L'avantage combiné sera de près de quatre fois au niveau de financement octroyé en 2004.

Q. En quoi le programme de 2017 sera-t-il différent de celui de 2016?

R. Le FPMO de 2017 reflète les objectifs clés du programme remanié tout en équilibrant les points de vue exprimés par les municipalités lors des consultations de cette année. En 2017, le programme :

  • se concentrera particulièrement sur le financement des municipalités dont la situation financière est plus précaire, en augmentant la Subvention liée à la situation financière pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord à 82 millions de dollars, comparativement aux 67 millions octroyés en 2016;
  • rehaussera encore davantage le financement des municipalités à l’échelle de la province comptant les plus hauts niveaux de terres agricoles, en augmentant la Subvention aux collectivités rurales à 148 millions de dollars, comparativement à
    143 millions de dollars en 2016. Cela s'ajoute au rehaussement pour les collectivités agricoles mis en place en 2016; et
  • continuera d’assurer un niveau de financement minimal aux municipalités en fournissant 41 millions de dollars par l’intermédiaire de l’aide transitoire. Les niveaux d’aide minimum seront établis à 85 pour cent des allocations consenties en 2016 pour les municipalités du Sud de l’Ontario, et à 90 pour cent pour les municipalités du Nord de l’Ontario. Ces niveaux d'aide minimum seront bonifiés jusqu'à 100 pour cent pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord, à l’échelle provinciale, dont la situation financière est particulièrement précaire.

Q. De quelle façon le FPMO de 2017 soutiendra-t-il les collectivités rurales et agricoles?

R. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a toujours reconnu les défis uniques auxquels sont confrontées les collectivités rurales.

En fait, la majorité de l’aide – près de 75 pour cent de tout le financement au titre du FPMO – sera attribuée aux communautés rurales, comparativement à un peu plus de 50 pour cent en 2008. 

Au titre du FPMO de 2017, le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera aux municipalités rurales 731 millions de dollars en aide par l’intermédiaire de l’avantage combiné du FPMO et des reprises provinciales – une augmentation de 348 millions de dollars, ou plus de 91 pour cent par rapport à 2004. Cela comprend notamment :

  • un financement de 377 millions de dollars par l’intermédiaire du FPMO, soit 300 dollars par ménage – plus de 3 fois la moyenne provinciale.
  • Des reprises provinciales de 354 millions de dollars.

De plus, la Subvention aux collectivités rurales sera augmentée à 148 millions de dollars comparativement à 143 millions de dollars en 2016, et ce financement sera destiné aux municipalités rurales à l’échelle de la province qui ont les plus hauts niveaux de terres agricoles. Cette augmentation de financement sera fondée sur le rehaussement introduit l’année dernière en raison des défis uniques auxquels ces municipalités sont confrontées.

Les municipalités rurales bénéficieront aussi de l’augmentation de la Subvention liée à la situation financière pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord.

Q. De quelle façon le FPMO de 2017 soutiendra-t-il les collectivités du Nord?

R. Le gouvernement continue de reconnaître les défis auxquels font face les collectivités du Nord.

En fait, le FPMO est maintenant en grande partie une subvention rurale et du Nord, octroyant plus de 90 pour cent du financement total aux municipalités rurales et du Nord.

Au titre du FPMO de 2017, le gouvernement de l’Ontario octroiera aux municipalités du Nord une aide de 348 millions de dollars grâce à l’avantage combiné du FPMO et des reprises provinciales – une augmentation de 95 millions de dollars, ou plus de 38  pour cent par rapport à 2004. Cela comprend notamment :

  • Une aide financière offerte dans le cadre du FPMO et s’élevant à 207 millions de dollars, soit l'équivalent de 560 dollars par ménage et près de 10 fois la moyenne du reste de la province.
  • Des reprises provinciales de 141 millions de dollars.

Q. Qu’entend-on par « aide transitoire »?

R. En plus des quatre subventions de base du FPMO, un montant sera une fois de plus accordé en 2017 sous la forme d’une aide transitoire afin d’aider les municipalités à s’ajuster au programme remanié. Ce financement veille à ce que les municipalités reçoivent en 2017 un niveau d'aide garanti en fonction de leur allocation au titre du FPMO de 2016.

En 2017, les niveaux d’aide minimum ont été établis à 85 pour cent pour le Sud de l’Ontario et à 90 pour cent pour le Nord de l’Ontario.  Cela signifie que les municipalités du Sud de l’Ontario recevront au moins 85 pour cent de leur allocation au titre du FPMO de 2016 et que les municipalités du Nord recevront au moins 90 pour cent de leur allocation au titre du FPMO de 2016.

Ces niveaux d’aide minimum continueront d'être bonifiés, jusqu’à 100 pour cent, pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord admissibles à l’échelle de la province qui connaissent une situation financière plus difficile, telle que mesurée par l’ISFM des municipalités rurales et du Nord.

Q. À quoi ressemblera le programme au-delà de 2017? Quel est l’objectif à plus long terme du FPMO?

A. Si le programme prévoit toujours un financement transitoire, les objectifs fondamentaux ont été déterminés et se poursuivront. En 2017, la province maintiendra le FPMO à 505 millions de dollars, ce qui fournira une aide inconditionnelle à 388 municipalités à l’échelle de la province. La province continuera de fournir un financement inconditionnel en 2017 et au-delà.

Dans ce contexte, nous poursuivrons le dialogue avec nos partenaires municipaux afin de déceler des améliorations possibles au programme et de nous assurer que le FPMO reflète les priorités des municipalités.

Q. Que fait le gouvernement pour aider les municipalités?

R. Notre gouvernement offre son soutien et sa collaboration aux municipalités depuis longtemps.

En 2017 seulement, le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera aux municipalités plus de 4 milliards de dollars grâce aux subventions du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO), aux reprises provinciales et à d’autres initiatives provinciales, ce qui représente une hausse de 2,9 milliards de dollars par rapport aux montants accordés en 2003.

  • Cela comprend environ 2,4 milliards de dollars aux municipalités grâce à l’avantage combiné des subventions du FPMO et des reprises provinciales.

Pour l'avenir, le gouvernement portera son attention sur les investissements dans les infrastructures qui sont essentielles à la santé, à la prospérité et à la qualité de vie des Ontariennes et des Ontariens. En partenariat avec les collectivités, l’Ontario fait des investissements importants pour créer des emplois et soutenir la croissance et la prospérité de la province.

Les engagements de la province dans les infrastructures comprennent les transports, notamment les transports en commun, et d'autres infrastructures prioritaires par l’intermédiaire de l'initiative Faire progresser l’Ontario, qui est soutenue par 31,5 milliards de dollars en fonds dédiés.

  • Ce plan prévoit des investissements d'environ 15 milliards de dollars dans des projets à l’extérieur de la région du grand Toronto et de Hamilton (RGTH), et de près de 16 milliards de dollars pour des projets dans cette région.
  • Comme il a été annoncé dans le Budget de l’Ontario 2016, dans le cadre de l'initiative Faire progresser l'Ontario, le Fonds ontarien pour l’infrastructure communautaire (FOIC) sera rehaussé de 300 millions de dollars par année d’ici 2019, ce qui soutiendra les projets essentiels d’infrastructures locales.  Le fonds rehaussé a été lancé en juillet 2016.  

Aussi, comme il a été annoncé dans le Budget de l’Ontario 2016, le gouvernement va présenter un nouveau Programme des routes de raccordement aux routes principales qui fournira 20 millions de dollars en 2016-2017 pour aider les municipalités à payer pour les coûts de construction et de réparation des routes qui relient deux tronçons d’une route provinciale à travers une collectivité ou qui mènent à un passage frontalier.

  • Le financement de ce programme atteindra 30 millions de dollars par année d’ici 2018-2019.

De plus, la province a conclu une entente bilatérale avec le gouvernement fédéral pour offrir du financement au titre du Fonds pour l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées (FEPTEU). La province versera une contribution d’environ 270 millions de dollars en financement par l’intermédiaire du programme pour soutenir des améliorations immédiates aux infrastructures de distribution et de traitement des eaux, et ce, à compter de 2016-2017. Ceci s’ajoute à une contribution fédérale d’environ 570 millions de dollars.