: Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Heads of Council Letter

Ministry of Finance


Office of the Minister

7th Floor
Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca

Ministry of Municipal Affairs

Office of the Minister

17th Floor
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

Province of Ontario coat of arms

November 10, 2016

Dear Head of Council:

We are writing to announce the release of the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) municipal allocations for 2017.

In 2017, the Province will maintain OMPF funding at $505 million, which will provide unconditional support to 388 municipalities across the province. The Province will continue to provide unconditional funding in 2017 and beyond.

When the OMPF is combined with the provincial uploads, the municipal benefit will total more than $2.4 billion in 2017. This is nearly four times the level of funding provided in 2004, and is the equivalent of 13 per cent of municipal property tax revenue. 

As you know, the OMPF was redesigned in 2014 following consultations with municipalities from across the province. Consultations with municipalities and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) have continued over the past year and have focused on refining the program to ensure it meets the long-term priorities of municipalities.

The 2017 OMPF reflects the core objectives of the redesigned program, while balancing the range of views expressed by municipalities through this year’s consultations. 

The 2017 program will further target support to municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances by increasing the Northern and Rural Fiscal Circumstances Grant to
$82 million from $67 million in 2016. This is an increase of over 20 per cent to this grant component and means that municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances will see their funding through this grant component increase in 2017.

Through the consultation process, we heard positive feedback on the funding enhancement introduced last year that is targeted to municipalities with the highest levels of farm land, in recognition of their unique challenges. In 2017, the Rural Communities Grant will be increased to $148 million from $143 million in 2016 to further target funding to municipalities across the province with the highest levels of farm land.

Finally, in order to help municipalities as they adjust to the redesigned program, municipalities will continue to receive a guaranteed minimum level of funding. The 2017 minimum funding guarantee for municipalities in southern Ontario will be at least 85 per cent of their 2016 OMPF allocations and for municipalities in northern Ontario will be at least 90 per cent of their 2016 OMPF allocations.

Municipalities in all regions of the province with the most challenging fiscal circumstances will continue to have their funding maintained at 100 per cent of the prior year’s allocation. 

The Ministry of Finance’s (MOF) Provincial-Local Finance Division will be providing your municipal Treasurers and Clerk-Treasurers with further details on the 2017 OMPF.  This information and other supporting materials will be posted in both English and French on the MOF website: http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2017

Our government has a very strong record of supporting and working with municipalities.
As outlined in the 2016 Ontario Budget, we are pleased to fulfil our commitment to the upload of social assistance benefit programs, as well as court security and prisoner transportation costs off the local property tax base. These uploads will be fully implemented by 2018. As a result of the uploads, municipalities will benefit from more than $1.9 billion in reduced costs in 2017 alone.

Our commitment to the provincial uploads means that overall support to municipalities will continue to increase. In 2017, municipalities will benefit from more than $4 billion in ongoing support through the OMPF, provincial uploads, and other provincial initiatives – an increase of $2.9 billion from the level provided in 2003.

Going forward, the government’s focus will be on investing in the infrastructure that is vital to the health, prosperity and quality of life of Ontarians. In partnership with communities, Ontario is making significant infrastructure investments to create jobs and help the Province grow and prosper.

The Province’s infrastructure commitments include transit, transportation and other priority infrastructure through Moving Ontario Forward that is supported by $31.5 billion in dedicated funds. As part of Moving Ontario Forward, the Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF) is being expanded to $300 million per year by 2018-2019, which will provide ongoing support for critical local infrastructure priorities.  The expanded fund was launched in July of 2016.  

In addition, the 2016 Ontario Budget announced that the government is introducing a new Connecting Links program that will provide $20 million in 2016-17 to help municipalities pay for construction and repair costs for municipal roads that connect two ends of a provincial highway through a community or to a border crossing. Funding for this program will increase to $30 million per year by 2018-19.

In September, the Province signed a bilateral agreement with the federal government to make funding available under the federal Clean Water and Wastewater Fund (CWWF). The Province will contribute about $270 million in funding through the program to support immediate improvements to water distribution and treatment infrastructure, starting in 2016-17. This is in addition to a federal contribution of about $570 million.

We remain committed to consulting with our municipal partners to ensure the design of the OMPF reflects municipal priorities. We look forward to continuing the strong partnership we have with communities across Ontario.

Sincerely,

Information copy
Original signed by

Charles Sousa
Minister of Finance

Information copy
Original signed by

Bill Mauro
Ministry of Municipal Affairs

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de L'Ontario - Lettre adressée aux présidentes et présidents de conseil

Ministère des Finances


Bureau du ministre

7e étage, Edifice Frost sud
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON  M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca

Ministère des Affaires  municipales et du Logement

Bureau du ministre

17e étage
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

Province of Ontario coat of arms

Le 10 novembre 2016

À la présidence du conseil :

Nous vous écrivons pour vous faire part des allocations aux municipalités au titre du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) pour 2017.

En 2017, la province maintiendra le FPMO à 505 millions de dollars, ce qui fournira une aide inconditionnelle à 388 municipalités à l’échelle provinciale. La province continuera de fournir un financement inconditionnel en 2017 et par la suite.

En combinant le FPMO et les reprises provinciales, les avantages accordés aux municipalités totaliseront plus de 2,4 milliards de dollars en 2017. Cela est près de quatre fois supérieur au niveau de financement octroyé en 2004, et équivaut à plus de 13 pour cent des recettes tirées de l’impôt foncier municipal. 

Comme vous le savez, le FPMO a été redéfini en 2014 à la suite des consultations auprès des municipalités à l'échelle de la province. Les consultations avec les municipalités et l’Association des municipalités de l'Ontario (AMO) se sont poursuivies au cours de la dernière année et se sont concentrées sur l’amélioration du programme pour s’assurer qu’il respecte les priorités à long terme des municipalités.

Le FPMO de 2017 reflète les objectifs clés du programme remanié tout en équilibrant les points de vue exprimés par les municipalités lors des consultations de cette année. 

Le programme de 2017 ciblera davantage le soutien aux municipalités dont la situation financière est précaire en augmentant la Subvention liée à la situation financière pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord à 82 millions de dollars, comparativement à 67 millions de dollars en 2016. Il s’agit donc d’une augmentation de plus de 20 pour cent de cette subvention, ce qui signifie que les municipalités aux prises avec une situation financière plus difficile verront leur financement augmenter en 2017 grâce à cette subvention.

Au cours du processus de consultation, nous avons entendu des commentaires favorables sur le rehaussement du financement introduit l’année dernière qui visait les municipalités comptant les niveaux les plus élevés de terres agricoles, en raison des défis uniques auxquels elles sont confrontées. En 2017, la Subvention aux collectivités rurales, qui était de 143 millions de dollars en 2016, augmentera à 148 millions de dollars afin de mieux cibler le soutien aux municipalités comptant les niveaux les plus élevés de terres agricoles.

Enfin, les municipalités continueront de recevoir les niveaux d’aide minimum pour les aider à s’ajuster au programme remanié. Les niveaux d’aide minimum de 2017 pour les municipalités du Sud de l’Ontario seront d’au moins 85 pour cent de leur allocation au titre du FPMO de 2016, et pour les municipalités du Nord de l’Ontario, elles seront d’au moins 90 pour cent de leur allocation au titre du FPMO de 2016.

Dans toutes les régions de la province, les municipalités dont la situation financière est la plus précaire continueront de recevoir 100 pour cent du montant alloué l’année précédente. 

La Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances du ministère des Finances fournira à vos trésoriers et secrétaires-trésoriers municipaux plus de détails sur le FPMO de 2017.  Cette information et du matériel de soutien seront affichés en français et en anglais sur le site Web du ministère des Finances : http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2017 

Notre gouvernement offre son soutien et sa collaboration aux municipalités depuis longtemps. Comme il est mentionné dans le Budget de l’Ontario 2016, nous sommes heureux de respecter notre engagement concernant la reprise des coûts relatifs aux programmes de prestations d’aide sociale et des coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des détenus, et la suppression de ces coûts de l’assiette foncière. Ces reprises seront entièrement mises en œuvre d’ici 2018. Grâce aux reprises, les municipalités constateront un avantage de plus de 1,9 milliard de dollars en réduction de coûts pour 2017 seulement.

Notre engagement à l'égard des reprises provinciales signifie que notre aide totale aux municipalités continuera d’augmenter. En 2017 seulement, le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera aux municipalités plus de 4 milliards de dollars grâce aux subventions du FPMO, aux reprises provinciales et à d’autres initiatives provinciales, ce qui représente une hausse de 2,9 milliards de dollars par rapport aux montants accordés en 2003.

Pour l'avenir, le gouvernement portera son attention sur les investissements dans les infrastructures qui sont essentielles à la santé, à la prospérité et à la qualité de vie des Ontariennes et des Ontariens. En partenariat avec les communautés, l’Ontario fait des investissements importants pour créer des emplois et soutenir la croissance et la prospérité de la province.

Les engagements de la province dans les infrastructures comprennent les transports, notamment les transports en commun, et d'autres infrastructures prioritaires par l’intermédiaire de l'initiative Faire progresser l’Ontario, qui est soutenue par 31,5 milliards de dollars en fonds dédiés. Dans le cadre de l'initiative Faire progresser l’Ontario, le Fonds ontarien pour l’infrastructure communautaire (FOIC) sera rehaussé de 300 millions de dollars par année d’ici 2018-2019, ce qui soutiendra les projets essentiels d’infrastructures locales.  Le fonds rehaussé a été lancé en juillet 2016.

De plus, le Budget de l’Ontario 2016 annonçait que le gouvernement va présenter un nouveau Programme des routes de raccordement aux routes principales qui fournira 20 millions de dollars en 2016-2017 pour aider les municipalités à payer pour les coûts de construction et de réparation des routes qui relient deux tronçons d’une route provinciale à travers une collectivité ou qui mènent à un passage frontalier. Le financement de ce programme atteindra 30 millions de dollars par année d’ici 2018-2019.

En septembre, la province a conclu une entente bilatérale avec le gouvernement fédéral pour offrir du financement au titre du Fonds pour l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées (FEPTEU). La province versera une contribution d’environ 270 millions de dollars en financement par l’intermédiaire du programme pour soutenir des améliorations immédiates aux infrastructures de distribution et de traitement des eaux, et ce, à compter de 2016-2017. Ceci s’ajoute à une contribution fédérale d’environ 570 millions de dollars.

Nous maintenons notre engagement de consulter nos partenaires municipaux pour faire en sorte que la conception du FPMO reflète les priorités des municipalités. Nous nous réjouissons de poursuivre notre solide partenariat avec les collectivités partout en Ontario.

Veuillez agréer nos salutations distinguées,

Copie pour information
Original signé par

Charles Sousa
Ministère des Finances

Copie pour information
Original signé par

Bill Mauro
Ministère des Affaires municipales