: Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF)

 

2018 OMPF

Overview

The OMPF is the Province’s main transfer payment to municipalities. In 2018, the Province will provide a total of $510 million in unconditional funding to 389 municipalities through the OMPF. This includes an additional $5 million in funding through the Northern Communities Grant to further support northern communities, as committed through the 2017 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review.

The OMPF, combined with the municipal benefit resulting from the provincial uploads, will total over $2.6 billion in 2018 and is equivalent to 14 per cent of municipal property tax revenue in the province.

OMPF Review and Redesign

The OMPF was redesigned in 2014 following consultations with municipalities from across the province. A key component of the redesigned OMPF is that it better targets funding to northern and rural municipalities with challenging fiscal circumstances.

The program is comprised of four core grant components as well as Transitional Assistance that reflect the following objectives:

  • support areas with limited property assessment;
  • recognize the challenges of northern and rural municipalities, while targeting funding to those with more challenging fiscal circumstances; and
  • assist municipalities as they transition to the redesigned program.

What’s New for 2018

In 2017, the Ministry of Finance has continued to consult with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and other municipal representatives on refining the design of the program to ensure it meets the long-term priorities of municipalities and targets funding to northern and rural municipalities with challenging fiscal circumstances.

The 2018 OMPF reflects the core objectives of the redesigned program, while balancing the range of views expressed by municipalities through this year’s consultations. Specifically, the 2018 program will:

  • Increase targeted support to municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances by increasing the Northern and Rural Fiscal Circumstances Grant to $89 million from $82 million in 2017.
  • Further recognize the challenges of northern municipalities by enhancing the Northern Communities Grant to $89 million, an increase of $5 million over 2017. This builds on the enhancement provided to northern municipalities in 2016.
  • Continue to support rural communities across the province through the Rural Communities Grant, which will total $150 million in 2018. The farm enhancement of the Rural Communities Grant will grow from $10 million in 2017 to $15 million in 2018 to further support municipalities with the highest levels of farm land.
  • Provide a guaranteed minimum level of funding in order to help municipalities as they adjust to the redesigned program. The 2018 funding guarantee for municipalities in southern Ontario is at least 85 per cent of their 2017 OMPF allocation and for municipalities in northern Ontario is at least 90 per cent of their 2017 OMPF allocation. These minimum levels of support are further enhanced up to 100 per cent for municipalities with the most challenging fiscal circumstances.

Provincial Uploads

In 2018, the Province will have fully implemented its commitment to upload social assistance benefit costs as well as court security and prisoner transportation costs from the property tax base, as agreed with municipalities in 2008. The benefit of the uploads will continue to grow for municipalities as the Province continues to assume future growth in the cost of the uploaded programs.

In 2018, the Province will have fully uploaded municipal costs for:

  • Ontario Works (OW) benefits;
  • Ontario Drug Benefit (ODB) costs;
  • Ontario Disability Support Program (ODSP) administration costs;
  • ODSP benefits; and
  • court security and prisoner transportation costs (up to $125 million annually).

Furthermore, the Province will make available $216 million in additional support for municipal OW administration costs.

2018 Upload Benefit to Municipalities
Program 2018
ODB Upload $273 million
ODSP Administration $85 million
ODSP Benefits $927 million
OW Benefits $485 million
Court Security and Prisoner Transportation $125 million
OW Administration additional support $216 million
Total Upload Benefit $2.1 billion

For additional details regarding the Provincial-Municipal Fiscal and Service Delivery Review (PMFSDR) report, see http://www.mah.gov.on.ca/Page181.aspx .

These uploads have ensured that more property tax dollars are available for important municipal priorities, including investments in infrastructure.

2018 Combined Benefit

Since 2009, support provided to municipalities has been calculated as a combination of both the OMPF and provincial uploads.

The OMPF, combined with the municipal benefit resulting from the provincial uploads, will total more than $2.6 billion in 2018, which is equivalent to 14 per cent of municipal property tax revenue in the province.

  • OMPF support of $510 million; and
  • the upload of over $2.1 billion in social assistance benefit costs and court security and prisoner transportation costs.

The government’s commitment to the provincial uploads means that overall support to municipalities will continue to increase.

2018 Combined Benefit Compared to Prior Years
  2004 2017 2018
CRF/OMPF $618 million $505 million $510 million
Provincial Uploads   $1.9 billion $2.1 billion
Combined Benefit $618 million $2.4 billion $2.6 billion
Year-over-Year Increase
$200 million
Increase Since 2004 $2 billion

Ongoing Support to Municipalities

In 2018, municipalities will benefit from more than $4.2 billion in ongoing support through the OMPF, provincial uploads, and other provincial initiatives — nearly four times the level provided in 2003.

For 2018, the total ongoing provincial support, in addition to the combined benefit of OMPF and uploads, includes:

  • $546 million in funding to support 50:50 cost sharing of land ambulance costs;
  • $568 million in public health funding for mandatory programs and the vector-borne diseases program, which includes the upload of public health costs from 50 per cent in 2004 to 75 per cent in 2007. This funding is part of the total $701 million in public health funding the Province provides for these programs and related support;
  • $334 million in provincial gas tax funding for the 2016–17 program year; and
  • Funding to small, rural and northern municipalities through the permanent Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF), including:
    • about $130 million in OCIF formula funding in 2018; and
    • an intake of $100 million under the OCIF top-up application component in 2018.
Chart: Ongoing Support to Municipalities Continues to Increase $1.1 billion in 2003 - $4.2 billion by 2018

Larger version of image
Accessible description of chart

Source: Provincial-Municipal Fiscal and Service Delivery Review: “Facing the Future Together” (October 2008); adjusted to reflect updated projections and funding announcements (e.g., Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund).

Additional Information

For additional information or for other general inquiries about the program, email your query and contact information to: info.ompf@ontario.ca

Graphic Descriptions

Ongoing Support to Municipalities Continues to Increase $1.1 billion in 2003 - $4.2 billion by 2018

This table shows provincial support to municipalities has continued to increase since 2003. The ongoing provincial support to municipalities was $1.1 Billion in 2003 and is projected to reach $4.2 billion by 2018.

Return to chart

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l'Ontario (FPMO)

FPMO DE 2018

Aperçu

Le FPMO représente le principal paiement de transfert provincial aux municipalités. En 2018, la province fournira une aide inconditionnelle de 510 millions de dollars à 389 municipalités par l’intermédiaire du FPMO. Ce montant inclut un financement additionnel de 5 millions de dollars par l’entremise de la subvention aux collectivités du Nord afin de bonifier le soutien qui leur est offert, conformément à l’engagement annoncé dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2017.

Le FPMO, conjugué aux avantages accordés aux municipalités du fait des reprises provinciales, totalisera plus de 2,6 milliards de dollars en 2018 et correspond à 14 % des revenus tirés de l’impôt foncier municipal dans la province.

Révision et refonte du FPMO

Le FPMO a été remanié en 2014 à la suite des consultations auprès des municipalités à l’échelle de la province. Un élément clé du FPMO remanié est qu’il permet de mieux cibler le financement pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord dont la situation financière est la plus précaire. 

Le programme consiste en un ensemble de quatre subventions de base ainsi qu’une aide transitoire ciblant les objectifs suivants :

  • aider les régions dont l’évaluation foncière est limitée;
  • tenir compte des défis auxquels font face les municipalités rurales et du Nord, tout en axant le financement vers celles dont la situation financière est la plus précaire;
  • aider les municipalités dans leur transition vers le programme remanié.

Quoi de neuf en 2018?

En 2017, le ministère des Finances a continué de consulter l’association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO) et d’autres représentants municipaux pour remanier le programme et veiller à ce qu’il réponde aux priorités à long terme des municipalités et qu’il axe le financement vers les municipalités rurales et du Nord dont la situation financière est précaire.

Le FPMO de 2018 tient compte des objectifs clés du programme remanié tout en équilibrant les points de vue exprimés par les municipalités lors des consultations de cette année. Le programme de 2018 cherche plus précisément à :

  • Accorder un soutien accru aux municipalités dont la situation financière est la plus précaire en augmentant la Subvention liée à la situation financière pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord pour l’établir à 89 millions de dollars, par rapport à 82 millions de dollars en 2017.
  • Reconnaître davantage les défis auxquels font face les collectivités du Nord en bonifiant la subvention aux collectivités du Nord pour la porter à 89 millions de dollars, soit une augmentation de 5 millions de dollars par rapport à 2017. Cela s’ajoute à la majoration offerte aux municipalités du Nord en 2016.
  • Continuer de soutenir les collectivités rurales de la province grâce à la Subvention aux collectivités rurales, qui totalisera 150 millions de dollars en 2018. Le volet agricole de cette subvention passera de 10 millions de dollars en 2017 à 15 millions de dollars en 2018 afin de soutenir encore davantage les municipalités comptant le plus grand nombre de terres agricoles.
  • Procurer un niveau d’aide minimum pour aider les municipalités à s’adapter au programme remanié. Le niveau d’aide pour 2018 pour les municipalités du Sud de l’Ontario sera d’au moins 85 % de leur affectation au titre du FPMO de 2017, alors que pour les municipalités du Nord de l’Ontario, il représentera au moins 90 % de leur affectation de 2017. Ces niveaux d’aide minimum sont bonifiés dans une proportion pouvant atteindre 100 % pour les municipalités dont la situation financière est la plus précaire.

Reprises provinciales

En 2018, la province aura rempli son engagement concernant la reprise des coûts relatifs aux programmes d’aide sociale et des coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des détenus, et la suppression de ces coûts de l’assiette foncière, comme il avait été convenu avec les municipalités en 2008. Le bienfait des reprises provinciales continuera de s’accroître pour les municipalités, la province continuant d’assumer les augmentations futures du coût des programmes repris.

En 2018, la province aura entièrement repris les coûts imposés aux municipalités pour :

  • les prestations du programme Ontario au travail (OT);
  • les coûts du Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario (PMO);
  • les coûts d’administration du Programme ontarien de soutien aux personnes handicapées (POSPH);
  • les prestations du POSPH;
  • les coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des détenus (jusqu’à concurrence de 125 millions de dollars par an).

Par ailleurs, la province donnera accès à 216 millions de dollars sous la forme d’une aide supplémentaire pour les coûts d’administration du programme OT assumés par les municipalités.

Avantages des reprises pour les municipalités en 2018
Programme 2018
Reprise du PMO 273 millions $
Administration du POSPH 85 millions $
Prestations du POSPH 927 millions $
Prestations du programme OT 485 millions $
Sécurité des tribunaux et transport des détenus 125 millions $
Administration programme OT (aide supplémentaire) 216 millions $
Total des avantages liés aux reprises 2,1 milliards $

Pour plus de détails sur le rapport de l’Examen provincial-municipal du financement et du mode de prestation des services (EPMFMPS), se reporter à http://www.mah.gov.on.ca/Page2286.aspx.

Grâce à ces reprises, une plus grande partie des revenus générés par l’impôt foncier peut être consacrée à d’importantes priorités municipales, notamment à des investissements dans les infrastructures.

Avantages combinés en 2018

Depuis 2009, les avantages accordés aux municipalités sont calculés comme étant une combinaison à la fois du FPMO et des reprises provinciales.

En 2018, le gouvernement de l’Ontario octroiera aux municipalités un avantage combiné de plus de 2,6 milliards de dollars, ce qui correspond à 14 % des revenus tirés de l’impôt foncier dans la province. Cela inclut :

  • une aide de 510 millions de dollars au titre du FPMO;
  • la reprise de plus de 2,1 milliards de dollars des coûts relatifs aux prestations d’aide sociale et des coûts liés à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des détenus.

L’engagement du gouvernement envers les reprises provinciales signifie que l’aide totale qu’il offre aux municipalités continuera d’augmenter.

Avantage combiné en 2018 par rapport aux années antérieures
  2004 2017 2018
FRC/FPMO 618 millions $ 505 millions $ 510 millions $
Reprises provinciales   1,9 milliard $ 2,1 milliards $
Avantage combiné 618 millions $ 2,4 milliards $ 2,6 milliards $
Hausse sur 12 mois 200 millions $
Hausse depuis 2004 2 milliards $

Aide permanente aux municipalités

En 2018, le gouvernement de l’Ontario accordera aux municipalités plus de 4,2 milliards de dollars grâce aux subventions du FPMO, aux reprises provinciales et à d’autres initiatives provinciales, ce qui équivaut à près de quatre fois le niveau de financement accordé en 2003.

Pour 2018, l’aide permanente totale, à laquelle s’ajoute l’avantage combiné du FPMO et des reprises, englobe :

  • un financement de 546 millions de dollars afin de conserver un partage des coûts à parts égales (50/50) des services d’ambulances terrestres;
  • un financement en santé publique de 568 millions pour des programmes obligatoires et le programme sur les maladies à transmission vectorielle qui comprend la reprise des coûts de santé publique de 50 % en 2004 à 75 % en 2007. Ce financement fait partie des 701 millions de dollars totaux en financement en santé publique que le gouvernement octroie pour ces programmes et le soutien connexe.
  • une somme de 334 millions de dollars en financement provenant de la taxe provinciale sur l’essence pour l’exercice 2016-2017;
  • un financement aux petites municipalités rurales et du Nord grâce au Fonds ontarien pour l’infrastructure communautaire (FOIC) permanent, dont :
    • environ 130 millions de dollars en financement du FOIC établi selon une formule en 2018;
    • un montant de 100 millions de dollars au titre d’une composante de supplément du FOIC en 2018.
L'aide permanente aux municipalités continue d'augmenter 1,1 milliard de dollars en 2003 - 4,2 milliards de dollars d'ici 2018

Description accessible du graphique

Source : L’Examen provincial-municipal du financement et du mode de prestation des services : « Envisager l’avenir ensemble » (octobre 2008); avec ajustements pour rendre compte des projections mises à jour et des annonces en matière de financement (p. ex., le Fonds ontarien pour l’infrastructure communautaire).

Renseignements supplémentaires

Si vous désirez obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires ou des renseignements d’ordre général sur le programme, vous pouvez envoyer un courriel, en indiquant vos coordonnées, à : info.ompf@ontario.ca.

Description du graphique :

L’aide permanente aux municipalités continue d’augmenter 1,1 milliard de dollars en 2003 - 4,2 milliards de dollars d’ici 2018

Le graphique indique que le soutien que la province accorde aux municipalités a augmenté de façon constante depuis 2003. Cette aide, qui était de 1,1 milliard de dollars en 2004, passera à 4,2 milliards de dollars d’ici 2018.

Retourner au graphique