: Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund - Heads of Council Letter

Ministry of Finance

Office of the Minister
7th Floor
Frost Building South
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca

Ministry of Municipal Affairs

Office of the Minister
17th Floor
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

Province of Ontario coat of arms

November 20, 2017

Dear Head of Council:

We are writing to announce the release of the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund (OMPF) municipal allocations for 2018. In 2018, the Province will provide a total of $510 million in unconditional funding through the OMPF to 389 municipalities across the province. As announced in the 2017 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, the Province is increasing the total OMPF envelope by $5 million beginning in 2018 to further support northern municipalities.

The OMPF, combined with the municipal benefit resulting from the provincial uploads, will total more than $2.6 billion in 2018, which is equivalent to 14 per cent of municipal property tax revenue in the province.

As you know, the OMPF was redesigned in 2014 following discussions with municipalities from across the province. Consultations with municipalities and the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) have continued over the past year and have focused on refining the program to ensure it meets the long-term priorities of municipalities. The 2018 OMPF balances the range of views expressed by municipalities through our consultations, while reflecting the core objectives of the redesigned program.

The 2018 program will further target support to municipalities with more challenging fiscal circumstances by increasing the Northern and Rural Fiscal Circumstances Grant to $89 million from $82 million in 2017. Additionally, the Northern Communities Grant component of the OMPF program will be enhanced to $89 million in 2018, an increase of $5 million over 2017, to further recognize the challenges of northern municipalities. This builds on the enhancement provided to northern municipalities in 2016. Lastly, the Rural Communities Grant, which continues to support rural communities across the province, will total $150 million in 2018. The farm enhancement of the Rural Communities Grant will grow from $10 million in 2017 to $15 million in 2018 to further support municipalities with the highest levels of farm land.

As in prior years, the 2018 funding guarantee for municipalities in southern Ontario will be at least 85 per cent of their 2017 OMPF allocation and for municipalities in northern Ontario will be at least 90 per cent of their 2017 OMPF allocation. Municipalities in all regions of the province with the most challenging fiscal circumstances will continue to have their funding enhanced up to 100 per cent of the prior year’s allocation.

The Ministry of Finance’s (MOF) Provincial-Local Finance Division will be providing your municipal Treasurers and Clerk-Treasurers with further details on the 2018 OMPF. This information and other supporting materials will be posted in both English and French on the MOF website: http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/budget/ompf/2018.

Our government has a very strong record of supporting and working in partnership with municipalities. As confirmed in the 2017 Ontario Budget, we are pleased to fulfil our commitment to the upload of social assistance benefit costs, as well as court security and prisoner transportation costs, off the local property tax base. These uploads will be fully implemented by 2018. As a result of the provincial uploads, Ontario municipalities will benefit from approximately $2 billion in reduced costs in 2018 alone, for a total benefit of over $13.5 billion since the uploads began in 2008.

Going forward, the Province will focus on investing in infrastructure, which will benefit communities across Ontario. The government is making one of the largest infrastructure investments in Ontario’s history, more than $190 billion over 13 years, beginning in 2014–15. This includes increasing provincial investments in municipal infrastructure through the Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF), Connecting Links and the Provincial Gas Tax Program. These investments will strengthen Ontario’s road, bridge, transit, water and wastewater infrastructure.

The Province is also working with the federal government to invest in infrastructure programs such as the Clean Water and Wastewater Fund (CWWF), and is investing up to $100 million of proceeds from the provincial carbon market in a new Municipal Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Challenge Fund in 2017–18. This investment will support projects that reduce GHG emissions, such as renewable energy and energy efficiency retrofits to municipal facilities like arenas, and energy-efficiency upgrades to drinking water or wastewater treatment plants.

In closing, we would like to thank our municipal partners for their feedback and input into the the design of the 2018 OMPF program. We look forward to continuing the strong partnership we have with communities across Ontario.

Sincerely,

Information copy
Original signed by

Charles Sousa
Minister of Finance

Information copy
Original signed by

Bill Mauro
Minister of Municipal Affairs

: Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de L'Ontario - Lettre adressée aux présidentes et présidents de conseil

Ministère des Finances

Bureau du ministre
7e étage, Edifice Frost sud
7 Queen's Park Cr
Toronto ON  M7A 1Y7
Tel (416) 325-0400
Fax (416) 325-0374
www.fin.gov.on.ca

Ministère des Affaires  municipales et du Logement

Bureau du ministre
17e étage
777 Bay Street
Toronto, ON  M5G 2E5
Tel (416) 585-7000
Fax (416) 585-6470
www.mah.gov.on.ca

Province of Ontario coat of arms

Le 20 novembre 2017

Madame la Présidente du conseil, Monsieur le Président du conseil,

Nous avons le plaisir de vous annoncer que les allocations versées aux municipalités au titre du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario (FPMO) pour 2018 ont été rendues publiques. En 2018, la province fournira une aide inconditionnelle de 510 millions de dollars au total à 389 municipalités de la province par l’intermédiaire du FPMO. Comme elle l’a annoncé dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2017, la province augmente l’enveloppe du FPMO de 5 millions de dollars à compter de 2018 pour aider davantage les collectivités du Nord.

Le FPMO, conjugué aux avantages accordés aux municipalités du fait des reprises provinciales, totalisera plus de 2,6 milliards de dollars en 2018 et correspond à 14 % des revenus tirés de l’impôt foncier municipal.

Comme vous le savez, le FPMO a été remanié en 2014 à la suite des consultations auprès des municipalités à l’échelle de la province. Les consultations avec les municipalités et l’association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO) se sont poursuivies au cours de la dernière année et se sont concentrées sur l’amélioration du programme pour s’assurer qu’il respecte les priorités à long terme des municipalités. Le FPMO de 2018 correspond aux objectifs clés du programme remanié tout en équilibrant les points de vue exprimés par les municipalités lors des consultations de cette année.

En 2018, le programme ciblera davantage le financement des municipalités dont la situation financière est plus précaire en augmentant la Subvention liée à la situation financière pour les municipalités rurales et du Nord, pour la faire passer à 89 millions de dollars, comparativement aux 82 millions de dollars octroyés en 2017. En outre, on bonifiera la subvention aux collectivités du Nord du FPMO pour la porter à 89 millions de dollars en 2018, soit une augmentation de 5 millions de dollars par rapport à 2017 pour tenir compte de la précarité financière des municipalités du Nord. Cela s’ajoute à la majoration offerte aux municipalités du Nord dans le cadre du programme de 2016. Enfin, la Subvention aux collectivités rurales totalisera 150 millions de dollars en 2018 afin de continuer à soutenir les municipalités rurales des quatre coins de la province. La majoration offerte au secteur agricole dans le cadre de cette subvention passera de 10 millions de dollars en 2017 à 15 millions de dollars en 2018 pour soutenir davantage les municipalités comptant le plus grand nombre de terres agricoles.

Comme par les années passées, le financement minimal aux municipalités du Sud de l’Ontario représentera au moins 85 % des allocations consenties en 2017, et 90 % pour le Nord de l’Ontario. Pour les municipalités de toutes les régions de la province dont la situation financière est particulièrement précaire, le financement sera maintenu à 100 % des allocations consenties en 2017.

La Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances du ministère des Finances (MFO) fournira plus de détails à votre secrétaire-trésorière ou secrétaire-trésorier sur le FPMO 2018. Ces renseignements ainsi que d’autres documents à l’appui sont affichés en français et en anglais sur le site Web du MFO à :  http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/budget/ompf/2018.

Notre gouvernement a déjà démontré sa ferme volonté de collaborer avec les municipalités et de les appuyer. Comme il avait été confirmé dans le budget de l’Ontario 2017, nous sommes heureux de respecter notre engagement de reprendre les coûts liés aux prestations d’aide sociale, à la sécurité des tribunaux et au transport des détenus, de sorte qu’ils soient retirés de l’assiette foncière. Ces reprises seront entièrement mises en œuvre d’ici 2018. Cela représente une réduction des coûts des municipalités de l’Ontario d’environ 2 milliards de dollars en 2018 seulement et de plus de 13,5 milliards de dollars depuis que ces coûts ont commencé à être de nouveau assumés par la province en 2008.

Dorénavant, la province se concentrera sur les investissements dans l’infrastructure, ce qui bénéficiera aux collectivités de l’ensemble de l’Ontario. Le gouvernement réalise l’un des plus importants investissements dans l’infrastructure de l’histoire de l’Ontario, soit plus de 190 milliards de dollars sur une période de 13 ans à compter de 2014-2015. Cela englobe la hausse des investissements provinciaux dans l’infrastructure municipale par l’entremise du Fonds ontarien pour l’infrastructure communautaire (FOIC), du Programme des routes de raccordement aux routes principales et du Programme de financement par la taxe sur l’essence de l’Ontario. Ces investissements renforcent les routes, les ponts, les transports en commun, ainsi que les réseaux d’aqueducs et d’égouts de l’Ontario.

La province travaille aussi de concert avec le gouvernement fédéral pour investir dans des programmes d’infrastructure, tels que le Fonds pour l’eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées (FEPTEU), et investit jusqu’à 100 millions de dollars du produit du marché du carbone ontarien dans un nouveau Fonds d’incitation à la réduction des émissions GES pour les municipalités en 2017-2018. Cet investissement soutiendra des projets qui réduisent les émissions de GES, tels que la modernisation des édifices municipaux, comme les stades, de façon à recourir à l’énergie renouvelable ou à améliorer l’efficacité énergétique. Cela comprend aussi les usines de traitement de l’eau potable ou des eaux usées.

En terminant, nous tenons à remercier nos partenaires municipaux pour leur participation et leurs observations en ce qui a trait à la conception du FPMO 2018. Nous nous réjouissons à la perspective de poursuivre notre solide partenariat avec les collectivités partout en Ontario.

Veuillez agréer l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Copie pour information
Original signé par

Charles Sousa
Ministre des Finances

Copie pour information
Original signé par

Bill Mauro
Ministre des Affaires municipales