2014 Ontario Budget
Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan

Highlights

  • Government-projected 2014 real GDP growth: 2.1 per cent.
  • Private-sector average projected 2014 real GDP growth: 2.2 per cent.
  • Government-projected 2015 real GDP growth: 2.5 per cent.
  • Private-sector average projected 2015 real GDP growth: 2.6 per cent.
  • Net new jobs in Ontario since recessionary low in June 2009: 459,500.
  • 2013–14 deficit is projected to be $11.3 billion, an improvement of $0.4 billion compared with the 2013 Budget forecast.
  • Ontario has the lowest program spending per capita and raises the lowest total revenue per capita among Canadian provinces, including funding from federal transfers.
  • The Province is projecting deficits of $12.5 billion in 2014–15, $8.9 billion in 2015–16, and $5.3 billion in 2016–17 — with a return to a balanced budget in 2017–18.
  • Over the medium term, the government will continue to take responsible actions to ensure every dollar spent counts, and manage program expense growth to balance the budget by 2017–18.
  • The Legislature passed the Financial Accountability Officer Act, 2013, to establish a Financial Accountability Officer who will provide independent analysis to Members of Provincial Parliament on the state of the Province’s finances.

Section A: Overview

TABLE 2.1 2014 Budget — Numbers at a Glance
Ontario's Economy: Provincial Finances:
Projected Real GDP Growth, 2014 2.1% 2014–15 Deficit Projection $12.5 billion
Avg. Private-Sector Growth, 2014 2.2% 2014–15 Revenue Plan $118.9 billion
Projected Real GDP Growth, 2015 2.5% 2014–15 Expense Plan $130.4 billion
Avg. Private-Sector Growth, 2015 2.6% 2014–15 Reserve $1.0 billion
Jobs since June 2009 459,500 Deficit-to-GDP
Ratio (2013–14)
1.6%
Increase in Real GDP
(2013 above 2003)
14.9% Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP
Ratio (2003–04)
24.6%
Increase in Real Household Disposable Income (2013 above 2003)1 28.9% Accumulated Deficit-to-GDP
Ratio (2013–14)
25.6%
1 2013 real household disposable income is an Ontario Ministry of Finance estimate.

Ontario’s economy continues to grow at a moderate pace, contributing to new jobs and business opportunities. The global economic environment, however, remains challenging. That is why the government is moving forward with a 10-year plan for the economy focused on strategic investments in people, modern infrastructure, and a dynamic and innovative business climate. These actions will put the province and its people in a position to succeed by helping to spur economic growth and create the new jobs necessary to support eliminating the deficit.

Since the recessionary low in June 2009, 459,500 net new jobs have been created in Ontario. The pace of job creation in Ontario since June 2009 has been stronger than in most developed economies, including the United States, the average for member countries in the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), and the rest of Canada combined.  

The deficit for 2013–14 is now estimated to be $11.3 billion — a $0.4 billion improvement compared with the 2013 Budget forecast. This marks the fifth year in a row that the Province is reporting a projected deficit lower than forecast.

Ontario’s performance against its fiscal targets to date is the result of a responsible and balanced approach to fiscal management, and the government’s commitment to ensure value for taxpayers’ money by making every dollar count. The government has managed spending in a way that has resulted in lower-than-forecast program expense in each of the last five years. Ontario also has the lowest program spending per capita among Canadian provinces, and raises the lowest total revenue per capita, including funding from federal transfers, while still providing high-quality public services that support the well-being of Ontarians.

While Ontario remains committed to continuing to manage spending amid challenges in the broader economic environment, these conditions mean the government must continue to invest.  

Ontario is not alone in facing these challenges — most other provinces have had to extend their balanced-budget timelines, and the federal government has also seen declining revenue projections. These challenges mean the government must think long term about the choices it makes. Across-the-board cuts at this time would harm Ontario’s economic and fiscal prospects.

Despite a decline in the medium-term outlook for revenue since the 2010 Budget, the government has been taking steps to manage spending growth and remains committed to balancing the budget by 2017–18. The government is balancing the budget in a way that is both fiscally responsible and fair, holding program spending growth to an average annual rate of 1.1 per cent over the next three years while protecting critical investments and public services for all Ontarians.


In the 2013 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, the government made its priority clear — that it will continue to protect investments in jobs, growth and families ahead of short-term targets. As a result, it is now projecting a deficit of $12.5 billion in 2014–15, $8.9 billion in 2015–16, and $5.3 billion in 2016–17, and a return to a balanced budget in 2017–18.

Over the medium term, the government will take deliberate actions to continue to meet or beat these deficit targets. These include responsible management of program spending, maintaining the integrity of provincial revenue, and introducing tax fairness for people and businesses.

Transparency, Financial Management and Fiscal Accountability

Ontario continues to act on opportunities to further strengthen transparency, financial management and fiscal accountability, in support of achieving the Province’s fiscal plan and delivering government programs and services.

Similar to previous years, Ontario has once again received an “A” ranking from the C.D. Howe Institute for its clarity in presentation and explanation of financial results.1 The Province ensures comparable and consistent financial information is used to support financial planning and tracking reflected in its Budgets, Expenditure Estimates, quarterly financial statements and annual results reported in the Public Accounts. This is accomplished through consistent application of accounting policies and reporting structures that aid effective decision-making and ensure transparency and accessibility of the financial results for the public.

Transparency

Environmental Liabilities

The Province currently reports financial liabilities that are based on its environmental obligations resulting from federal legislation. The government plans to enhance its reporting on environmental liabilities in accordance with the Public Sector Accounting Board’s (PSAB) new standard on accounting for contaminated land, which is effective for 2014–15. Under the new standard, the Province’s own legislation must also be considered when identifying liabilities to be reported. The new standard will be reflected in the government’s statement of financial position reported in the Public Accounts of Ontario 2014–2015. The government is considering related legislative changes required to support application of the new standard.

Recent Developments in Public Sector Accounting Standards

The government continues to evaluate the impact of PSAB’s prospective standards for financial instruments and foreign currency, which will be effective as of April 1, 2016. No changes are required for the 2014–15 fiscal year. The Province will work with PSAB to address potential implementation issues.

Financial Management

The government will propose an Interim Appropriation for 2014–15 Act, 2014. If approved by the Legislature, this would provide the interim legal spending authority for anticipated 2014–15 spending, pending finalization of the 2014–15 Supply process. This proposed legislation is required for the government to continue operations until the Legislative Assembly has approved the Expenditure Estimates and a Supply Act is proposed and passed.

Fiscal Accountability

Designated Revenue Reporting

Accountable financial management requires transparent reporting on the Province’s delivery of its financial commitments. For example, the proposed Trillium Trust would dedicate net revenue gains from certain asset sales to finance key infrastructure projects as part of the government’s 10-year plan for the economy, which includes investments in public transit, transportation infrastructure and other priority infrastructure. To ensure accountability for the use of dedicated funds, the government is exploring proposed new reporting mechanisms and associated legislative changes to support these commitments.

Financial Accountability Officer

In order to enhance fiscal accountability and transparency, in September 2013, the Legislature passed the Financial Accountability Officer Act, 2013, to establish a Financial Accountability Officer as an independent officer of the Legislature. Ontario is the first province to introduce this oversight measure. The Financial Accountability Officer will be able to provide independent analysis to all Members of Provincial Parliament about the state of the Province’s finances, including the Ontario Budget, as well as look at trends in the provincial and national economies.

The establishment of a Financial Accountability Officer builds on previous government actions to enhance transparency and accountability, such as the Fiscal Transparency and Accountability Act, 2004.

1 William B.P. Robson and Colin Busby, “Credibility on the (Bottom) Line: The Fiscal Accountability of Canada’s Senior Governments, 2013,” C.D. Howe Institute, (2014).

Chart Descriptions

Chart 2.1: Medium-Term Revenue Outlook Has Declined since the 2010 Budget

This chart shows the decline in the medium-term outlook for Ontario government revenues since the 2010 Budget projection.

Since the 2010 Budget, the medium-term outlook for revenues has declined, reflecting, in part, slower economic growth in a challenging global environment.

Before the impact of new revenue measures, the revenue outlook in the 2014 Budget is $2.9 billion below the 2010 Budget projection in 2013–14 and $8.8 billion below by 2016–17.

Return to Chart 2.1

Chart 2.2: Medium-Term Expense Outlook Has Declined since the 2010 Budget

This chart shows the decline in the medium-term outlook for Ontario expense since the 2010 Budget.

In the 2010 Budget, expense was projected to increase from approximately $127 billion in 2010–11 to approximately $140 billion in 2016–17. In the 2014 Budget, expense is projected to increase from $121 billion in 2010–11 to approximately $134 billion in 2016–17. In each year between 2010–11 and 2016–17, the 2014 Budget expense projection is below the 2010 Budget expense projection.

Return to Chart 2.2

Budget de l’Ontario 2014:
Chapitre II : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario

Points saillants

  • Croissance du PIB réel prévue par le gouvernement pour 2014 : 2,1 %.
  • Croissance moyenne du PIB réel prévue par le secteur privé pour 2014 : 2,2 %.
  • Croissance du PIB réel prévue par le gouvernement pour 2015 : 2,5 %.
  • Croissance moyenne du PIB réel prévue par le secteur privé pour 2015 : 2,6 %.
  • Emplois nets créés en Ontario depuis le creux survenu pendant la récession en juin 2009 : 459 500.
  • On prévoit que le déficit se chiffrera à 11,3 milliards de dollars pour l’exercice 2013-2014, soit une amélioration de 0,4 milliard de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2013.
  • C’est en Ontario que les dépenses de programmes par habitant sont les plus basses et que le total des revenus perçus par habitant est le plus faible parmi les provinces canadiennes, y compris ceux provenant des paiements de transfert fédéraux.
  • La province prévoit des déficits de 12,5 milliards de dollars en 2014-2015, de 8,9 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016 et de 5,3 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017. Elle s’attend à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018.
  • À moyen terme, le gouvernement continuera à prendre des mesures responsables pour s’assurer que chaque dollar est dépensé judicieusement et gérer la croissance des charges de programmes de manière à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018.
  • L’Assemblée législative a adopté la Loi de 2013 sur le directeur de la responsabilité financière créant le poste de directeur de la responsabilité financière dont le titulaire fournira aux députés provinciaux une analyse indépendante de la situation financière de la province.

Section A : Aperçu

TABLEAU 2.1 Budget de 2014 – Les chiffres en bref
Économie de l’Ontario : Finances de la province :
Croissance prévue du PIB réel, 2014 2,1 % Prévision du déficit 2014-2015 12,5 milliards $
Croissance moyenne selon le secteur privé, 2014 2,2 % Prévision des revenus 2014-2015 118,9 milliards $
Croissance prévue du PIB réel, 2015 2,5 % Prévision des charges 2014-2015 130,4 milliards $
Croissance moyenne selon le secteur privé, 2015 2,6 % Réserve 2014-2015 1,0 milliard $
Emplois depuis juin 2009 459 500 Rapport déficit-PIB (2013-2014) 1,6 %
Croissance du PIB réel (2013 par rapport à 2003) 14,9 % Rapport déficit accumulé-PIB (2003-2004) 24,6 %
Croissance du revenu réel disponible des ménages (2013 par rapport à 2003)1 28,9 % Rapport déficit accumulé-PIB (2013-2014) 25,6 %
1 Le revenu réel disponible des ménages pour 2013 correspond à des estimations du ministère des Finances de l’Ontario.

L’économie de l’Ontario continue d’afficher une croissance modérée, ce qui contribue à la création d’emplois et de possibilités d’affaires. Cependant, la conjoncture économique mondiale est toujours difficile. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement va de l’avant avec un plan sur dix ans pour l’économie qui met l’accent sur les investissements stratégiques dans les gens, l’édification d’une infrastructure moderne et l’établissement d’un climat d’affaires dynamique et propice à l’innovation. Grâce à ces mesures, qui stimulent la croissance économique et créent les emplois nécessaires pour arriver à éliminer le déficit, la province et les Ontariennes et Ontariens seront bien placés pour réussir.

Depuis le creux survenu pendant la récession en juin 2009, 459 500 emplois nets ont été créés dans la province. Depuis juin 2009, la création d’emplois en Ontario s’accroît à un rythme supérieur à celui de la plupart des économies développées, y compris les États-Unis, à la moyenne des pays membres de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) et à l’ensemble du reste du Canada.

Le déficit pour 2013-2014 est maintenant estimé à 11,3 milliards de dollars, ce qui représente une amélioration de 0,4 milliard de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2013. Cela marque la cinquième année de suite que la province prévoit un déficit inférieur aux prévisions.

Les résultats affichés par l’Ontario par rapport à ses objectifs budgétaires jusqu’à présent découlent d’une démarche responsable et équilibrée au chapitre de la gestion financière et de l’engagement pris par le gouvernement de faire en sorte que les deniers publics soient utilisés judicieusement et que chaque dollar compte. Grâce au mode de gestion des dépenses par le gouvernement, les charges de programmes ont été inférieures à ce qui était prévu pour chacune des cinq dernières années. C’est en Ontario que les dépenses de programmes par habitant sont les plus basses et que le total des revenus perçus par habitant est le plus faible parmi les provinces canadiennes, y compris ceux provenant des paiements de transfert fédéraux, sans que ce soit au détriment de la qualité des services qui appuient le bien-être de la population de la province.

L’Ontario est toujours désireux de gérer les dépenses dans une conjoncture économique difficile, mais cette réalité signifie que le gouvernement doit continuer à investir.

L’Ontario n’est pas seul à faire face à ces défis. La plupart des autres provinces ont eu à reporter la date où leur budget sera équilibré, et les projections de revenus du gouvernement fédéral ont aussi diminué. En raison de ces défis, le gouvernement doit faire ses choix en pensant à long terme. Des compressions généralisées maintenant nuiraient aux perspectives économiques et financières de l’Ontario.

En dépit de la diminution des perspectives de revenus à moyen terme depuis la publication du budget de 2010, le gouvernement a pris des mesures pour gérer la croissance des dépenses et a toujours à coeur d’équilibrer le budget d’ici 2017-2018. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement prend des mesures financièrement responsables et équitables, en maintenant la croissance des dépenses de programmes à un taux annuel moyen de 1,1 % au cours des trois prochaines et en protégeant les investissements cruciaux et les services publics pour toute la population de l’Ontario.


Dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2013, le gouvernement a énoncé clairement sa priorité : continuer à protéger les investissements dans les emplois, la croissance et les familles, et ce, avant de s’attaquer aux objectifs à court terme. De ce fait, la province prévoit, à l’heure actuelle, des déficits de 12,5 milliards de dollars en 2014-2015, de 8,9 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016 et de 5,3 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017. Elle s’attend à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018.

À moyen terme, le gouvernement prendra des mesures intentionnelles pour continuer à atteindre ou dépasser ces objectifs en matière de déficit. Il le fera notamment en gérant les dépenses de programmes de façon responsable, en maintenant l’intégrité des revenus provinciaux et en assurant l’équité fiscale pour les gens et pour les entreprises.

Transparence, et gestion et responsabilité financières

La province continue de saisir les occasions de renforcer davantage la transparence, et la gestion et la responsabilité financières afin de respecter le plan financier de la province et de fournir les programmes et les services du gouvernement.

Tout comme pour les années antérieures, l’Ontario a obtenu cette année la cote « A » de l’Institut C.D. Howe pour la clarté de la présentation et de l’explication de ses résultats financiers1. La province s’assure que des renseignements financiers comparables et uniformes sont utilisés pour la planification et le suivi financiers dans ses budgets, budgets des dépenses, états financiers trimestriels et résultats annuels déclarés dans les Comptes publics. Pour ce faire, elle a recours systématiquement aux méthodes comptables et aux structures de présentation de l’information financière qui favorisent la prise de décisions judicieuses et génèrent des résultats financiers transparents et accessibles au public.

Transparence

Passif environnemental

À l’heure actuelle, la province présente son passif financier en fonction de ses obligations environnementales découlant de mesures législatives fédérales. Le gouvernement prévoit renforcer sa façon de présenter son passif environnemental conformément à la nouvelle norme du Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public (CCSP) ayant trait à la comptabilité des sols contaminés, qui prend effet en 2014-2015. En vertu de la nouvelle norme, il faut aussi tenir compte des mesures législatives de la province pour déterminer le passif à présenter. L’état de la situation financière du gouvernement publié dans les Comptes publics de l’Ontario 2014-2015 sera préparé en fonction de la nouvelle norme. Le gouvernement envisage d’apporter les modifications législatives nécessaires pour la mise en application de la nouvelle norme.

Nouveautés au chapitre des normes comptables du secteur public

Le gouvernement continue d’évaluer l’incidence des normes prospectives du CCSP s’appliquant aux instruments financiers et aux devises, qui prendront effet le 1er avril 2016. Aucun changement n’est nécessaire pour l’exercice 2014-2015. La province collaborera avec le CCSP pour régler les problèmes potentiels découlant de la mise en oeuvre de ces normes.

Gestion financière

Le gouvernement proposera la Loi de 2014 portant affectation anticipée de crédits pour 2014-2015. Si cette loi est adoptée par l’Assemblée législative, elle accordera le pouvoir légal provisoire d’engager les dépenses anticipées de 2014-2015, en attendant la fin du processus d’examen des crédits de 2014-2015. L’adoption de cette loi proposée est nécessaire pour que le gouvernement puisse poursuivre ses activités jusqu’à ce que l’Assemblée législative approuve le Budget des dépenses et que la Loi de crédits soit proposée et adoptée.

Responsabilité financière

Présentation des revenus désignés

Une gestion financière responsable exige la présentation de façon transparente par la province de ses engagements financiers. Par exemple, le Fonds Trillium proposé permettrait de consacrer les revenus nets découlant de la vente de certains actifs au financement de projets d’infrastructure clés dans le cadre du plan sur dix ans pour l’économie établi par le gouvernement. Ce plan prévoit des investissements dans des projets d’infrastructure prioritaire, dont celle des transports et des transports en commun. En vue d’assurer la reddition de comptes pour l’utilisation des fonds dédiés, le gouvernement envisage d’avoir recours à de nouveaux mécanismes proposés et d’apporter les modifications législatives connexes pour appuyer ces engagements.

Directeur de la responsabilité financière

Afin d’accroître la responsabilité et la transparence financières, l’Assemblée législative a adopté, en septembre 2013, la Loi de 2013 sur le directeur de la responsabilité financière, créant le poste de directeur de la responsabilité financière dont le titulaire est un fonctionnaire indépendant de l’Assemblée législative. L’Ontario est la première province à instaurer une telle mesure de surveillance. Le directeur de la responsabilité financière pourra fournir à tous les députés une analyse indépendante de la situation financière de la province, notamment du budget de l’Ontario, et rendre compte des incidences des tendances des économies provinciale et nationale.

La création du poste de directeur de la responsabilité financière s’appuie sur les mesures que le gouvernement a prises pour accroître la transparence et la responsabilité, comme l’adoption de la Loi de 2004 sur la transparence et la responsabilité financières.

1 William B.P. Robson et Colin Busby, « Credibility on the (Bottom) Line: The Fiscal Accountability of Canada’s Senior Governments, 2013 », Institut C.D. Howe, 2014.

Description des graphiques

Graphique 2.1 : Affaiblissement des perspectives de revenus à moyen terme depuis la publication du budget de 2010

Ce graphique illustre l’affaiblissement des perspectives à moyen terme pour les revenus du gouvernement de l’Ontario depuis les prévisions du budget de 2010.

Depuis le budget de 2010, les perspectives de revenus à moyen terme ont diminué, et ce, en raison partiellement de la croissance économique moins rapide dans un contexte mondial difficile.

Par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2010, les perspectives de revenus présentées dans le budget de 2014 sont inférieures de 2,9 milliards de dollars pour 2013-2014, et de 8,8 milliards de dollars pour 2016-2017. Cela ne tient pas compte de l’incidence de nouvelles mesures touchant les revenus.

Retourner au graphique 2.1

Graphique 2.2 : Affaiblissement des perspectives de charges à moyen terme depuis la publication du budget de 2010

Ce graphique illustre l’affaiblissement des perspectives à moyen terme pour les charges du gouvernement de l’Ontario depuis les prévisions du budget de 2010.

Dans le budget de 2010, il était prévu que les charges augmentent pour passer d’approximativement 127 milliards de dollars en 2010-2011 à approximativement 140 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017. Selon le budget de 2014, les charges devraient augmenter pour passer de 121 milliards de dollars en 2010-2011 à approximativement 134 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017. Pour chacun des exercices entre 2010-2011 et 2016-2017, le budget de 2014 prévoit des charges inférieures aux niveaux prévus dans le budget de 2010.

Retourner au graphique 2.2