2014 Ontario Budget
Chapter II: Ontario's Economic Outlook and Fiscal Plan

Section B: 2013–14 Interim Fiscal Performance

Ontario’s deficit for 2013–14 is now projected to be $11.3 billion. Despite lower-than-projected revenue, the government continues to beat its fiscal targets as a result of its approach to managing growth in spending. This marks the fifth year in a row that Ontario is reporting both lower-than-projected program expense and a deficit lower than forecast.

TABLE 2.2 2013–14 In-Year Fiscal Performance
($ Millions)
  Budget
Plan
Interim In-Year Change
Revenue      
Taxation Revenue 81,975 80,454 (1,521)
Government of Canada 22,475 22,240 (235)
Income from Government Business Enterprises 4,479 4,751 272
Other Non-Tax Revenue 7,916 8,208 292
Total Revenue 116,845 115,653 (1,192)
Expense      
Programs 116,983 116,396 (587)
Interest on Debt 10,605 10,556 (49)
Total Expense 127,588 126,952 (636)
Reserve 1,000 (1,000)
Surplus/(Deficit) (11,743) (11,300) 443
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.
  • Total revenue in 2013–14 is projected to be $1,192 million below the 2013 Budget Plan, primarily due to lower taxation revenue.
  • Ontario’s program expense is projected to be $587 million lower than outlined in the 2013 Budget, the fifth year in a row that spending is projected to be lower than forecast. Managing growth in spending is the primary contributor to the Province being on track to beat its deficit target this year, despite experiencing lower-than-forecast revenue.
  • Total expense in 2013–14 is projected to be $636 million lower than forecast in the 2013 Budget. This includes the impact of a slightly lower interest on debt expense projection, primarily reflecting Ontario’s lower-than-forecast cost of borrowing relative to Canada in the 2013 Budget and cost-effective debt management.

The 2013 Budget included a $1.0 billion reserve for 2013–14 in recognition of the potential impact of continued global economic uncertainty on the Province’s fiscal outlook. Consistent with this, the reserve is being used to partially mitigate the impact of the $1.2 billion decline in the revenue outlook on the Province’s fiscal performance.

Given the preliminary nature of these estimates, the interim forecast is subject to change as actual Provincial revenue and expense are finalized in the Public Accounts of Ontario 2013–2014 this summer.

In-Year Revenue Performance

Total revenue in 2013–14 is estimated to be $115,653 million. This is $1,192 million below the amount projected in the 2013 Budget. The decrease is largely due to lower taxation revenues.

TABLE 2.3 Summary of Revenue Changes since the 2013 Budget
($ Millions)
    Interim
2013–14
Taxation Revenue    
Sales Tax (1,475)  
Land Transfer Tax 222  
Corporations Tax 100  
All Other Taxes (368)  
    (1,521)
Government of Canada    
Canada Health Transfer and Canada Social Transfer (175)  
Other (60)  
    (235)
Income from Government Business Enterprises    
Ontario Power Generation Inc./Hydro One Inc. 256  
Other Government Business Enterprises 16  
    272
Other Non-Tax Revenue    
Gain on Sale of GM Shares 249  
All Other Non-Tax Revenue 43  
    292
Total Revenue Changes since 2013 Budget   (1,192)
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Revenue Changes

Highlights of key 2013–14 revenue changes from the 2013 Budget forecast are as follows:

  • Sales Tax revenues are estimated to be $1,475 million lower, largely reflecting lower estimates of Ontario’s Harmonized Sales Tax entitlements for 2012 and 2013. About one-half of the decrease is a one-time adjustment due to an overestimation of Sales Tax revenues in the Public Accounts of Ontario 2012–2013.
  • Land Transfer Tax revenues are estimated to be $222 million higher, reflecting continued strength in the Ontario housing market.
  • Corporations Tax revenues are estimated to increase by $100 million as a higher tax base and one-time amounts more than offset the impact of lower growth in net operating surplus of corporations.
  • All Other Tax revenues combined are estimated to decrease by $368 million, mostly due to lower-than-expected Mining Tax and Education Property Tax revenues. Mining Tax revenue is $122 million below the 2013 Budget forecast because of large prior-year refunds and weaker-than-expected commodity prices. Education Property Tax is $163 million lower mostly because of in-year tax reductions due to a number of factors including slower-than-projected assessment growth from newly constructed or renovated properties and property assessment appeals.
  • Government of Canada transfers under the Canada Health Transfer and Canada Social Transfer programs are $175 million lower, mainly due to downward revisions by Statistics Canada to historic population estimates that lowered Ontario’s share of Canada-wide population. As historic population estimates were revised, the 2013–14 change also includes one-time adjustments for prior years.
  • All Other Government of Canada transfers are $60 million below the 2013 Budget forecast, mainly due to lower transfers to consolidated government agencies and revised timelines for capital projects. These reductions are largely offset by corresponding lower spending.
  • The combined net incomes of Ontario Power Generation Inc. (OPG) and Hydro One Inc. (Hydro One) are estimated to be $256 million higher, largely due to lower operating costs and higher generation revenues at OPG and higher transmission and distribution revenues at Hydro One.
  • For 2013–14, net income from the Ontario Lottery and Gaming Corporation and the Liquor Control Board of Ontario is projected to be largely in line with the 2013 Budget projection.
  • Other Non-Tax Revenue is projected to be $292 million higher, largely reflecting:
    • A $249 million gain on the sale of the Province’s interest in 10 million shares of General Motors Company, announced on September 10, 2013; and
    • Higher recoveries from power supply contracts, which are fully offset by power supply contract costs, and higher sales and rentals revenues from consolidated government agencies.

In-Year Expense Performance

Total expense in 2013–14 is currently projected to be $635.7 million lower than the 2013 Budget forecast. The revised projection is primarily the result of the government’s ongoing efforts to make responsible spending choices and lower-than-projected interest on debt expense.

Program expense in 2013–14 is projected to be $586.7 million lower compared with the 2013 Budget forecast due to managing growth in spending and actions related to recommendations by the government’s expenditure review. As a result of the government’s commitment to strong fiscal management, provincial program spending has been lower than forecast every year since the 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review.

Growth in program spending between 2012–13 and 2013–14 is projected to be 3.7 per cent. This program spending growth is partly the result of investments for a prosperous and fair Ontario that began with the 2013 Budget, including funding for the Youth Jobs Strategy and for transforming social assistance. It is also partly the result of one-time savings of $1.3 billion in 2012–13 within the education sector from the elimination of banked sick days for teachers. Program spending was lower in 2012–13 than in the previous year — the first time this has happened in Ontario in more than a decade.

Interest on debt expense is forecasted to be $49.0 million lower than projected in the 2013 Budget, primarily reflecting Ontario’s lower-than-forecast cost of borrowing relative to Canada in the 2013 Budget and cost-effective debt management.

Expense Changes

As in previous years, the 2013 Budget included a $1.0 billion year-end savings target. The table below shows that the actions taken by the government have produced results. The government is on track to exceed the year-end savings target by $586.7 million, or more than 50 per cent. As part of this, 16 out of 25 ministries are projected to spend below their total expense allocation.

TABLE 2.4 Summary of Expense Changes since the 2013 Budget
($ Millions)
  2013–14
Year-End Savings Target included in 2013 Budget 1,000.00
Increase/(Decrease) since 2013 Budget1  
Health Sector (72.3)
Education Sector2 (400.0)
Postsecondary and Training Sector (128.2)
Children's and Social Services Sector (165.6)
Justice Sector 106.1
Other Programs (926.7)
Total Increase/(Decrease) since 2013 Budget (1,586.7)
Net Program Expense Increase/(Decrease) after Applying Savings to Meet $1.0 Billion Year-End Savings Target (586.7)
Interest on Debt (49.0)
Total Expense Changes since 2013 Budget (635.7)
1 Expense change by sector, restated for fiscally neutral transfers of programs between sectors.
2 Excludes Teachers' Pension Plan. Teachers' Pension Plan expense is included in Other Programs.
Note: Numbers may not add due to rounding.

Actions recommended by the government’s expenditure review that was announced in the 2013 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review last fall contributed to managing down growth in program spending in 2013–14. These included immediate steps to freeze non-essential spending for the last quarter of the 2013–14 fiscal year.

Key expense changes since the 2013 Budget, including those resulting from government actions that contributed to lower-than-forecast spending, include the following:

  • Health sector expense is projected to decrease by $72.3 million, primarily due to savings in the Ontario Drug Program as a result of negotiating reduced pricing for six generic drugs; savings in the public health immunization program due to enhanced inventory management of vaccines; lower spending in various programs, such as clinical education; and lower-than-projected amortization expense for hospitals due to minor construction delays for major hospital projects.
  • Education sector expense is projected to decrease by $400.0 million, primarily due to lower-than-expected school board expense and savings in ministry administration. School board expense savings are mainly due to lower-than-projected growth in total student enrolment, construction delays on school projects, and measures taken by school boards to balance budgets while protecting the gains in student achievement. Ministry efficiencies are being realized through lower costs associated with information and information technology, and managing staff vacancies, without affecting the ministry’s ability to deliver programs and fulfil commitments.
  • Postsecondary and training sector expense is projected to decrease by $128.2 million, mainly due to lower-than-forecast spending on employment and training programs as a result of improving job opportunities, and lower-than-expected spending on student financial assistance due to lower program demand.
  • Children’s and social services sector expense is projected to decrease by $165.6 million, due in part to overall improvements in the economy, resulting in lower-than-expected take-up of Ontario Works and low-income benefits, such as the Ontario Child Benefit. In addition, lower expense requirements in the Ontario Drug Benefit program for social assistance recipients resulted from the government’s efforts to negotiate reduced pricing for drugs.
  • Justice sector expense is expected to increase by $106.1 million, primarily as a result of settlement agreements to provide compensation to the former residents of the Huronia, Rideau and Southwestern Regional Centres, compensation funding for victims of an international investment fraud case — fully offset from revenue recovered through Ontario’s civil forfeiture law — and the decision to keep the Sarnia Jail facility open following an evaluation of operational needs.
  • Other programs expense is projected to decrease by $926.7 million, as a result of additional restraint measures to align public-service retiree benefits with those in the private sector and other jurisdictions; pension savings due to managing compensation costs through the last round of collective agreements, a lower-than-projected increase in active members, and continued improvement in investment returns and market performance since 2010. The decrease also reflects a number of constraint measures implemented across ministries to manage spending responsibly while protecting core public services.

Interest on debt expense is projected to be $49.0 million lower than forecast in the 2013 Budget, primarily reflecting Ontario’s lower-than-forecast cost of borrowing relative to Canada in the 2013 Budget and cost-effective debt management.

The 2013–14 interim expense projection maintains a total balance in the contingency funds of $250.0 million in recognition of expense changes that could materialize as the Public Accounts of Ontario 2013–2014 are finalized, including up to $190.0 million for planned financial assistance to municipalities and conservation authorities impacted by the December 2013 ice storm.

Budget de l’Ontario 2014
Chapitre 2 : Perspectives économiques et plan financier de l’Ontario

Section B : Résultats financiers provisoires de 2013-2014

On prévoit maintenant que le déficit de l’Ontario de 2013-2014 s’établira à 11,3 milliards de dollars. Même si les revenus sont inférieurs aux prévisions, le gouvernement continue à dépasser ses objectifs budgétaires grâce à sa démarche visant à gérer la croissance des dépenses. C’est la cinquième année de suite que l’Ontario annonce que ses charges de programmes et le déficit sont inférieurs aux prévisions.

TABLEAU 2.2 Résultats financiers en cours d’exercice 2013-2014
(en millions de dollars)
  Plan budgétaire Chiffres prov. Variations
en cours
d'exercice
Revenus      
Revenus fiscaux 81 975 80 454 (1 521)
Gouvernement du Canada 22 475 22 240 (235)
Revenus tirés des entreprises publiques 4 479 4 751 272
Autres revenus non fiscaux 7 916 8 208 292
Total des revenus 116 845 115 653 (1 192)
Charges      
Programmes 116 983 116 396 (587)
Intérêt sur la dette 10 605 10 556 (49)
Total des charges 127 588 126 952 (636)
Réserve 1 000 (1 000)
Excédent/(Déficit) (11 743) (11 300) 443
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.
  • On prévoit que le total des revenus de 2013-2014 sera inférieur de 1 192 millions de dollars aux prévisions du plan budgétaire de 2013, surtout en raison de la baisse des revenus fiscaux.
  • On prévoit que le total des charges de programmes de l’Ontario sera inférieur de 587 millions de dollars aux chiffres indiqués dans le budget de 2013, la cinquième année de suite où l’on prévoit que les charges seront inférieures aux prévisions. La gestion de la croissance des dépenses est le principal élément qui a permis à la province d’être en bonne voie de dépasser ses objectifs quant au déficit pour le présent exercice, malgré des revenus inférieurs aux prévisions.
  • On prévoit que le total des charges en 2013-2014 sera inférieur de 636 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2013. Cela découle notamment de la légère réduction des prévisions touchant les charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette qui s’explique surtout par le fait que le coût des emprunts de l’Ontario par rapport à celui du Canada a été inférieur aux prévisions du budget de 2013 et que la gestion de la dette a été efficiente.

Le budget de 2013 prévoyait pour 2013-2014 une réserve de 1,0 milliard de dollars pour tenir compte de l’incidence éventuelle de l’incertitude économique qui règne à l’échelle mondiale sur les perspectives financières de la province. La réserve sert donc à atténuer en partie les répercussions de la baisse de 1,2 milliard de dollars des perspectives de revenus sur le rendement financier de la province.

Puisqu’elles sont provisoires, les estimations pourraient changer lorsque les revenus et les charges réels de la province seront déterminés de façon définitive dans les Comptes publics de l’Ontario 2013-2014, qui seront publiés cet été.

Revenus au cours de l’exercice

Le total des revenus en 2013-2014 est estimé à 115 653 millions de dollars. Ce résultat est inférieur de 1 192 millions de dollars au montant prévu dans le budget de 2013. La baisse est principalement due aux revenus fiscaux inférieurs aux projections.

TABLEAU 2.3 Sommaire des variations de revenus depuis la publication du budget de 2013
(en millions de dollars)
    Chiffres prov.
2013-2014
Revenus fiscaux    
Taxe de vente (1 475)  
Droits de cession immobilière 222  
Impôt des sociétés 100  
Tous les autres impôts et taxes (368)  
    (1 521)
Gouvernement du Canada    
Transfert canadien en matière de santé et Transfert canadien en matière de programmes sociaux (175)  
Autres (60)  
    (235)
Revenus tirés des entreprises publiques    
Ontario Power Generation Inc. et Hydro One Inc. 256  
Autres entreprises publiques 16  
    272
Autres revenus non fiscaux    
Gains sur la vente d'actions de GM 249  
Tous les autres revenus non fiscaux 43  
    292
Total des variations des revenus depuis la publication du budget de 2013   (1 192)
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Variations des revenus

Voici les points saillants des variations des revenus en 2013-2014 par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2013 :

  • On estime que les revenus tirés de la taxe de vente seront de 1 475 millions de dollars inférieurs aux prévisions, ce qui est largement dû à des estimations plus faibles de la part de la taxe de vente harmonisée revenant à l’Ontario pour 2012 et 2013. Environ la moitié de la diminution correspond à un redressement ponctuel en raison de la surestimation des revenus tirés de la taxe de vente dans les Comptes publics de l’Ontario 2012-2013.
  • On estime que les revenus tirés des droits de cession immobilière dépasseront de 222 millions de dollars les prévisions, en raison de la vigueur du marché ontarien du logement qui persiste.
  • Les revenus tirés de l’impôt des sociétés devraient augmenter de 100 millions de dollars grâce à l’assiette fiscale qui est plus élevée et à des montants ponctuels qui ont plus que compensé l’incidence de la croissance plus lente de l’excédent net d’exploitation des sociétés.
  • Les revenus tirés de tous les autres impôts et taxes combinés devraient diminuer de 368 millions de dollars, ce qui est attribuable en grande partie à la baisse, par rapport aux prévisions, de l’impôt sur l’exploitation minière et des impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires. Les revenus tirés de l’impôt sur l’exploitation minière sont de 122 millions de dollars inférieurs aux prévisions budgétaires de 2013 en raison des remboursements considérables de l’année antérieure et de la faiblesse du prix des produits de base par rapport aux prévisions. Les impôts fonciers prélevés aux fins scolaires sont inférieurs de 163 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison surtout d’allègements fiscaux en cours d’exercice attribuables à plusieurs facteurs, dont la croissance inférieure aux prévisions des évaluations foncières relatives aux biens-fonds nouvellement construits ou rénovés et aux appels de l’évaluation foncière.
  • Les transferts du gouvernement du Canada au titre du Transfert canadien en matière de santé et du Transfert canadien en matière de programmes sociaux sont inférieurs de 175 millions de dollars, en raison surtout des révisions à la baisse par Statistique Canada des estimations historiques de la population, qui ont réduit la part de la population canadienne que représente l’Ontario. En raison du changement apporté aux données historiques sur la population, la modification de 2013-2014 comprend aussi des redressements ponctuels pour les exercices précédents.
  • La totalité des autres transferts du gouvernement du Canada est inférieure de 60 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2013, ce qui est essentiellement attribuable aux transferts moins élevés à des organismes gouvernementaux consolidés et à la révision des échéanciers de projets d’immobilisations. Ces diminutions sont compensées en grande partie par des dépenses plus faibles dans les secteurs correspondants.
  • Les revenus nets combinés d’Ontario Power Generation Inc. (OPG) et de Hydro One Inc. (Hydro One) devraient être supérieurs de 256 millions de dollars aux prévisions, en raison surtout des coûts d’exploitation moins élevés et des meilleurs revenus tirés de la production d’électricité par OPG et des revenus supérieurs tirés du transport et de la distribution de Hydro One.
  • En 2013-2014, les revenus nets de la Société des loteries et des jeux de l’Ontario et ceux de la Régie des alcools de l’Ontario (LCBO) devraient être en grande partie conformes aux prévisions du budget de 2013.
  • Les autres revenus non fiscaux devraient être plus élevés de 292 millions de dollars, en raison surtout des éléments suivants :
    • des gains de 249 millions de dollars réalisés sur la vente, annoncée le 10 septembre 2013, de 10 millions d’actions de la société General Motors détenues par la province;
    • des recouvrements plus élevés au titre des contrats d’approvisionnement en électricité, qui sont totalement compensés par les coûts des contrats d’approvisionnement en électricité et par la hausse des revenus tirés des ventes et locations tirés d’organismes gouvernementaux consolidés.

Charges au cours de l’exercice

Les charges totales en 2013-2014 devraient, selon les prévisions actuelles, être inférieures de 635,7 millions de dollars aux résultats prévus dans le budget de 2013. Cette révision des projections est attribuable surtout aux efforts que le gouvernement ne cesse de déployer pour faire des choix responsables en matière de dépenses ainsi qu’aux charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette, qui sont moins élevées que prévu.

On prévoit qu’en 2013-2014 les charges de programmes seront inférieures de 586,7 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget 2013, en raison de la gestion de la croissance des dépenses et de la mise en oeuvre de mesures liées aux recommandations issues de l’examen des dépenses mené par le gouvernement. Par suite de l’engagement du gouvernement concernant une gestion financière décisive, les dépenses de programmes de la province ont été inférieures aux prévisions à chaque exercice depuis la publication du document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2009.

On prévoit que la hausse des dépenses de programmes sera de 3,7 % entre 2012-2013 et 2013-2014. Cette croissance des dépenses de programmes est attribuable en partie aux investissements faits pour favoriser la prospérité et l’équité de l’Ontario, qui ont débuté avec le budget de 2013, et qui englobaient le financement de la Stratégie ontarienne d’emploi pour les jeunes et des fonds pour la transformation de l’aide sociale. La hausse est aussi partiellement attribuable à des économies ponctuelles de 1,3 milliard de dollars en 2012-2013 dans le secteur de l’éducation grâce à l’élimination des congés de maladie accumulés par le personnel enseignant. Les dépenses de programmes en Ontario ont diminué en 2012-2013 par rapport à l’exercice précédent, pour la première fois en plus de dix ans.

Les charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette devraient être inférieures de 49,0 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2013, ce qui s’explique surtout par le fait que le coût des emprunts de l’Ontario par rapport à celui du Canada était moins élevé que ce qui était prévu et que la gestion de la dette a été efficiente.

Variations des charges

Comme par les années passées, l’objectif de réaliser en fin d’exercice des économies annuelles de 1,0 milliard de dollars était énoncé dans le budget de 2013. Le tableau ci-dessous illustre que les mesures prises par le gouvernement ont donné des résultats. Le gouvernement est en voie de dépasser de 586,7 millions de dollars, soit de plus de 50 %, le montant cible d’économies à réaliser en fin d’exercice. Cela signifie que 16 ministères sur 25 devraient avoir dépensé moins que le montant total de leur enveloppe budgétaire.

TABLEAU 2.4 Sommaire des variations des charges depuis la publication du budget de 2013
(en millions de dollars)
  2013-2014
Montant cible d’économies à réaliser en fin d’exercice prévu au budget de 2013 1 000,0
Augmentation/(Diminution) depuis le budget de 20131  
Secteur de la santé (72,3)
Secteur de l’éducation2 (400,0)
Secteur de l’éducation postsecondaire et de la formation (128,2)
Secteur des services à l’enfance et des services sociaux (165,6)
Secteur de la justice 106,1
Autres programmes (926,7)
Augmentation/(Diminution) totale depuis le budget de 2013 (1 586,7)
Augmentation/(Diminution) nette des charges de programmes après imputation des économies pour atteindre l’objectif de fin d’exercice de 1,0 milliard de dollars (586,7)
Intérêt sur la dette (49,0)
Total des variations des charges depuis la publication du budget de 2013 (635,7)
1 Variations des charges par secteur, redressées pour tenir compte de transferts neutres sur le plan financier de programmes entre secteurs.
2 Exclut le Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario. Les charges liées à ce régime sont incluses dans les autres programmes.
Nota : Les totaux peuvent ne pas correspondre à la somme des chiffres, qui ont été arrondis.

Les mesures recommandées à la suite de l’examen des dépenses du gouvernement et formulées dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2013, publié l’automne dernier, ont contribué à réduire le rythme de croissance des dépenses de programmes en 2013-2014. Il s’agissait notamment de mesures immédiates visant à geler les dépenses non essentielles au dernier trimestre de l’exercice 2013-2014.

Les principales variations des charges depuis le budget de 2013, y compris celles qui sont inférieures aux prévisions sous l’effet des mesures prises par le gouvernement, sont notamment les suivantes :

  • On prévoit que les charges du secteur de la santé diminueront de 72,3 millions de dollars, principalement en raison d’économies réalisées dans le cadre des programmes de médicaments de l’Ontario par suite des négociations sur la réduction du prix de six médicaments génériques; d’économies réalisées au titre du programme d’immunisation publique attribuable à la gestion efficace des stocks de vaccins; de dépenses inférieures aux prévisions engagées pour différents programmes, comme l’éducation clinique; des charges d’immobilisations moins importantes que prévu découlant de légers retards accusés par la construction de grands projets hospitaliers.
  • On prévoit que les charges du secteur de l’éducation diminueront de 400,0 millions de dollars, principalement en raison des charges des conseils scolaires qui ont été inférieures aux prévisions et en raison d’économies réalisées au niveau de l’administration ministérielle. Les économies au titre des charges des conseils scolaires sont surtout attribuables à la croissance moins élevée que prévu des effectifs scolaires, aux retards dans les travaux de construction d’écoles et aux mesures prises par les conseils scolaires en vue d’équilibrer les budgets tout en préservant les progrès faits au chapitre du rendement des élèves. Les gains d’efficience du ministère sont réalisés grâce à la diminution des coûts en matière d’information et de technologie informatique et à la gestion des postes vacants, sans que cela ait d’incidence sur la capacité du ministère à assurer la prestation de ses programmes et à remplir ses engagements.
  • On prévoit que les charges du secteur de l’éducation postsecondaire et de la formation diminueront de 128,2 millions de dollars, en raison principalement des dépenses inférieures aux prévisions pour les programmes d’emploi et de formation vu l’amélioration des perspectives d’emploi, et de la sous-utilisation des fonds des programmes d’aide financière aux étudiantes et étudiants, attribuable à une demande moins importante que prévu.
  • Les charges du secteur des services à l’enfance et des services sociaux devraient diminuer de 165,6 millions de dollars, grâce en partie à l’amélioration générale de la conjoncture économique, réduisant à un niveau inférieur aux prévisions la demande à l’égard du programme Ontario au travail et des prestations destinées aux personnes à faible revenu, comme la Prestation ontarienne pour enfants. En outre, la réduction des charges liées au Programme de médicaments de l’Ontario pour les bénéficiaires de l’aide sociale est attribuable aux efforts déployés par le gouvernement pour négocier des prix réduits pour les médicaments.
  • Les charges du secteur de la justice devraient augmenter de 106,1 millions de dollars, en raison surtout des ententes visant le versement d’indemnités aux anciens résidents des Centres régionaux Rideau, de la Huronie et du Sud-Ouest, du financement des indemnités pour les victimes d’une affaire de fraude financière internationale, qui est entièrement compensé par les revenus recouvrés au titre de la loi ontarienne sur la confiscation des biens au civil, et de la décision de garder ouverte la prison de Sarnia à la suite d’une évaluation des exigences opérationnelles.
  • Les charges des autres programmes devraient diminuer de 926,7 millions de dollars, sous l’effet de mesures supplémentaires de contrôle des dépenses visant à mieux faire concorder les prestations de retraite dans la fonction publique avec celles du secteur privé et d’autres territoires; des économies au titre des prestations de retraite grâce à la gestion des coûts de rémunération dans le cadre de la dernière ronde de négociation de conventions collectives; d’une augmentation inférieure aux prévisions de participants actifs; de l’amélioration soutenue du rendement des investissements et de la performance des marchés financiers depuis 2010. La diminution est aussi attribuable à un certain nombre de mesures de compression appliquées à l’échelle des ministères afin de gérer les dépenses de manière responsable tout en protégeant les services publics essentiels.

Les charges liées à l’intérêt sur la dette devraient être inférieures de 49,0 millions de dollars aux prévisions du budget de 2013, ce qui s’explique surtout par le fait que le coût des emprunts de l’Ontario par rapport à celui du Canada a été inférieur aux prévisions du budget de 2013 et que la gestion de la dette a été efficiente.

Selon les projections provisoires des charges pour 2013-2014, le solde total du fonds de prévoyance est maintenu à 250,0 millions de dollars pour tenir compte des variations des charges qui pourraient se concrétiser lorsque les Comptes publics de l’Ontario 2013-2014 seront arrêtés, y compris jusqu’à 190,0 millions de dollars pour l’aide financière prévue aux municipalités et aux offices de protection de la nature touchés par la tempête de verglas de décembre 2013.