Building Ontario Up banner

: Building Up Ontario’s Infrastructure
Largest Infrastructure Investment in Ontario’s History

Backgrounder April 23, 2015

Renewing and expanding public infrastructure supports Ontario’s industries, creates jobs and provides long-term benefits to Ontarians and the economy. That is why investing in infrastructure is a key pillar of the government’s plan for Ontario.

Ontario, through its ongoing and planned investments, is leading the renewal and expansion of transportation and other critical infrastructure. Over the last decade, the Province has made unprecedented investments in infrastructure, supporting mobility and economic growth.

QUICK FACT:

Congestion in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area (GTHA) alone costs Ontario’s economy up to $11 billion per year.

Building Together: Ontario’s Plan to Invest in Public Infrastructure

Ontario is investing more than $130 billion over 10 years in public infrastructure, such as roads, bridges and transit, including $31.5 billion in dedicated funds through the Moving Ontario Forward plan. This represents the largest infrastructure investment in Ontario’s history.

Total investments are expected to support over 110,000 jobs per year, on average, in construction and related industries, including 20,000 jobs from investments made as part of Moving Ontario Forward.

Education Infrastructure

Over 10 years, the Province plans to provide more than $11 billion in capital grants to school boards. These funds will help build new schools in areas of high growth, improve the condition of existing school facilities and invest in projects to reduce surplus space through school consolidations.

Postsecondary Infrastructure

The Province plans to provide almost $900 million over 10 years to address critical maintenance repairs and upgrades to existing postsecondary facilities.

Health and Social Infrastructure

Ontario plans to provide more than $11 billion in hospital capital grants over 10 years to provide adequate infrastructure capacity in the health care sector.

 

Moving Ontario Forward

The Moving Ontario Forward plan demonstrates Ontario’s strong stance on the importance of investing in critical infrastructure by strategically unlocking value from certain provincial assets.

$31.5 billion

The 2015 Budget increases projected dedicated funds by $2.6 billion, to $31.5 billion available over 10 years for public transit, transportation and other priority infrastructure projects across Ontario. About $16 billion will be invested in transit projects in the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area (GTHA) and about $15 billion will be invested in transportation and other priority infrastructure projects outside the GTHA.

$5.7 billion

The government has increased its asset optimization target to $5.7 billion – a $2.6 billion increase over the 2014 Budget projection.

QUICK FACT:

Net proceeds from the sale of qualifying provincial assets will be placed in the Trillium Trust, to be used to support infrastructure investments under the Moving Ontario Forward plan.

QUICK FACTS:

Moving Ontario Forward will transform the GO Transit network to a more frequent, flexible and convenient regional transit service.

One key outcome will be Regional Express Rail (RER): more trains, more frequent trips and faster service for commuters.

RER will provide significant new travel choices including enhanced service, with trains running up to every 15 minutes, and providing two-way, all-day services on weekdays, during the evenings and on weekends in core areas.

QUICK FACTS:

In order to lay the foundation for RER, the government will provide additional funding to enhance existing GO Transit rail service.

RER will provide the backbone for a regional network, which would also be the foundation for the SmartTrack proposal in the City of Toronto. The SmartTrack funding proposal entails contributions of about $5.2 billion in new funding from partners, including the City of Toronto and the federal government.

Moving Ontario Forward dedicated funds would be supported by:

  • Dedicated proceeds from 7.5 cents of the existing provincial gasoline tax to public transit and transportation infrastructure priorities. This would be over and above the existing gas tax funding to municipalities, with no increase to the current tax rate.
  • Repurposing revenues from the existing Harmonized Sales Tax charged on the current provincial taxes on gasoline and road diesel.
  • Dedicated proceeds from targeted revenue measures.
  • Working with the federal government to secure federal funding through the Building Canada Plan.
  • Dedicating net revenue gains from high-occupancy toll lanes, when they become available.
  • Supplementing dedicated funds by leveraging provincial borrowing to ensure a stable funding source is available to support priority projects.

ASSET OPTIMIZATION FACTS:

In February 2015, Ontario completed the sale of its remaining shares in General Motors, which, including the redemption of its preferred shares, resulted in a gain of $1.1 billion. This exceeded the $900 million target for asset optimization set in the 2014 Budget.

These gains, including the additional $200 million generated, are now dedicated to the Trillium Trust, for investment in public infrastructure.

Unlocking value from provincial assets will provide:

  • $5.7 billion available to help support long-term infrastructure projects.
  • A boost in consumer choice and convenience.
  • A spur to long-term economic growth.

Favoriser l'essor de l'Ontario

: Favoriser l’essor de l’Ontario par l’infrastructure
Le plus important investissement infrastructurel de l’histoire de l’Ontario

Document d’information Le 23 avril 2015

Le renouvellement et le développement de l’infrastructure publique soutiennent les industries de l’Ontario, créent des emplois et fournissent des avantages à long terme à la population de l’Ontario et à son économie. C’est pour cette raison que les investissements dans l’infrastructure sont un pilier du plan économique du gouvernement.

Grâce à ses investissements continus et planifiés, l’Ontario joue un rôle de premier plan dans le renouvellement et l’expansion de l’infrastructure de transport et d’autres infrastructures cruciales pour la population ontarienne. Au cours de la dernière décennie, la province a fait des investissements sans précédent dans l’infrastructure, favorisant ainsi la mobilité et la croissance économique en Ontario.

FAITS EN BREF :

La congestion dans la région du grand Toronto et de Hamilton (RGTH) coûte, à elle seule, jusqu’à 11 milliards de dollars par année à l’économie ontarienne.

Construire ensemble : le plan de l’Ontario pour investir dans l’infrastructure publique

L’Ontario investit des fonds de plus de 130 milliards de dollars sur 10 ans dans l’infrastructure publique – le plus important investissement en son genre de l’histoire de l’Ontario –, comme les routes, les ponts et les transports en commun, dont 31,5 milliards de dollars en fonds dédiés par l’entremise du plan Faire progresser l’Ontario.

Au total, ces investissements devraient appuyer plus de 110 000 emplois en moyenne par année dans le secteur de la construction et dans des industries connexes, dont 20 000 seraient attribuables au plan Faire progresser l’Ontario.

Infrastructure de l’éducation

Sur 10 ans, la province prévoit affecter plus de 11 milliards de dollars en subventions d’immobilisations aux conseils scolaires. Ces fonds permettront de construire des écoles dans les secteurs à forte croissance, d’améliorer l’état des écoles existantes et d’investir dans des projets visant à réduire l’espace excédentaire par le regroupement d’écoles.

Infrastructure de l’enseignement postsecondaire

La province a l’intention de fournir près de 900 millions de dollars sur 10 ans en vue de faire les réparations et les mises à niveau cruciales dans les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire.

Infrastructure de la santé et des services sociaux

L’Ontario entend verser plus de 11 milliards de dollars aux hôpitaux sous forme de subventions d’immobilisations au cours des 10 prochaines années afin de fournir des infrastructures à capacité adéquate dans le secteur de la santé.

 

Faire progresser l’Ontario

Le plan Faire progresser l’Ontario démontre que l’Ontario a fermement pris position sur l’importance d’investir dans l’infrastructure essentielle en dégageant stratégiquement la valeur de certains biens détenus par la province.

31,5 milliards de dollars

Le budget de 2015 augmente de 2,6 milliards de dollars le montant qu’il est prévu d’affecter aux fonds dédiés aux transports en commun, au transport et à d’autres projets d’infrastructure prioritaires à l’échelle de la province pour les porter à 31,5 milliards de dollars au cours des 10 prochaines années.

Environ 16 milliards de dollars seront investis dans des projets de transports en commun pour la région du grand Toronto et de Hamilton (RGTH).

Environ 15 milliards de dollars seront investis dans le transport et dans d’autres projets prioritaires d’infrastructure en dehors de la RGTH.

5,7 milliards de dollars

Le gouvernement a révisé à la hausse la cible d’optimisation des biens pour l’établir à 5,7 milliards de dollars, soit une augmentation de 2,6 milliards de dollars par rapport aux projections du budget de 2014.

FAITS EN BREF :

La totalité du produit net tiré de la vente de biens appartenant à la province sera versée dans le Fonds Trillium, en vue de son affectation au soutien des investissements infrastructurels dans le cadre du plan Faire progresser l’Ontario.

FAITS EN BREF :

Faire progresser l’Ontario transformera le réseau GO en un service ferroviaire régional plus fréquent, plus souple et plus commode.

Un des résultats concrets sera le service ferroviaire express régional (SFER) : plus de trains, des trajets plus fréquents et un service plus rapide pour les navetteurs.

Le SFER élargira considérablement l’éventail des choix offerts aux usagers : un service amélioré où les trains circuleront à une fréquence allant jusqu’à toutes les 15 minutes et un service toute la journée la semaine, en soirée et la fin de semaine dans les régions clés.

FAITS EN BREF :

Afin de jeter les bases du SFER, le gouvernement affectera des fonds supplémentaires pour améliorer le service ferroviaire existant de GO Transit.

Le SFER sera l’épine dorsale d’un réseau régional qui constituerait également le fondement du système SmartTrack proposé par la ville de Toronto. La proposition de financement de SmartTrack implique des contributions à hauteur d’environ 5,2 milliards de dollars en nouveau financement de la part de partenaires, y compris la ville de Toronto et le gouvernement fédéral.

Les fonds dédiés au plan Faire progresser l’Ontario, seraient appuyés par les mesures suivantes :

  • Dédier les revenus provenant de la taxe provinciale existante sur le litre d’essence, à hauteur de 7,5 cents, aux priorités en matière de transports en commun et d’infrastructure de transport. Ce montant serait en sus du financement provenant de la taxe sur l’essence versé aux municipalités, et le taux actuel de la taxe n’augmentera pas.
  • Réaffecter les revenus provenant de la taxe de vente harmonisée prélevée sur les taxes provinciales actuelles sur l’essence et le diesel routier.
  • Affecter les revenus provenant des mesures ciblées touchant les revenus.
  • Collaborer avec le gouvernement fédéral en vue d’obtenir du financement provenant du plan Chantiers Canada.
  • Affecter les revenus supplémentaires nets provenant des voies réservées aux véhicules multioccupants quand elles entrent en service.
  • Compléter les fonds dédiés en mobilisant des emprunts provinciaux pour s’assurer qu’une source de financement stable est disponible afin d’appuyer les projets prioritaires.

Optimisation des éléments d’actif :

En février 2015, l’Ontario a conclu la vente de ses actions restantes de General Motors qui, y compris le rachat de ses actions privilégiées, a produit un gain financier de 1,1 milliard de dollars. Ce gain est supérieur à la cible de 900 millions de dollars prévue pour l’optimisation des biens dans le budget de 2014.

Ces gains, y compris le montant supplémentaire de 200 millions de dollars, sont dorénavant dédiés au Fonds Trillium, qui les investira dans l’infrastructure publique.

En dégageant la valeur des biens-fonds publics, la province :

  • fournira des fonds de 5,7 milliards de dollars pour contribuer à soutenir les projets d’infrastructure à long terme.
  • accroîtra la commodité et le choix pour les consommateurs.
  • stimulera la croissance économique à long terme.