Building Ontario Up banner

: Strengthening Retirement Income Security for All Ontarians

Backgrounder April 23, 2015

For many workers in today’s economy, long-term, full-time employment with pension benefits is difficult to attain. Many Ontarians must save and invest individually, forcing them to deal with the complexities of stock markets and interest rates on their own. As well, all Ontarians will face greater financial pressure and uncertainty due to longer average lifespans.

Unless action is taken now, the retirement savings challenges of many Ontarians will likely worsen over time.

After a lifetime of hard work, Ontarians deserve a secure retirement. That is why the government is strengthening retirement income security through the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP) to provide a predictable, lifelong stream of retirement income to eligible Ontarians.

The Need for Action to Enhance Retirement Savings

Recent studies show that a significant number of Canadians are concerned that they will not have sufficient income for their retirement years.

  • A Sun Life Financial report shows that 36 per cent of working Canadians are not confident about having enough money to enjoy the lifestyle they want in retirement, compared to 20 per cent of current retirees.

These concerns reflect the economic and social changes that underpin the need to enhance retirement savings. 

A Changing Labour Market

In today’s workforce, people change jobs and employers frequently. On average, workers can expect to change employers about five times throughout their careers. A mobile workforce makes consistent participation in a workplace pension plan more difficult because most workplace pension plans are specific to an employer.

Non-standard employment, which includes temporary work, part-time work and holding multiple jobs, makes up an increasing share of today’s labour market. Workers in non-standard employment, particularly temporary workers, may find it difficult to access workplace pension plans.

  • In 2013, only 35 per cent of Ontario workers participated in a workplace pension plan.
  • Pension coverage is even lower for younger workers — in 2012, only about one-quarter of workers aged 25 to 34 had workplace plans, compared to nearly half of workers aged 45 to 54.

Canada Pension Plan and Old Age Security Benefits Are Low

The benefits provided by the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) and Old Age Security (OAS) are not enough to meet the retirement income needs of many Ontarians.

  • The CPP replaces 25 per cent of an individual’s earnings up to a maximum earnings level, which currently is $53,600.
  • The current maximum annual CPP benefit is about $12,800 per year, but in 2014, the average CPP annual benefit was only about $6,900 in Ontario. When combined with that year’s average OAS benefit to Ontario’s seniors, this amounted to about $13,100 per year.

Longer Lifespans and Low Personal Savings

Average lifespans are increasing and this trend is likely to continue. Half of Canadians who are 20 years old today are expected to reach age 90, and one in 10 is expected to live to 100. This will put greater pressure on the retirement income savings of Ontarians.

Experts generally recommend that individuals aim to replace 50 to 70 per cent of their pre-retirement income to maintain a similar living standard when they retire. However, studies show that many people are not saving enough to meet this goal. In 2013, there was approximately $790 billion in unused registered retirement savings plan (RRSP) room in Canada, including about $300 billion in Ontario alone.

Savings Are Important to Ontario’s Economy

Inadequate retirement savings could have broader economic implications. As individuals age, their consumption of goods and services could decline, which would dampen economic growth.

As Ontario’s population ages, the ratio of retirees to workers will increase, putting pressure on younger workers to support health care and other services for seniors.

As noted by David Dodge, former Governor of the Bank of Canada and Richard Dion, Senior Business Advisor at Bennett Jones LLP, improving productivity will foster economic growth and help address the demographic challenge. Enhancing productivity requires higher levels of investment. An effective way to finance this would be through greater household savings.

The Ontario Retirement Pension Plan

Unless action is taken now, saving adequately for retirement will likely become more difficult over time. That is why the government is moving forward with a new mandatory provincial pension plan — the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP).

The ORPP would build on the strengths of the CPP and would:

  • Offer a predictable stream of income in retirement for life, and index benefits to inflation;
  • Aim to replace 15 per cent of an individual’s pre-retirement earnings up to $90,000 (in 2014 dollars);
  • Require contribution rates to be the same for employers and employees, with a maximum combined rate not to exceed 3.8 per cent; and
  • Require benefits to be earned as contributions are made, to ensure that younger generations would not pay additional costs associated with older workers’ benefits. 

On December 8, 2014, the government introduced Bill 56, the proposed Ontario Retirement Pension Plan Act, 2014, which lays out the foundation for the plan and a commitment to establish the ORPP by January 1, 2017.

In December 2014, the government released a consultation paper on three key ORPP design questions, including scope of the plan; minimum earnings threshold; and supporting the self-employed. To help shape the Province’s approach to these key areas, in early 2015, Associate Minister of Finance Mitzie Hunter led an extensive consultation process with business, labour associations, young workers, pension experts, individuals and families across Ontario. 

Moving Forward on ORPP Design

The government will consider feedback from consultations and announce its conclusions on the key design questions shortly.

Establishing the ORPP Administration Corporation

Ontario is introducing legislation that would establish the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan Administration Corporation (ORPP AC), a professional, independent pension organization that would be responsible for administering the ORPP.

The ORPP contributions and investment funds would be held in trust for ORPP beneficiaries and would not form part of general government revenues.

Key attributes of the ORPP AC would include the following:

  • Responsibility for operationalizing the ORPP, administering the plan and investing contributions;
  • An independent, professional board of directors appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council;
  • A board nomination process to secure highly qualified, expert board members;
  • A transparency and accountability framework based on best practices in pension governance, including annual reporting, an annual meeting and strong financial controls; and
  • Duties that are consistent with prudent and responsible pension management.

The legislation would also mandate a legislative review within 10 years, which would provide an opportunity to ensure that the mandate, governance and operational framework of the ORPP AC continue to be appropriate for the long term.

The government plans to put in place an interim board to oversee the implementation process and, if the legislation passes, expects to name an interim chair for the ORPP AC in the coming months.

Moving Forward on Other Key Reforms

Pooled Registered Pension Plans

On December 8, 2014, the government introduced the proposed Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act, 2014. The proposed Act provides a legal framework for the establishment and administration of pooled registered pension plans (PRPPs) in Ontario. PRPPs would give employees and the self-employed a new type of voluntary, low-cost, tax-assisted option to help increase retirement savings.

Broader Public-Sector Asset Pooling

Following earlier Budget commitments, and the report of a technical working group on implementation issues, the government is introducing legislation to create a new corporation to manage broader public-sector funds.

Favoriser l'essor de l'Ontario

: Améliorer la sécurité du revenu de retraite pour tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes

Document d’information Le 23 avril 2015

Pour beaucoup de travailleurs, il est difficile dans la conjoncture actuelle d’occuper un emploi de longue durée et à plein temps qui offre des prestations de retraite. Beaucoup d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens doivent épargner pour leur retraite, ce qui les force à gérer eux-mêmes les complexités des marchés boursiers et des taux d’intérêt. En outre, vu l’augmentation de l’espérance de vie, tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes feront face à plus d’incertitude et de pressions financières.

À moins que des mesures ne soient prises maintenant, les difficultés liées à l’insuffisance de l’épargne-retraite de beaucoup d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens s’aggraveront probablement.

Après avoir travaillé fort toute leur vie, les Ontariennes et Ontariens méritent une retraite confortable. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement consolide la sécurité du revenu de retraite par l’entremise du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO) pour fournir une source de revenu de retraite prévisible et ce, la vie durant, aux Ontariennes et aux Ontariens admissibles.

Nécessité de prendre des mesures pour accroître l’épargne-retraite

Des études récentes montrent qu’un nombre important de Canadiennes et de Canadiens craignent de ne pas avoir un revenu suffisant à leur retraite.

  • Un rapport de la Financière Sun Life révèle que 36 % des travailleurs canadiens ne sont pas confiants d’avoir suffisamment d’argent pour profiter du mode de vie désiré à la retraite par rapport à 20 % des retraités.

Ces préoccupations témoignent des changements socioéconomiques qui sous-tendent la nécessité d’accroître l’épargne-retraite. 

Le marché du travail en mutation

Dans le marché du travail d’aujourd’hui, les gens changent souvent d’emploi et d’employeur. En moyenne, les travailleurs peuvent s’attendre à changer d’employeur environ cinq fois dans leur carrière. La mobilité de la main-d’oeuvre rend difficile la participation continue aux régimes de retraite d’employeur parce que la plupart de ces régimes sont propres à un employeur.

Les emplois atypiques, qui comprennent les emplois temporaires, le travail à temps partiel et l’exercice d’emplois multiples, représentent une part de plus en plus grande du marché du travail d’aujourd’hui. Les personnes qui occupent un emploi atypique, en particulier les travailleurs temporaires, trouveront peut-être difficile d’avoir accès à un régime de retraite d’employeur.

  • En 2013, seulement 35 % des travailleurs de l’Ontario participaient à un régime de retraite d’employeur.
  • Chez les jeunes, le nombre de travailleurs bénéficiant d’un régime de retraite est encore plus bas : en 2012, seulement le quart environ des travailleurs âgés de 25 à 34 ans participait à un régime de retraite d’employeur, comparativement à près de la moitié des travailleurs âgés de 45 à 54 ans.

Les prestations versées par le Régime de pensions du Canada et la Sécurité de la vieillesse sont basses

Les prestations versées par le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC) et la Sécurité de la vieillesse (SV) sont insuffisantes pour fournir à bon nombre d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens un revenu de retraite adéquat.

  • Le RPC remplace 25 % des revenus d’une personne jusqu’à un maximum de gains ouvrant droit à pension, qui est actuellement de 53 600 $.
  • À l’heure actuelle, la prestation maximum du RPC est d’environ 12 800 $ par année, mais en 2014, la prestation annuelle moyenne s’établissait à environ 6 900 $ en Ontario. Combiné à la prestation moyenne de la SV versée aux personnes âgées de l’Ontario en 2014, ce montant s’élevait à environ 13 100 $ par année.

Augmentation de l’espérance de vie et épargne-retraite basse

L’espérance de vie moyenne augmente et cette tendance est susceptible de se maintenir. La moitié des Canadiens qui ont 20 ans aujourd’hui devraient atteindre l’âge de 90 ans, et un sur 10 pourrait vivre jusqu’à 100 ans. Les Ontariennes et Ontariens devront donc épargner davantage pour leur retraite, ce qui va créer des pressions supplémentaires.

Les experts recommandent généralement que les particuliers prévoient des revenus représentant de 50 à 70 % de leur revenu avant retraite pour avoir un niveau de vie semblable lorsqu’ils prennent leur retraite. Or, des études montrent que de nombreuses personnes n’épargnent pas assez pour atteindre cet objectif. En 2013, les droits de cotisation à un régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite inutilisés s’établissaient à environ 790 milliards de dollars au Canada, dont 300 milliards de dollars en Ontario seulement.

Importance de l’épargne pour l’économie ontarienne

L’insuffisance de l’épargne-retraite pourrait avoir des répercussions économiques plus larges. La consommation de biens et de services par les personnes qui prennent de l’âge risque de diminuer, ce qui freinerait la croissance économique.

À mesure que la population de l’Ontario vieillit, le rapport entre le nombre de retraités et le nombre de travailleurs augmentera, ce qui imposera des pressions supplémentaires sur les jeunes travailleurs ayant à soutenir les services de santé et autres pour les personnes âgées.

Comme le soulignent David Dodge, ancien gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, et Richard Dion, conseiller principal, affaires, chez Bennett Jones LLP, c’est en augmentant la productivité qu’on arrivera à favoriser la croissance économique et à régler le problème démographique. Accroître la productivité exige des investissements majeurs. Or, la hausse de l’épargne des ménages est un moyen efficace d’y parvenir.

Le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario

À moins que des mesures ne soient prises maintenant, il sera probablement plus difficile d’épargner pour la retraite avec le temps. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement va de l’avant et lance un régime de retraite provincial obligatoire, le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO).

Le RRPO s’appuierait sur les points forts du RPC :

  • Il offrirait pour la vie une source prévisible de revenus à la retraite et indexerait les prestations à l’inflation.
  • Il viserait à remplacer 15 % des revenus avant retraite d’une personne jusqu’à concurrence d’un seuil annuel maximum de gains ouvrant droit à pension de 90 000 $ (en dollars de 2014).
  • Il exigerait que les taux de cotisation soient les mêmes pour les employeurs et les salariés, et que le taux combiné maximum ne dépasse pas 3,8 %.
  • Les prestations devraient être acquises à mesure que les cotisations sont effectuées, pour faire en sorte que les plus jeunes générations n’aient pas à assumer les coûts supplémentaires associés aux prestations versées aux travailleurs plus âgés.                        

Le 8 décembre 2014, le gouvernement a déposé le projet de loi 56, la Loi de 2014 sur le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario, qui jette les bases du régime et prévoit l’engagement d’établir le RRPO d’ici le 1er janvier 2017.

En décembre 2014, le gouvernement a publié un document de consultation sur trois grandes questions de conception du RRPO, à savoir : la portée du régime; le seuil de revenu minimum; le soutien des travailleurs autonomes. Pour façonner l’approche que la province adoptera relativement à ces questions clés, la ministre associée des Finances, l’honorable Mitzie Hunter, a tenu des consultations intensives au début de 2015 avec les entreprises, les syndicats, de jeunes travailleurs, des experts en régimes de retraite, des particuliers et des familles de partout en Ontario.

La conception du RRPO

Le gouvernement examinera les rétroactions issues du processus consultatif et annoncera sous peu ses conclusions concernant les principales questions de conception.

Créer la Société d’administration du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario

L’Ontario dépose une loi qui établirait la Société d’administration du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario, un organisme professionnel et indépendant qui serait chargé d’administrer le RRPO.

Les cotisations au RRPO et les produits des placements seraient détenus en fiducie pour le compte des bénéficiaires du RRPO et ne feraient pas partie du Trésor.

Les principaux attributs de la Société d’administration du RRPO sont les suivants :

  • responsable du fonctionnement et de l’administration du RRPO ainsi que de l’investissement des cotisations;
  • un conseil d’administration professionnel et autonome nommé par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil;
  • un processus de mise en candidature visant à recruter des membres experts hautement qualifiés pour le conseil d’administration;
  • un cadre de transparence et de responsabilisation fondé sur les pratiques exemplaires en gouvernance des régimes de retraite, comprenant la présentation de rapports annuels, une assemblée annuelle et de rigoureux contrôles financiers;
  • des fonctions concordant avec une gestion prudente et responsable des régimes de retraite.

La loi prévoirait également un examen législatif dans un délai de 10 ans qui permettrait de s’assurer que le mandat, la gouvernance et le cadre opérationnel de la Société d’administration du RRPO demeurent appropriés à long terme.

Le gouvernement envisage de mettre sur pied un conseil d’administration provisoire chargé de superviser le processus de mise en oeuvre et, si la loi est adoptée, de nommer un président provisoire de la Société d’administration du RRPO dans les mois qui suivront.

Autres réformes importantes

Régimes de pension agréés collectifs

Le 8 décembre 2014, le gouvernement a déposé la Loi de 2014 sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs. La loi proposée prévoit un cadre juridique qui régirait l’établissement et l’administration des régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) en Ontario. Les RPAC procureraient aux salariés et aux travailleurs autonomes une nouvelle option d’épargne volontaire, peu coûteuse et bénéficiant d’une aide fiscale, pour accroître leur épargne-retraite.

Mise en commun des actifs du secteur parapublic

Dans la foulée d’engagements budgétaires antérieurs, et à la suite de la présentation du rapport d’un groupe de travail technique sur les questions de mise en oeuvre, le gouvernement dépose des mesures législatives pour créer une nouvelle société qui gérera les fonds du secteur parapublic.