2016 Ontario Budget
Chapter I: Building Prosperity and Creating Jobs

Section F: Strengthening Retirement Security

Many Ontarians are not saving enough for retirement. Two-thirds of Ontario’s workers do not participate in a workplace pension plan. Moreover, about three-quarters of younger workers — aged 25 to 34 — do not participate in a workplace pension plan. Without action, many of today’s workers will not be able to maintain their current living standards in retirement and this would place pressure on government programs.

The government’s goal is to strengthen retirement security for all Ontarians. The Province is actively participating in national discussions to enhance the Canada Pension Plan (CPP), while implementing the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan (ORPP).

The ORPP is a made-in-Ontario solution to support current and future generations of Ontarians in retirement. The Conference Board of Canada’s recent cost–benefit analysis of the ORPP confirms that both the economy and Ontarians would be better off with the ORPP.1 In the long term, it is expected to add billions of dollars to the economy, while providing a cost-effective means of helping individuals save for retirement. The cost–benefit analysis also estimated that the impact on employer payroll costs from the ORPP would be, in total, almost entirely offset by expected reductions to Employment Insurance (EI) and Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) premium rates.

The government is also helping to strengthen and modernize workplace pension plans with several measures, including:

  • Reviewing the current solvency funding framework for single-employer defined benefit pension plans; and
  • Consulting on a proposed regulatory framework for target-benefit multi-employer pension plans.

Progress on the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan

The government is on track to ensure that, by 2020, all eligible Ontario workers would be covered by a comparable workplace plan or the ORPP. The ORPP Administration Corporation is now established and the process to register the plan with the Canada Revenue Agency is well underway. Final elements of plan design were announced in January 2016 and would be outlined in legislation to be introduced in spring 2016. The legislation would focus on employer eligibility, benefit calculations, and the compliance and enforcement regime.

The government has engaged Ontarians, including businesses, associations, labour groups and pension experts, throughout the design of the ORPP. Based on this feedback and to ensure a successful and smooth implementation, the ORPP Administration Corporation would launch the employer verification and enrolment process in 2017, with employer and employee contribution collection beginning in 2018. This decision supports national discussions on a CPP enhancement and facilitates transition to the ORPP.

The ORPP Administration Corporation

The ORPP Administration Corporation is responsible for administering the ORPP and managing and investing ORPP contributions. It is an independent entity with a professional board and robust governance structure modelled on the best practices of leading public-sector pension plans.

In November 2015, the government appointed the initial board of directors to oversee the ORPP. Susan Wolburgh Jenah was named the Chair, along with Murray Gold and Richard Nesbitt as Directors. The initial board members bring a diversity of experience in key areas, including investment and asset management, pension administration, legal and regulatory compliance, and financial operations and management. The government intends to appoint the full board of directors later this year.

In January 2016, the board recruited Saäd Rafi as the first CEO of the Administration Corporation. Mr. Rafi and the board are building the capacity of the Administration Corporation to deliver a member-focused, cost-effective and world-class pension plan. Immediate priorities include engaging employers on the verification and enrolment processes to ensure a seamless transition, and overseeing the set-up of infrastructure and technology requirements to administer the plan.

The government also intends to introduce an amendment to the ORPP Administration Corporation Act, 2015, that, if passed, would enable the Administration Corporation to adopt any pre-incorporation contracts made on its behalf within one year of its establishment.

Accountability and transparency are critical features of the Administration Corporation’s governance model. Through a strong accountability and transparency framework, the board of directors and management team will be fully accountable to plan members.

Specific measures to support accountability and transparency include the development of a Memorandum of Understanding between the Minister of Finance and the Administration Corporation, an annual report, an annual meeting for beneficiaries, external auditing and strong financial controls. The Administration Corporation would also work closely with a proposed Office of the Chief Actuary.

Plan Administration

The Administration Corporation is committed to efficient and cost-effective administration of the ORPP. It continues to engage and evaluate options for administration, including working with the federal government, leveraging existing infrastructure within the broader public sector and using third-party delivery partners.

To support the launch of the ORPP in 2017, with collections beginning in 2018, the Administration Corporation would proceed with the following updated implementation timelines.

TABLE 1.8 ORPP Phase-In and Contribution Schedule
(Employer contribution rates below would be matched by eligible employees)
Enrolment of employers in the ORPP would begin on January 1, 2017
Type of Employer Jan. 1, 2018 Jan. 1, 2019 Jan. 1, 2020 Jan. 1, 2021
Wave 1: Large employers without registered workplace pension plans 0.8% 1.6% 1.9% 1.9%
Wave 2: Medium employers without registered workplace pension plans 0.8% 1.6% 1.9% 1.9%
Wave 3: Small employers without registered workplace pension plans 0% 0.8% 1.6% 1.9%
Wave 4: Employers with registered pension plans that either do not meet the comparability test or do not cover all classes of employees 0% 0% 1.9% 1.9%

The Province heard from the business community that it needed additional time. The government has responded to this and will provide employers affected by the ORPP with more time to make the technical changes required. The Province is committed to supporting a smooth and successful implementation of the ORPP. The additional time will also enable national discussions on CPP enhancement to proceed.

A Sustainable Plan

The government is creating a sustainable plan that builds on the foundation of the CPP. This would help ensure that Ontarians retire with improved savings and security. In spring 2016, the government intends to introduce proposed legislation setting out the requirements of ORPP, rules relating to plan funding, and the compliance and enforcement regime.

Mirroring the strengths of the CPP, the ORPP would:

  • Aim to replace 15 per cent of an individual’s pre-retirement earnings, up to a maximum earnings threshold of $90,000 (proposed in 2017 dollars), based on 40 years of participation;
  • Require equal contributions from employers and employees, with a maximum combined rate of 3.8 per cent;
  • Require benefits to be earned as contributions are made to ensure plan sustainability and intergenerational equity;
  • Establish a minimum earnings threshold of $3,500 for eligible employees between the ages of 18 and 70;
  • Provide a survivor benefit to beneficiaries or surviving spouses;
  • Exempt those subsets of members of comparable workplace pension plans with benefit accruals or contribution levels that meet the appropriate thresholds; and
  • Phase in implementation for employers between 2017 and 2020, with collections beginning in 2018.

Detailed features of the proposed plan design are available at Ontario.ca/orpp.

Responsible Funding of the ORPP

The financial viability of the ORPP is imperative. Through extensive modelling and consultations with experts, the ORPP has been designed to be sustainable over the long term. A formal funding policy would guide timely actions by the Administration Corporation and the government, in the event of funding excess or shortfall.

To evaluate and report on plan sustainability and prepare funding valuations, the government is proposing to establish an independent provincial Office of the Chief Actuary (OCA) by legislation in 2016. Modelled on the Office of the Chief Actuary of Canada, Ontario’s Chief Actuary would provide the Province and the Administration Corporation with impartial and expert actuarial advice and guidance. All valuations would be peer-reviewed and made public.

Moving Forward

The Province and the ORPP Administration Corporation will continue to seek advice through ongoing discussions with stakeholders such as the Business Advisory Group on ORPP Implementation.

Collaboration on a National Pension Solution

The Province has long been a champion of strengthening the retirement income security system and is pleased that the federal government shares this commitment and has renewed national discussions to enhance the CPP. Ontario will work collaboratively and intensively with the federal government, provinces and territories to make progress on a CPP enhancement that addresses the needs of future retirees.

The Province’s extensive consultations in developing the ORPP have helped to inform Ontario’s view that a CPP enhancement must be timely and provide a level of adequacy and targeted coverage that is consistent with the ORPP. The government looks forward to collaboration on a CPP enhancement and other innovative approaches at the Federal–Provincial–Territorial Finance Ministers meeting in June 2016.

Strengthening and Modernizing Workplace Pension Plans

Workplace pension plans are an integral part of Ontario’s retirement income system. They provide employers with a tool to attract and retain talent, while giving employees a valuable source of retirement income. The 2008 recession and subsequent economic challenges have highlighted the need for regulatory reform. The government continues to pursue reforms to the pension regulatory landscape to encourage innovative and flexible retirement savings tools and to ensure pension plans continue to be a viable retirement savings tool in different economic conditions. At the same time, the government is committed to ensuring that the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund remains a sustainable source of protection for covered plans.

Solvency Funding Review and Temporary Solvency Funding Relief

In recent years, low long-term interest rates have placed funding pressures on pension plan sponsors of single-employer defined benefit (DB) pension plans. To assist sponsors in these challenging circumstances, the government has initiated a review of the current solvency funding framework.

The government has appointed David Marshall, former president and CEO of the WSIB, to lead the solvency funding review. He will provide advice and recommendations to the Minister, with a view to assisting the Ministry of Finance in developing a balanced set of solvency funding reforms that would focus on plan sustainability, affordability and benefit security, and take into account the interests of pension stakeholders — including sponsors, unions, members and retirees.

A stakeholder reference group is being established to ensure that reforms to the existing solvency funding framework are informed by a broad range of stakeholder opinions. A consultation paper, outlining possible reform measures, will be released in spring 2016.

To provide plan sponsors with more immediate assistance, the government plans to extend temporary solvency funding relief measures introduced in 2009 and 2012 for private-sector plan sponsors. Draft regulations will be posted for consultation in spring 2016.

Target Benefit Multi-Employer Pension Plans

In summer 2015, Ontario released a consultation paper seeking input from affected stakeholders on a proposed regulatory framework for target benefit multi-employer pension plans (MEPPs), including a permanent exemption from solvency funding requirements. The consultation paper also proposed a transition period of three years for eligible MEPPs to allow such plans to make necessary adjustments to comply with any new target benefit MEPP framework. Feedback was received from a variety of stakeholders, including actuarial firms, professional associations, MEPPs and labour unions.

While submissions were supportive of a new framework, including a solvency funding exemption, some concerns were raised that certain MEPPs may face challenges transitioning to a new framework and implementing changes in funding rules.

The government will continue to consult with affected stakeholders on all aspects of a target benefit MEPP framework, including funding rules, and is committed to providing a transition period that allows sufficient time and ensures minimal disruption to the collective bargaining process.

Additional Legislative Measures

Minor adjustments to legislation are being pursued in the following areas:

  • Pension advisory committees (PACs): Draft regulations under the Pension Benefits Act intended to facilitate the establishment of PACs were posted for public consultation in fall 2015. The role of PACs would be to monitor plan administration, make recommendations to the administrator regarding the pension plan, and promote awareness and understanding of the pension plan. The government is proposing additional legislative changes to enable implementation of PACs. Regulations incorporating stakeholder feedback will be finalized later this year.
  • Pooled registered pension plans (PRPPs): The government is introducing amendments to the Pooled Registered Pension Plans Act, 2015, to further facilitate harmonization with other jurisdictions and ensure the efficient operation of PRPPs. Regulations to support the implementation of PRPPs in the province are under development. The government will also be developing an appropriate test to determine comparability for the purposes of the ORPP.
  • Teachers’ Pension Act: Since its inception, the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan has contained provisions that limit the amount of education-related work that can be pursued by retired teachers who are collecting a pension. This has been an important parameter that helps facilitate opportunities for newer teachers. Amendments to the Teachers’ Pension Act are being proposed that ensure these re-employment rules would prevail over the Pension Benefits Act to the extent of any conflict.

1 Conference Board of Canada, “A Cost–Benefit Analysis of the Ontario Retirement Pension Plan,” (2015), http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/pension/orpp/orpp-cb-analysis.html.

Budget de l’Ontario 2016
Chapitre I : Favoriser la prospérité et créer des emplois

Section F : Sécuriser la retraite

Nombreux sont les Ontariennes et Ontariens qui n’économisent pas suffisamment pour la retraite. Deux tiers des travailleurs en Ontario ne participent pas à un régime de retraite d’un employeur et cette proportion passe à trois quarts chez les jeunes travailleurs de 25 à 34 ans. Si des mesures ne sont pas prises, beaucoup de travailleurs d’aujourd’hui ne seront pas en mesure de maintenir leur niveau de vie actuel à la retraite, ce qui exercerait des pressions sur les programmes du gouvernement.

Le gouvernement s’est donné comme objectif de sécuriser la retraite de toute la population ontarienne. Dans cette optique, la province participe activement aux discussions nationales visant à bonifier le Régime de pensions du Canada (RPC), tout en mettant en oeuvre le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario (RRPO).

Le RRPO est une solution proprement ontarienne visant à appuyer les générations actuelles et futures d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens à la retraite. L’analyse coûts-avantages du RRPO, réalisée récemment par Le Conference Board du Canada, confirme que la situation de l’économie comme de la population de l’Ontario serait meilleure avec le RRPO1. À long terme, on s’attend à ce que le RRPO apporte des milliards de dollars à l’économie tout en offrant des moyens rentables d’aider les personnes à économiser pour la retraite. Selon cette même analyse, on estime que l’incidence qu’aurait le RRPO sur la masse salariale des employeurs serait, dans l’ensemble, presque entièrement neutralisée par les réductions attendues des taux de cotisation à l’assurance-emploi (AE) et à la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents de travail (CSPAAT).

Le gouvernement contribue également à renforcer et à moderniser les régimes de retraite d’employeur en prenant différentes mesures, notamment en :

  • examinant le cadre actuel de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à l’égard des régimes de retraite à employeur unique à prestations déterminées;
  • menant des consultations sur une proposition de cadre régissant les régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles.

Progrès réalisés à l’égard du Régime de retraite de l’Ontario

Le gouvernement est en bonne voie de garantir que, d’ici 2020, tous les travailleurs ontariens admissibles seraient couverts par le RRPO ou par un régime d’employeur comparable. La Société d’administration du RRPO est maintenant établie et le processus d’enregistrement du régime auprès de l’Agence du revenu du Canada est bien avancé. Les derniers éléments touchant la structure du régime ont été annoncés en janvier 2016, et seraient énoncés dans la loi qui devrait être présentée au printemps 2016. Cette loi mettrait l’accent sur l’admissibilité des employeurs, le calcul des prestations et le cadre de conformité et de mise en application.

Le gouvernement a sollicité, tout au long de la conception du RRPO, la participation des Ontariennes et des Ontariens, y compris des entreprises, des associations, des groupes de travailleuses et de travailleurs et des experts du domaine des régimes de retraite. En s’appuyant sur les commentaires reçus, et pour assurer une mise en oeuvre réussie et harmonieuse, la Société d’administration du RRPO lancerait en 2017 les processus de vérification et d’adhésion des employeurs, qui seraient suivis en 2018 de la perception des premières cotisations auprès des employeurs et employés. Cette décision vient étayer les discussions nationales sur la bonification du RPC et facilite la transition au RRPO.

La Société d’administration du RRPO

La Société d’administration du RRPO est chargée d’administrer le RRPO ainsi que d’en gérer et investir les cotisations. Il s’agit d’une entité indépendante dotée d’un conseil d’administration professionnel et d’une structure de gouvernance solide reproduisant les pratiques optimales des principaux régimes de retraite du secteur public.

En novembre 2015, le gouvernement a nommé le premier conseil d’administration dont le mandat est de superviser le RRPO. Susan Wolburgh Jenah a été nommée présidente du conseil, et Murray Gold et Richard Nesbitt se sont vu confier les fonctions d’administrateur. Les membres du conseil initial mettent à contribution une expérience variée dans des domaines clés, notamment la gestion des placements et de l’actif, l’administration des régimes de retraite, la conformité aux lois et aux règlements, ainsi que les activités et la gestion financières. Le gouvernement entend nommer l’ensemble du conseil d’administration plus tard cette année.

En janvier 2016, le conseil a recruté Saäd Rafi à titre de premier directeur général de la Société d’administration du RRPO. Ensemble, M. Rafi et le conseil renforcent la capacité de la Société d’administration du RRPO à offrir un régime de retraite rentable de calibre mondial, axé sur les participants. Ils auront comme premières priorités d’amener les employeurs à participer aux processus de vérification et d’adhésion, afin d’assurer une transition en douceur et de superviser la mise en place de l’infrastructure et de la technologie nécessaires à l’administration du régime.

Le gouvernement entend également présenter une modification à la Loi de 2015 sur la Société d’administration du RRPO qui, si elle était adoptée, permettrait à la Société d’administration de ratifier tout contrat préconstitutif signé en son nom dans un délai de un an de son établissement.

La responsabilisation et la transparence sont deux composantes essentielles du modèle de gouvernance de la Société d’administration. Par l’entremise d’un solide cadre de responsabilisation et de transparence, le conseil d’administration et l’équipe de direction seront entièrement redevables envers les participants au régime.

L’élaboration d’un protocole d’entente entre le ministère des Finances et la Société d’administration, un rapport annuel, une assemblée annuelle des bénéficiaires ainsi qu’un audit externe et des contrôles financiers rigoureux font partie des mesures particulières à l’appui de la responsabilisation et de la transparence. En outre, la Société d’administration travaillerait en étroite collaboration avec le Bureau de l’actuaire en chef que l’on propose de créer.

Administration du régime

La Société d’administration est résolue à administrer le RRPO de façon efficiente et économique. Elle continue à jouer un rôle actif et à évaluer des options possibles pour l’administration du régime, notamment en collaborant avec le gouvernement fédéral, en tirant parti de l’infrastructure existante au sein du secteur parapublic et en faisant appel à des tiers partenaires pour l’exécution.

Afin de faciliter le lancement du RRPO en 2017, suivi de la perception des cotisations à partir de 2018, la Société d’administration devrait respecter les nouveaux délais de mise en oeuvre présentés ci-après.

TABLEAU 1.8 Calendrier de mise en oeuvre du RRPO et des taux de cotisation au régime
(Les employés admissibles paieraient des taux de cotisation équivalant aux taux ci-dessous des employeurs)
L’adhésion des employeurs au RRPO commencerait le 1er janvier 2017
Type d’employeur 1er janv. 2018 1er janv. 2019 1er janv. 2020 1er janv. 2021
Vague 1 : employeurs de grande taille sans régime de retraite d’employeur enregistré 0,8 % 1,6 % 1,9 % 1,9 %
Vague 2 : employeurs de taille moyenne sans régime de retraite d’employeur enregistré 0,8 % 1,6 % 1,9 % 1,9 %
Vague 3 : employeurs de petite taille sans régime de retraite d’employeur enregistré 0,0 % 0,8 % 1,6 % 1,9 %
Vague 4 : employeurs avec régime de retraite enregistré qui ne satisfait pas au test de comparabilité ou ne couvre pas toutes les catégories d’employés 0,0 % 0,0 % 1,9 % 1,9 %

Le milieu des affaires a fait savoir à la province qu’il aurait besoin de plus de temps. Le gouvernement a donné suite à cette demande et accordera aux employeurs concernés davantage de temps pour effectuer les modifications techniques nécessaires. La province s’engage à assurer une mise en oeuvre harmonieuse et réussie du RRPO. Le temps supplémentaire permettra également la tenue de discussions nationales sur la bonification du RPC.

Un régime viable

Le gouvernement crée un régime viable qui s’appuie sur les bases du RPC. Il serait ainsi possible pour les générations futures d’Ontariennes et d’Ontariens de prendre leur retraite en bénéficiant d’une plus grande sécurité financière grâce à une épargne accrue. Au printemps 2016, le gouvernement entend présenter un projet de loi énonçant les exigences du RRPO, les règles applicables à la capitalisation du régime et le cadre de conformité et de mise en application.

Reproduisant les points forts du RPC, le RRPO :

  • viserait à remplacer 15 % des revenus avant-retraite jusqu’à concurrence d’un seuil de revenu maximum de 90 000 $ (montant proposé en dollars de 2017), en supposant des cotisations pendant 40 ans;
  • exigerait des cotisations à parts égales des employeurs et des employés, et un taux maximal combiné ne dépassant pas 3,8 %;
  • exigerait que les prestations soient acquises à mesure que les cotisations sont versées afin d’assurer la viabilité du régime et l’équité entre les générations;
  • établirait un seuil de revenu minimum de 3 500 $ pour les employés admissibles âgés de 18 à 70 ans;
  • prévoirait une prestation de survivant pour le bénéficiaire ou le conjoint survivant;
  • exonérerait les sous-groupes de participants à des régimes de retraite d’employeur comparables dont les prestations constituées ou les niveaux de cotisation atteignent les seuils adéquats;
  • assurerait la mise en oeuvre progressive du régime auprès des employeurs au cours des années 2017-2020 et la perception des cotisations à partir de 2018.

Les détails sur la conception prévue du régime sont accessibles sur la page Ontario.ca/rrpo.

Financement responsable du RRPO

Il est essentiel que le RRPO soit financièrement viable. Grâce à des consultations avec des experts et un processus de modélisation approfondis, le RRPO a été conçu de manière à être viable à long terme. La mise en place d’une politique en matière de capitalisation permettrait d’orienter les interventions rapides de la Société d’administration et du gouvernement en cas d’excédent ou de déficit de capitalisation.

Le gouvernement propose d’établir, par adoption d’une loi en 2016, un Bureau de l’actuaire en chef (BAC) provincial indépendant afin d’évaluer la viabilité du régime et d’en rendre compte, ainsi que de préparer des évaluations de la capitalisation. En s’appuyant sur le modèle du Bureau de l’actuaire en chef du Canada, l’actuaire en chef de l’Ontario fournirait à la province et à la Société d’administration des indications et des conseils actuariels objectifs et éclairés. Toutes les évaluations feraient l’objet d’un examen par des pairs et seraient rendues publiques.

Aller de l’avant

La province et la Société d’administration du RRPO continueront de solliciter des conseils en menant des discussions suivies avec les parties concernées, notamment le Groupe de consultation sur la mise en oeuvre du RRPO.

Collaboration sur la bonification du Régime de pensions du Canada

La province est depuis longtemps le champion du renforcement du système de sécurité du revenu de retraite et se réjouit que le gouvernement fédéral partage cet engagement et ait repris les discussions nationales visant à bonifier le RPC. L’Ontario mènera un travail de collaboration intense avec le gouvernement fédéral, les provinces et les territoires pour progresser sur la question d’un RPC bonifié capable de répondre aux besoins particuliers des futurs retraités.

Les consultations approfondies de la province sur l’élaboration du RRPO ont contribué à exposer le point de vue de l’Ontario selon lequel toute bonification du RPC doit être réalisée en temps utile et fournir un niveau de protection adéquat et ciblé qui est compatible avec le RRPO. Le gouvernement se réjouit de collaborer sur la question de la bonification du RPC et d’autres approches innovatrices lors de la réunion des ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux des Finances qui aura lieu en juin 2016.

Renforcer et moderniser les régimes de retraite d’employeur

Les régimes de retraite d’employeur font partie intégrante du système de revenu de retraite de l’Ontario. Ils offrent aux employeurs un instrument destiné à attirer et à maintenir en poste des travailleuses et des travailleurs talentueux, tout en procurant aux employés une source importante de revenu de retraite. La récession de 2008 ainsi que les enjeux économiques qui ont suivi ont fait ressortir le besoin d’une réforme réglementaire. Le gouvernement continue de poursuivre les réformes de l’environnement réglementaire des régimes de retraite afin d’encourager l’utilisation d’instruments d’épargne-retraite innovateurs et souples et de veiller à ce que les régimes de retraite demeurent un instrument d’épargne-retraite viable, peu importe le contexte économique. En même temps, le gouvernement est résolu à faire en sorte que le Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite reste une source viable de protection pour les régimes couverts.

Examen de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité et allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité

Ces dernières années, les faibles taux d’intérêt à long terme ont exercé des pressions sur la capacité des promoteurs de régimes de retraite à employeur unique à prestations déterminées à financer leurs régimes. Afin d’aider les promoteurs dans ce contexte difficile, le gouvernement a entrepris l’examen du cadre actuel en matière de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité.

Le gouvernement a chargé David Marshall, ancien président et directeur général de la CSPAAT, de la mission de diriger l’examen de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité. M. Marshall fournira des conseils et des recommandations au ministre, dans le but d’aider le ministère des Finances à proposer une série de réformes de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité, axées sur la viabilité et le caractère abordable des régimes ainsi que sur la sécurité des prestations, qui tiendraient compte des intérêts des différents intervenants du secteur des régimes de retraite, incluant les promoteurs, les syndicats, les participants à des régimes et les retraités.

Un groupe de référence des intervenants est mis en place pour assurer que les réformes du cadre actuel en matière de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité reposent sur les opinions d’un large éventail d’intervenants. Un document de consultation, précisant des mesures de réforme éventuelles, sera rendu public au printemps 2016.

Afin de fournir une aide immédiate aux promoteurs de régime, le gouvernement entend renouveler les mesures d’allégement temporaire de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité, qui avaient été offertes en 2009 et 2012 aux promoteurs de régimes du secteur privé. Les projets de règlement seront affichés aux fins de consultation au printemps 2016.

Régimes de retraite interentreprises à prestations cibles

Au cours de l’été 2015, l’Ontario a rendu public un document de consultation sur le cadre de réglementation proposé à l’égard des régimes de retraite interentreprises (RRI) à prestations cibles, y compris sur une exemption permanente des exigences de capitalisation du déficit, et a sollicité la rétroaction des intervenants concernés. Le document de consultation proposait également une période de transition de trois ans pour les RRI admissibles afin de permettre à ces régimes de faire les rajustements nécessaires pour qu’ils soient conformes à tout nouveau cadre des RRI à prestations cibles. Des commentaires ont été reçus de différents intervenants, notamment de cabinets d’actuaires, d’associations professionnelles, de RRI et de syndicats.

Même si les commentaires appuyaient un nouveau cadre de réglementation, notamment l’exemption des exigences de capitalisation du déficit, la possibilité pour certains RRI de faire face à des difficultés lors du passage à un nouveau cadre et de la mise en oeuvre de modifications aux règles de capitalisation a soulevé des préoccupations.

Le gouvernement continuera de consulter les intervenants concernés sur tous les aspects d’un cadre de réglementation des RRI à prestations cibles, notamment sur les règles de capitalisation, et s’engage à prévoir une période de transition qui accorde suffisamment de temps et garantit le minimum de bouleversements au processus de négociation collective.

Autres mesures législatives

De légères modifications à la loi sont en cours dans les domaines suivants :

  • Comités consultatifs des régimes de retraite : À l’automne 2015, des projets de règlement d’application de la Loi sur les prestations de pension, visant à faciliter la création de comités consultatifs des régimes de retraite, ont été affichés aux fins de consultation publique. Ces comités seraient chargés de contrôler l’administration du régime, de formuler des recommandations à l’administrateur au sujet du régime de retraite et de mieux faire connaître et comprendre le régime de retraite. Le gouvernement propose d’autres modifications législatives pour permettre la mise en oeuvre de ces comités. La version finale des règlements qui prennent en compte les commentaires des intervenants sera publiée plus tard dans l’année.
  • Régimes de pension agréés collectifs (RPAC) : Le gouvernement propose des modifications à la Loi de 2015 sur les régimes de pension agréés collectifs dans le but de favoriser encore davantage l’harmonisation des RPAC d’une province et d’un territoire à l’autre et d’en assurer leur bon fonctionnement. Les règlements visant à appuyer la mise en oeuvre des RPAC dans la province sont en cours d’élaboration. Le gouvernement mettra également au point un test adéquat de comparabilité à des fins de comparaison du RRPO.
  • Loi sur le régime de retraite des enseignants : Depuis sa création, le Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario comprend des dispositions qui limitent le temps que peuvent consacrer les enseignantes et enseignants retraités à du travail lié à l’enseignement, lorsqu’ils touchent une pension. Cette restriction est un facteur important pour aider à créer des débouchés pour de nouveaux enseignants et enseignantes. Des modifications à la Loi sur les régimes de retraite des enseignants sont proposées dans le but d’assurer que ces règles de réemploi l’emporteraient sur la Loi sur les régimes de retraite en cas de conflit.

1 Le Conference Board du Canada, Analyse coûts-avantages du Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario, 2015, http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/pension/orpp/orpp-cb-analysis.html.