2016 Ontario Budget
Chapter II: A Balanced Path to a Balanced Budget

Section A: Ontario’s Path to Balance

The government is dedicated to a fiscally sound approach to managing the Province’s finances, which will provide the foundation for the long-term well-being and prosperity of Ontarians. An important aspect of this fiscal approach is its continued commitment to balance the budget by 2017–18. The government is taking deliberate and responsible steps to achieve that goal.

Through strong fiscal management, the Province is achieving its targets while continuing to invest in the economy, its people and a healthy, clean and prosperous low-carbon future. These investments will help enhance the public services that Ontarians rely on, as well as stimulate growth. A growing economy and new jobs are the best way to support Ontario families and generate revenues on the path to balance and long-term prosperity.

Ontario’s Plan to Eliminate the Deficit

Ontario’s plan to eliminate the deficit includes:

  • Transforming government and responsibly managing spending; and
  • Ensuring revenue integrity and addressing the underground economy.

The government is projecting a deficit of $5.7 billion in 2015–16 — an improvement of $2.8 billion compared with the 2015 Budget forecast and $1.8 billion compared with the projection laid out in the 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review. It is also a $4.6 billion improvement compared with the 2014–15 deficit of $10.3 billion. This represents the Province’s largest year-over-year reduction in the deficit in the last five years.

Ontario is on track to beat its deficit target for the seventh year in a row. By continuing to beat its fiscal targets, the government’s accumulated deficit is $30 billion lower than it otherwise would have been.

The government is projecting a deficit of $4.3 billion in 2016–17, which reflects an improvement of $0.5 billion compared with the 2015 Budget forecast.

Ontario is also projecting it will meet its commitment to return to balance in 2017–18 — the result of a plan to eliminate the deficit that was first laid out in the 2010 Budget. Achieving balance will put net debt-to-GDP on a declining track.

With the economy expected to continue to grow, and the Province’s ongoing commitment to transform government programs and services, Ontario is well positioned for long-term sustainability and is projecting to remain balanced in 2018–19.

As an indication of greater sustainability in the Province’s management of its debt, net debt-to-GDP is expected to peak at 39.6 per cent in 2015–16, remain level in 2016–17 and begin to decline in 2017–18.

Responsible Fiscal Management

Ontario will continue to build on its proven track record of responsible fiscal management.

Supported by the outlook for continued economic growth, revenue is projected to grow by an average annual rate of 4.6 per cent between 2014–15 and 2018–19. An increasingly competitive global economic environment and ongoing uncertainty pose risks to these projections.

The program expense outlook over the medium term is projected to be higher in each fiscal year than forecast in the 2015 Budget, growing at an average annual rate of 1.9 per cent over the 2014–15 to 2018–19 period. This reflects the government’s commitment to invest in priority areas to enhance public services, support economic growth and a low-carbon economy, and create jobs.

As the Commission on the Reform of Ontario’s Public Services indicated, slowing the rate of growth in program spending is essential for balancing the budget by 2017–18. The Commission indicated that, in the absence of measures to slow growth in spending, program expense would grow at an average annual rate of 3.5 per cent. Between 2010–11 and 2014–15, responsible fiscal management resulted in the Province’s total expense growth being held to an average annual rate of 1.5 per cent — in line with the Commission’s recommended growth rate of 1.4 per cent. In addition, program spending has fallen to 16.4 per cent of GDP in 2014–15, lower than the 17.9 per cent reached in 2009–10. Even with the government’s planned investments, program expense-to-GDP is expected to fall to 15.0 per cent by 2018–19. Ontario was the leanest government in Canada, with the lowest per-capita program spending of any province in 2014–15, and is projected to remain so in 2015–16.

The Province is projected to spend nine cents of every revenue dollar received on interest in 2016–17. Ontario’s ratio of interest on debt-to-revenue continues to be stable. This ratio is lower than in the 1990s and 2000s, and is forecast to remain lower through the outlook period in 2018–19.

The following sections of this chapter outline measures the government is taking to achieve a balanced budget by 2017–18 and secure the Province’s long-term fiscal sustainability.


Chart Descriptions

Chart 2.1: Ontario’s Record against Deficit Targets

This bar chart shows Ontario’s actual deficits versus deficit targets from 2009–10 through 2014–15, and the interim projection for 2015–16.

In the 2009 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, Ontario projected a $24.7 billion deficit for 2009–10. The actual result for 2009–10 was a deficit of $19.3 billion.

The 2010 Budget projected deficits of $19.7 billion for 2010–11, $17.3 billion for 2011–12, $15.9 billion for 2012–13 and $13.3 billion for 2013–14. The actual deficits over the same period were $14.0 billion for 2010–11, $13.0 billion for 2011–12, $9.2 billion for 2012–13 and $10.5 billion for 2013–14.

The 2014 Budget projected a deficit of $12.5 billion for 2014–15. The actual deficit was $10.3 billion. The 2015 Budget projected a deficit of $8.5 billion for 2015–16. The deficit is currently projected to be $5.7 billion.

Return to Chart 2.1

Chart 2.2: Ontario’s Plan to Eliminate the Deficit

This bar chart shows projections for Ontario’s fiscal outlook in 2016–17, 2017–18 and 2018–19.

In 2016–17, Ontario’s deficit is projected to be $4.3 billion. This is compared to a projected deficit of $4.8 billion for 2016–17 laid out in the 2015 Budget.

Ontario is projected to balance in both 2017–18 and 2018–19.

Return to Chart 2.2

Chart 2.3: Net Debt-to-GDP, 1990–91 to 2018–19

This line chart shows Ontario’s net debt-to-GDP from 1990–91 to 2018–19.

The net debt-to-GDP ratio is projected to peak at 39.6 per cent for 2015–16 before levelling off in 2016–17 and beginning to decline in 2017–18. It is projected to be 39.6 per cent in 2016–17, 38.9 per cent in 2017–18, and 38.5 per cent in 2018–19.

Return to Chart 2.3

Chart 2.4: Ratio of Program Expense to GDP, 2009–10 to 2018–19

This line chart shows the ratio of Ontario’s program expense to nominal GDP from 2009–10 to 2018–19.

For 2015–16, the ratio is 16.2 per cent, based on the interim expense projection for 2015–16. The ratio is projected to be 15.7 per cent in 2016–17; 15.3 per cent in 2017–18 and 15.0 per cent in 2018–19.

For past years, the ratio is based on actual program expense amounts: it is 17.9 per cent in 2009–10; 17.7 per cent in 2010–11; 17.1 per cent in 2011–12; 16.5 per cent in 2012–13; 16.7 per cent in 2013–14; and 16.4 per cent in 2014–15.

Return to Chart 2.4

Chart 2.5: Interest on Debt as a Per Cent of Revenue, 1990–91 to 2018–19

This line chart shows the ratio of Ontario’s interest on debt to total revenue from 1990–91 to 2018–19.

The ratio has been at various levels between 8.6 per cent and 9.2 per cent since 2006–07. It is projected to be 8.9 per cent in 2015–16; 9.0 per cent in both
2016–17 and 2017–18; and 9.2 per cent in 2018–19.

Return to Chart 2.5

Budget de l’Ontario 2016 :
Chapitre II : Un cheminement raisonnable vers un budget équilibré

Section A : La voie choisie par l’Ontario pour équilibrer le budget

Le gouvernement entend gérer les coffres de la province en adoptant une approche financièrement responsable, laquelle établira les fondements du bien-être et de la prospérité à long terme de la population ontarienne. Un aspect important de cette approche financière est un engagement continu à équilibrer le budget d’ici 2017-2018. Le gouvernement prend des mesures résolues et responsables pour atteindre cet objectif.

Grâce à une gestion financière solide, la province atteint ses cibles tout en continuant d’investir dans l’économie, sa population et un avenir sain, propre, prospère et sobre en carbone. Ces investissements contribueront à améliorer les services publics sur lesquels la population de l’Ontario compte et à stimuler la croissance. Une économie en croissance et de nouveaux emplois sont les moyens par excellence de soutenir les familles ontariennes et de générer des revenus dans un contexte d’équilibre budgétaire et de prospérité à long terme.

Plan de l’Ontario visant à éliminer le déficit

Le plan de l’Ontario pour éliminer le déficit inclut :

  • la transformation du gouvernement et la gestion responsable des dépenses;
  • la protection de l’intégrité des revenus et la lutte contre l’économie souterraine.

Le gouvernement prévoit un déficit de 5,7 milliards de dollars pour 2015-2016, une amélioration de 2,8 milliards de dollars par rapport aux prévisions faites dans le budget de 2015 et de 1,8 milliard de dollars par rapport aux prévisions figurant dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2015. C’est également une amélioration de 4,6 milliards de dollars par rapport au déficit de 10,3 milliards de dollars de 2014-2015. Cela représente la plus importante réduction du déficit de la province sur douze mois depuis les cinq dernières années.

L’Ontario s’apprête à dépasser sa cible de réduction du déficit pour une septième année de suite. Parce qu’il continue à dépasser ses objectifs financiers, le déficit cumulatif du gouvernement est aujourd’hui inférieur de 30 milliards de dollars à ce qu’il aurait autrement été.

Le gouvernement prévoit un déficit de 4,3 milliards de dollars pour 2016-2017, ce qui est une amélioration de 0,5 milliard de dollars par rapport aux prévisions du budget de 2015.

L’Ontario prévoit également respecter son engagement de rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire en 2017-2018, grâce au plan pour éliminer le déficit qu’il a d’abord présenté dans le budget de 2010. L’équilibre budgétaire permettra de réduire le ratio de la dette nette au PIB.

Grâce à la croissance économique qui devrait se poursuivre et à l’engagement continu du gouvernement de l’Ontario de transformer ses programmes et services, la province est bien placée pour assurer sa viabilité financière à long terme et l’équilibre budgétaire devrait se maintenir pour l’exercice 2018‑2019.

À titre d’indicateur de la viabilité accrue de la gestion de la dette de la province, on prévoit que le ratio de la dette nette au PIB atteindra un sommet de 39,6 % en 2015‑2016 et se stabilisera en 2016-2017, pour ensuite commencer à diminuer en 2017-2018.

Gestion financière responsable

L’Ontario continuera à faire fond sur ses réussites en matière de gestion financière responsable.

Soutenus par des perspectives de croissance économique continue, les revenus de la province devraient augmenter en moyenne de 4,6 % annuellement entre 2014‑2015 et 2018‑2019. Il n’en demeure pas moins que l’intensification de la concurrence internationale et la persistance de l’incertitude risquent de compromettre ces projections.

Les perspectives relatives aux charges de programmes à moyen terme pour chacun des exercices allant de 2014-2015 à 2018-2019 devraient être supérieures aux prévisions à moyen terme énoncées dans le budget de 2015, augmentant de 1,9 % en moyenne par année. Ces données traduisent l’engagement du gouvernement d’investir dans les domaines prioritaires permettant de rehausser les services publics, de soutenir la croissance économique et une économie sobre en carbone, et de créer des emplois.

Comme l’a indiqué la Commission de réforme des services publics de l’Ontario, pour équilibrer le budget d’ici 2017-2018, il est essentiel de ralentir le rythme de croissance des charges de programmes. La Commission estimait qu’en l’absence de telles mesures, la croissance annuelle de ces charges atteindrait en moyenne 3,5 %. Grâce à sa gestion budgétaire responsable entre 2010-2011 et 2014-2015, le gouvernement a maintenu le rythme de croissance annuel des charges de programmes totales à 1,5 % en moyenne, ce qui correspond grosso modo au taux de croissance de 1,4 % que recommandait la Commission. De plus, les charges de programmes ont diminué, s’établissant à 16,4 % du PIB en 2014-2015, soit un niveau inférieur à celui de 17,9 % atteint en 2009-2010. Malgré les investissements prévus du gouvernement, le ratio des charges de programmes au PIB devrait être ramené à 15,0 % d’ici 2018-2019. L’Ontario a le gouvernement le moins coûteux au Canada, ayant affiché en 2014-2015 le niveau de charges de programmes par habitant le moins élevé de toutes les provinces, et on prévoit que ce sera encore le cas en 2015-2016.

La province prévoit dépenser en intérêts neuf cents de chaque dollar de revenu en 2016-2017. Le ratio de l’intérêt sur la dette aux revenus de l’Ontario continue à être stable. Ce ratio est inférieur à ce qu’il était dans les années 1990 et 2000 et devrait se maintenir à ce niveau pour la période de prévision jusqu’en 2018‑2019.

Les sections suivantes du présent chapitre décrivent les mesures que le gouvernement prend pour atteindre l’équilibre budgétaire d’ici 2017-2018 et assurer la viabilité financière à long terme de la province.


Description des graphiques

Graphique 2.1 : Résultats de l’Ontario par rapport aux objectifs concernant le déficit

Ce graphique à barres montre les déficits réels de l’Ontario de 2009-2010 à 2014-2015 et les projections provisoires pour 2015-2016.

Dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario 2009, on prévoyait un déficit de 24,7 milliards de dollars pour 2009-2010. Le déficit réel de 2009-2010 s’établissait à 19,3 milliards de dollars.

Le budget de 2010 prévoyait des déficits de 19,7 milliards de dollars en 2010-2011, de 17,3 milliards de dollars en 2011-2012, de 15,9 milliards de dollars en 2012-2013 et de 13,3 milliards de dollars en 2013-2014. Les déficits réels ont été de 14,0 milliards de dollars en 2010-2011, de 13,0 milliards de dollars en 2011-2012, de 9,2 milliards de dollars en 2012-2013 et de 10,5 milliards de dollars en 2013-2014.

Le budget de 2014 prévoyait un déficit de 12,5 milliards de dollars en 2014-2015. Le déficit réel était de 10,3 milliards de dollars. Le budget de 2015 prévoyait un déficit de 8,5 milliards de dollars en 2015-2016. Le gouvernement prévoit actuellement un déficit de 5,7 milliards de dollars.

Retourner au graphique 2.1

Graphique 2.2 : Plan de l’Ontario visant à éliminer le déficit

Ce graphique montre les prévisions pour les perspectives financières de l’Ontario en 2016-2017, 2017-2018 et 2018-2019.

Le déficit de l’Ontario devrait se chiffrer à 4,3 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017. Cette estimation se compare au montant prévu de 4,8 milliards de dollars pour cet exercice dans le budget de 2015.

L’Ontario devrait équilibrer le budget en 2017-2018 et en 2018-2019.

Retourner au graphique 2.2

Graphique 2.3 : Ratio de la dette nette au PIB, de 1990-1991 à 2018-2019

Ce graphique linéaire illustre le rapport entre la dette nette et le PIB de l’Ontario de 1990-1991 à 2018-2019.

Le ratio de la dette nette au PIB devrait atteindre un sommet de 39,6 % en 2015-2016, se stabiliser en 2016-2017, pour ensuite commencer à diminuer en 2017-2018. On prévoit qu’il atteindra 39,6  % en 2016-2017, 38,9 % en 2017-2018 et 38,5 % en 2018-2019.

Retourner au graphique 2.3

Graphique 2.4 : Ratio des charges de programmes au PIB, de 2009-2010 à 2018-2019

Ce graphique linéaire montre le ratio des charges de programmes de l’Ontario au PIB nominal entre 2009-2010 et 2018-2019.

Pour 2015-2016, le ratio est de 16,2 %, selon les projections provisoires des charges pour 2015-2016. Le ratio devrait être de 15,7 % en 2016-2017, de 15,3 % en 2017-2018 et de 15,0 % en 2018-2019.

Pour les années antérieures, le ratio repose sur le montant réel des charges de programmes : il s’établit à 17,9 % en 2009-2010, à 17,7 % en 2010-2011, à 17,1 % en 2011-2012; à 16,5 % en 2012-2013; à 16,7 % en 2013-2014 et à 16,4 % en 2014-2015.

Retourner au graphique 2.4

Graphique 2.5 : Intérêt sur la dette exprimé en pourcentage des revenus, de 1990-1991 à 2018-2019

Ce graphique linéaire montre le ratio de l’intérêt sur la dette de l’Ontario par rapport au revenu total entre 1990-1991 et 2018-2019.

Ce ratio a oscillé entre 8,6 % et 9,2 % depuis 2006-2007. On s’attend à ce qu’il situe à 8,9 % en 2015-2016, à 9,0 % en 2016-2017 et 2017-2018, puis à 9,2 % en 2018-2019.

Retourner au graphique 2.5