2016 Ontario Budget
Foreword

Jobs for Today and Tomorrow

The 2016 Budget is the product of open and extensive consultations. Our pre-Budget consultations, including Budget Talks online, collected input from tens of thousands of people and many of their ideas are contained in this plan.

The global economic downturn that began in 2008 hit Ontario hard. People worked together to confront the challenges that came with the recession. The government put a plan in place to protect and create jobs. Today, Ontario is a leader in growth and job creation. For the last two years, Ontario attracted more foreign direct investment than any other province or U.S. state.

Economic uncertainty is once again facing much of the world. The price of oil and the Canadian dollar have fallen considerably — two factors that affect different parts of Canada in different ways. These, combined with Ontario’s underlying economic strength, provide our manufacturers, exporters and services sector with opportunities for growth and job creation.

While Ontario’s economy is projected to be one of the fastest growing in Canada, the government continues to plan for future prosperity. We are balancing optimism about Ontario’s economy with the uncertainty around us. To grow the economy and create more jobs, the government is building new partnerships and making key strategic investments.

Building Prosperity

Ontario’s economic growth is outpacing Canada’s, and our businesses will secure future success through ongoing innovation, which will help them develop new products and services. They also need markets for these products. Modern, well-planned infrastructure that is built with long-term vision will support the economy and also help people in their everyday lives.

A solid long-term economic plan, combined with strong fiscal management, will further build investor confidence. The government’s plan lays out a clear roadmap for economic growth and job creation for today and tomorrow.

Fostering a More Innovative and Dynamic Business Environment

Ontario is fostering a more innovative and dynamic business environment. We have cut the marginal effective tax rate on new business investment in half since 2009. We have reduced the cost of doing business by eliminating regulatory requirements and duplication. Business owners know they will find highly skilled, highly educated workers in Ontario to deliver their products and services.

The Province’s economic plan supports good jobs today in communities across Ontario by investing in infrastructure and in a low-carbon economy driven by innovative, high-growth, export-oriented businesses. The plan invests in people’s talents and skills and their ability‎ to get and create the jobs of the future, by expanding access to high-quality college and university education. The plan also helps all Ontarians achieve a more secure retirement.

More than 600,000 net new jobs have been created since the depths of the recession. The government is projecting the creation of an additional 323,000 jobs between 2016 and 2019. That would bring the total number of jobs created to more than 900,000 over 10 years. Ontario’s unemployment rate of 6.7 per cent is below the national average.

The Business Growth Initiative is Ontario’s new strategy to increase the province’s global competitiveness. It builds on existing strengths and is based on creating an innovation-driven economy, catapulting more Ontario firms into global leadership, modernizing the regulatory system and continuing the reduction of red tape.

Investing in a Low-Carbon Economy

The global fight against climate change presents new opportunities for driving Ontario’s economic growth. Ontarians have the skills, talent and innovation to become a model for sustainable growth and prosperity. Ontario has already taken strong measures to end smog days, cut pollution and fight climate change. In 2014, we eliminated coal-fired electricity generation, the single largest greenhouse gas reduction initiative of its kind in North America. Ontario’s proposed cap-and-trade program — in addition to reducing emissions — will direct resources and investment to encourage companies to be more innovative and ensure households thrive during the transition to a low-carbon economy.

Building Tomorrow’s Infrastructure Now

Infrastructure investments stimulate economic growth and create jobs today, while supporting future jobs and helping people in their everyday lives. Infrastructure moves goods more competitively, attracts private investment and expands opportunities for suppliers, buyers and skilled workers. We are making the largest investment in infrastructure in Ontario’s history by investing about $160 billion over a 12-year period, starting in 2014–15. While we are investing in short-term projects that create jobs now, we are also putting long-term projects into place that will yield dividends for generations to come.   

The 2016 Budget invests in new highway projects and expands the Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund and the Connecting Links program to support local communities. This Budget is also increasing investments in health care infrastructure to maintain hospitals in good repair.  

Ontario is maximizing the value of its assets so we can build the infrastructure we need for today and tomorrow.

Investing in People’s Talents and Skills

Ontario’s greatest strength is its people. We are making investments that build on Ontario’s highly skilled workforce. We are transforming financial assistance so that, starting in the 2017–18 school year, average tuition will be free for students, with need, from families who earn a household income of $50,000 or less. More than 50 per cent of students from families with incomes of $83,000 or less will have grants in excess of average tuition. No Ontario student will receive less than they are currently eligible for through the 30% Off Ontario Tuition grant. Overall, tuition will be less of a barrier to entry and students will graduate with less debt.  The end result will be more young people who are better educated and better prepared to enter the workforce — a competitive advantage for Ontario.

Strengthening Retirement Security

Ontario’s plan for jobs and the economy also strengthens retirement security. The Ontario Retirement Pension Plan would narrow the savings gap for millions of people who lack the security of a workplace pension plan. More people will enter their retirement with confidence.

Fair Society

Ontario continues to build a fair society. Ontario is improving the supports necessary to lift people out of poverty and help them live a meaningful life to the benefit of Ontario’s economy and society. Social assistance rates will increase by 1.5 per cent, while a further top-up will be provided to those with the lowest social assistance rates. Progress on the goal to end chronic homelessness is accelerating through further support for families in need of housing units, counselling and addictions treatment.

The government is making it easier for a greater number of children and youth with autism to receive critical interventions sooner and will ensure services are better matched to meet their needs. Through such initiatives as the Long-Term Strategy to End Violence against Indigenous Women and acting on the recommendations of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, we are improving social conditions and economic opportunities for Indigenous peoples. In implementing the Commission’s Calls to Action, we are working with First Nation, Inuit and Métis peoples to acknowledge and teach the history and legacy of residential schools, take action to close gaps in outcomes, and develop culturally sensitive and community-based services. This will help Indigenous peoples and their communities succeed economically.

Investing in Health Care

Ontario’s economy supports strong public services. Health care is one of the most important provincial services that Ontarians rely on. The 2016 Budget supports continued commitments to increase patients’ access to primary care, to provide more care for people at or close to home, and to help all Ontario families continue to receive quality health care. In public consultations, there were repeated calls for the expansion of hospice care. The government plans to increase its investments in residential hospice and palliative care.

Making Everyday Life Easier

The 2016 Budget also contains several measures to make everyday life easier, and to maintain the high quality of life that Ontarians rightfully expect. We are using technology to make it easier to use public services. Steps have been taken to lower everyday costs for things like hospital parking fees and auto insurance. We are eliminating the Drive Clean emissions test fee. Home energy-efficiency incentives are being enhanced to help homeowners reduce their energy bills. We have increased choice and convenience by expanding beer sales to grocery stores and are now expanding wine sales to grocery stores.

A Stronger Ontario and Stronger Canada

For years, Ontario has called on the federal government to be a willing partner. Ontarians are net contributors to Canada’s finances and Ontario is sensitive to the needs of other provinces. Canada’s new government in Ottawa has shown itself willing to work with Ontario to continue growing the economy and creating jobs, and we look forward to further collaboration.

Strong Fiscal Management on the Path to Balance

We are on track to balance the budget in 2017–18. While we continue to invest in the key public services relied on by families, Ontario provides value for tax dollars spent by focusing on outcomes through Program Review, Renewal and Transformation — and by retaining the lowest per capita program spending in Canada.  This has helped us beat our fiscal targets and we are on track to do this for the seventh year in a row. For 2015–16, the deficit is forecast to be $5.7 billion, which is $2.8 billion lower than projected in the 2015 Budget. The government is projecting a deficit of $4.3 billion in 2016–17, and balanced budgets in 2017–18 and 2018–19. A key indication of fiscal sustainability is the Province’s management of its debt. Net debt-to-GDP is expected to peak at 39.6 per cent in 2015–16, remain level in 2016–17 and begin to decline in 2017–18.

Conclusion

People from all corners of the world choose Ontario, knowing it is a great place to live, work and raise a family. We have a strong, diversified economy that is creating good jobs and will provide retirement security. Our current strong economic performance shows that our plan is working. We will continue to focus on our number-one priority — creating economic growth and more jobs. The people of Ontario are looking past economic cycles, election cycles, and even life cycles to do what is right for our children and grandchildren. These are not easy choices but they are the right ones — an economic plan that is creating jobs for today and tomorrow.

[signature]

The Honourable Charles Sousa
Minister of Finance

Budget de l’Ontario 2016
Avant-propos

Des emplois pour aujourd’hui et demain

Le budget de 2016 est le résultat de consultations ouvertes et approfondies. Nos consultations prébudgétaires, y compris l’outil de consultation en ligne Parlons budget, ont permis de recueillir les observations de dizaines de milliers de personnes, et beaucoup de leurs idées sont contenues dans le plan que nous présentons.

La récession économique mondiale, qui a commencé en 2008, a durement frappé l’Ontario. Les gens ont travaillé ensemble pour s’attaquer aux défis qui en ont découlé. Le gouvernement a mis en place un plan pour protéger les emplois et en créer de nouveaux. L’Ontario est maintenant un chef de file en matière de croissance et de création d’emplois. Ces deux dernières années, il a attiré plus d’investissements directs étrangers que toute autre province ou tout État américain.

L’incertitude économique affecte de nouveau une grande partie du monde. Le prix du pétrole et la valeur du dollar canadien ont chuté – deux facteurs qui affectent différemment les diverses régions du Canada. De concert avec la vigueur sous-jacente de l’économie ontarienne, ils offrent à nos manufacturiers, à nos exportateurs et à notre secteur des services des occasions de croissance et de création d’emplois.

Même si on prévoit que l’économie de l’Ontario connaîtra l’une des croissances les plus rapides au Canada, le gouvernement continue de faire des plans pour favoriser la prospérité future de la province. L’incertitude qui nous entoure fait contrepoids à notre optimisme pour l’économie de l’Ontario. Afin de faire croître l’économie et de créer plus d’emplois, le gouvernement établit de nouveaux partenariats et effectue des investissements stratégiques cruciaux.

Favoriser la prospérité

La croissance économique de l’Ontario dépasse celle du Canada, et nos entreprises connaîtront le succès en continuant sans cesse d’innover, contribuant ainsi à la création de nouveaux produits et services. Ces entreprises ont également besoin de marchés pour leurs produits. Une infrastructure moderne, bien planifiée et fondée sur une vision à long terme soutiendra l’économie et aidera les gens dans leur vie quotidienne.

Un plan économique solide et à long terme, de pair avec une gestion financière rigoureuse, renforcera encore davantage la confiance des investisseurs. Le plan du gouvernement établit clairement une feuille de route vers la croissance économique et la création d’emplois, pour aujourd’hui et demain.

Promouvoir un climat d’affaires plus innovateur et dynamique

L’Ontario promeut un climat d’affaires plus innovateur et dynamique. Depuis 2009, nous avons réduit de moitié le taux effectif marginal d’imposition applicable aux nouveaux investissements des entreprises. Nous avons réduit les coûts des entreprises en éliminant des exigences réglementaires et le double emploi. Les propriétaires d’entreprises savent qu’ils trouveront en Ontario des travailleurs hautement instruits et qualifiés pour assurer l’offre de leurs produits et services.

Le plan économique de la province soutient les bons emplois dans les collectivités de l’Ontario aujourd’hui en investissant dans l’infrastructure et dans une économie sobre en carbone, sous l’influence d’entreprises innovatrices, à forte croissance et axées sur l’exportation. En élargissant l’accès à des études collégiales et universitaires de haute qualité, le plan investit dans les talents et les compétences des gens ainsi que dans leur capacité à obtenir et à créer les emplois de l’avenir. De plus, le plan aide toute la population ontarienne à bénéficier d’une retraite plus sûre.

Plus de 600 000 emplois nets ont été créés depuis le creux de la récession. Le gouvernement prévoit la création de 323 000 emplois entre 2016 et 2019, ce qui porterait le nombre total d’emplois créés à plus 900 000 sur une période de 10 ans. Le taux de chômage de l’Ontario, qui se chiffre à 6,7 %, est inférieur à la moyenne nationale.

L’Initiative pour la croissance des entreprises constitue la nouvelle stratégie de l’Ontario pour accroître sa compétitivité sur les marchés mondiaux. Misant sur les atouts de la province, elle vise à créer une économie axée sur l’innovation, à transformer plus d’entreprises ontariennes en chefs de file sur la scène mondiale, à moderniser le système de réglementation et à poursuivre la réduction des formalités administratives.

Investir dans une économie sobre en carbone

La lutte mondiale contre le changement climatique ouvre de nouvelles possibilités pour stimuler la croissance économique de l’Ontario. Les Ontariennes et Ontariens ont les compétences, le talent et les capacités d’innovation pour faire de la province un modèle en matière de croissance et de prospérité durables. L’Ontario a déjà pris des mesures rigoureuses pour mettre fin aux journées de smog, réduire la pollution et lutter contre le changement climatique. En 2014, nous avons éliminé la production d’électricité provenant des centrales au charbon, ce qui a constitué la plus importante initiative de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre en son genre en Amérique du Nord. En plus de réduire les émissions, le régime de plafonnement et d’échange proposé pour l’Ontario dirigera les ressources et les investissements afin d’encourager les entreprises à être plus innovatrices et de s’assurer que les ménages demeurent prospères pendant la transition vers une économie sobre en carbone.

Bâtir maintenant l’infrastructure de demain

Les investissements dans l’infrastructure stimulent la croissance économique et créent des emplois aujourd’hui, tout en soutenant les emplois de demain et en aidant les gens à vivre au quotidien. L’infrastructure facilite une circulation plus concurrentielle des marchandises, attire les investissements du secteur privé et accroît les possibilités pour les fournisseurs, les acheteurs et les travailleurs qualifiés. En injectant quelque 160 milliards de dollars sur une période de 12 ans à compter de 2014-2015, nous faisons l’investissement dans l’infrastructure le plus important de l’histoire de l’Ontario. Nous investissons dans des projets à court terme qui créent des emplois dès maintenant et mettons aussi en place des projets à long terme qui produiront des dividendes pour les générations à venir.

Le budget de 2016 annonce des investissements dans de nouveaux projets d’autoroute et enrichit le Fonds ontarien pour l’infrastructure communautaire et le Programme des routes de raccordement, qui appuient les collectivités locales. Il prévoit aussi une augmentation des investissements dans l’infrastructure de la santé afin de maintenir les hôpitaux en bon état.

L’Ontario maximise la valeur de ses actifs afin de pouvoir construire l’infrastructure dont nous avons besoin pour aujourd’hui et demain.

Investir dans les talents et les compétences des gens

Le plus grand atout de l’Ontario, c’est sa population. Les investissements que nous faisons prennent appui sur la main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée de l’Ontario. Nous transformons l’aide financière de sorte qu’à compter de l’année scolaire 2017-2018, les étudiants ayant besoin d’aide et issus de familles dont le revenu est de 50 000 $ ou moins n’auraient pas à payer les frais de scolarité moyens. Plus de 50 % des étudiants dont la famille a un revenu de 83 000 $ ou moins recevront des subventions dépassant les frais de scolarité moyens. Aucun étudiant ontarien ne recevra moins que le montant auquel il est admissible actuellement en vertu du programme de réduction de 30 % des frais de scolarité. Les frais de scolarité constitueront donc un obstacle moindre à l’accès aux études, et la dette des étudiants sera moins élevée lorsqu’ils obtiennent leur diplôme. En fin de compte, plus de jeunes seront mieux éduqués et mieux préparés à entrer sur le marché du travail, ce qui constitue un avantage concurrentiel pour l’Ontario.

Sécuriser la retraite

Le plan de l’Ontario pour soutenir l’emploi et l’économie renforce aussi le système de sécurité du revenu de retraite. Le Régime de retraite de la province de l’Ontario réduirait le déficit d’épargne-retraite pour des millions de personnes qui n’ont pas la sûreté d’un régime de retraite d’employeur. Plus de gens prendront leur retraite avec confiance.

Une société équitable

L’Ontario continue de bâtir une société équitable. Il améliore les soutiens dont les gens ont besoin pour se sortir de la pauvreté et s’épanouir, leur permettant ainsi de contribuer à l’économie et à la société ontariennes. Les taux d’aide sociale augmenteront de 1,5 %, tandis qu’un montant supplémentaire sera offert aux personnes qui touchent le taux d’aide sociale le plus bas. On progresse plus rapidement vers l’objectif d’éliminer l’itinérance chronique en offrant encore plus de soutien aux familles ayant besoin de logements, de counseling et de traitement des dépendances.

Le gouvernement prend des mesures pour qu’un plus grand nombre d’enfants et de jeunes atteints d’autisme puissent bénéficier plus tôt d’interventions cruciales et pour s’assurer que les services correspondent mieux à leurs besoins. En prenant des mesures comme la stratégie à long terme pour mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes autochtones et en donnant suite aux recommandations de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada, nous améliorons les conditions sociales et les possibilités de développement économique des Autochtones. Pour mettre en oeuvre les appels à l’action de la Commission, nous collaborons avec les Premières Nations, les Inuits et les Métis pour reconnaître et enseigner l’histoire et l’héritage des pensionnats, réduire l’écart en matière de résultats et créer des services communautaires adaptés aux réalités culturelles. Cela contribuera au succès économique des Autochtones et de leurs communautés.

Investir dans les soins de santé

L’économie de l’Ontario soutient de solides services publics. Les soins de santé constituent l’un des plus importants services provinciaux sur lesquels comptent les Ontariennes et Ontariens. Le budget de 2016 soutient les engagements pris afin de faciliter l’accès des patients aux soins primaires, de prodiguer davantage de soins à domicile ou à proximité, et d’aider toutes les familles ontariennes à continuer de recevoir des soins de santé de qualité. De nombreux participants aux consultations publiques ont réclamé l’élargissement des soins palliatifs. Le gouvernement prévoit investir davantage dans les soins palliatifs dispensés dans la collectivité et dans des maisons de soins palliatifs.

Faciliter le quotidien

Le budget de 2016 renferme aussi plusieurs mesures pour faciliter le quotidien des Ontariennes et des Ontariens et pour maintenir l’excellente qualité de vie à laquelle ils ont le droit de s’attendre. Nous nous servons de la technologie pour faciliter l’utilisation des services publics. Des mesures ont été prises pour réduire les coûts de la vie quotidienne, comme les frais de stationnement aux hôpitaux et les primes d’assurance-automobile. Nous éliminons les droits du test d’émissions du programme Air pur. Afin d’aider les propriétaires à réduire leurs frais d’énergie, on bonifie des initiatives pour améliorer l’efficacité énergétique de leur foyer. En autorisant la vente de bière dans les épiceries, nous avons offert plus de choix et de commodité aux consommateurs, et nous comptons maintenant en faire autant pour le vin.

Un Ontario plus fort et un Canada plus fort

Depuis des années, l’Ontario demande au gouvernement fédéral de faire preuve d’esprit de collaboration. Les Ontariennes et Ontariens apportent une contribution nette aux finances du Canada, et l’Ontario est sensible aux besoins des autres provinces. Le nouveau gouvernement canadien à Ottawa a démontré sa volonté de travailler avec l’Ontario afin de continuer à faire prospérer l’économie et à créer des emplois. Nous nous réjouissons maintenant à la perspective de poursuivre la collaboration.

Une gestion financière rigoureuse en vue d’atteindre l’équilibre budgétaire

Nous sommes sur la bonne voie pour équilibrer le budget en 2017-2018. Tout en continuant d’investir dans les services publics cruciaux sur lesquels comptent les familles, l’Ontario optimise la valeur de chaque denier public dépensé. À cette fin, il met l’accent sur les résultats grâce au Processus d’examen, de renouvellement et de réorganisation des programmes, et continue d’avoir les dépenses de programmes par habitant les plus basses au Canada. Cela nous a aidés à dépasser nos objectifs financiers dans le passé, et nous sommes en voie de surpasser nos cibles pour la septième année d’affilée. On prévoit désormais que le déficit pour 2015-2016 sera de 5,7 milliards de dollars, soit 2,8 milliards de dollars de moins que les prévisions du budget de 2015. Le gouvernement projette un déficit de 4,3 milliards de dollars en 2016-2017 et un retour à l’équilibre budgétaire en 2017-2018 et 2018-2019. La gestion de la dette de la province constitue un indicateur important de sa viabilité financière. On prévoit que le ratio de la dette nette au PIB atteindra un sommet de 39,6 % en 2015-2016 et se stabilisera en 2016-2017, pour ensuite commencer à diminuer en 2017-2018.

Conclusion

De tous les coins de la planète, on choisit l’Ontario. Les gens savent que la province est un lieu où il fait bon vivre, travailler et élever une famille. Nous avons une économie forte et diversifiée qui crée de bons emplois et qui offrira des retraites sûres. La solide performance économique que nous affichons actuellement démontre que notre plan porte fruit. Nous continuerons de focaliser sur notre priorité fondamentale : stimuler la croissance économique et créer plus d’emplois. La population de l’Ontario voit plus loin que les cycles économiques, les cycles électoraux et même les cycles de vie, et fait ce qui est nécessaire pour ses enfants et ses petits-enfants. Ces choix ne sont pas faciles à faire, mais ce sont les bons choix : aller de l’avant avec un plan économique qui crée des emplois pour aujourd’hui et demain.

[signature]

L’honorable Charles Sousa
Ministre des Finances