The balanced 2017 Budget means Ontario can increase investments in services and help with everyday costs, such as free prescription medications for children and youth, lower electricity bills and more affordable child care.

Ontario is balancing the budget for the first time since the 2008–09 global recession and maintaining a balanced budget for the next two years. A strong economy, together with a balanced budget, is creating more opportunities for individuals and businesses in Ontario to get ahead and stay ahead.

A balanced budget also gives the government the fiscal flexibility to do more to help people. For the 2017 Budget, this means additional investments over three years of $11.5 billion in health care ($7 billion more than planned in the 2016 Budget), and $6.4 billion in education and training ($5.5 billion more than planned in the 2016 Budget), and a $30-billion expenditure increase to the multi-year infrastructure plan published in the 2016 Budget.

twenty dollar bill

Balanced Budget

Ontario eliminated its deficit in 2017 from more than $19 billion in 2009, all while investing in the programs and services people rely on most.

chart showing increase

Economic Growth Leader

Ontario’s real GDP growth has outpaced all G7 countries over the last three years, supported by the government’s strategic investments.

wallet with money

A Responsible Plan

Ontario remains the province with the lowest per-capita program spending in Canada, effectively managing spending while transforming the delivery of public services like health care and education.

How we’re balancing the budget

  • Making Ontario more tax competitive for new business investments by consistently bringing down the marginal effective tax rate, from 33 per cent in 2009 to 16.9 per cent in 2016.
  • Stimulating economic growth by making historic investments in infrastructure with more than $190 billion over a 13-year period that started in 2014–15. Planned investments are expected to support 125,000 jobs, on average, each year.
  • Combatting the underground economy, strengthening the integrity of the tax system and ensuring everyone pays their fair share of taxes.
  • Implementing a realistic and responsible plan to strengthen the economy and balance the budget, resulting in increased provincial revenues.

How we’re managing debt

  • Debt is incurred primarily for two reasons: to finance deficits and invest in building capital assets. A balanced budget means the government no longer needs to borrow to pay for its operating costs and can focus its borrowing on capital investments — which spur economic growth and improve the quality of life for people today and future generations.

Net Debt Growth After Balance is Due Only to Investments in Capital Assets

Net Debt Growth After Balance is Due Only to Investments in Capital Assets
Larger version of image
Accessible description of image
  • Rating agencies and other independent observers have identified that Canadian provinces have much greater responsibilities than subnational jurisdictions in other G7 countries, but also have much greater flexibility to take on debt because of their complete control over a wide range of revenue bases.
  • Ontario’s debt-to-GDP ratio indicates its ability to pay back debt by comparing what it owes to what its economy produces. Ontario’s economy had a nominal GDP of almost $800 billion in 2016.
  • The balanced budget and the government’s continued focus on capital investment will add to economic growth, resulting in GDP growing more quickly than debt, helping to lower the net debt-to-GDP ratio to the government’s pre-recession level of 27 per cent. In the balanced 2017 Budget, the government is setting an interim target to reduce the net debt-to-GDP ratio to 35 per cent by 2023–24.
  • The balanced 2017 Budget continues the government’s focus on infrastructure investments over the next 10 years, including:
    • $20 billion in new and renovated hospitals
    • $16 billion in building and repairing schools
    • $84 billion in transit and transportation infrastructure
  • With a balanced budget, more revenue can be spent on priorities like health care and education, and less on interest. The government has locked in historically low interest rates, enabling it to cost-effectively manage debt and reduce refinancing risks.
  • The 2010 Budget forecast that, by 2017–18, the Province would need to spend 11.3 cents of every revenue dollar received on interest. The current forecast is 3.1 cents lower, at 8.2 cents of interest costs for every dollar of revenue. This ratio is lower than it has been for the last 25 years and is forecast to remain even lower through the outlook period to 2019–20.

Image Descriptions

Net Debt Growth after Balance Is Due Only to Investments in Capital Assets

This bar chart shows the factors for growth in net debt from 2008–09 to 2019–20.

Between 2008–09 and 2016–17, the per cent increase in net debt is mainly due to the deficit, with net investments in capital assets responsible for the rest. Once a period of balanced budgets is reached in 2017–18 and onwards, growth in net debt will be 100 per cent due to investments in capital assets.

Return to image

Le budget équilibré de 2017 signifie que l’Ontario peut investir davantage dans les services et aider les gens à assumer leurs dépenses courantes, notamment grâce aux médicaments sur ordonnance gratuits pour les enfants et les jeunes, à la réduction des factures d’électricité et à des services de garde plus abordables.

L’Ontario équilibre le budget pour la première fois depuis la récession mondiale de 2008-2009 et maintient cet équilibre pour les deux prochains exercices. Grâce à une économie vigoureuse, conjuguée à un budget équilibré, les personnes et les entreprises de l’Ontario auront plus de possibilités d’améliorer leur sort.

Un budget équilibré donne au gouvernement la marge de manoeuvre financière nécessaire pour venir davantage en aide aux personnes. En ce qui a trait au budget de 2017, cela signifie des investissements additionnels sur trois ans de 11,5 milliards de dollars dans les soins de santé (7 milliards de dollars de plus que ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2016) et de 6,4 milliards de dollars dans l’éducation et la formation (5,5 milliards de dollars de plus que ce qui était prévu dans le budget de 2016), ainsi qu’une hausse de 30 milliards de dollars pour le plan pluriannuel sur l’infrastructure annoncé dans le budget de 2016.

Billet de 20 $

Un budget équilibré

L’Ontario a éliminé son déficit en 2017 tout en investissant dans les programmes et les services sur lesquels les gens comptent le plus. Le déficit s’élevait à plus de 19 milliards de dollars en 2009.

Graphique montrant une augmentation

Un chef de file de la croissance économique

Soutenue par les investissements stratégiques du gouvernement, la croissance du PIB réel de l'Ontario a dépassé celle de tous les autres pays du G7 au cours des trois dernières années.

Portefeuille avec billets

Un plan responsable

De toutes les provinces canadiennes, l’Ontario est celle qui a les dépenses de programmes les plus faibles par habitant; elle gère efficacement les dépenses tout en transformant la prestation des services publics comme les soins de santé et l’éducation.

Nous équilibrons le budget en prenant des mesures pour :

  • Rendre l'Ontario plus compétitif sur le plan fiscal pour stimuler les nouveaux investissements des entreprises en réduisant de manière constante le taux effectif marginal d'imposition, qui est passé de 33 % en 2009 à 16,9 % en 2016.
  • Stimuler la croissance économique en faisant des investissements historiques dans l’infrastructure, qui, selon les projections, devraient totaliser plus de 190 milliards de dollars sur une période de 13 ans, commencée en 2014-2015. Les investissements prévus devraient soutenir 125 000 emplois, en moyenne, par année.
  • Lutter contre l’économie souterraine, renforcer l’intégrité du régime fiscal et faire en sorte que tous assument leur juste part des taxes et des impôts.
  • Mettre en oeuvre un plan réaliste et responsable pour renforcer l’économie et équilibrer le budget, accroissant ainsi les revenus provinciaux.

De quelle façon nous gérons la dette

  • La dette est contractée pour deux raisons principales : financer les déficits et investir dans les immobilisations. Un budget équilibré signifie que le gouvernement n’a plus besoin d’emprunter pour assumer ses coûts de fonctionnement et qu’il peut se concentrer sur ses investissements dans les immobilisations, ce qui stimule la croissance économique et améliore la qualité de vie aujourd'hui et pour les générations à venir.

La hausse de la dette nette après l’équilibre découle uniquement des investissements dans les immobilisations

La hausse de la dette nette après l’équilibre découle uniquement des investissements dans les immobilisation
Version plus grande de l’image
Description accessible de l’image
  • Les organismes de notation et d’autres observateurs indépendants ont indiqué que les provinces canadiennes assument des responsabilités beaucoup plus grandes que les territoires infranationaux des autres pays du G7, mais qu’elles jouissent d’une souplesse beaucoup plus grande dans leur capacité de contracter des emprunts parce qu’elles ont la maîtrise exclusive d’un vaste éventail d’assiettes de revenus.
  • Le ratio de la dette au PIB de l'Ontario indique la capacité de la province à rembourser sa dette en comparant son endettement à ce que l’économie produit. L’économie de l’Ontario affiche un PIB nominal de près de 800 milliards de dollars en 2016.
  • Le budget équilibré et l’accent que le gouvernement continue à mettre sur l’investissement dans les immobilisations stimuleront la croissance économique. Ainsi, le PIB augmentera plus rapidement que la dette, ce qui contribuera à réduire le ratio de la dette nette au PIB, le ramenant au niveau d’avant la récession, soit 27 %. Dans le budget équilibré de 2017, le gouvernement établit une cible provisoire de 35 % pour réduire le ratio de la dette nette au PIB d’ici 2023-2024.
  • Le budget équilibré de 2017 poursuit sur la lancée du gouvernement en matière d’investissements dans les immobilisations au cours des dix prochaines années, notamment :
    • 20 milliards de dollars dans la construction et la rénovation d’hôpitaux;
    • 16 milliards de dollars dans la construction et la rénovation d’écoles;
    • 84 milliards de dollars dans les transports en commun et l’infrastructure de transport.
  • Un budget équilibré signifie que la province peut affecter davantage de revenus aux priorités comme les soins de santé et l’éducation et moins sur l’intérêt. Le gouvernement tire parti de taux d’intérêt historiquement bas, ce qui lui permet de gérer de façon rentable la dette et de réduire les risques de refinancement.
  • Le budget de 2010 prévoyait que, jusqu’en 2017-2018, la province devrait consacrer au paiement de l’intérêt 11,3 cents de chaque dollar perçu. Or, les prévisions actuelles sont inférieures de 3,1 cents, soit 8,2 cents en frais d’intérêt pour chaque dollar de revenus. Ce ratio est le bas affiché depuis les 25 dernières années, et cette tendance devrait se poursuivre durant la période de prévision jusqu’en 2019-2020.

Description accessible de l’image

La hausse de la dette nette après l’équilibre découle uniquement des investissements dans les immobilisations

Ce graphique à barres indique les facteurs de croissance de la dette pour les années allant de 2008-2009 à 2019-2020.

Entre 2008-2009 et 2016-2017, le gros de l’augmentation en pourcentage de la dette nette a été causé par le déficit et pour le reste, par les investissements en immobilisations. Dès le retour à un budget équilibré en 2017-2018 et par la suite, toute croissance de la dette nette découlera entièrement des investissements en immobilisations.

Retourner à l’image