Consultations: Master Framework Agreement

EXHIBIT E
TERMINATION AGREEMENT

TERMINATION AGREEMENT

, 2015

BREWERS RETAIL INC.

AND

LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD OF ONTARIO

TERMINATION AGREEMENT

THIS AGREEMENT is made as of , 2015.

BETWEEN:

BREWERS RETAIL INC. o/a THE BEER STORE, a
corporation governed by the laws of Ontario (the “Corporation”)

- and –

LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD OF ONTARIO (the “LCBO”)

RECITALS:

  1. On June 1, 2000, the Corporation and the LCBO, pursuant to the direction, authorization and agreement of Her Majesty the Queen in right of Ontario (the “Province”), entered into an agreement entitled “Serving Ontario Beer Consumers: A Framework for Improved Co-operation and Planning”, by which the LCBO regulates and controls various aspects of the sale of Beer in Ontario (the “2000 Framework Agreement”).
  2. In 2014, the Premier’s Advisory Council on Government Assets (the “Council”) was charged by the Premier of Ontario to review certain assets of the Province and recommend ways to maximize their value to the people of Ontario.
  3. Prior to the subscription by other qualifying brewers for shares in the Corporation, Labatt, Molson and Sleeman (the “Original Owners”) owned all of the issued and outstanding shares in the capital of the Corporation.
  4. The Council made certain recommendations on April 16, 2015 to the Province to make changes to the regulation and control of Beer in Ontario, including to the retail and distribution system for Beer, following a negotiation with the Corporation and the Original Owners, at the direction and authorization of the Province, that resulted in the Council, the Corporation and the Original Owners entering into a non-binding statement of principles entitled “Modernizing the Distribution of Beer in Ontario: Framework of Key Principles” (the “Key Principles”), which was accepted by the Province. The Key Principles were set out in an attachment to the Council’s report entitled “Striking the Right Balance: Modernizing Beer Retailing and Distribution in Ontario”.
  5. The Corporation, the Original Owners and the Province have entered into a Master Framework Agreement (the “Master Framework Agreement”) to record their agreement as to the manner in which the Key Principles shall be implemented with the direction, authorization and agreement of the Province.
  6. The Parties have entered into this Agreement as contemplated by the Master Framework Agreement to record their agreement to terminate the 2000 Framework Agreement. The LCBO has done so with the authority and at the direction of the Province.

THEREFORE, the Parties agree as follows:

NOW THEREFORE, in consideration of their respective agreements set out below and as contemplated by the Master Framework Agreement, the Parties covenant and agree as follows:

1.1 The Parties acknowledge and agree that the 2000 Framework Agreement is hereby terminated immediately. Any rights, obligations, responsibilities or duties that exist independent of the 2000 Framework Agreement are not affected by this termination.

1.2 Notwithstanding article 1.1, all payments, taxes or entitlement to reimbursement thereof that accrued under the 2000 Framework Agreement up to (but not after) the date of this Agreement shall remain payable despite the termination of the 2000 Framework Agreement.

1.3 The Parties acknowledge and agree that the termination of the 2000 Framework Agreement does not constitute expropriation. Subject to article 1.2 hereof, the Parties release each other from any remedy in contract, restitution, tort or trust that is available in connection with the termination of the 2000 Framework Agreement.

1.4 The Parties acknowledge and agree that if any of them were to commence any proceedings in contract, restitution, tort or trust in connection with the termination of the 2000 Framework Agreement or for an equitable remedy in connection with that termination, this Agreement may be raised as an estoppel to any such claims in the proceedings. In the event that a Party commences any such proceedings, that Party undertakes and agrees to indemnify the opposite Party in respect of any costs, including legal fees, incurred in relation to such claims.

1.5 For clarification, articles 1.3 and 1.4 hereof do not release any right or claim of the Parties to contribution or indemnity or a claim over against each other, if a third party makes a claim in connection with the termination of the 2000 Framework Agreement or this Termination Agreement.

1.6 If any term or condition of this Agreement, or the application thereof to the Parties or to any persons or circumstances, is to any extent invalid or unenforceable, the remainder of this Agreement, and the application of such term or condition to the Parties, persons or circumstances other than those to which it is held invalid or unenforceable, shall not be affected thereby.

1.7 This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the Province of Ontario and the federal laws of Canada applicable therein.

[REMAINDER OF PAGE INTENTIONALLY BLANK]

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the Parties have executed this Termination Agreement as of the date first
above written.

BREWERS RETAIL INC.

Signature:
Name:
Title:
I have authority to bind the corporation.

LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD OF ONTARIO

Signature:
Name:
Title:
I have authority to bind the LCBO.

: ACCORD-CADRE GÉNÉRAL

ANNEXE E
ACCORD DE RÉSILIATION

ACCORD DE RÉSILIATION

●, 2015

BREWERS RETAIL INC.

ET

RÉGIE DES ALCOOLS DE L’ONTARIO

ACCORD DE RÉSILIATION

LE PRÉSENT ACCORD est conclu le l 2015.

ENTRE :

BREWERS RETAIL INC. s/n THE BEER STORE, une société régie par les lois de l’Ontario (la « société »)

- et –

RÉGIE DES ALCOOLS DE L’ONTARIO (la « LCBO »)

ATTENDUS :

  1. Le 1er juin 2000, la société et la LCBO, sous la direction et avec l’autorisation et l’accord de Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de l’Ontario (la « province »), ont conclu un accord intitulé « Serving Ontario Beer Consumers: A Framework for Improved Co-operation and Planning », en vertu duquel la LCBO réglemente et contrôle divers aspects de la vente de bière en Ontario (l’« accord-cadre de 2000 »).
  2. En 2014, la première ministre de l’Ontario a chargé le Conseil consultatif de la première ministre pour la gestion des biens provinciaux (le « Conseil ») d’examiner certains biens de la province et de présenter des recommandations sur les moyens de maximiser leur valeur pour les Ontariennes et Ontariens.
  3. Avant la souscription d’actions de la société par d’autres brasseurs admissibles, Labatt, Molson et Sleeman (les « propriétaires originaux ») possédaient toutes les actions émises et en circulation du capital de la société.
  4. Le 16 avril 2015, le Conseil a présenté certaines recommandations à la province en vue d’apporter des modifications à la réglementation et au contrôle de la bière en Ontario, notamment le système de vente au détail et de distribution de la bière, à la suite de négociations menées auprès de la société et des propriétaires originaux, sous la direction et avec l’autorisation de la province. Par suite de ces négociations, le Conseil, la société et les propriétaires originaux ont conclu un énoncé de principes non contraignant intitulé « Modernisation de la distribution de la bière en Ontario : Cadre des principes clés » (les « principes clés »), qui a été accepté par la province. Les principes clés ont été énoncés dans une pièce jointe au rapport du Conseil intitulée « Atteindre un juste équilibre : Modernisation de la vente au détail et de la distribution de la bière en Ontario ».
  5. La société, les propriétaires originaux et la province ont conclu un accord-cadre général (l’« accord-cadre général ») pour exprimer leur accord quant à la manière dont les principes clés seront mis en œuvre sous la direction et avec l’autorisation et l’accord de la province.
  6. Les parties ont conclu le présent accord, comme le prévoit l’accord-cadre général, pour confirmer qu’elles conviennent de résilier l’accord-cadre de 2000. La LCBO l’a fait avec l’autorisation et sous la direction de la province.

À CES CAUSES, les parties conviennent de ce qui suit :

POUR CES MOTIFS, en contrepartie de leurs accords respectifs mentionnés ci-dessous et comme le prévoit l’accord-cadre général, les parties conviennent de ce qui suit :

1.1 Les parties reconnaissent et conviennent que l’accord-cadre de 2000 est par la présente immédiatement résilié. Les droits, obligations, responsabilités ou fonctions qui existent indépendamment de l’accord-cadre de 2000 ne sont pas touchés par la présente résiliation.

1.2 Malgré l’article 1.1, tous les versements, impôts ou droits à un remboursement d’impôt accumulés en vertu de l’accord-cadre de 2000 jusqu’à la date du présent accord (mais pas après celle-ci) demeurent payables malgré la résiliation de l’accord-cadre de 2000.

1.3 Les parties reconnaissent et conviennent que la résiliation de l’accord-cadre de 2000 ne constitue pas une expropriation. Sous réserve de l’article 1.2 des présentes, les parties se libèrent mutuellement de tout recours contractuel ou recours en restitution, en responsabilité délictuelle ou en fiducie qui est disponible relativement à la résiliation de l’accord-cadre de 2000.

1.4 Les parties reconnaissent et conviennent que, si l’une d’elles introduit une instance en responsabilité contractuelle, en restitution, en responsabilité délictuelle ou une instance fondée sur une fiducie relativement à la résiliation de l’accord-cadre de 2000 ou en vue d’obtenir un redressement en equity relativement à cette résiliation, le présent accord peut être invoqué à titre de préclusion à l’encontre de telles réclamations dans l’instance. La partie qui introduit une telle instance s’engage à indemniser la partie adverse de tous les coûts engagés relativement à de telles réclamations, y compris les frais juridiques.

1.5 Il est entendu que les articles 1.3 et 1.4 des présentes n’emportent pas renonciation aux droits ou réclamations des parties à l’égard d’une contribution ou d’une indemnité ou aux réclamations présentées par une partie contre une autre, si un tiers présente une réclamation relativement à la résiliation de l’accord-cadre de 2000 ou au présent accord de résiliation.

1.6 Si une modalité ou condition du présent accord ou l’application de cette modalité ou condition aux parties ou à toute personne ou circonstance est, dans quelque mesure que ce soit, invalide ou inopposable, l’invalidité ou l’inopposabilité n’a aucune incidence sur le reste du présent accord, ni sur l’application de cette modalité ou condition aux parties, personnes ou circonstances autres que celles à l’égard desquelles elle est déclarée invalide ou inopposable.

1.7 Le présent accord est régi et interprété conformément aux lois de la province de l’Ontario et aux lois fédérales du Canada qui s’y appliquent.

[RESTE DE LA PAGE INTENTIONNELLEMENT LAISSÉ EN BLANC]

EN FOI DE QUOI les parties ont signé le présent accord de résiliation à la première date indiquée ci-dessus.

BREWERS RETAIL INC.

Signature :
Nom :
Titre :
J’ai le pouvoir de lier la société.

LIQUOR CONTROL BOARD OF ONTARIO

Signature :
Nom :
Titre :
J’ai le pouvoir de lier la LCBO.