An Open Letter to property owners in the Unincorporated Territory

Ministry of Finance
Office of the Minister

7th Floor, Frost Building South 
7 Queen’s Park Crescent
Toronto ON  M7A 1Y7
Telephone: 416 325-0400
Facsimile:   416 325-0374

An Open Letter to property owners in the Unincorporated Territory

I am writing to follow up on your interest in Provincial Land Tax (PLT) Reform.

As you may be aware, the government is in the final stages of Provincial Land Tax (PLT) reform and will be completing the move to Current Value Assessment (CVA) for the Unincorporated Territory.  This will create a modernized and fair property assessment system where properties in all of Ontario are assessed in a similar manner.

At least two-thirds of property owners in the Unincorporated Territory are familiar with CVA, as it is the current base for municipal, education and interim-Provincial Land taxation in Ontario.  When the province moved to the CVA format in 1998, it was not applied to properties in the unincorporated territory, even though assessed values of those properties have increased since the last assessment in the 1940s.

The government has received input from residents of unincorporated territories, stakeholders, and Provincial Members of Parliament. 

Recognizing the need for fairness must be balanced with an approach that does not result in significant increases, the input of Bill Mauro, MPP, Thunder Bay – Atikokan, was key in providing suggestions on behalf of his constituents to ensure property owners do not face sharp increases in required tax payments.

As a result of these discussions, the province is implementing policy that respects property owners while ensuring that the government does not increase tax revenue as a result of reassessment in unincorporated territory. 

The minimum tax will remain $6 per year.  As noted earlier, while assessed values have increased since the last assessment in the 1940s, the government will reduce PLT rates to offset the increase. 

For example, the pre-reform PLT rate is 1.5 per cent (.015) for all properties in the unincorporated territory. However, the post-reform PLT rate for residential property will be significantly less - no higher than 0.0023 within school boards, and no higher than 0.0004 outside school boards.

Under this reform, approximately half of properties will see a tax decrease.  Of those properties experiencing a tax increase, about 90 per cent will see an increase of less than $150.

In order to help property owners estimate the impact of reform on their own properties, I am attaching a worksheet that includes maximum tax rates for each class of property.  The appropriate tax rate, multiplied by an estimate of the 2008 value of your property, will give you an approximation of the PLT payable annually for 2009 to 2012.

The enclosed tax rates are based on analysis of 2005 assessed values.  They may change as a result of the 2008 reassessment.  The final tax rates will not be higher than those published in the attached worksheet and may be set lower.

You may already be aware that the government will be holding information sessions to further discuss these reforms, their impacts and potential benefits.  A copy of the invitation to these sessions was mailed to you earlier and I have enclosed another copy for your convenience. You may wish to contact 1-866-668-8297 for further information.

Thank you for your interest in this issue. 

 

Yours truly,

“Original Signed By”
Dwight Duncan
Minister of Finance

How to Estimate Provincial Land Tax Payable for 2009-2012

The minimum tax will remain $6.00 per year.  Table One shows the maximum tax rates for 2009-2012 based on analysis of 2005 assessed values.  The tax rates may change as a result of the 2008 reassessment.  The final tax rates will not be higher than those published in Table One and may be set lower.

Table One:  Maximum PLT Tax Rate for each Property Class 2009-2012
Property Class Maximum Tax Rate inside
School Boards
Maximum Tax Rate Outside
School Boards
Residential / Multi-residential 0.0023 0.0004
Farmland / Managed Forest 0.0006 0.0001
Commercial 0.0012 0.0012
Industrial 0.0006 0.0006
 

Using the formula in the table below, property owners can calculate their property tax bill by multiplying their assessment amount by the appropriate tax rate in Table One.

Estimated Value of Property in 2008
(what is the property worth?)
multiplied by Maximum PLT
Tax Rate 2009-2012
(from Table 1)
equals PLT Payable
annually
2009-2012

Examples

If the estimated value of a residential property inside school board boundaries was $54,000, multiply by the maximum PLT rate for residential properties inside school boards of 0.0023. The estimated PLT bill is $124.20 per year from 2009 to 2012. 

If the estimated value of a farm property outside school board boundaries was $54,000, multiply by the maximum PLT rate for farm properties outside school boards of 0.0001. The estimated PLT bill would $5.40, and the minimum tax of $6.00 per year from 2009 to 2012 would be payable.

  Estimated Value of Property in 2008 x Maximum PLT
Tax Rate
2009-2012
(from Table One)
= Estimated PLT Payable
annually
2009-2012
Residential Inside School Board $54,000 x 0.0023 = $124.20
Farm Outside School Board $54,000 x 0.0001 =   $5.40
($6.00 minimum)

Please note that property owners within Local Roads Board or Local Services Board areas will continue to pay levies for these bodies.  Property owners within school board boundaries will continue to pay education tax


Ontario Ministry of Finance, August 12, 2008

 

Page: 2627  |

Lettre ouverte aux propriétaires fonciers du territoire non érigé en municipalité

Ministère des Finances
Bureau du ministre
7e étage, Édifice Frost Sud
7 Queen’s Park Crescent
Toronto ON  M7A 1Y7
Téléphone :   416 325 0400
 Télécopieur : 416 325 0374

Lettre ouverte aux propriétaires fonciers du territoire non érigé en municipalité

Je vous écris parce que vous vous intéressez à la réforme de l’impôt foncier provincial (IFP).

Comme vous le savez peut-être, le gouvernement achève cette réforme et terminera la mise en œuvre du système d’évaluation foncière selon la valeur actuelle (EFVA) dans le territoire non érigé en municipalité. Cette initiative permettra de moderniser le système d’évaluation foncière et fera en sorte que tous les biens immeubles de l’Ontario seront évalués de façon semblable.

Au moins les deux tiers des propriétaires dont les biens immeubles se trouvent dans le territoire non érigé en municipalité connaissent le système EFVA, car il est à la base du système d’imposition foncière utilisé pour les besoins des municipalités, des conseils scolaires et, de façon provisoire, de la province. Lorsque le système EFVA est entré en vigueur dans la province en 1998, il n’a pas été utilisé dans le territoire non érigé en municipalité pour calculer l’IFP, même si la valeur imposable des biens immeubles a augmenté depuis la dernière évaluation effectuée dans les années 1940.

Le gouvernement a recueilli les commentaires des personnes qui habitent dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité, des intervenants et des députés provinciaux.

Le gouvernement reconnaît qu’il faut mettre en œuvre un système juste qui ne se traduira pas par des hausses substantielles des impôts fonciers. M. Bill Mauro, député provincial de Thunder Bay – Atikokan, a joué un rôle clé en transmettant les suggestions de ses électeurs pour s’assurer qu’il n’y ait pas de forte hausse des impôts que doivent payer les propriétaires fonciers.

À la lumière des commentaires recueillis, la province met en œuvre une politique qui respecte les propriétaires fonciers tout en assurant que le gouvernement ne hausse pas les revenus fiscaux en raison de la réévaluation des biens immeubles dans le territoire non érigé en municipalité.

L’impôt minimal demeurera de 6 $ par année. Tel qu’indiqué précédemment, la valeur imposable des biens immeubles a augmenté depuis la dernière évaluation effectuée dans les années 1940. Le gouvernement abaissera les taux de l’IFP pour contrebalancer cette augmentation.

Ainsi, le taux de l’IFP avant la réforme était de 1,5 pour 100 (0,015) pour tous les biens immeubles du territoire non érigé en municipalité. À l’issue de la réforme, le taux de l’IFP applicable aux biens résidentiels sera nettement inférieur. Il ne dépassera pas 0,0023 dans les conseils scolaires et 0,0004 à l’extérieur des conseils scolaires.

À l’issue de la réforme, les impôts fonciers d’environ la moitié des biens immeubles diminueront. Pour environ 90 pour 100 des biens immeubles touchés par une hausse des impôts fonciers, cette augmentation sera inférieure à 150 $.

Pour aider les propriétaires fonciers à évaluer l’incidence de la réforme sur leurs biens immeubles, je joins une feuille de calcul indiquant les taux d’imposition maximums de chaque catégorie de bien immeuble. Pour déterminer le montant approximatif de l’IFP payable chaque année de 2009 à 2012, il suffit de multiplier le taux d’imposition approprié par la valeur estimative du bien immeuble pour 2008.

Les taux d’imposition indiqués ci-après sont fondés sur une analyse des valeurs imposables de 2005. Ils pourraient changer à la suite de la réévaluation de 2008. Les taux d’imposition définitifs ne dépasseront pas les taux indiqués sur la feuille de calcul ci-jointe et pourraient être inférieurs à ceux-ci.

Vous savez peut-être que le gouvernement organisera des séances d’information portant sur la réforme, son incidence et ses avantages potentiels. On vous a envoyé une invitation à ces séances par la poste. Vous en trouverez un autre exemplaire ci-joint. Pour de plus amples renseignements, composez le 1 866 668-8297.

Je vous remercie de vous intéresser à cette question et vous prie d’agréer mes meilleures salutations.

Le ministre des Finances,

Original signé par
Dwight Duncan


Comment évaluer l’impôt foncier provincial payable de 2009 à 2012

L’impôt minimum demeurera de 6 $ par année. Le tableau 1 indique les taux d’imposition maximums en vigueur de 2009 à 2012 fondés sur une analyse des valeurs imposables de 2005. Les taux d’imposition pourraient changer à la suite de la réévaluation de 2008. Les taux d’imposition définitifs ne dépasseront pas les taux indiqués dans le tableau 1 et pourraient être inférieurs à ceux-ci.

Tableau 1 : Taux maximums de l’IFP pour chaque catégorie de bien immeuble de 2009 à 2012
Catégories de biens immeubles Taux d’imposition maximum à l’intérieur des conseils scolaires Taux d’imposition maximum à l’extérieur des conseils scolaires
Biens résidentiels/Immeubles à logements multiples 0,0023 0,0004
Biens agricoles/Forêts aménagées 0,0006 0,0001
Biens commerciaux 0,0012 0,0012
Biens industriels 0,0006 0,0006

En utilisant la formule indiquée dans le tableau ci-dessous, les propriétaires fonciers peuvent calculer leurs impôts fonciers en multipliant la valeur imposable de leurs biens immeubles par le taux d’imposition approprié indiqué dans le tableau 1.

Valeur estimative du bien immeuble en 2008
(ce que vaut le bien)
multipliée par Taux maximum de l’IFP de 2009 à 2012
(indiqué dans le tableau 1)
égale IFP payable chaque année de 2009 à 2012

Exemples

Si la valeur estimative d’un bien résidentiel se trouvant dans les limites d’un conseil scolaire est de 54 000 $, il faut multiplier cette valeur par 0,0023, soit le taux maximum de l’IFP applicable aux biens résidentiels se trouvant à l’intérieur des conseils scolaires. L’IFP sera approximativement de 124,20 $ par année de 2009 à 2012.

Si la valeur estimative d’un bien agricole se trouvant à l’extérieur des limites d’un conseil scolaire est de 54 000 $, il faut multiplier cette valeur par 0,0001, soit le taux maximum de l’IFP applicable aux biens agricoles se trouvant à l’extérieur des conseils scolaires. L’IFP serait approximativement de 5,40 $. Il faudra donc payer l’impôt minimum de 6 $ par année de 2009 à 2012.

  Valeur estimative du bien immeuble en 2008 x Taux maximum de l’IFP de
2009 à 2012
(indiqué dans le tableau 1)
= IFP approximatif à payer tous les ans de
2009 à 2012
Bien résidentiel à l’intérieur du conseil scolaire 54 000 $ x 0,0023 = 124,20 $
Bien agricole à l’extérieur du conseil scolaire 54 000 $ x 0,0001 =   5,40 $
(Impôt minimum de 6 $)

Veuillez prendre note que les propriétaires de biens immeubles se trouvant dans le territoire d’une régie des routes locales ou d’une régie locale des services publics continueront de payer les impôts exigés par celles-ci. Les propriétaires dont les biens immeubles se trouvent dans les limites d’un conseil scolaire continueront de payer l’impôt scolaire.

Ministère des Finances de l’Ontario, 12 août 2008

 

Page : 2627  |