Consultations: PLT Questionnaire Results

Introduction

As part of the second stage of the Provincial Land Tax (PLT) review, the Ministry of Finance sought input from unincorporated area property owners through a PLT Consultation Questionnaire. The questionnaire was posted in March 2016 and closed on June 1, 2016. The PLT Consultation Questionnaire followed a series of public consultations and provided property owners in unincorporated areas with an additional opportunity to comment on the current PLT changes and future years. The questionnaire is based on the key issues raised at PLT open houses held across northern Ontario in 2015 and summarized in the paper “Overview of Provincial Land Tax Open Houses” (February 2016). This summary of results provides information about who responded to the questionnaire and their views about aspects of the PLT review.

About the Questionnaire

Property owners in unincorporated areas were invited to participate in the questionnaire through an insert in their 2016 interim PLT tax bills and the PLT website. However, only 271 responses were received, representing less than half of one per cent of all property owners in unincorporated areas. Despite the low response rate, respondents of the questionnaire are generally consistent with the socio-economic and demographic profile of residents in unincorporated areas.

However, there appear to be some differences between questionnaire respondents and the general population of residents in unincorporated areas. For example, a greater proportion of questionnaire respondents (66%) owned properties valued at $100,000 or higher, compared to actual unincorporated area property owners (44%). Similarly, a higher per cent of survey respondents reported living outside a school board area (38%) compared to the actual proportion of unincorporated area property owners that live outside school boards (30%). In addition, Thunder Bay and Sudbury districts had a higher per cent of respondents (23% and 18%) compared to the actual proportion of people living in these districts (15% and 11%), while Cochrane district had a lower representation of respondents (4% of respondents versus 9%).

About the Respondents

Properties and Local Boards

Properties and Local Boards

Accessible image description

Respondents’ Properties by District

inside and outside school boards

Accessible image description

WHAT WE HEARD

PLT Rates and Schoolboard Areas

Key Fact:

The residential PLT rate outside schoolboard areas was only one-sixth the rate of inside schoolboard areas in 2013. However, properties in both areas receive the same services that the PLT contributes toward.

Respondents’ views

Graduation cap icon

The PLT rate difference between inside and outside schoolboard areas should be addressed

Bar chart illustrates that 57 percent of survey respondents agreed and 43 percent disagreed that the PLT rate difference between inside and outside school board areas should be addressed.

77%

INSIDE schoolboard areas property owners think the rate difference should be addressed

36%

OUTSIDE schoolboard areas property owners think the rate difference should be addressed

Businesses

Key Fact:

Businesses, including pipelines
and railways, contribute significantly less
in PLT than they would in a northern
municipality.

Respondents’ views

Building

PLT increases for businesses should be same or greater than increases for residential properties

Bar chart illustrates that 91 percent of survey respondents agreed and 9 percent disagreed that PLT increases for businesses should be same or greater than increases for residential properties.
person speaking icon

Views about the PLT

Respondents had an opportunity to provide general comments and thoughts about the PLT:

A range of opinions about the 2015 and 2016 PLT changes was provided by the respondents.

Some recognized the need for PLT reform and found PLT to be relatively fair and reasonable – “So far the changes have been acceptable” and “I have no concerns about the changes to date and feel adequately informed.” While others may not have welcomed tax increases, they have accepted the PLT reform, “we realize that changes are coming and will have to accept them.”

However, many others reacted less positively to the rate changes due to various reasons. A commonly expressed view about the PLT was that “increases are too high.” Other respondents asked to keep “the old (low tax rate) system in place and the way it was.”

Respondents provided a variety of comments about aspects of the PLT review. Some comments were about the assessed value of a property, some were specific to seasonal taxation of properties, while others commented on business. For example, several noted that “pipelines and railways have been given a free ride historically” and “should pay a higher tax rate.”

Other respondents focused more on the next stage of PLT reform. Some wanted greater certainty about future PLT changes and the next stage. While others noted that they were “concerned about potential future taxes”, and wanted to know “what the end point future objective is for the PLT.”

Remoteness

Key Fact:

More than 70 per cent of unincorporated area properties are located within 20 kilometres of a municipal boundary.

Respondents’ views about their property:

Respondents’ views about their property

Accessible image description

Respondents’ views about their property

Accessible image description

house and trees

The PLT review should take into consideration the circumstances of very remote properties

77 percent of survey respondents agreed that the PLT review should take into consideration the circumstances of very remote properties. By contrast, 23 percent of respondents disagreed with this statement.

Tax Relief Programs

Key Fact:

There are measures to assist those property owners with low income, particularly seniors, including:

  • Ontario Senior Homeowners’ Property Tax Grant
  • Ontario Energy and Property Tax Credit
  • PLT Tax Deferral Program

Respondents’ views:

21%

Applied to one or more of the property tax support programs in the last 5 years

hand holding house and trees

Additional supports are needed for low-income property owners in unincorporated areas

52 percent of survey respondents agreed that additional supports are needed for low-income property owners in unincorporated areas. While, 48 percent of survey respondents disagreed with this statement.

NOTES ABOUT THE QUESTIONNAIRE:

1. The statistics were calculated from the responses to the PLT questionnaire and represent only those property owners who filled out the questionnaire.

2. Percentages shown represent only those respondents who had an opinion.

For more information on the PLT review and more detailed information about the issues in the questionnaire, please visit the PLT Web page on the Ministry of Finance’s website: http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/consultations/landtaxreform/

Accessible image descriptions:

Image 1:

Diagram illustrates that 271 people responded to the questionnaire and provides the following breakdown of respondents by age group:

  • 62 percent of people were under 65 years old
  • 38 percent of people were 65 and over

Return to Image 1

Image 2:

Diagram provides the following breakdown of the survey respondents by property type:

  • 37 percent of people had a permanent residence
  • 63 percent of people had a seasonal property.

Return to Image 2

Image 3:

Diagram provides the following breakdown of the survey respondents by property value:

  • 34 percent had a property valued at under 100,000 dollars
  • 38 percent had a property valued at between 100,000 and 200,000 dollars
  • 28 percent had a property valued at over 200,000

Return to Image 3

Image 4:

Bar chart illustrates the location of properties owned by survey respondents, relative to local boards:

  • 68 percent of properties were inside a Local Road Board and 32 percent were outside
  • 48 percent were inside a Local Services Board and 52 were outside
  • 56 percent were inside a School Board and 44 percent were outside

Return to Image 4

Image 5:

Map provides the breakdown of the survey respondents’ properties by district.

  • 19 percent of respondents have properties in Kenora
  • 23 percent in Thunder Bay
  • 4 percent in Rainy River
  • 4 percent in Cochrane
  • 15 percent in Algoma
  • 7 percent in Timiskaming
  • 18 percent in Manitoulin-Sudbury
  • 3 percent in Nipissing
  • 7 percent in Parry Sound

Return to Image 5

Image 6:

Diagram illustrates that 20 percent of survey respondents, identified as permanent residents, consider their property to be remote. While 43 percent of survey respondents, identified as seasonal residents, consider their property to be remote.

Return to Image 6

Image 7:

Diagram illustrates that 17 percent of survey respondents, identified as permanent residents, consider their property to be more difficult to access than other properties. While 55 percent of survey respondents, identified as seasonal residents, consider their property to be more difficult to access than other properties.

Return to Image 7

Consultations: Résultats du questionnaire sur l’IFP

Introduction

Dans le cadre de la deuxième étape de l’examen de l’impôt foncier provincial (IFP), le ministère des Finances a sollicité les commentaires des propriétaires fonciers des territoires non érigés en municipalité au moyen d’un questionnaire de consultation sur l’IFP. Ce questionnaire a été affiché en mars 2016 et fermé le 1er juin 2016. Il a suivi une série de consultations publiques et donné aux propriétaires fonciers des territoires non érigés en municipalité une nouvelle occasion de formuler des commentaires au sujet des changements actuels et futurs concernant l’IFP. Le questionnaire porte sur les principales questions soulevées lors des séances portes ouvertes qui se sont tenues un peu partout dans le Nord de l’Ontario en 2015 et présentées dans le document « Résumé des consultations sur la réforme de l’impôt foncier provincial » (février 2016). Ce résumé des résultats contient des renseignements sur les personnes qui ont répondu au questionnaire ainsi que leurs points de vue au sujet des aspects de l’examen de l’IFP.

À propos du questionnaire

Les propriétaires fonciers des territoires non érigés en municipalité ont été invités à répondre au questionnaire qui se présentait sous forme d’encart joint à leur relevé d’IFP provisoire de 2016 et affiché sur le site Web de l’IFP. Toutefois, nous avons reçu seulement 271 réponses, ce qui signifie que moins d’un demi pour cent des propriétaires fonciers des territoires non érigés en municipalité ont rempli le questionnaire. Malgré ce faible taux de réponse, les personnes qui ont répondu au questionnaire représentent assez bien le profil socio-économique et démographique des résidents des territoires non érigés en municipalité.

Toutefois, il semblerait qu’il y ait des écarts entre les personnes qui ont participé au sondage et la population générale de résidents des territoires non érigés en municipalité. Par exemple, une plus grande proportion de participants au sondage (66 %) possède un bien-fonds évalué 100 000 $ ou plus, comparativement au pourcentage réel des propriétaires fonciers des territoires non érigés en municipalité (44 %). De même, un pourcentage plus élevé de participants au sondage a indiqué vivre à l’extérieur du district d’un conseil scolaire (38 %) comparativement au pourcentage réel de résidents des territoires non érigés en municipalité qui vivent à l’extérieur du district d’un conseil scolaire (30 %). De plus, les districts de Thunder Bay et de Sudbury ont un pourcentage de participants au sondage (23 % et 18 %) supérieur au pourcentage réel de personnes vivant dans ces districts (15 % et 11 %), tandis que dans le district de Cochrane, la proportion de participants au sondage est inférieure (4 % des participants par rapport à 9 %).

À propos des participants

Biens-fonds et régies locales

Biens-fonds et régies locales

Description accessible de l’image

Biens-fonds des participants par district

Biens-fonds des participants par district

Description accessible de l’image

CE QU’ON NOUS A DIT

Taux de l’IFP et districts de conseil scolaire

Fait important :

En 2013, le taux de l’IFP résidentiel à l’extérieur des districts de conseil scolaire s’élevait à seulement un sixième du taux imposé à l’intérieur des districts de conseil scolaire. Toutefois, les biens-fonds situés dans les deux types de district reçoivent les mêmes services qui sont financés par l’IFP.

Point de vue des participants

graduation cap icône

Il faut régler la différence entre les taux d’IFP à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des districts des conseils scolaires

-	Le graphique en barres montre que 57 % des participants sont d’accord et que 43 % ne sont pas d’accord pour que la différence entre les taux d’IFP imposés à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des districts de conseil scolaire soit réglée.

77 %

Pourcentage de propriétaires fonciers À L’INTÉRIEUR du district d’un conseil scolaire qui sont d’avis qu’il faut régler la différence entre les taux

36 %

Pourcentage de propriétaires fonciers À L’EXTÉRIEUR du district d’un conseil scolaire qui sont d’avis qu’il faut régler la différence entre les taux

Entreprises

Fait important :

Le taux de l’IFP des entreprises, dont les pipelines et les chemins de fer, est bien inférieur à celui des municipalités du Nord.

Point de vue des participants

Bâtiment

La hausse de l’IFP des entreprises devrait être égale ou supérieure à celle qui s’applique aux biens-fonds résidentiels

-	Le graphique en barres montre que 91 % des participants sont d’accord et que 9 % ne sont pas d’accord pour que les hausses du taux de l’IFP s’appliquant aux entreprises soient égales ou supérieures à celles qui s’appliquent aux biens-fonds résidentiels.

icone parlant personne

Réflexions sur l’IFP

Les participants ont eu l’occasion de faire part de leurs idées et commentaires au sujet de l’IFP :

Ils ont exprimé divers points de vue au sujet des changements apportés à l’IFP en 2015 et en 2016.

Certains ont reconnu la nécessité d’une réforme de l’IFP et considèrent que cet impôt est relativement juste et raisonnable : « Les changements apportés jusqu’ici sont acceptables » et « je n’ai pas de problème avec les changements apportés jusqu’ici et j’estime avoir été bien informé ». Même si d’autres ne sont pas très heureux des hausses apportées à l’impôt, ils acceptent la réforme de l’IFP, « nous savons que des changements arrivent et ne pouvons pas faire autrement que les accepter ».

Cependant, beaucoup d’autres personnes n’ont pas réagi de manière aussi positive pour des raisons diverses. Elles sont nombreuses à penser que « les hausses sont trop élevées ». D’autres participants ont demandé de maintenir « l’ancien régime (faible taux d’imposition) en place et de le laisser comme il était ».

Les participants ont formulé divers commentaires au sujet de l’examen de l’IFP. Certains de ces commentaires portaient sur l’évaluation du bien-fonds, d’autres se concernaient spécifiquement à l’imposition des biens-fonds saisonniers, tandis que d’autres encore se rapportaient aux entreprises. Par exemple, plusieurs participants ont souligné que « les pipelines et les chemins de fer ont toujours bénéficié de taux favorables » et qu’ils « devraient payer des taux plus élevés ».

D’autres répondants se sont davantage concentrés sur la prochaine étape de la réforme de l’IFP. Certains voulaient savoir exactement en quoi consisteront les futurs changements et la prochaine étape, tandis que d’autres ont indiqué être « inquiets au sujet des futurs impôts » et voudraient savoir quel est « l’objectif final prévu pour l’IFP ».

Éloignement

Fait important :

Plus de 70 % des biens-fonds situés dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité se trouvent à moins de 20 kilomètres d’une limite municipale.

Point de vue des participants concernant leur bien-fonds :

Point de vue des participants concernant leur bien-fonds

Description accessible de l’image

Point de vue des participants concernant leur bien-fonds

Description accessible de l’image

maison et arbres

L’examen de l’impôt foncier provincial devrait tenir compte de la situation des biens fonds très éloignés

-	Le diagramme montre que 77 % des participants sont d’avis que l’examen de l’IFP devrait tenir compte de la situation des biens-fonds très isolés; 23 % des participants ne sont pas d’accord.

Programmes d’allégement de l’impôt

Fait important :

Il existe des mesures pour aider les propriétaires fonciers à faible revenu, surtout les personnes âgées, à savoir :

  • Subvention ontarienne aux personnes âgées propriétaires pour l’impôt foncier
  • Crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour les coûts d’énergie et les impôts fonciers
  • Programme de report d’impôt foncier provincial

Point de vue des participants

21 %

des participants ont fait une ou plusieurs demandes dans le cadre des programmes de soutien à l’impôt au cours des cinq dernières années

Maison de maintien de la main et des arbres

Il faudrait d’autres aides pour les propriétaires fonciers des territoires non érigés en municipalité à faible revenu

-	L’infographie montre que 52 % des participants sont d’avis que davantage de soutiens doivent être offerts aux propriétaires fonciers à faible revenu dans des territoires non érigés en municipalité; 48 % des participants ne sont pas d’accord.

REMARQUES AU SUJET DU QUESTIONNAIRE :

1. Les statistiques ont été calculées à l’aide des réponses au questionnaire sur l’IFP et ne représentent que les propriétaires fonciers qui ont répondu.

2. Les pourcentages indiqués ne représentent que les participants qui ont exprimé un point de vue.

Pour plus de détails sur l’examen de l’IFP et les questions abordées dans le questionnaire, veuillez consulter la page du site Web du ministère Finances consacrée à l’IFP :http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/consultations/landtaxreform/

Description accessible de l’image

Image 1:

Le diagramme montre que 271 personnes ont répondu au questionnaire et indique la répartition des participants en groupes d’âge :

  • 62 % des participants ont moins de 65 ans
  • 38 % des participants ont 65 ans ou plus

Retour à l’image 1

Image 2:

Le diagramme montre la façon dont les participants sont répartis par type de bien-fonds :

  • 37 % des participants ont une résidence permanente
  • 63 % des participants ont un bien-fonds saisonnier

Retour à l’image 2

Image 3:

Le diagramme montre la répartition des participants en fonction de la valeur des biens-fonds :

  • 34 % possèdent un bien-fonds évalué à moins de 100 000 dollars
  • 38 % possèdent un bien-fonds évalué à entre 100 000 et 200 000 dollars
  • 28 % possèdent un bien-fonds évalué à plus de 200 000 dollars

Retour à l’image 3

Image 4:

Le graphique en barres montre la situation des biens-fonds appartenant aux participants, relativement aux régies locales:

  • 68 % des biens-fonds sont situés à l’intérieur du district d’une régie des routes locales et 32 %, à l’extérieur
  • 48 % sont situés à l’intérieur du district d’une régie locale des services et 52 %, à l’extérieur
  • 56 % sont situés à l’intérieur du district d’un conseil scolaire et 44 %, à l’extérieur

Retour à l’image 4

Image 5:

La carte montre la façon dont les biens-fonds des participants sont répartis par district.

  • 19 % des participants ont un bien-fonds à Kenora
  • 23 %, à Thunder Bay
  • 4 %, à Rainy River
  • 4 %, à Cochrane
  • 15 %, à Algoma
  • 7 %, à Timiskaming
  • 18 %, à Manitoulin-Sudbury
  • 3 %, à Nipissing
  • 7 %, à Parry Sound

Retour à l’image 5

Image 6:

Le diagramme montre que 20 % des participants identifiés comme résidents permanents sont d’avis que leur bien-fonds est isolé, comparativement à 43 % des participants identifiés comme résidents saisonniers.

Retour à l’image 6

Image 7:

Le diagramme montre que 17 % des participants identifiés comme résidents permanents sont d’avis que leur bien-fonds est plus difficilement accessible que d’autres biens-fonds, comparativement à 55 % des participants identifiés comme résidents saisonniers.

Retour à l’image 7