Consultations: Provincial Land Tax Reform: A First Step Toward a Fair and Modern Provincial Land Tax System

April 2015

The 2015 Ontario Budget announced an important first step toward creating a fair and modern Provincial Land Tax (PLT) system.

PLT Review

The Provincial Land Tax is the property tax paid in unincorporated areas of northern Ontario outside municipal boundaries.  

The government announced a review of the PLT in 2013 in response to concerns raised by northern municipalities about significant inequities between their property taxes and PLT.  The Province committed to addressing the concerns of northerners in a fair and balanced way.

The review was supported by consultations, including 21 sessions with unincorporated area representatives held across the North, and discussions with northern municipalities.

The consultation findings formed the basis of a paper, Provincial Land Tax Review: A Summary of Stakeholder Consultations.  The Ministry released the paper in December 2014 and requested feedback from northern stakeholders.  To date, the ministry has received over 150 submissions that have been considered in this review.

Inequities among Northern Property Taxpayers

PLT rates have not been updated to increase revenues since the 1950s.  Over time, inequities have developed between PLT and northern municipal property taxes.  The average residential PLT is $164, compared to the average residential northern municipal tax of $2,200.

Average Residential Northern Municipal Tax vs Average Provincial Land Tax (2013)

Almost half of all property owners in unincorporated areas pay PLT of less than $50 per year, and approximately 80 per cent of property owners pay less than $200 per year.

PLT Paid in Unincorporated Areas (2013)

During the consultations, concerns were also raised that businesses have much lower property tax rates in unincorporated areas than in municipalities.  For example, in unincorporated areas, the PLT rate for pipelines is only 11 per cent of the average northern municipal property tax rate for pipelines.

PLT and Average Northern Municipal Tax Rates for Pipelines and Railways (2013)
Property PLT Northern Municipal Tax
Pipeline (per $100,000 of assessed value) $190 $1,676
Railway (per 100 acres)* $9 $4,405
* Property taxes for Railway Rights-of-Way (ROW) are levied on a per-acre basis.

In addition to inequities between unincorporated areas and municipalities, there are inequities among property owners in unincorporated areas.  The PLT rate for a residential property inside a schoolboard area is six times higher than for a similarly assessed property outside a schoolboard area.

Understanding Tax Differences in the North

Part of the difference between PLT and northern municipal tax can be explained by the fact that unincorporated areas have fewer services than municipalities.  Many unincorporated area residents also pay levies to local roads and services boards for services in their communities.

However, even when local board levies are taken into account, the combined taxes and levies for residential properties in unincorporated areas are still significantly lower than average northern residential municipal tax.  This disparity exists even for those unincorporated area residents who pay the highest taxes and levies (as shown in the chart below).

Average Residential Northern Municipal Tax vs Average Combined PLT and Local Board Levies (2013)

Differences in How Services are Funded in the North

Lower service levels and local board levies paid by unincorporated area residents only partially explain the discrepancy between property taxes in unincorporated areas and northern municipalities.  The balance of the difference is largely due to inequities in how important services are paid for in the North.

The Province pays the entire cost of providing services including policing, land ambulance and public health in unincorporated areas, while northern municipalities fully fund services such as policing, or share the costs of services, such as public health and land ambulance, with the Province.  The Province contributes almost $90 million to fund these services in unincorporated areas.  This is approximately $65 million more than the amount the Province would provide if these services were cost-shared in the same way that they are with municipalities.

Overall Provincial Expenditure on Services in Unincorporated Areas, $89 M (2013)

PLT revenue is approximately $11 million annually.  This means that there is a gap of more than $50 million between PLT revenue and the $65 million in additional funding the Province contributes in unincorporated areas.  The gap between PLT revenue and provincial funding is a major factor in explaining the difference between average northern municipal tax and average PLT.

PLT Revenue vs Provincial Expenditure over and above Municipal Cost-sharing Arrangements (2013)

The government recognizes that northern municipalities also receive support from the Province and will take this into account as PLT reform moves forward.

Approach to PLT Reform

The inequities identified through the review underscore the need to reform the PLT system.  There was broad agreement that all taxpayers should pay their fair share, but there was also recognition that PLT reform must proceed at a manageable pace. A staged approach to reform will focus on engaging northern Ontarians in ongoing discussions.

A First Step toward a More Equitable and Modern Tax System

The proposals outlined in the 2015 Ontario Budget would reduce PLT inequities beginning in 2015, and mark an important first step in PLT reform.  PLT changes would be phased in over two years, with a smaller portion in 2015.

Residential PLT Changes

For residential taxpayers, the PLT rate would be adjusted by $10 per $100,000 of the assessed value of their properties in 2015, and an additional $40 per $100,000 of assessed value in 2016.  Managed forest and farm properties will continue to be taxed at 25 per cent of the residential PLT rate. 

Residential Classes Changes to PLT Rates
(per $100,000 of Assessed Value)
2015 2016
Residential: Schoolboard Areas $10 $40
Residential: Non Schoolboard Areas $10 $40
Farm / Managed Forest: Schoolboard Areas $2.50 $10
Farm / Managed Forest: Non Schoolboard Areas $2.50 $10

The government will ensure that provisions for property tax relief are in place to make changes more manageable for low-income seniors and low-income residents with disabilities.

Business PLT Changes

Business and residential taxpayers would each contribute an equal share of the projected PLT revenue increase.  Under this approach, the PLT rate increase for business properties would be in line with the percentage change for residential properties outside schoolboard areas.  

Business Class Changes to PLT Rates
2015 2016
Commercial and Industrial (per $100,000 of assessed value) $15 $65
Pipeline (per $100,000 of assessed value) $55 $235
Railway (per acre) $0.03 $0.12
Electrical Corridor (per acre) $0.60 $2.40

Minimum Annual PLT

The minimum PLT would be set at $50 annually per property beginning in 2016 (up from $6) to ensure that all property owners make a basic contribution toward the cost of important services in unincorporated areas.

Support for Local Roads and Services Boards

Provincial Land Tax reform is not just about addressing tax inequities.  The Province values the views of unincorporated area residents on how to better support the work of local boards. 

In response to suggestions made through the consultations, the Province is proposing to introduce measures that would support better information sharing with local boards and will continue to seek input on additional system improvements.

Continuing to Work with Northern Ontarians on PLT Reform

The proposed measures announced in the 2015 Ontario Budget would be fully implemented by 2016, but the PLT review will not end with these changes.  The Province will continue discussions on ways to further address tax inequities in the North and support the work of local roads and services boards.

To initiate the next phase of discussions, the government will launch a new series of consultations with northern Ontarians. The Province is committed to continuing along the path of reform and to ensuring that the PLT is transformed into a fair and modern property tax system.

Consultations: Réforme de l’impôt foncier provincial : Un premier pas vers un régime d’impôt foncier provincial équitable et moderne

Avril 2015

Dans le budget de l'Ontario de 2015, on avait annoncé un premier pas important en vue de créer un régime d’impôt foncier provincial (IFP) équitable et moderne.

Examen de l’IFP

L’IFP s’applique aux biens-fonds situés dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité dans le Nord de l’Ontario situés à l’extérieur des limites municipales. 

En 2013, le gouvernement avait annoncé qu’il examinerait l’IFP en réponse aux préoccupations soulevées par les municipalités du Nord quant aux importantes iniquités entre leurs impôts fonciers et l’IFP. La province s’était engagée à se pencher sur les préoccupations des gens du Nord de façon juste et équilibrée.

L’examen s’est appuyé sur des consultations, notamment dans le cadre de 21 séances réunissant des représentants des territoires non érigés en municipalité d’un peu partout dans le Nord, ainsi que des discussions avec des municipalités du Nord.

Les constats issus de ces consultations constituent le fondement du document Examen de l’impôt foncier provincial : Résumé des consultations auprès des parties concernées, publié en décembre 2014 par le ministère qui a demandé aux intervenants du Nord de lui faire part de leurs observations. Jusqu’ici, le ministère a reçu et pris en considération plus de 150 requêtes et communications dans le cadre de l’examen.

Iniquités parmi les propriétaires fonciers du Nord

Les taux de l’IFP n’ont pas été rajustés pour augmenter les revenus depuis les années 1950. Au fil du temps, cela a donné lieu à des iniquités entre l’IFP et les impôts fonciers dans les municipalités du Nord. L’IFP moyen pour une résidence est de 164 $, comparativement à un impôt foncier moyen de 2 200 $ pour une résidence dans une municipalité du Nord.

Average Residential Northern Municipal Tax vs Average Provincial Land Tax (2013)

Presque la moitié des propriétaires fonciers dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité paient un IFP de moins de 50 $ par année, et approximativement 80 % paient moins de 200 $.

PLT Paid in Unincorporated Areas (2013)

Durant les consultations, les participants se sont aussi dits préoccupés du fait que les taux d’impôt foncier s’appliquant aux entreprises dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité sont beaucoup plus bas qu’ils ne le sont dans les municipalités. Par exemple, dans ces territoires, le taux d’IFP pour les pipelines correspond à seulement 11 % du taux d’impôt foncier moyen pour les pipelines dans les municipalités du Nord.

IFP et taux d’impôt foncier moyen pour les pipelines et les chemins de fer dans les municipalités du Nord (2013)
Bien immeuble IFP Impôt foncier dans les municipalités du Nord
Pipeline (par tranche de 100 000 $ de la valeur imposable) 190 $ 1 676 $
Chemin de fer (par 100 acres)*      9 $ 4 405 $
* Remarque : Les impôts fonciers perçus pour les emprises de chemin de fer sont calculés en fonction de la superficie.

Outre les iniquités entre les territoires non érigés en municipalité et les municipalités, il y a également un manque d’équité parmi les propriétaires fonciers résidentiels au sein des territoires non érigés en municipalité. Le taux d’IFP applicable à un bien immeuble situé sur le territoire de compétence d’un conseil scolaire peut être jusqu’à six fois plus élevé que celui versé pour un bien immeuble dont l’évaluation est semblable, mais qui se situe hors d’un tel territoire.

Comprendre les différences d’imposition dans le Nord

L’écart entre l’IFP et l’impôt foncier dans les municipalités du Nord s’explique en partie par le fait que les territoires non érigés en municipalité offrent moins de services que les municipalités. En outre, de nombreux résidents de ces territoires paient aussi des droits aux régies des services publics et des routes locales dans leur communauté.

Toutefois, même lorsqu’on tient compte des droits versés aux régies locales, les impôts et droits combinés pour les biens immeubles résidentiels dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité sont considérablement plus bas que l’impôt foncier moyen exigé pour les résidences dans les municipalités du Nord. Cette disparité se retrouve même chez les résidents des territoires qui paient les impôts et les droits les plus élevés (comme cela est indiqué dans le graphique ci-après).

Average Residential Northern Municipal Tax vs Average Combined PLT and Local Board Levies (2013)

Différences dans le financement des services dans le Nord

Les niveaux de services moindres et les droits versés aux régies locales par les résidents dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité expliquent seulement en partie la différence entre l’impôt foncier payé dans ces territoires et celui payé dans les municipalités du Nord. Cette différence est principalement attribuable aux iniquités dans le mode de financement des services importants dans le Nord.

La province paie la totalité des coûts des services dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité, ce qui comprend les services policiers, les services d’ambulance terrestre et de santé publique, tandis que ce sont les municipalités du Nord qui paient l’intégralité des coûts de certains services, comme ceux de la police, ou qui partagent les coûts avec la province, comme dans le cas des services d’ambulance terrestre et de santé publique. La province verse presque 90 millions de dollars pour le financement de ces services dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité, ce qui représente approximativement 65 millions de dollars de plus que ce qu’elle verserait si le coût de ces services était partagé comme cela se fait dans le cas des municipalités.

Overall Provincial Expenditure on Services in Unincorporated Areas, $89 M (2013)

Les revenus provenant de l’IFP atteignent approximativement 11 millions de dollars par année. Cela signifie qu’il y a un écart de plus de 50 millions de dollars entre les revenus tirés de l’IFP et le financement additionnel de 65 millions de dollars octroyé par la province aux territoires non érigés en municipalité. Cet écart est un facteur important qui explique la différence entre l’impôt foncier municipal moyen et l’IFP moyen.

PLT Revenue vs Provincial Expenditure over and above Municipal Cost-sharing Arrangements (2013)

Le gouvernement est conscient que les municipalités du Nord reçoivent aussi un soutien de la part de la province et en tiendra compte à mesure que la réforme de l’IFP se concrétisera.

Approche à la réforme de l’IFP

À la lumière des iniquités constatées lors de l’examen, une réforme de l’IFP s’impose. Si la vaste majorité s’entend sur le fait que tous les contribuables doivent payer leur juste part d’impôt, on reconnaît également que la réforme de l’IFP doit s’effectuer à un rythme raisonnable. Une approche progressive permettra de favoriser la participation des résidents du Nord de l’Ontario aux discussions continues sur la réforme.

Un premier pas vers un régime fiscal plus moderne et équitable

Les mesures proposées dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2015 réduiraient les iniquités liées à l’IFP à compter de 2015, constituant un premier pas important vers la réforme de l’IFP. Les modifications à l’IFP seraient apportées graduellement sur deux ans, mais à un moindre degré en 2015.

Modifications à l’IFP sur les biens immeubles résidentiels

Le taux d’IFP appliqué aux immeubles résidentiels serait rajusté de 10 $ par tranche de 100 000 $ de la valeur imposable en 2015 et de 40 $ supplémentaires par tranche de 100 000 $ de la valeur imposable en 2016. 

Catégorie de bien immeuble résidentiel

Modifications aux taux de l’IFP
(par tranche de 100 000 $ de la valeur imposable)

2015 2016
Dans les territoires de compétence d’un conseil scolaire 10 $ 40 $
En dehors des territoires de compétence d’un conseil scolaire 10 $ 40 $

Le gouvernement prévoira la mise en place de dispositions d’allégement fiscal de façon à rendre ces changements plus faciles à gérer pour les personnes âgées et les résidents handicapés à faible revenu.

Modifications à l’IFP sur les biens immeubles commerciaux

Les propriétaires de biens commerciaux résidentiels et commerciaux contribueraient à parts égales à l’augmentation prévue des revenus tirés de l’IFP. Dans le cadre de cette approche, la hausse des taux d’IFP sur les biens immeubles commerciaux serait conforme à la variation en pourcentage appliquée aux biens immeubles résidentiels en dehors des territoires de compétence d’un conseil scolaire.  

Catégorie de bien immeuble commercial Modifications aux taux de l’IFP
2015 2016
Commercial et industriel (par tranche de 100 000 $ de la valeur imposable) 15 $ 65 $
Pipeline (par tranche de 100 000 $ de la valeur imposable) 55 $ 235 $
Chemin de fer (par acre) 0,03 $ 0,12 $
Corridor électrique (par acre) 0,60 $ 2,40 $

IFP annuel minimum

L’IFP minimum serait établi à 50 $ par année par bien immeuble à compter de 2016 (comparativement à 6 $) pour s’assurer que tous les propriétaires fonciers versent un montant de base pour couvrir le coût des services importants dans les territoires non érigés en municipalité.

Soutien aux régies locales des routes et des services

La réforme de l’IFP ne consiste pas uniquement à redresser les iniquités. La province attache de l’importance aux opinions des résidents des territoires non érigés en municipalité sur la façon de mieux soutenir le travail des régies locales. 

En réponse aux suggestions entendues durant les consultations, la province entend mettre en place des mesures pour appuyer un meilleur échange de renseignements avec les régies locales et continuera à solliciter des observations sur les autres améliorations à apporter.

Poursuite de la collaboration avec les résidents du Nord de l’Ontario sur la réforme de l’IFP

Les mesures proposées dans le budget de l’Ontario de 2015 seraient intégralement mises en œuvre d’ici 2016, mais ces changements ne signifient pas la fin de l’examen de l’IFP. La province poursuivra les discussions sur les façons de réduire les iniquités fiscales dans le Nord et de soutenir les régies locales des routes et des services publics.

Afin d’entreprendre la prochaine étape des discussions, le gouvernement lancera une nouvelle série de consultations auprès des gens du Nord. La province entend poursuivre la réforme amorcée pour transformer l’IFP en un régime d’impôt foncier moderne et équitable.