Bulletin - Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review Update February 06, 2015

This is the second bulletin of the Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review (SPBPAR). The first bulletin, released on August 12, 2014, alerted stakeholders to the Ministers’ approval of the SPBPAR recommendations, the establishment of a reference committee to guide the implementation of the recommendations, and initial progress in implementing the overarching and property-specific recommendations.

The Province, in consultation and collaboration with municipalities and stakeholders, is focussed on implementing the improvements recommended in the SPBPAR report.  The report included specific recommendations related to the assessment of special purpose business properties, as well as overarching recommendations for strengthening the overall property assessment system.

To guide implementation of the overarching recommendations contained in the report, the Ministry of Finance established a Reference Committee with municipal staff and stakeholder representatives.  The committee has five sub-groups, corresponding to five categories of the overarching recommendations: advance disclosure and assessment methodology; accountability, roles and responsibilities; data accuracy and integrity; appeals and municipal assessment at risk strategies. 

The Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC) and the Assessment Review Board (ARB) are actively participating in the working group process, and are continuing their own initiatives to improve the property assessment system, many of which are aligned with the SPBPAR recommendations.

Advance disclosure and assessment methodology

Objectives:

The recommendations on assessment methodology and advance disclosure are among the most transformative contained in the SPBPAR report.  The objectives in introducing an information and data sharing policy, methodology guides, and an advance disclosure process are:

  • increase the transparency, accuracy, and predictability of the property assessment system, while promoting a much more collaborative approach amongst all participants in the system.
  • enable business taxpayers and impacted municipalities to contribute to the assessment process in advance of roll return.
  • help to identify and resolve issues and points of disagreement before values are finalized on the returned assessment roll.

Consultations:

Over the summer and fall of 2014, the Reference Committee heard directly from Ministry of Finance and MPAC staff regarding the plan for implementing these recommendations.  Then, in November 2014, taxpayer representatives and property assessment specialists attended focus group sessions on these recommendations.  Municipalities, taxpayer representatives, and other stakeholders provided important feedback and helped to shape the implementation plans for these transformative recommendations.

Implementation Plans:

Further to the SPBPAR recommendations and consultations with partners and stakeholders, the following products will be delivered in advance of the 2016 province-wide reassessment:

  • The information and data sharing policy will help all participants in the assessment process to understand what information MPAC requires from which parties and for which purposes.  It will clarify MPAC’s procedures for protecting and sharing information during advance disclosure and throughout the valuation process. It will also clarify how MPAC works within the ARB’s framework to protect and share information during appeals.  It will explain the implications of non-compliance with MPAC’s requests for information, including penalties.  The first policy will apply only to non-residential properties.
  • MPAC will publish detailed technical methodology guides that serve as a useful tool for MPAC’s assessors, promote consistency in the application of assessment methodologies, and explain valuation procedures to stakeholders.  The guides will provide a common understanding of MPAC’s preferred valuation approach.  
  • Building on the information and data sharing policy and methodology guides, MPAC will establish a new advance disclosure process for certain complex properties.  This new process will provide municipalities and taxpayers with the opportunity to review MPAC’s market analytics and preliminary assessed values in advance of roll return.  These market analytics for business properties have usually been available only after roll return or through the request for consideration and appeal processes.  Stakeholder feedback and new information and data will be considered by MPAC when finalizing market analytics and current value assessments for roll return.
  • A new assessment methodology change disclosure protocol will be adopted in order to ensure a consultative approach to any major changes in assessment methodology. This protocol will ensure that any potential changes are thoroughly considered, analyzed, and consulted on prior to implementation.

Municipalities, taxpayers and stakeholders expressed support for the proposed approach. Stakeholders are interested in the opportunity to meet with MPAC in advance of roll return to discuss market analytics and preliminary assessed values.  Many acknowledged the fundamental linkage between these recommendations – a high-quality information and data sharing policy and comprehensive methodology guides are necessary preconditions for a successful advance disclosure process.

Priority Activities:

Based on the SPBPAR recommendations, the Ministry is working with MPAC to prioritize the following activities for seven special purpose business property types: pulp mills, paper mills, saw mills, value-added wood products manufacturing plants, steel manufacturing plants, automotive assembly plants, and automobile parts manufacturing plants.

  • Producing an information and data sharing policy that incorporates stakeholders’ feedback, brings clarity to the information gathering and sharing processes, and explains the safeguards put in place to protect confidential information.  The first policy will be published on MPAC’s website in the first quarter of 2015.
  • Publishing methodology guides that incorporate stakeholders’ feedback, as appropriate, explain in detail the valuation approach for these sectors, and clarify the analysis and judgements that assessors must make when determining the current value assessment of these property types.  The guides for the seven property types listed above will be published on MPAC’s website in the first quarter of 2015.
  • Designing a two-stage advance disclosure process that provides ample opportunities for stakeholders to provide feedback and new or additional information to MPAC in advance of roll return.  A protocol for the advance disclosure process will be published on MPAC’s website in the first quarter of 2015.  The protocol will include a timeline and step-by-step procedures.
    • Stage one – market valuation reports – will consist of MPAC’s market analytics, which explain how MPAC applied the valuation methodology for a particular group of properties and demonstrate MPAC’s understanding of the market conditions driving the value of these properties.  Following consultations with stakeholders, the finalized market valuation reports will be published on MPAC’s website by the end of 2015.
    • Stage two – preliminary values – will consist of MPAC sharing its preliminary assessed value for each property with the property owner and relevant municipality.  Key valuation components (such as functional and external obsolescence, fair market rent, depreciation, etc.) will also be shared at this time. Confidential information will be protected in accordance with all legislative requirements and the information and data sharing policy.  The preliminary values will be released to affected parties in early 2016.
  • Hosting forums to discuss the market valuation reports with affected parties, and accepting written feedback on the market valuation reports.  These forums will be designed to allow for sufficient time for discussion, to achieve strong participation by affected parties, and to provide different mechanisms for submitting feedback.  These forums will take place in fall 2015.
  • Organizing meetings with affected parties to discuss preliminary values and key valuation components.  These meetings will provide an opportunity for MPAC, individual taxpayers, municipalities, and their representatives to discuss the preliminary values without prejudice in a collaborative environment.  These meetings will take place from early to mid-2016.

Additional Activities:

MPAC has elected to expand the scope of the methodology guides to include additional special purpose business properties and other property types. Specifically, the current consultations on assessment methodology guides have been expanded to include the following special purpose business property types: chemical manufacturing plants, oil refineries, food processing plants, mining properties, and pharmaceutical manufacturing plants.

MPAC may also elect to expand the scope of these activities as implementation for the next province-wide reassessment progresses.  MPAC has confirmed that any future decision to expand the scope to include additional property types will not compromise their ability to deliver high-quality products and processes for the seven special purpose business properties noted earlier.  Once MPAC has finalized which property types will be included, they will communicate the full implementation to all stakeholders and affected parties.

Municipalities and stakeholders raised the importance of tracking our progress and measuring the impacts of these initiatives.  This work will be coordinated with the ongoing consultations related to the development of key performance indicators for MPAC.

More Information:

The Ministry is confident that by taking a collaborative and consultative approach and by producing high-quality products, MPAC can successfully implement these transformative recommendations.  More information about these new elements of the property assessment system will be available in the coming weeks on MPAC’s website: www.mpac.ca.  MPAC can also be reached at consultation@mpac.ca.

Other overarching recommendations

In addition to the work being done to implement for advance disclosure, as recommended in the SPBPAR report, an independent performance evaluation of MPAC has been completed.  The results of this evaluation will help guide the on-going implementation of the SPBPAR recommendations.

One of the key findings from the independent performance evaluation of MPAC is the need for a strong data quality management framework, reflecting an approach to quality that is cohesive and proactive rather than responsive.  MPAC has implemented several initiatives to improve data accuracy and integrity through streamlined process control procedures, integrated business processes and centralization of data.

The Ministry and the Reference Committee are reviewing MPAC’s data integrity improvements to confirm they meet the needs of municipalities and stakeholders, identify further opportunities to enhance data accuracy and integrity, and ensure the proactive communication of significant data changes to municipalities and taxpayers.

The Assessment Review Board (ARB) and MPAC are working to clarify, streamline and improve efficiencies in the appeal process.  The ARB is working to establish fairer and reasonable hearing procedures and provide timelier and more effective resolution of appeals and is also adopting a more active role in promoting comprehensive adjudication.  The ARB is also encouraging parties in the appeal process to participate in mediation. 

MPAC has also committed to respond to all appeals within the 4-year reassessment cycle and is developing a framework for early engagement with appellants as well as increased information sharing with municipalities in the appeal process.

The municipal assessment at risk strategies sub-group of the Reference Committee is focused on assisting municipalities in identifying, understanding and planning for the potential financial implications of appeals and Requests for Reconsiderations.  A data-based review was undertaken to better understand the nature and scope of assessment at risk in Ontario.  This sub-group has also worked to share and document best practices and tools currently in use to track, forecast and plan for assessment appeal losses.  These have been promoted at municipal conferences and regional treasurers’ forums, and feedback has been sought on how municipalities may be better supported to manage and plan for assessment at risk. In addition, some early enhancements have been made to the Online Property Tax Assessment (OPTA) tool.

Property-Specific Recommendations

The SPBPAR report also included recommendations relating to the assessment of specific complex business properties, including mills, industrial lands, landfills, billboards, grain elevators, farmland, and wind turbine towers. 

As recommended in the report, the following regulations have been filed:

  • Billboards – Regulation provides that billboards used for third-party advertising shall be assessed based on structure cost.  Further discussions are underway with MPAC and stakeholders to consider implementation details such as depreciation.
  • Grain Elevators – Regulation provides that licensed commercial grain elevators shall be classified as commercial, elevators located on farms that store only the farmer’s own grain shall be classified as farm; and on-farm elevators shall have a split farm/commercial classification if the farmer also has a licensed commercial elevator operation. 
  • Wind Turbine Towers – Regulation provides that the assessment of wind turbine towers used in the generation of electricity shall be increased based on the average increase in industrial property values, which is approximately 3.3% per year for 2014 to 2016.  The amount of increase will be updated with every four-year reassessment, beginning in 2017.

During the consultations on methodology guides, there were some questions as to whether and how the industrial lands recommendation would be addressed through the methodology guides. MPAC staff are currently working on separate guidelines for the assessment of industrial properties located in designated employment areas. More information will be available soon on MPAC’s website regarding the consultative process for preparing these guidelines.

With regard to the assessment of landfills, as recommended in the report the consultation process was resumed in fall 2014, to examine the methodologies presented during the assessment review, and arrive at a recommended valuation approach in time for the 2016 reassessment.  The Ministry engaged a facilitator to assist with this process.

Next Steps

The Ministry of Finance will continue to work with MPAC, ARB, municipalities, taxpayers and professional organizations to implement the recommended improvements to Ontario’s property assessment system.  The Ministry relies on the advice received from Reference Committee members for the implementation of the recommendations, and the committee meetings will continue in 2015.  The Ministry will continue to provide updates on the progress of the implementation of the SPBPAR recommendations to ensure a transparent process.

If you have any questions or comments about this process, please contact:
Director, Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review Secretariat, Provincial Local Finance Division, Ministry of Finance at: SPBPAR@ontario.ca.

LEARN MORE

Read the Report on Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review
Visit the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation 
Link to list of Reference Committee Members
Link to the first progress update on SPBPAR

FOR MEDIA INQUIRIES ONLY:
Kelsey Ingram, Minister’s Office, 416-326-1409
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

ontario.ca/finance-news
Disponible en français

Mise à jour sur le Rapport d’examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier
6 février 2015

Voici le deuxième bulletin sur le Rapport d’examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier (Rapport). Le premier bulletin, qui a été rendu public le 12 août 2014, visait à informer les parties prenantes de l’approbation par le ministre des recommandations du Rapport, de l’établissement d’un Comité consultatif pour guider la mise en application des recommandations, et des progrès réalisés initialement en vue de la mise en œuvre des recommandations générales et touchant expressément l’évaluation des biens.

La province, de concert avec les municipalités et les parties prenantes, met l’accent sur la mise en œuvre des améliorations recommandées dans le Rapport. Celui-ci renferme des recommandations précises quant à l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier, ainsi que des recommandations générales visant à renforcer l’ensemble du système d’évaluation foncière.

Pour guider la mise en application des recommandations générales du Rapport, le ministère des Finances a établi un Comité consultatif regroupant des employés municipaux et des représentants des parties prenantes. Ce comité compte cinq sous‑groupes correspondant aux cinq catégories de recommandations générales : divulgation préalable et méthodologie d’évaluation; reddition de comptes, rôles et responsabilités; exactitude et intégrité des données; appels et adoption de stratégies d’évaluation des biens à risque par les municipalités. 

La Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités (MPAC) et la Commission de révision de l’évaluation foncière (CRÉF) participent activement aux travaux des groupes de travail et poursuivent la mise en œuvre de leurs propres initiatives en vue d’améliorer le système d’évaluation foncière, plusieurs d’entre elles s’alignant sur les recommandations du Rapport.

Divulgation préalable et méthodologie d’évaluation

Objectifs :

Les recommandations ayant trait à la méthodologie d’évaluation et à la divulgation préalable sont parmi les recommandations les plus transformatrices du Rapport. La mise en œuvre d’une politique relative au partage d’information et de données, de guides de méthodologie et d’un processus de divulgation préalable vise à :

  • accroître la transparence, l’exactitude et la prévisibilité du système d’évaluation foncière, tout en favorisant une approche davantage axée sur la collaboration parmi les participants au sein du système.
  • offrir aux contribuables professionnels et aux municipalités concernées l’occasion de participer au processus d’évaluation en prévision du dépôt du rôle d’évaluation.
  • aider à repérer et à régler des problèmes et des questions litigieuses avant que les valeurs ne soient déterminées définitivement dans le rôle d'évaluation.

Consultations :

Au cours de l’été et de l’automne 2014, le Comité consultatif a consulté le personnel du ministère des Finances et de la MPAC au sujet du plan de mise en œuvre de ces recommandations. En novembre 2014, des représentants des contribuables et des spécialistes de l’évaluation foncière ont participé à des séances de concertation portant sur ces recommandations. Les municipalités, des représentants des contribuables et d’autres parties prenantes ont formulé d’importants commentaires et ont ainsi aidé à définir les plans de mise en œuvre de ces recommandations transformatrices.

Plans de mise en œuvre :

Donnant suite aux recommandations du Rapport et aux consultations menées auprès des partenaires et des parties prenantes, les documents suivants seront rendus publics avant la réévaluation de 2016 à l’échelle de la province :

  • La politique relative au partage d’information et de données aidera tous les participants au processus d’évaluation à comprendre quels renseignements la MPAC doit obtenir de quelles parties et à quelles fins. Elle clarifiera les procédures de la MPAC visant à protéger et à partager l’information durant le processus de divulgation préalable et d’évaluation. Elle clarifiera également la façon dont la MPAC travaille en respectant le cadre de la CRÉF en vue de protéger et de partager l’information lors des appels. Elle expliquera l’incidence de la non‑conformité aux demandes de renseignements de la MPAC, y compris les pénalités. La première politique ne s’appliquera qu’aux biens non résidentiels.
  • La MPAC publiera des guides de méthodologie techniques détaillés qui seront un outil utile pour les évaluateurs de la MPAC, favoriseront l’application uniforme des méthodes d’évaluation et expliqueront les procédures d’évaluation aux parties prenantes. Les guides permettront à toutes les parties de comprendre l’approche privilégiée par la MPAC pour les évaluations.
  • En se fondant sur la politique relative au partage d’information et de données et sur les guides de méthodologie, la MPAC établira un nouveau processus pour la divulgation préalable dans le cas de certains biens complexes. Ce nouveau processus donnera aux municipalités et aux contribuables la possibilité d’examiner les analytiques du marché et les valeurs cadastrales préliminaires de la MPAC avant le dépôt du rôle d’évaluation. Ces analytiques du marché pour les biens commerciaux ne sont habituellement disponibles qu’une fois que le rôle d’évaluation a été déposé ou dans le cadre des processus de demande d’examen et d’appel. La MPAC tiendra compte des commentaires des parties prenantes, ainsi que des nouveaux renseignements et des nouvelles données lorsqu’il établira définitivement les analytiques du marché et les évaluations de la valeur actuelle en vue du dépôt du rôle d’évaluation.
  • Un nouveau protocole de divulgation sur le changement de méthode d’évaluation sera adopté afin d’assurer une approche axée sur la consultation pour toute modification importante à la méthodologie d’évaluation. Ce protocole fera en sorte que tout changement envisagé soit examiné et analysé en détail, et qu’il fasse l’objet de consultations avant d’être apporté.

Les municipalités, les contribuables et les parties prenantes appuient l’approche proposée. Les parties prenantes souhaitent rencontrer des représentants de la MPAC avant le dépôt du rôle d’évaluation pour discuter des analytiques du marché et des valeurs cadastrales préliminaires. Un grand nombre de personnes ont reconnu le lien fondamental qui existe entre ces recommandations : il est nécessaire d’avoir une politique relative au partage d’information et de données de qualité et des guides de méthodologie exhaustifs pour assurer le bon fonctionnement d’un processus de divulgation préliminaire.

Activités prioritaires :

Se fondant sur les recommandations du Rapport, le ministère travaille avec la MPAC pour établir les priorités parmi les activités suivantes touchant sept types de biens commerciaux à usage particulier : usines de pâte, usines de papier, scieries, usines de fabrication des produits du bois à valeur ajoutée, aciéries, usines de fabrication automobile et usines de fabrication de pièces d’automobile.

  • L’élaboration d’une politique relative au partage d’information et de données qui tient compte des commentaires des parties prenantes, clarifie les processus de collecte et de partage de renseignements et explique les mesures prises pour assurer la confidentialité de ces renseignements. La première politique sera affichée sur le site Web de la MPAC au cours du premier trimestre de 2015.
  • La publication de guides de méthodologie qui tiennent compte des commentaires des parties prenantes, s’il y a lieu, expliquent en détail l’approche adoptée pour l’évaluation de ces secteurs et clarifient les analyses que les évaluateurs doivent effectuer et le jugement dont ils doivent faire preuve lorsqu’ils déterminent la valeur actuelle de ces types de biens. Les guides pour les sept types de biens indiqués précédemment seront accessibles à partir du site Web de la MPAC au cours du premier trimestre de 2015.
  • L’établissement d’un processus de divulgation préalable, en deux étapes, qui fournit de nombreuses occasions aux parties prenantes de formuler des commentaires et de transmettre des renseignements, nouveaux ou supplémentaires, à la MPAC avant le dépôt du rôle d’évaluation. Un protocole pour le processus de divulgation préalable sera affiché sur le site Web de la MPAC au cours du premier trimestre de 2015. Ce protocole comportera un échéancier et des procédures détaillées.
    • Première étape : rapports d’évaluation au prix du marché. Il s’agira des analytiques du marché de la MPAC, qui expliquent la façon dont la MPAC a appliqué la méthodologie d’évaluation à un groupe particulier de biens et démontrent que la MPAC connaît les conditions du marché qui dictent la valeur de ces biens. À la suite de consultations auprès des parties prenantes, la version définitive des rapports d’évaluation au prix du marché sera affichée sur le site Web de la MPAC d’ici la fin de 2015.
    • Deuxième étape : valeurs préliminaires. La MPAC fera connaître ses valeurs cadastrales préliminaires pour chaque bien au propriétaire du bien et à la municipalité pertinente. Les renseignements sur les aspects clés de l’évaluation (tels que la désuétude fonctionnelle et externe, le loyer courant, la dépréciation, etc.) seront aussi transmis. Les renseignements confidentiels seront protégés conformément aux exigences légales et à la politique relative au partage d’information et de données. Les valeurs préliminaires seront divulguées aux parties concernées au début de 2016.
  • L’organisation de forums pour discuter des rapports d’évaluation au prix du marché avec les parties concernées, et la réception des commentaires écrits au sujet de ces rapports. Ces forums seront conçus de façon à accorder suffisamment de temps pour la discussion, à assurer une bonne participation des parties concernées et à fournir différents mécanismes pour permettre aux parties de faire part de leurs commentaires. Ces forums auront lieu à l’automne 2015.
  • L’organisation de réunions avec les parties concernées afin de discuter des valeurs préliminaires et des aspects clés de l’évaluation. Ces réunions donneront l’occasion à la MPAC, aux contribuables, aux municipalités et à leurs représentants de discuter des valeurs préliminaires sous réserve de tous droits dans un contexte axé sur la collaboration. Ces réunions se tiendront du début jusqu’au milieu de 2016.

Activités supplémentaires :

La MPAC a opté d’accroître la portée des guides de méthodologie afin d’inclure des biens commerciaux à usage particulier supplémentaires et d’autres types de biens. La portée des consultations en cours sur les guides de méthodologie pour les évaluations a notamment été élargie pour englober les types de biens commerciaux à usage particulier suivants : usines de fabrication de produits chimiques, raffineries de pétrole, usines de transformation des aliments, biens miniers et usines de produits pharmaceutiques.

La MPAC pourra aussi décider d’élargir la portée de ces activités lorsque la mise en œuvre des éléments nécessaires à la prochaine réévaluation à l’échelle de la province progressera. Elle a confirmé que toute décision d’ajouter des types de biens ne nuira pas à sa capacité de fournir des produits et des processus de qualité pour les sept biens commerciaux à usage particulier indiqués précédemment. Une fois que la MPAC aura déterminé de façon définitive les types de biens qui seront inclus, elle en informera toutes les parties prenantes et concernées.

Les municipalités et les parties prenantes ont souligné l’importance de faire le suivi des progrès réalisés et d’évaluer l’impact de ces initiatives. Ces activités se grefferont aux consultations en cours au sujet de l’établissement des indicateurs de rendement clés pour la MPAC.

Renseignements supplémentaires :

Le ministère est persuadé qu’en adoptant une approche axée sur la collaboration et la consultation et en fournissant des produits de qualité, la MPAC peut réussir à mettre en œuvre ces recommandations transformatrices. D’autres renseignements sur ces nouveaux aspects du système d’évaluation foncière seront affichés dans les prochaines semaines sur le site Web de la MPAC à : www.mpac.ca. On peut communiquer avec la MPAC à consultation@mpac.ca.

Autres recommandations générales

En plus du travail fait pour mettre en œuvre la divulgation préalable, comme cela est recommandé dans le Rapport, une évaluation indépendante du rendement de la MPAC a été effectuée. Les résultats de cette évaluation guideront les travaux en cours de mise en œuvre des recommandations du Rapport.

Une des principales conclusions de l’évaluation indépendante du rendement de la MPAC est la nécessité d’avoir un solide cadre de gestion de la qualité des données, découlant d’une approche à l’égard de la qualité qui est cohésive et proactive plutôt que réactive. La MPAC a pris plusieurs initiatives pour améliorer l’exactitude et l’intégrité des données grâce à des procédures de contrôle des processus rationalisées, à des procédés administratifs intégrés et à la centralisation des données.

Le ministère et le Comité consultatif procèdent actuellement à l’examen des améliorations apportées pour assurer l’intégrité des données de la MPAC, pour confirmer qu’elles répondent aux besoins des municipalités et des parties prenantes, pour déterminer s’il y a d’autres possibilités de renforcer l’exactitude et l’intégrité des données et pour assurer une communication proactive aux municipalités et aux contribuables des modifications importantes apportées aux données.

La Commission de révision de l’évaluation foncière (CRÉF) et la MPAC déploient des efforts en vue de clarifier et de rationaliser le processus d’appel, et d’en améliorer l’efficience. La CRÉF travaille actuellement à établir des procédures d’audience plus équitables et plus raisonnables et à faire en sorte que les appels soient traités plus rapidement et de façon plus efficace. Elle prône également davantage la prise de décisions exhaustives. La CRÉF incite aussi les parties au processus d’appel à avoir recours à une médiation.    

La MPAC s’est aussi engagée à donner suite à tous les appels à l’intérieur du cycle de réévaluation de quatre ans et est en voie d’établir un cadre pour assurer un engagement précoce envers les appelants et un partage accru de renseignements avec les municipalités dans le cadre du processus d’appel.

Les activités du sous-groupe chargé de l’adoption de stratégies d’évaluation des biens à risque par les municipalités du Comité consultatif visent surtout à aider les municipalités à déterminer et à comprendre les incidences financières possibles des appels et des demandes de réexamen, et à planifier en fonction de celles-ci. Un examen fondé sur les données a été entrepris en vue de mieux comprendre la nature et la portée de l’évaluation des biens à risque en Ontario. Ce sous-groupe a aussi déployé des efforts pour partager et documenter les pratiques exemplaires et les outils utilisés actuellement pour faire le suivi des pertes liées aux appels des évaluations, prévoir ces pertes et planifier en fonction de celles-ci. On a fait la promotion de ces outils lors de conférences municipales et de forums des trésoriers régionaux, et on a cherché à obtenir des commentaires sur la façon de mieux aider les municipalités à gérer l’évaluation des biens à risque et à en tenir compte dans leur planification. En outre, on a déjà apporté quelques améliorations à l’outil d’évaluation foncière en ligne (OPTA).

Recommandations touchant expressément l’évaluation des biens

Le Rapport renfermait aussi des recommandations au sujet de l’évaluation de certains biens commerciaux complexes, comme les usines de pâtes et papiers et les scieries, les terrains à usage industriel, les sites d’enfouissement, les panneaux-réclames, les silos-élévateurs, les biens agricoles et les tours éoliennes. 

Selon les recommandations du Rapport, les règlements suivants ont été déposés :

  • Panneaux-réclames – Règlement qui prévoit que les panneaux-réclames utilisés pour la publicité de tierces parties sont évalués selon leur coût de structure. D’autres discussions sont en cours avec la MPAC et les parties prenantes au sujet de détails relatifs à la mise en œuvre, comme la dépréciation.
  • Silos-élévateurs – Règlement qui prévoit que les silos-élévateurs commerciaux autorisés entrent dans la catégorie des biens commerciaux, que les silos‑élévateurs situés dans les limites des exploitations agricoles et qui entreposent uniquement les propres céréales de l’agriculteur sont considérés comme des biens agricoles, et que les silos-élévateurs situés dans les limites des exploitations agricoles entrent dans la catégorie des biens commerciaux/agricoles si l’agriculteur possède aussi des silos-élévateurs commerciaux autorisés. 
  • Tours éoliennes – Règlement qui prévoit que l’évaluation des tours éoliennes utilisées pour la production d’électricité augmentera en fonction de la hausse moyenne de la valeur des biens industriels, soit d’environ 3,3 % par année entre 2014 et 2016. À partir de 2017, le montant de l’augmentation sera actualisé à chaque réévaluation quadriennale.

Lors des consultations au sujet des guides de méthodologie, certaines personnes ont demandé si on tiendrait compte de la recommandation relative aux terrains à usage industriel dans ces guides, et comment on procéderait. Des membres du personnel de la MPAC sont en train d’élaborer des lignes directrices distinctes pour l’évaluation des biens à usage industriel situés dans des zones d’emplois désignés. D’autres renseignements sur le processus de consultation pour la préparation de ces lignes directrices seront bientôt fournis sur le site Web de la MPAC.

En ce qui a trait à l’évaluation des sites d’enfouissement, comme cela a été recommandé dans le Rapport, le processus de consultation a repris à l’automne 2014, en vue d’examiner les méthodes présentées lors de l’examen de l’évaluation et de recommander une approche pour l’évaluation, à temps pour la réévaluation de 2016. Le ministère a retenu les services d’un animateur pour ce processus.  

Prochaines étapes

Le ministère des Finances poursuivra sa collaboration avec la MPAC, la CRÉF, les municipalités, les contribuables et les organisations professionnelles afin de mettre en œuvre les améliorations recommandées au système d’évaluation foncière de l’Ontario. Le ministère se fie aux conseils formulés par les membres du Comité consultatif pour la mise en œuvre des recommandations, et ce comité continuera à se réunir en 2015. Le ministère continuera à fournir des mises à jour quant aux progrès réalisés pour la mise en œuvre des recommandations du Rapport en vue d’assurer un processus transparent.

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires au sujet de ce processus, veuillez écrire au : Directeur, Secrétariat de l’Examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier, Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances, ministère des Finances, à SPBPAR@ontario.ca.

POUR EN SAVOIR DAVANTAGE

Lire l’Examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier & Recommandations
Se rendre au site de la Société d'évaluation foncière des municipalités 
Consulter la liste des membres du Comité consultatif
Consulter la Mise à jour sur le Rapport d’examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier

RENSEIGNEMENTS POUR LES MÉDIAS :
Kelsey Ingram, bureau du ministre, 416 326-1409
Scott Blodgett, ministère des finances, 416 325-0324

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English