Bulletin - Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review Update April 8, 2016

This is the fourth bulletin on the progress of the implementation of the Assessment Review (Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review) recommendations. The Ministry of Finance is implementing these recommendations for the 2016 province-wide reassessment in partnership with the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC), municipalities and stakeholders.

The Assessment Review report included specific recommendations related to the assessment of special purpose business properties, as well as overarching recommendations for strengthening the property assessment system.

Advance Disclosure

As noted in previous bulletins, one of the key recommendations from the Assessment Review is the introduction of an advance disclosure process for special purpose business properties that involve complex assessment methodologies.  An important objective of this process is to reduce the number and impact of assessment appeals by increasing the transparency, predictability and accuracy of assessed values.

MPAC is now implementing this process, which enables affected businesses and municipalities to contribute to the determination of assessed values before the assessment roll is finalized. 

Most recently as part of the advance disclosure process, MPAC developed market valuation reports (MVRs) that detail the data and analysis undertaken in the determination of valuation parameters for special purpose business properties.  MPAC held consultations on draft MVRs with property owners and municipalities in Fall 2015, and posted the final reports on its website in January 2016.  Information shared by consultation participants has been valuable in improving the quality of information used by MPAC in the determination of assessed values. 

MPAC plans to begin sharing preliminary assessed values, including a breakdown of key valuation components, in early Spring 2016, followed by full cost analytics.  Property owners and municipalities will be provided an opportunity to meet with MPAC to discuss these values. The advance disclosure process is expected to be completed by Summer 2016. 

Through the advance disclosure process, MPAC has received valuable data from business property owners, particularly from the auto assembly manufacturing and forestry industries. The information provided was used by MPAC to refine the market analytics that underlie the assessments for properties in these industries. Full participation and collaboration from property owners, municipalities and industry experts will continue to be a critical factor in the success of the advance disclosure process.

The consultative process led by MPAC regarding the methodology used to assess multi-residential properties is another good example of the advance disclosure of information prior to the delivery of the assessment roll. This consultation has been undertaken as part of the new assessment methodology change protocol that MPAC and the Ministry of Finance have established to further support the objectives of accuracy, predictability and transparency through early disclosure of information.  The protocol ensures that a consultative approach is taken when a major change in assessment methodology is proposed.  

In addition, to support greater participation in advance disclosure, a legislative amendment was made to the Assessment Act in 2015 to strengthen the protections for commercial proprietary information received by MPAC for assessment purposes.  As such, MPAC requires timely access to reliable site-specific information and market data in order to prepare accurate assessed values for all properties in Ontario. 

The legislative amendment is intended to increase compliance with MPAC’s information requests by increasing property owners’ confidence in MPAC’s ability and duty to protect sensitive commercial proprietary information shared by property owners.  The draft regulation that defines “proprietary information of a commercial nature” was posted on the Regulatory Registry last Fall.  A consultation session with taxpayer and municipal representatives was also held to obtain feedback on the proposed regulation.  The Ministry plans to finalize the regulation in the near future and will keep stakeholders informed. 

In summary, the advance disclosure process and the assessment methodology change protocol are transforming the property assessment system into a more transparent and collaborative system where municipalities and property owners are able to contribute to the determination of values and methodologies used to assess properties. The Province is confident that these improvements will result in a more transparent, accurate and predictable assessment system for the 2016 province-wide reassessment.

Property-Specific Assessment Review Recommendations

The Assessment Review recommended that the Ministry of Finance and MPAC continue to consult with stakeholders to arrive at a recommended valuation approach for landfills in time for the 2016 reassessment.  To support this objective, the Ministry of Finance has selected a Reviewer who will provide recommendations with regards to an appropriate valuation methodology to assess landfills.  Through a competitive procurement process, the Ministry has retained the services of PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).  PwC has brought former Ontario Cabinet Minister and former Vice-Chair of MPAC John Wilkinson to lead this review. 

The Reviewer has sought input from stakeholders and municipalities on a recommended approach that aligns with the principles of accuracy, fairness, transparency, predictability and feasibility of implementation for the 2016 reassessment cycle.  Mr. Wilkinson is expected to provide his recommendations to the Minister by early Spring 2016.

With respect to the assessment of farm properties, consistent with the recommendation in the Assessment Review, and based on discussions with the Ministry’s Farm Assessment Working Group as well as industry groups and municipal stakeholders, MPAC has developed enhanced procedures for the 2016 reassessment to ensure that a greater number of farm properties can be included in their sales analysis for valuation purposes.  For example, MPAC is:

  • expanding the sales period from 3-5 years to a longer period of 6-8 years;
  • including sales of smaller parcels of farmland and farmland with minimal outbuildings in the sales analysis; and
  • simplifying the geographic areas that are used to adjust for local conditions.

In addition, the Province announced in the 2016 Ontario Budget that the government will be consulting with the farming community and the municipal sector to review the property tax treatment of small-scale value-added activities on farms, while maintaining a level playing field for large agricultural processors. 

Over the next several months, the Province will be working with the municipal sector and the farming community, including the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and the Ontario Federation of Agriculture (OFA), to develop options for the government’s consideration.  The review will be completed in time to inform decisions that may be considered for implementation in the 2017 taxation year.   

Appeal System

As announced in the 2015 Ontario Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, the Province has also made improvements to the Request for Reconsideration (RfR) process to standardize timelines and support the early resolution of assessment issues – a recurring theme expressed during the Assessment Review.

Property owners who disagree with the assessment or classification of their property may ask MPAC to conduct a review by submitting an RfR.  Starting with the 2016 reassessment for the 2017 taxation year, the deadline for a property owner to file an RfR with MPAC in a reassessment year will be 120 days after the notice of assessment is issued.  For years in which there is no reassessment, the deadline for property owners to request a reconsideration will remain unchanged at March 31 of the taxation year.

For the 2017 taxation year, MPAC will begin mailing residential assessment notices in Spring 2016.  Notices will be mailed in a staggered fashion by geographic area over the course of several months.  In the context of MPAC’s plans for earlier and staggered notice mailing for the 2016 reassessment, the changes to the RfR program are designed to create a more equitable process as the amount of time to file RfRs will be standardized at 120 days for all property owners.  As well, consistent with the objectives of the Assessment Review, the RfR changes will support the earlier resolution of assessment issues.

The Province will continue to work with stakeholders to introduce refinements that promote the early resolution of assessment issues and the accurate determination of assessed values through the timely sharing of information.  For example, the Ministry will seek input on possible changes that could improve the RfR process for mixed-use properties.

MPAC Governance

To support MPAC’s ongoing work to improve the property assessment system, the 2016 Budget proposed to enhance the continuity of MPAC’s leadership by increasing the length of time that members can serve on the board of directors.  Currently, board members can serve for a maximum of two terms of up to three years each.  It is proposed that the maximum period of service on the board be increased from two terms to three terms.  This would facilitate continuity of membership on the board, allow members to make a greater contribution to the oversight of MPAC’s operations and develop the necessary expertise to more effectively fulfil their mandate.

The Province will also be consulting on potential further changes to strengthen MPAC’s governance and support its objective of remaining accountable to stakeholders while maintaining excellence in assessment delivery.

Next Steps

The implementation plans for the Assessment Review recommendations were guided by the significant contributions of taxpayer representatives, municipalities and other stakeholders. The resulting improvements are expected to enhance transparency, predictability and accuracy of assessed values for the 2016 reassessment.  The Ministry of Finance has provided regular public updates, such as this bulletin, on the implementation of the Assessment Review recommendations. The ministry will publish a final bulletin before special purpose and other business property assessment notices are mailed by MPAC in October 2016.   

The Ministry of Finance is committed to continuing to work with MPAC, the Assessment Review Board (ARB), municipalities, taxpayers and professional organizations to strengthen Ontario’s property assessment system.

The Ministry will continue to consult with taxpayer and industry representatives on sector-specific assessment policy matters.  In order to further support the work with municipalities, the Ministry is establishing a new Property Tax and Assessment Municipal Advisory Committee, which will provide a collaborative environment for municipalities and the province to discuss property tax and assessment policy issues.  

If you have questions or comments about the implementation of the Assessment Review recommendations, please contact:  Assessment Policy and Legislation Branch, Provincial Local Finance Division, Ministry of Finance, at: SPBPAR@ontario.ca.

LEARN MORE

Read the Report on Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review
Visit the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation – Advance Disclosure
Read the Minister’s Direction to MPAC – The Ontario Gazette
Review the first progress update on the Assessment Review
Review the second progress update on the Assessment Review
Review the third progress update on the Assessment Review

FOR INQUIRIES CONTACT:
Provincial Local Finance Division, Ministry of Finance

For media inquiries visit:
http://news.ontario.ca/media/en/contacts


SPBPAR@ontario.ca

ontario.ca/finance-news
Disponible en français

Mise à jour sur le Rapport d’examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier
Le 8 avril 2016

Voici le quatrième rapport sur la progression de la mise en œuvre des recommandations de la révision de l’évaluation foncière (Examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier). Le ministère des Finances met en œuvre ces recommandations pour la réévaluation de 2016 à l’échelle de la province en collaboration avec la Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités (SÉFM), les municipalités et les intervenants.

Le rapport de la révision de l’évaluation foncière a fait état de recommandations précises quant à l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier, ainsi que de recommandations générales visant à renforcer le système d’évaluation foncière.

Divulgation préalable

Comme nous l’avons indiqué dans les bulletins précédents, une des principales recommandations découlant de la révision de l’évaluation foncière est la présentation d’un processus de divulgation préalable pour les biens commerciaux à usage particulier qui nécessitent des méthodologies d’évaluation complexes.  Ce processus a pour objectif important de réduire le nombre des dossiers d’appel en matière d’évaluation foncière et leur incidence en rehaussant la transparence, la prévisibilité et l’exactitude des valeurs d’évaluation.

La SÉFM procède actuellement à la mise en œuvre de ce processus, ce qui permet aux entreprises et aux municipalités visées de contribuer à la détermination de la valeur d’évaluation avant la finalisation du rôle d’évaluation. 

Dernièrement, dans le cadre du processus de divulgation préalable, la SÉFM a conçu des rapports d’évaluation du marché qui explique l’analyse de données effectuée dans la détermination des paramètres d’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier.  La SÉFM a tenu des consultations sur des ébauches de rapports d’évaluation du marché auprès des propriétaires fonciers et des municipalités à l’automne 2015, et a publié les rapports définitifs sur son site Web en janvier 2016.  Les renseignements partagés par les participants dans le cadre des consultations ont été utiles pour améliorer la qualité de l’information utilisée par la SÉFM dans la détermination des valeurs d’évaluation. 

La SÉFM prévoit commencer à partager les valeurs d’évaluation préliminaires, y compris une répartition des composantes clés de l’évaluation, au début du printemps, suivi d’une analyse complète des coûts.  Les propriétaires fonciers et les municipalités auront l’occasion de rencontrer les représentants de la SÉFM et de discuter de ces valeurs. Le processus de divulgation préalable devrait être achevé d’ici l’été 2016. 

Grâce au processus de divulgation préalable, la SÉFM a recueilli des données utiles auprès des propriétaires commerciaux, particulièrement dans le secteur de l’assemblage et de la fabrication d’automobiles et le secteur forestier. Les renseignements obtenus ont été utilisés par la SÉFM pour raffiner les analytiques du marché qui sous-tendent les évaluations des propriétés dans ces secteurs. La participation et la collaboration entière des propriétaires fonciers, des municipalités et des experts sectoriels continueront d’être des facteurs essentiels au succès du processus de divulgation préalable.

Le processus de consultation dirigé par la SÉFM concernant la méthode utilisée pour évaluer les propriétés multi-résidentielles constitue un autre bon exemple de la divulgation préalable de renseignements avant la présentation du rôle d’évaluation.  Cette consultation a été entreprise dans le cadre du nouveau protocole de modification de la méthode d’évaluation que la SÉFM et le ministère des Finances ont établi pour mieux soutenir les objectifs de précision, de prévisibilité et de transparence grâce à la divulgation préalable de renseignements.  Ce protocole assurera la tenue de consultations lorsque des modifications importantes à la méthode d’évaluation sont proposées. 

De plus, pour encourager une plus grande participation à la divulgation préalable, une modification législative a été apportée à la Loi sur l’évaluation foncière en 2015 pour renforcer la protection des renseignements des propriétaires commerciaux recueillis par la SÉFM aux fins de l’évaluation.  À ce titre, la SÉFM exige un accès en temps opportun à des renseignements fiables sur chaque site et aux données du marché afin de préparer des valeurs d’évaluation précises pour toutes les propriétés en Ontario. 

La modification législative a pour but d’accroître la conformité aux demandes de renseignements de la SÉFM en rehaussant la confiance des propriétaires fonciers envers la capacité et le devoir de la SÉFM de protéger les renseignements commerciaux sensibles qu’ils partagent.  Le projet de règlement qui définit les « renseignements exclusifs de nature commerciale » a été publié dans le Registre de la réglementation, l’automne dernier.  Une séance de consultation auprès des contribuables et des représentants municipaux a également été tenue afin d’obtenir des commentaires sur le règlement proposé.  Le Ministère prévoit de finaliser le règlement prochainement et tiendra les intervenants informés. 

En résumé, le processus de divulgation préalable et le protocole de modification de la méthode d’évaluation transforment le système d’évaluation foncière en un système plus transparent et collaboratif dans lequel les municipalités et les propriétaires fonciers sont en mesure de contribuer à la détermination des valeurs et des méthodes utilisées pour évaluer les propriétés. La province est convaincue que ces améliorations se traduiront par un système d’évaluation plus transparent, précis et prévisible pour la réévaluation des biens immeubles à l’échelle de la province en 2016.

Recommandations de la révision de l’évaluation foncière propres aux biens immeubles

La révision de l’évaluation foncière a recommandé que le ministère des Finances et la SÉFM poursuivent la consultation auprès des intervenants afin d’arriver à établir une approche d’évaluation recommandée pour les sites d’enfouissement avant la réévaluation de 2016.  Pour soutenir cet objectif, le ministère des Finances a retenu les services d’un examinateur qui présentera des recommandations sur une méthode d’évaluation appropriée pour évaluer les sites d’enfouissement.  Au moyen d’un processus d’approvisionnement concurrentiel, le Ministère a retenu les services de PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).  PwC a recruté l’ancien ministre ontarien et ancien vice-président du conseil de la SÉFM, M.John Wilkinson, pour diriger cet examen. 

L’examinateur a recueilli les commentaires des intervenants et des municipalités sur une approche recommandée qui s’harmonise aux principes de précision, d’équité, de transparence, de prévisibilité et de faisabilité pour le cycle de réévaluation de 2016.  M. Wilkinson devrait présenter ses recommandations au Ministère au début du printemps 2016.

En ce qui concerne l’évaluation des propriétés agricoles, conformément à la recommandation de la révision de l’évaluation foncière, et selon les discussions du groupe de travail du Ministère sur l’évaluation des propriétés agricoles, des groupes du secteur et des intervenants municipaux, la SÉFM a conçu une procédure améliorée pour la réévaluation de 2016 afin de s’assurer qu’un grand nombre de propriétés agricoles sont comprises dans l’analyse des ventes aux fins de l’évaluation.  Par exemple, la SÉFM :

  • prolonge la période de ventes de 3 à 5 ans à une période de 6 à 8 ans;
  • inclut dans l’analyse les ventes de plus petites parcelles de terres agricoles ayant un nombre minimal de dépendances;
  • simplifie les secteurs géographiques utilisés pour le rajustement aux conditions locales.

De plus, la province a annoncé dans le budget de l’Ontario 2016 que le gouvernement mènera des consultations après de la communauté des agriculteurs et du secteur municipal pour examiner le traitement d’impôt foncier pour les activités agricoles à valeur ajoutée à petite échelle tout en maintenant des règles du jeu uniformes pour les grandes exploitations agricoles. 

Dans les prochains mois, la province travaillera avec le secteur municipal et la communauté des agriculteurs, y compris l’Association des municipalités de l’Ontario (AMO) et la Fédération de l’agriculture de l’Ontario, pour concevoir des options que le gouvernement prendra en considération.  L’examen devrait être achevé à temps pour éclairer les décisions qui seraient prises en considération pour leur mise en œuvre dans l’année d’imposition 2017.   

Mécanisme d’appel

Comme il a été annoncé dans le document Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2015, la province a apporté des améliorations au processus de demande de réexamen afin de normaliser les délais et d’encourager un règlement plus rapide des problèmes d’évaluation, un thème récurrent exprimé durant la révision de l’évaluation foncière.

Les propriétaires fonciers qui n’acceptent pas l’évaluation ou le classement de leur propriété peuvent demander à la SÉFM de mener une révision en soumettant une demande de réexamen.  À compter de la réévaluation de 2016 pour l’année d’imposition de 2017, les propriétaires fonciers disposeront de 120 jours après l’émission d’un avis d’évaluation dans une année de réévaluation pour déposer une demande de réexamen auprès de la SÉFM.  Dans les années au cours desquelles il n’y a pas de réévaluation, la date d’échéance pour les propriétaires fonciers pour demander un réexamen demeurera le 31 mars de l’année d’imposition.

Pour l’année d’imposition 2017, la SÉFM commencera à envoyer par la poste les avis d’évaluation résidentielle au printemps 2016.  Les avis seront postés de façon échelonnée par région géographique sur plusieurs mois.  Dans le cadre du plan de la SÉFM pour une mise à la poste anticipée et échelonnée des avis pour la réévaluation de 2016, les modifications au programme de demande de réexamen sont conçues de façon à créer un processus plus équitable puisque l’échéance pour déposer une demande de réexamen sera normalisée à 120 jours pour tous les propriétaires fonciers.  De plus, et conformément aux objectifs de la révision de l’évaluation foncière, les modifications au processus de demande de réexamen appuieront un règlement plus rapide des problèmes d’évaluation.

La province continuera de travailler avec les intervenants pour présenter des améliorations qui encouragent le règlement plus rapide des problèmes d’évaluation et la détermination précise des valeurs d’évaluation grâce à un partage de renseignements en temps opportun.  Par exemple, le Ministère sollicitera des commentaires sur des modifications possibles qui pourraient améliorer le processus de demande de réexamen pour les propriétés à vocations multiples.

Gouvernance de la SÉFM

Pour soutenir les travaux continus de la SÉFM visant l’amélioration du système d’évaluation foncière, le budget 2016 a proposé d’améliorer la continuité de la direction de la SÉFM en prolongeant la durée des mandats des membres du conseil d’administration.  Actuellement, les membres du conseil peuvent remplir deux mandats de trois années chacun.  Il est proposé de prolonger la période maximale de service sur le conseil d’administration de deux à trois mandats.  Cela faciliterait la continuité de la direction sur le conseil, permettrait aux membres d’apporter une plus grande contribution à la surveillance des activités de la SÉFM et de développer l’expertise nécessaire pour remplir leur mandat d’une façon plus efficace.

La province mènera également des consultations sur d’autres modifications potentielles visant le renforcement de la gouvernance de la SÉFM et le soutien de ses objectifs pour demeurer responsable auprès des intervenants tout en maintenant l’excellence dans la prestation des évaluations.

Prochaines étapes

Les plans de mise en œuvre des recommandations de la Commission de révision de l’évaluation foncière ont été guidés par l’importante contribution des représentants des contribuables, des municipalités et des autres intervenants.  Les améliorations qui en découleront devraient rehausser la transparence, la prévisibilité et l’exactitude des valeurs d’évaluation pour la réévaluation de 2016.  Le ministère des Finances a présenté des mises à jour périodiques, y compris le présent bulletin, sur la mise en œuvre des recommandations de la révision de l’évaluation foncière. Le Ministère publiera un bulletin définitif avant la mise à la poste par la SÉFM des avis d’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier, en octobre 2016.  

Le ministère des Finances a pris l’engagement de continuer à travailler avec la SÉFM, la Commission de l’évaluation foncière, les municipalités, les contribuables et les organismes professionnels afin de renforcer le système d’évaluation foncière de l’Ontario.

Le Ministère continuera de consulter les contribuables et les représentants de l’industrie sur des problèmes en matière de politique d’évaluation propres au secteur.  Afin de soutenir davantage le travail avec les municipalités, le Ministère met sur pied un nouveau comité consultatif sur l’évaluation foncière municipale, qui fournira un contexte de collaboration pour les municipalités et la province pour discuter de l’évaluation foncière et des problèmes en matière de politique d’évaluation. 

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires concernant les recommandations de la révision de l’évaluation foncière, veuillez communiquer avec : Direction des politiques d’évaluation foncière et des services juridiques, Division des relations provinciales-municipales en matière de finances, ministère des Finances, à : SPBPAR@ontario.ca.

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Lisez le Rapport d’examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier.
Consultez le site Web de la Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités - Divulgation préalable.
Lisez la Directive du Ministère à la SÉFM – La Gazette de l’Ontario
Consultez la première mise à jour sur la progression de l’examen d’évaluation foncière
Consultez la deuxième mise à jour sur la progression de l’examen d’évaluation foncière
Consultez la troisième mise à jour sur la progression de l’examen d’évaluation foncière

RENSEIGNEMENTS POUR LES MÉDIAS :
Kelsey Ingram, bureau du ministre, 416 326-1409
Scott Blodgett, ministère des finances, 416 325-0324

ontario.ca/finances-nouvelles
Available in English