Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review
Reference Committee Membership

The Ministry of Finance working with municipalities and stakeholders has established a reference committee to seek input from municipalities, municipal representatives, business taxpayer representatives and professional organizations to implement the recommendations outlined in the report on Special Purpose Business Property Assessment Review (SPBPAR).

The reference committee is made up of experts from the following organizations:

  • Association of Municipalities of Ontario
  • Canadian Property Tax Association
  • Institute of Municipal Assessors
  • International Property Tax Institute
  • Municipal Assessment Review Representatives
  • Municipal Finance Officers’ Association
  • Ontario Municipal Tax and Revenue Association
  • Municipal staff representatives
  • Provincial representatives from the Ministry of Finance and Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing

The reference committee has formed the following five sub-groups: accountability, roles and responsibilities; advance disclosure and assessment methodology; data accuracy and integrity; appeals; and municipal assessment at risk strategies.

This team of experts are working in partnership with Municipal Property Assessment Corporation (MPAC) to implement the SPBPAR recommendations.  The Assessment Review Board (ARB) is also participating in the reference committee meetings and is continuing its initiatives to improve the property assessment appeal process.  If you would like to know more about the reference committee process, please contact SPBPAR@ontario.ca.

Examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier
Composition du Comité consultative

Le ministère des Finances, en collaboration avec les municipalités et les parties prenantes, a créé un comité consultatif dont le mandat consiste à recueillir les perspectives des municipalités, des représentants municipaux, des représentants des entreprises contribuables et des organisations professionnelles pour mettre en œuvre les recommandations dont fait état le Rapport d’examen de l’évaluation des biens commerciaux à usage particulier (Rapport).

Le Comité consultatif est composé de spécialistes des organisations suivantes :

  • l'Association des municipalités de l'Ontario
  • l’Association canadienne de taxe foncière;
  • l’Institute of Municipal Assessors;
  • l’International Property Tax Institute;
  • des représentants de la Révision de l’évaluation foncière;
  • la Municipal Finance Officers’ Association;
  • l’Ontario Municipal Tax and Revenue Association;
  • des représentants du personnel municipal;
  • les représentants provinciaux du ministère des Finances et du ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement.

e Comité consultatif a mis sur pied les cinq sous-groupes suivants : reddition de comptes, rôles et responsabilités; divulgation préalable et méthodologie d’évaluation; exactitude et intégrité des données; appels; adoption de stratégies d’évaluation des biens à risque par les municipalités.

Cette équipe d’experts travaille en partenariat avec la Société d’évaluation foncière des municipalités (MPAC) pour mettre en œuvre les recommandations du Rapport. La Commission de révision de l’évaluation foncière (CRÉF) prend aussi part aux réunions du Comité consultatif et poursuit la mise en œuvre de ses initiatives visant à améliorer le processus d’appel des évaluations foncières. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les activités du Comité consultatif, veuillez vous adresser à SPBPAR@ontario.ca.