: SEPP to JSPP Merger and Conversion Framework Regulatory Posting

In 2014, the government amended the Pension Benefits Act (PBA) to create a framework that would facilitate single-employer pension plan (SEPP) mergers with existing jointly-sponsored pension plans (JSPPs) or conversions to new JSPPs.  This framework is limited to Ontario's broader public sector. 

The main differences between these two types of defined benefit plans are that:

  • The employer sponsor is solely responsible for the plan's governance and funding in a SEPP, whereas employer(s) and plan members share responsibility for the plan's governance and funding in a JSPP.
  • While accrued benefits in both SEPPs and JSPPs cannot be reduced while the plan is ongoing, in a JSPP, accrued benefits may be reduced upon wind-up if the plan is underfunded; and
  • JSPPs are not covered by the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund (PBGF).

It is anticipated that by adopting the features of a JSPP, plans will have greater transparency, be better governed, have a more predictable cost and be more likely to provide sustainable benefits in the long term.  In developing the framework, the government was mindful of the need to minimize the risk to plan beneficiaries as a result of any change to their pensions. 

To that end, specific protections have been created to limit these risks.  First, employer sponsors remain responsible for any funding deficiencies relating to benefits accrued prior to the time of the merger or conversion in the event the JSPP is subsequently wound-up.  Second, the benefits of retirees and other beneficiaries that are transferred to the JSPP must be replicated.  And lastly, as of the effective date of transactions, the commuted value of the benefits of individual SEPP members must be at least as high in the JSPP as it was in the SEPP.

The legislative framework for these transactions cannot be proclaimed without the accompanying regulations.  The government posted a description of the proposed regulations to the regulatory registry for stakeholder comment on January 20, 2015.  Feedback received resulted in a number of changes to the content of the regulations and those changes were incorporated into the draft regulations posted to the regulatory registry on June 26, 2015. 

The two major changes arising from feedback are as follows:

  • the proposed maximum transfer amount in a plan merger is the wind-up liabilities related to the accrued benefits of the SEPP members being transferred into the JSPP; and
  • the proposed earliest effective date of the transfer of assets for a plan merger is the date on which the required consent thresholds have been achieved. 

The draft regulations have been prepared to seek further feedback from stakeholders concerning the content and wording of the regulations that will be put forward to Cabinet later this year. 

In addition, the Ministry of Finance has prepared the following frequently asked questions regarding the proposed rules.

1. What's the difference between a Single Employer Pension Plan (SEPP) and a Jointly Sponsored Pension Plan (JSPP)?

Both SEPPs and JSPPs provide defined benefit pensions that are based on a formula set out in the plan terms.

SEPPs are administered by an employer, whereas JSPPs are jointly administered by employee/union and employer representatives. In addition, responsibility for the governance of the plan and the ability to amend the plan is jointly shared between the JSPP's active members and employer(s), as they jointly bear the responsibility for funding any plan shortfalls. 

For a SEPP, if the plan is underfunded, the employer must make additional contributions to the plan over a period of time to eliminate the deficit.  The SEPP employer also has exclusive power to amend the terms of the plan and can make itself solely responsible for the governance of the plan. 

For a JSPP, if the plan is underfunded, both the employer(s) and the active plan members (but not retired members nor any other plan beneficiaries) must make additional contributions to eliminate the deficit. 

Most SEPPs are covered by Ontario's Pension Benefit Guarantee Fund (PBGF), which is funded by annual assessments paid by the employer and which guarantees payment of a minimum benefit amount from the plan if the plan winds up underfunded and the employer sponsor is insolvent.  JSPPs, however, are not covered by the PBGF.

Below is a table that outlines the main differences between SEPPs and JSPPs:


Characteristics
SEPP JSPP
Defined Benefits based on formula set out in plan terms Yes Yes
Administered by Employers (i.e. funding and governance) Yes No
Jointly Administered by Employee/Union and Employer Representatives (i.e. funding and governance) No Yes
Reduction of Accrued Benefits in Ongoing Plan No No
Potential Reduction of Accrued Benefits on Wind-up No Yes
Employers are solely responsible for funding deficits Yes No
Grow-In Benefits for eligible members whose employment is terminated by employer Yes No
(can opt out)
Pension Benefit Guarantee Fund (PBGF) Yes No

2. Why should SEPPs convert to JSPPs?

It is anticipated that by adopting the features of a JSPP, plans will have greater transparency, be better governed, have more predictable costs and be more likely to provide sustainable benefits.

3. Will employers in the private sector be able to convert their pension plans to become jointly sponsored?

No, the legislative framework for plan mergers and conversions is restricted to pension plans in Ontario's broader public service.

4. I am a retiree; will the amount of my pension be affected by a merger or conversion of my SEPP into a JSPP?

No, the legislation requires that the pensions of current retirees under the JSPP must be at least the same as they were in the SEPP.  In some cases, if the JSPP provides better indexation than the SEPP, these improved terms may be extended to SEPP retirees, subject to the agreement of the employer and JSPP plan sponsors.

5. Can my pension benefits be reduced while the JSPP continues in existence?

Just like for SEPPs, the PBA does not allow the pension benefits of plan beneficiaries to be reduced in an ongoing JSPP.  In the event that the JSPP becomes underfunded, the employer(s) and active members in the JSPP will be required to increase their contributions or reduce future benefits to eliminate any funding shortfall.  Retired members will not be affected by these contribution increases and will continue to be paid the same pension amount.

6. Can my pension benefits be reduced if the JSPP is wound-up?

Yes, while there is the possibility that pension benefits can be reduced if the JSPP is wound-up, the probability of this is remote given that most of Ontario's public sector JSPPs are large, in terms of membership, participating employers and assets under management.

In the unlikely event that a JSPP is wound-up, the assets in the plan would be used to cover the cost of all the pension benefits that had been earned as of the date of wind-up.  If the pension fund does not have sufficient assets to pay all the earned benefits, the legislation requires that the employer that sponsored the member's SEPP prior to the merger pay into the JSPP whatever additional amount is required to ensure that the former SEPP beneficiaries receive full payment of their pension benefits accrued while they were members of the SEPP. As such, it is anticipated that the pensions of SEPP retirees will not be reduced in any way.

7. What consent is required before a merger or conversion transaction can proceed?

An employer's proposal to merge or convert an existing SEPP into a JSPP cannot proceed unless:

  • At least 2/3 of the SEPP's active members consent or have consent provided on their behalf by their union(s); and
  • Not more than 1/3 of the SEPP's retired members, former members and other plan beneficiaries as a group object to the proposed transaction (by returning a signed objection form).

The administrator of the SEPP will be required to provide all the information necessary for plan beneficiaries and trade union(s) to make well-considered decisions as to whether to consent or object to the proposed changes. 

8. Why are retirees only being asked to object instead of providing their consent?

Retirees are being asked to object instead of providing explicit consent because their pensions must be replicated under the JSPP and they will not make contributions towards any future funding deficiencies. They are less likely to experience changes in their pensions than active members and they will be supported by additional contributions from their original employer in the unlikely event that the JSPP is wound up.

Active members on the other hand will have more at stake than retirees and will be consenting to a major change in their pension plan as they will be required to contribute to the funding of any future deficits and have a part in plan governance. Given these new obligations, requiring positive consent seems appropriate.

9. How will I know if the transaction is going to proceed after the consent process?

If the required level of consent is obtained from plan beneficiaries, the SEPP employer must then apply to the Superintendent of Financial Services for consent to the transaction.  When that application is made, the administrator of the SEPP will send each member, retiree and other beneficiary of the SEPP a notice regarding the application and how to get more information about the application. 

10. Will retirees have a role in the JSPP governance structure?

While plan members will share responsibility for the plan's governance and funding in a JSPP, it will be up to the JSPP and its sponsors to determine the role of retirees in the governance structure.

11. What if some money remains in the SEPP after the SEPP's assets and beneficiaries are transferred to a JSPP?

Where a SEPP is to be merged into a JSPP, the employer of the SEPP and the sponsors of the JSPP must negotiate the amount of SEPP assets that will be transferred to the JSPP as part of the transaction.  Any money that remains in the SEPP after the transaction is deemed to be surplus.  That surplus money can then be distributed in accordance with the terms of the SEPP that deal with the ownership and distribution of surplus, and the requirements of the pension legislation. In the event that the plan terms are silent on how surplus is shared, the employer and the members must negotiate an agreement.

: Cadre relatif à la fusion ou à la conversion des RREU en RRC Projet de Foire

En 2014, le gouvernement a modifié la Loi sur les régimes de retraite (LRR) afin de créer un cadre qui faciliterait la fusion de régimes de retraite d'employeur unique (RREU) avec des régimes de retraite conjoints (RRC) existants ou leur conversion en nouveaux RRC. Ce cadre se limite au secteur parapublic de l'Ontario.

Les principales différences entre ces deux types de régimes à prestations déterminées sont les suivantes :

  • L'employeur qui parraine le régime est le seul responsable de la gouvernance et de la capitalisation du RREU, alors que dans le cas d'un RRC, l'employeur et les participants au régime sont coresponsables de la gouvernance et de la capitalisation du régime.
  • Bien que les prestations accumulées dans le cadre d'un RREU et d'un RRC ne puissent pas être réduites tant que le régime est en vigueur, celles accumulées dans le cadre d'un RRC pourraient être réduites à la liquidation du régime si celui-ci est sous-capitalisé.
  • Les RRC ne sont pas couverts par le Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite (FGPR).

En adoptant les caractéristiques d'un RRC, les régimes seront plus transparents, mieux gérés et les coûts seront plus prévisibles; les régimes seront ainsi plus susceptibles de verser des prestations durables sur une longue période. En élaborant ce cadre d'application, le gouvernement a tenu compte du besoin de minimiser les risques pour les bénéficiaires du régime à la suite d'une modification du régime de retraite.

À cette fin, des mesures de protection précises ont été mises en place pour limiter ces risques. Premièrement, les promoteurs-employeurs demeurent responsables de toute insuffisance de capitalisation à l'égard des prestations accumulées avant la date de la fusion ou de la conversion advenant la liquidation subséquente du RRC. Deuxièmement, les prestations versées aux retraités et autres bénéficiaires transférés au RRC doivent être les mêmes. En dernier lieu, à la date de prise d'effet de la transaction, la valeur actualisée des prestations des participants individuels au RREU doit être au moins être aussi élevée dans le RRC qu'elle l'était dans le RREU.

Le cadre législatif de ces transactions ne peut pas être promulgué sans les règlements d'application. Le 20 janvier 2015, le gouvernement a publié une description du projet de règlement sur le site du Registre de la réglementation en vue d'obtenir les commentaires des parties intéressées. Les commentaires reçus ont donné lieu à un certain nombre de changements au contenu du règlement et ceux-ci ont été incorporés au projet de règlement qui a été inscrit au Registre de la réglementationle 26 juin 2015.

Deux changements majeurs ont été apportés à la suite des commentaires :

  • le montant maximum proposé du transfert dans le cadre d'une fusion est le passif de liquidation lié aux prestations accumulées des participants au RREU qui sont transférés dans un RRC; et
  • la date de prise d'effet du transfert d'actifs la plus hâtive proposée pour une fusion de régime est la date à laquelle les seuils de consentement exigés auront été atteints. 

Le projet de règlement a été préparé dans le but d'obtenir les réactions des intervenants sur le contenu et le libellé du règlement qui sera présenté au Cabinet plus tard cette année.

Le ministère des Finances propose également les réponses qui suivent aux questions les plus fréquentes sur les règles proposées et leur finalité.

1. Quelle est la différence entre un régime de retraite à employeur unique (RREU) et un régime de retraite conjoint (RRC)?

Les RREU et les RRC prévoient tous deux des prestations déterminées calculées suivant une formule prévue aux dispositions du régime.

Les RREU sont administrés par l'employeur, tandis que les RRC sont administrés conjointement par les représentants des employés (ou du syndicat) et de l'employeur. En outre, les participants actifs et les employeurs du RRC se partagent la gouvernance du régime et le pouvoir de modifier celui-ci, car il leur incombe de financer conjointement toute insuffisance de capitalisation du régime. 

Dans le cas des RREU, si le régime est sous-capitalisé, l'employeur doit verser des cotisations supplémentaires au cours d'une certaine période pour éliminer le déficit. L'employeur du RREU a également le pouvoir exclusif de modifier les dispositions du régime et de décider qu'il est le seul responsable de la gouvernance du régime. 

Dans le cas des RRC, si le régime est sous-capitalisé, l'employeur et les participants actifs (mais non les participants retraités ou autres bénéficiaires du régime) doivent verser des cotisations supplémentaires pour éliminer le déficit. 

La plupart des RREU sont couverts par le Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite (FGPR) de l'Ontario, qui est capitalisé par les cotisations annuelles versées par l'employeur et qui garantit le versement d'une prestation minimale au titre du régime advenant la liquidation d'un régime sous-financé et l'insolvabilité de l'employeur. Les RRC ne sont cependant pas couverts par le FGPR.

Le tableau ci-dessous illustre les principales différences entre le RREU et le RRC :


Caractéristiques
RREU RRC
Prestations déterminées, calculées selon une formule prévue aux dispositions du régime Oui Oui
Administré par les employeurs (capitalisation et gouvernance) Oui Non
Administré conjointement par les représentants des employés (ou du syndicat) et de l'employeur (capitalisation et gouvernance) Non Oui
Réduction des prestations accumulées dans le régime en vigueur Non Non
Possibilité de réduction des prestations accumulées à la liquidation du régime Non Oui
Les employeurs sont les seuls responsables du remboursement des déficits Oui Non
Droits d'acquisition réputée pour les participants dont l'employeur a mis fin à l'emploi Oui Non
(possibilité de renonciation)
Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite (FGPR) Oui Non
2. Pourquoi convertir les RREU en RRC?

En adoptant les caractéristiques d'un RRC, les régimes seront plus transparents, mieux gérés et les coûts seront plus prévisibles; les régimes seront ainsi plus susceptibles de verser des prestations durables.

3. Les employeurs du secteur privé pourront-ils convertir leurs régimes de retraite en régimes de retraite conjoints?

Non. Le cadre législatif en matière de fusion et de conversion de régimes de retraite ne s'applique qu'aux régimes du secteur parapublic de l'Ontario.

4. Je suis un retraité; le montant de mes prestations de retraite sera-t-il touché par la fusion ou la transformation de mon RREU en RRC?

Non. La loi exige que les prestations versées aux retraités actuels par le RRC soient au moins égales à celles versées par le RREU. Dans certains cas, si le RRC prévoit une indexation supérieure à celle du RREU, ces nouvelles dispositions pourraient s'étendre aux retraités du RREU, sous réserve d'une entente entre l'employeur et les promoteurs du RRC.

5. Mes prestations de retraite peuvent-elles être réduites si le RRC est maintenu en vigueur?

Tout comme dans le cas des RREU, la Loi sur les régimes de retraite n'autorise pas la réduction des prestations versées aux bénéficiaires d'un RRC. Advenant la sous-capitalisation d'un RRC, les cotisations versées par l'employeur et les participants actifs du RRC devront être augmentées ou les prestations futures devront être réduites pour éliminer tout déficit. Les participants retraités ne seront pas touchés par ces hausses de cotisations et continueront de recevoir les mêmes prestations.

6. Mes prestations de retraite peuvent-elles être réduites advenant la liquidation du RRC?

Oui, il est possible que les prestations soient réduites en cas de liquidation du RRC. Cette possibilité est toutefois peu probable étant donné la taille de la plupart des RRC du secteur public de l'Ontario en termes de participants, d'employeurs et d'actif sous gestion.

Advenant la liquidation improbable d'un RRC, l'actif du régime serait utilisé pour couvrir le coût de toutes les prestations de retraite accumulées à la date de la liquidation. Si la caisse de retraite ne possède pas l'actif suffisant pour payer toutes les prestations accumulées, la loi exige que l'employeur qui offrait l'ancien RREU avant la fusion verse au RRC le montant additionnel nécessaire pour que les anciens bénéficiaires du RREU reçoivent le montant intégral des prestations de retraite accumulées en tant que participants au RREU. Ainsi, les prestations des retraités du RREU ne devraient être réduites d'aucune façon.

7. Quel consentement faut-il obtenir avant la fusion ou la conversion du régime?

La fusion ou la conversion d'un RREU existant en RRC ne peut avoir lieu que si :

  • au moins les deux tiers des participants actifs du RREU donnent leur consentement, ou le consentement est donné pour leur compte par leur syndicat; et
  • pas plus du tiers des participants retraités, anciens participants et autres bénéficiaires du RREU s'opposent à la transaction proposée (en retournant un formulaire d'opposition dûment signé).

L'administrateur du RREU devra fournir tous les renseignements nécessaires aux bénéficiaires du régime et aux syndicats, afin que ces derniers puissent prendre des décisions éclairées à l'égard des changements proposés. 

8. Pour quelle raison les retraités sont-ils invités seulement à formuler leur opposition et non à donner leur consentement?

Comme leurs prestations de retraite doivent être les mêmes au titre du RRC et qu'ils n'auront pas à verser de cotisations pour combler un déficit de capitalisation éventuel, les retraités ne sont invités à exprimer que leur opposition. La probabilité que les prestations des retraités changent est plus faible et, advenant la liquidation peu probable du RRC, des cotisations supplémentaires seraient versées pour leur compte par leur employeur initial.

D'autre part, l'enjeu pour les participants actifs sera plus important et ces derniers devront consentir à un changement majeur de leur régime de retraite, car ils devront participer au financement des déficits futurs et à la gouvernance du régime. Étant donné ces nouvelles obligations, il semble approprié de demander le consentement explicite des participants actifs.

9. Comment saurons-nous que le régime a été modifié après le processus de consentement?

Si le niveau requis de consentement est obtenu, l'employeur du RREU doit ensuite présenter une demande au surintendant des services financiers pour faire autoriser la transaction. Une fois la demande présentée, l'administrateur du RREU fera parvenir à chaque participant, retraité et autre bénéficiaire du RREU un avis au sujet de la demande et des renseignements sur la façon d'obtenir plus d'information sur la demande. 

10. Les retraités auront-ils un rôle à jouer au sein de la structure de gouvernance du régime?

Bien que les participants seront conjointement responsables de la gouvernance et de la capitalisation du RRC, il reviendra au RRC et à ses promoteurs de définir le rôle des retraités au sein de la structure de gouvernance.

11. Qu'arrivera-t-il s'il subsiste des fonds dans le RREU après le transfert de l'actif et des bénéficiaires à un RRC?

Lorsqu'un RREU est converti en RRC, l'employeur du RREU et les promoteurs du RRC doivent négocier le montant de l'actif du RREU qui sera viré au RRC dans le cadre de la transaction. Toute somme subsistant dans le RREU après la transaction est considéré comme un excédent. Cet excédent peut être distribué conformément aux dispositions du RREU en matière de propriété et de distribution de l'excédent et des exigences de la loi en matière de retraite. Si les dispositions du régime ne fournissent pas de précisions sur la façon dont l'excédent doit être partagé, l'employeur et les participants doivent négocier une entente.