Administration of OPSTC and OCASE Tax Credit Grandfathering Bulletin

July 31, 2015

The 2015 Ontario Budget announced changes to reduce the OPSTC and OCASE tax credit rates for expenditures incurred after April 23, 2015.

The Ontario Government has heard the concerns of industry and has grandfathered the tax credit rates of 25% and 20% for the OPSTC and OCASE, respectively, for eligible expenditures incurred after April 23, 2015 and before August 1, 2016 for productions that meet the criteria outlined below.

Ontario Production Services Tax Credit (OPSTC)

A qualifying corporation’s Ontario production services tax credit for an eligible production shall be 25 per cent of its qualifying production expenditures incurred after April 23, 2015 and before August 1, 2016 if all of the following three criteria are satisfied:

  1. Eligible Agreement

    Before April 24, 2015, the corporation must have entered into at least one written agreement in respect of a qualifying production expenditure for the eligible production with a person that deals at arm’s length with the corporation.

    In order for the agreement to qualify, the agreement must be in respect of services of a producer, a director, a key cast member, a production crew or a post-production crew or in respect of a studio located in Ontario, or a location in Ontario.

    For corporations that do not have an agreement in respect of such services or locations, an agreement may qualify if it demonstrates, in the opinion of the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, that the corporation has made a significant commitment to production activities in Ontario in respect of the production (refer to the section entitled “Minister’s Opinion” below).

  2. Application for Certification

    Before August 1, 2015, the corporation must apply to the Ontario Media Development Corporation (OMDC) for a certificate in respect of the production.

  3. Commencement of Principal Photography or Key Animation

    Before August 1, 2015, principal photography or key animation for the production must commence.

Ontario Computer Animation and Special Effects Tax Credit (OCASE)

A qualifying corporation’s Ontario computer animation and special effects tax credit shall be 20 per cent of its qualifying labour expenditures for expenditures incurred after April 23, 2015 and before August 1, 2016 if all of the following four criteria are satisfied:

  1. Eligible Agreement

    Before April 24, 2015, the corporation must have entered into at least one written agreement in respect of a qualifying labour expenditure for the eligible production with a person that deals at arm’s length with the corporation.

    In order for the agreement to qualify, the agreement must be in respect of digital animation or digital visual effects for use in the eligible production.

    For corporations that do not have an agreement in respect of digital animation or digital visual effects, an agreement may qualify if it demonstrates, in the opinion of the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, that the corporation has made a significant commitment to production activities in respect of the production in Ontario (refer to the section entitled “Minister’s Opinion” below).

  2. Notification to the OMDC

    Before August 1, 2015, the corporation must notify the OMDC in writing of its intent to apply for a certificate in respect of the eligible production. The corporation should do this by submitting the form Notice of Intent to Apply for OCASE Grandfathering found on the OMDC’s Online Application Portal.

  3. Application for Certification

    Before August 1, 2016, the corporation must apply to the OMDC for a certificate in respect of the eligible production.

  4. Commencement of Principal Photography or Key Animation

    Before August 1, 2015, principal photography or key animation for the production must commence.

Administration of Grandfathering

The OPSTC and the OCASE are jointly administered by the OMDC and the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). Application is made to the OMDC for a Certificate of Eligibility. In order to claim the OPSTC or OCASE, a qualifying corporation files its T2 return with the necessary schedule(s) and the Certificate of Eligibility with the CRA.

The administrative process for claiming grandfathering will follow this normal procedure. A qualifying corporation will file its T2 return with the necessary schedule(s) and Certificate of Eligibility together with documents supporting its grandfathering claim (i.e., the written agreement and if applicable, the notice of determination from the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport). The CRA will determine the total amount of eligible expenditures and the amount of tax credit that the qualifying corporation is eligible to receive, including whether the production qualifies for grandfathering.

Certificates of Eligibility issued by the OMDC include an estimate of the credit, which is subject to verification by the CRA. The estimate provided by the OMDC will be based on the revised tax credit rates and will indicate that a higher tax credit rate will be available if the production qualifies for grandfathering.

The OPSTC and OCASE rate changes and grandfathering were enacted on June 4, 2015 in the Building Ontario Up Act (Budget Measures), 2015 (Bill 91). Applicants should review the legislation directly for further details. The applicable tax credit guidelines will be updated on the OMDC website in the coming weeks to reflect the approval process for grandfathering.

For information on applying for a Certificate of Eligibility for the OPSTC and OCASE, please send an inquiry to taxcredits@omdc.on.ca

The CRA administers both federal and Ontario corporate taxes. For questions relating to the filing of the OPSTC and OCASE tax credit claims, contact the CRA’s Film Services Unit of the Toronto Centre Tax Services Office at 416-973-3407 or 416-954-0542.

Minister’s Opinion

An applicant that does not have a written agreement that satisfies the specific criteria for grandfathering under the OPSTC or OCASE can request the opinion of Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport as to whether another written agreement demonstrates that the applicant has made a significant commitment to production activities in respect of the production in Ontario. Such a request should only be made if the applicant does not have an agreement that otherwise satisfies the criteria.

The written agreement must be entered into before April 24, 2015 and be in respect of a qualifying expenditure for the eligible production with a person that deals at arm’s length with the applicant.

If a determination is made that the respective agreement does demonstrate such a commitment, a notice of determination will be provided to the applicant. The applicant must provide the notice of determination and the respective written agreement to the CRA.

For inquiries regarding applications to the Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport, please contact Olive Collaco, Senior Policy Coordinator, Culture Division, at 416-212-9640.

Transitional Grant

For productions that commenced principal photography or key animation between August 1, 2015 and November 30, 2015, inclusive, but otherwise met the criteria listed for OPSTC and OCASE above, there will be a separate transitional mechanism outside of the Taxation Act. More information on the specifics of this program will follow in Fall 2015.

Administration du maintien des taux de crédit d'impôt du CIOSP et du CIOESAI Bulletin

31 juillet 2015

Le budget de l'Ontario de 2015 a présenté des changements visant à réduire le taux du CIOSP et du CIOESAI pour les dépenses engagées après le 23 avril 2015.

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario a tenu compte des inquiétudes de l'industrie et a proposé des mesures permettant de maintenir les taux de crédit d'impôt de 25 % et de 20 % du CIOSP et du CIOESAI, respectivement, à l'égard des dépenses admissibles engagées après le 23 avril 2015 et avant le 1er août 2016, pour les productions qui remplissent les conditions énoncées ci-dessous.

Crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour les services de production (CIOSP)

Le crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario pour les services de production d'une société admissible à l'égard d'une production admissible correspondra à 25 % des dépenses de production admissibles engagées après le 23 avril 2015 et avant le 1er août  2016, à la condition que tous les critères suivants soient satisfaits :

  1. Entente admissible

    La société doit avoir conclu, avant le 24 avril 2015, au moins une entente écrite relativement aux dépenses de production admissibles à l'égard de la production admissible avec une personne sans lien de dépendance avec la société.

    Aux fins d'admissibilité, l’entente doit porter sur les services d'un producteur ou d'une productrice, d'un réalisateur ou d'une réalisatrice, d'un membre clé de la distribution, d’un membre de l’équipe de production ou d’un membre de l’équipe de postproduction, ou doit concerner un studio situé en Ontario ou un lieu de tournage en Ontario.

    Si la société n'a pas conclu d'entente relative à ces services ou ces lieux, une entente peut être admissible si elle démontre que, de l’avis du ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport, la société a pris un engagement considérable à l’égard des activités de production en Ontario (consultez la rubrique « Avis du ministre » ci-après).

  2. Demande de certificat

    La société doit avoir présenté à la Société de développement de l’industrie des médias de l’Ontario (SODIMO), avant le 1er août 2015, une demande de certificat à l’égard de la production.

  3. Début des travaux de prise de vues ou de l'animation clé

    Les principaux travaux de prise de vues ou l'animation clé de la production doivent avoir commencé avant le 1er août 2015.

Crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour les effets spéciaux et l’animation informatiques (CIOESAI)

Le crédit d'impôt de l'Ontario pour les effets spéciaux et l'animation informatiques d'une société admissible correspondra à 20 % de ses dépenses de main-d'œuvre admissibles engagées après le 23 avril 2015 et avant le 1er août 2016, à la condition que tous les critères suivants soient satisfaits :

  1. Entente admissible

    La société doit avoir conclu, avant le 24 avril 2015, au moins une entente écrite relativement aux dépenses de main-d'œuvre admissibles à l'égard de la production admissible avec une personne sans lien de dépendance avec la société.

    Aux fins d'admissibilité, l'entente doit porter sur de l'animation ou des effets visuels numériques utilisés pour la production admissible.

    Si la société n'a pas conclu d'entente relative à l'animation ou aux effets visuels numériques, une entente peut être admissible si elle démontre que, de l’avis du ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport, la société a pris un engagement considérable à l’égard des activités de production en Ontario (consultez la rubrique « Avis du ministre » ci-après).

  2. Avis à la SODIMO

    Avant le 1er août 2015, la société doit informer la SODIMO, par écrit, de son intention de présenter une demande de certificat à l'égard de la production admissible. Pour ce faire, la société doit remplir et présenter le formulaire avis d'intention de présenter une demande de maintien du CIOESAI sur le Portail de demande en ligne de la SODIMO.

  3. Demande de certificat

    Avant le 1er août 2016, la société doit présenter à la SODIMO une demande de certificat à l'égard de la production admissible.

  4. Début des travaux de prise de vues ou de l'animation clé

    Les principaux travaux de prise de vues ou l'animation clé de la production doivent avoir commencé avant le 1er août 2015.

Administration du maintien des taux de crédit d'impôt

Le CIOSP et le CIOESAI dont administrés par la SODIMO et l'Agence de revenu du Canada (ARC). La société admissible présente sa demande de certificat d'admissibilité à la SODIMO. Pour présenter une demande aux termes du CIOSP ou du CIOESAI, une société admissible doit déposer sa déclaration de revenus T2, accompagnée de la ou des annexes nécessaires et du certificat d'admissibilité, auprès de l'ARC.

Le processus administratif pour demander le maintien des taux de crédit d'impôt suivra son cours normal. Une société doit déposer sa déclaration T, accompagnée de la ou des annexes nécessaires et du certificat d'admissibilité, de même que les documents justifiant sa demande de maintien des taux de crédit d'impôt (c.-à-d. l'entente écrite et, s'il y a lieu, l'avis de détermination du ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport). L'ARC déterminera le montant total des dépenses admissibles et le montant du crédit d'impôt que la société admissible peut obtenir, et si la production est admissible ou non au maintien des taux de crédit d'impôt.

Les certificats d'admissibilité délivrés par la SODIMO comprennent une estimation du crédit, qui est assujettie à une vérification par l'ARC. L'estimation fournie par la SODIMO sera fondée sur les taux de crédit d'impôt révisés et indiquera qu'un taux de crédit d'impôt plus élevé sera accordé si la production est admissible au maintien des taux de crédit d'impôt.

Les modifications apportées aux taux du CIOSP et du CIOESAI et le maintien des taux de crédit d'impôt sont entrés en vigueur le 4 juin 2015 en vertu de la Loi de 2015 pour favoriser l'essor de l'Ontario (mesures budgétaires) (projet de loi 91). Les auteurs d’une demande devraient prendre connaissance directement de la législation pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Les lignes directrices des crédits d'impôt concernés seront mises à jour sur le site Web de la SODIMO dans les semaines à venir.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur une demande de certificat d'admissibilité pour le CIOSP et le CIOESAI, veuillez communiquer avec taxcredits@omdc.on.ca

L'ARC administre l'impôt des sociétés du gouvernement fédéral et de l'Ontario. Si vous avez des questions concernant le dépôt d'une demande de crédit d'impôt du CIOSP ou du CIOESAI, communiquez avec l'Unité des services pour l'industrie cinématographique de l'ARC de Toronto au 416-973-3407 ou au 416-954-0542.

Avis du ministre

L'auteur d'une demande qui n'a pas d'entente écrite répondant aux critères particuliers pour le maintien des taux de crédit d'impôt aux termes du CIOSP ou du CIOESAI peut demander l'avis du ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport pour savoir si une autre entente écrite démontre que l'auteur de la demande a pris un engagement considérable à l'égard des activités de production en Ontario. Une telle demande ne sera présentée que si l'auteur de la demande n'a pas d'entente qui satisfait par ailleurs aux critères.

L'entente écrite doit avoir été conclue avant le 24 avril 2015 et visée des dépenses admissibles à l'égard de la production admissible à l'égard de la production admissible avec une personne sans lien de dépendance avec l'auteur de la demande.

S'il est déterminé que l'entente respective ne démontre pas un tel engagement, un avis de détermination sera fourni à l'auteur de la demande. Celui-ci doit fournir l'avis de détermination et l'entente écrite respective à l'ARC.

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires concernant les demandes au ministre du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport, veuillez communiquer avec Olive Collaco, coordonnatrice principale des politiques, Division des affaires culturelles, au 416-212-9640.

Subvention transitoire

Pour les productions qui entament les principaux travaux de prise de vues ou l'animation clé entre le 1er août 2015 et le 30 novembre 2015 inclusivement, mais qui remplissent autrement les conditions énumérées ci-dessus pour le CIOSP et le CIOESAI, un mécanisme distinct sera mis en place indépendamment de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. Plus de renseignements suivront lorsque les détails de ce programme seront élaborés, à l'automne 2015.