Ontario Interactive Digital Media Tax Credit Bulletin

March 16, 2017

Summary

The Ontario Interactive Digital Media Tax Credit (OIDMTC) is a refundable tax credit available to qualifying corporations for expenditures related to the creation, marketing and distribution of eligible interactive digital media products.  The credit is calculated as 40 per cent of eligible labour and marketing and distribution expenditures for qualifying corporations that develop and market their own products, and 35 per cent of eligible labour expenditures for qualifying corporations that develop products under a fee-for-service arrangement.  A 35 per cent refundable tax credit is also available to qualifying digital game corporations and specialized digital game corporations.

On April 23, 2015, the government announced proposed changes to eligibility for the OIDMTC to:

  • Focus the credit on entertainment products and on educational products for children under the age of 12;
  • Exclude certain products from OIDMTC support, such as search engines, real estate databases and news and public affairs products;
  • Strengthen the rule that excludes promotional products;
  • Improve certification by replacing the former development requirement with a rule based on the labour costs of the company developing the product.

A regulation implementing the proposed eligibility changes was filed on March 14, 2017.  This Bulletin provides an overview of OIDMTC eligibility requirements impacted by the regulation.  For further details, applicants should consult the regulation.

Note that these new eligibility requirements do not apply to the tax credit available to qualifying digital game corporations and specialized digital game corporations. 

OIDMTC Eligibility Requirements

1. Primary Purpose Requirement

The primary purpose requirement has been amended to provide that the OIDMTC is available only for products with a primary purpose to:

  • Entertain the user; or
  • Educate users under the age of 12.  

A product can only have one primary purpose. 

Primary purpose of entertaining the user

In order for a product to have the primary purpose of entertaining the user, the product should be designed for recreation.  A product with the primary purpose of informing or educating the user is not considered to have the primary purpose of entertaining.  For example, news products are not considered to have the primary purpose of entertaining the user, even if the user engages with the product during leisure time. 

A product that is a digital game is considered to have the primary purpose of entertaining the user.

Primary purpose of educating users under the age of 12

In order for a product to have the primary purpose of educating users under the age of 12, the product should be designed as a tool for teaching children under the age of 12.  This could include, for example, a product that is designed to teach the letters of the alphabet.  A product that is designed primarily to educate youths and adults is not considered to have the primary purpose of educating users under the age of 12.

Implementation

The changes to the primary purpose requirement apply to expenditures incurred after April 23, 2015. Expenditures that are incurred on or before April 23, 2015 in respect of previously eligible products are not affected. 

2. Excluded Products

Certain products no longer qualify for the OIDMTC.  These include:

  • Products that provide any content that is news, current events or public affairs programming, opinion, commentary, advice or weather or market reports.  Some examples of excluded products include a website or app for a newspaper, magazine or blog.  Products with non-qualifying content would be excluded, even if the content is only available online.
  • Products produced primarily for industrial, corporate or institutional purposes, including vocational training products and other types of job training products.  This would include any product that is designed to provide job training to employees or to inform or educate employees.
  • Products that are primarily reference materials.  This would generally include any product that is designed to be used as a resource for finding information, such as a user guide for equipment or software, a dictionary or a map.
  • Products that primarily aggregate content from various internet sources and consolidate it in one place.
  • Products that are primarily used to filter and organize specific content from the internet.
  • Products that are internet search engines.
  • Products that are blogs.
  • Products that are primarily databases.  This includes any product the primary purpose of which is to facilitate searching and retrieval of stored information, such as a real estate database or a recipe database.

In addition to the excluded products listed above, a product that is a website is also excluded unless the website primarily hosts:

  • One or more digital games;
  • Content related to a film, television or internet production that is hosted under a licence agreement in respect of a copyright that relates to the film, television or internet production, provided the website does not exhibit more than 10 per cent of any film, television or internet production (that meets the definition of film, television or internet production below);
  • One or more virtual or augmented reality experiences;
  • Content that is designed to educate users who are under the age of 12; or
  • Any combination of the above.

Exceptions to the websites exclusion:

Digital game

A website that primarily hosts one or more digital games is an eligible product for the purpose of the OIDMTC, provided the product meets all of the other eligibility criteria.  A product that is a digital game includes the following characteristics:

  • Is played by one or more users;
  • Sets out goals and rules for game play; and
  • Challenges the user and has an uncertain outcome.

Film, television or internet production

A film, television or internet production must be produced for

  • Commercial release in theatres;
  • Broadcasting on television; or
  • Broadcasting over the internet where the end user is required to pay a purchase, licence or subscription fee.

A film, television or internet production does not include the following productions:

  • News, current events or public affairs programming, or a programme that includes weather or market reports;
  • A talk show;
  • A production in respect of a game, questionnaire or contest (other than a production directed primarily at minors);
  • A sports event or activity;
  • A gala presentation or an awards show;
  • A production that solicits funds;
  • Reality television;
  • Pornography;
  • Advertising;
  • A production produced primarily for industrial, corporate or institutional purposes; or
  • A production, other than a documentary, all or substantially all of which consists of stock footage.

Educational products for users under the age of 12

A website that primarily hosts content designed to educate users under the age of 12 is an eligible product for the purpose of the OIDMTC, provided the product meets all of the other eligibility criteria.  

Product that hosts virtual or augmented reality experiences

A website that primarily hosts one or more virtual reality or augmented reality experiences is an eligible product for the purpose of the OIDMTC, provided the product meets all of the other eligibility criteria.

Similar content products

If a majority of the content of a particular product is available on a website that is excluded, then the particular product is also excluded.  For example, if a product is an app and the same content is available through a website that is excluded, the app is also an excluded product.  

Implementation

These product exclusions apply in respect of expenditures incurred after April 23, 2015.  Expenditures that are incurred on or before April 23, 2015 in respect of previously eligible products are not affected.

3. Promotional Products

In order to qualify for the OIDMTC, a product must not be used primarily to present or promote the developer, or the purchaser in the case of a specified product.  As well, a product must not be used primarily to present, promote or sell the products or services of the developer, or the purchaser in the case of a specified product.

The rule that excludes products that are primarily used for promotion has been strengthened by deeming products with no revenue generating stream to be excluded promotional products.  

In the case of a product that is a specified product, the product must result in a revenue stream to the purchaser.  In the case of a product that is not a specified product, the product must result in a revenue stream to the developer.

For the purposes of this rule, a revenue stream is the generation of revenue through:

  • The sale of the product;
  • Fees for the use of the product, including licence fees and subscription fees;
  • In-product purchases;
  • Third-party advertising; or
  • The sale or licence of another product developed by the developer that can reasonably be considered an extension or upgrade of the product.

An in-product purchase, also called an in-game or in-app purchase, occurs when the user can purchase an enhancement to the product.

Third party advertising relates to marketing and promotion of a corporation or person, or products or services of a corporation or person, that is not related to the product developer or the purchaser.

Implementation

The requirement to have a revenue generating stream applies to expenditures incurred after April 23, 2015.  Expenditures that are incurred on or before April 23, 2015 in respect of previously eligible products are not affected.  

4. Development Requirement

The OIDMTC has been amended to replace the requirement that “all or substantially all” of the product be developed in Ontario by the company claiming the credit with a new quantitative rule based on the labour costs of developing a product.  The new quantitative rule has two concurrent tests that have to be met: an 80 per cent test and a 25 per cent test.

Simplified formulas for the 80 per cent test and the 25 per cent test are provided below.  For further details, applicants should consult the regulation.

The 80 per cent test generally requires that the following formula is 80 per cent or greater:

A

B

Where:

A is the total amount of eligible labour expenditures attributable to services rendered personally in Ontario:

  • By employees of the applicant;
  • By certain individuals providing services to the applicant as part of sole proprietorships that do not have any employees;
  • By certain individuals providing services to the applicant through corporations that do not have employees other than the individual.

B is the total amount of labour expenditures that are attributable to services rendered that are directly attributable to the development of the eligible product.

The 25 per cent test generally requires that the following formula is 25 per cent or greater:

C

D

Where:

C is the total amount of eligible labour expenditures attributable to services rendered personally in Ontario by employees of the applicant.

D is the total amount of labour expenditures that are attributable to services rendered that are directly attributable to the development of the eligible product.

Expenditures are not eligible for the OIDMTC if they are claimed for other credits.  Similarly, certain types of assistance reduce the amount of expenditures that are eligible for the OIDMTC.  However, for the purposes of determining the amounts for A and C in the formulas, the amount of an applicant’s eligible labour expenditure will not be reduced as a result of receiving assistance or claiming other credits.  For example, an expenditure in respect of which an applicant receives the scientific research and development credit could be an eligible labour expenditure for the purposes of the formulas. Expenditures will continue to be ineligible for the OIDMTC if they are claimed for other credits, even if they are treated as being eligible for the purposes of the formulas.

The amounts determined for B and D would include, for example, expenditures attributable to services rendered:

  • By an employee of the applicant, whether or not the services are rendered in Ontario;
  • As part of a sole proprietorship, whether or not the proprietorship has employees; and
  • By a corporation, whether or not the corporation has employees.

The amounts determined for A, B, C and D only include expenditures incurred during the 37-month period ending at the end of the month in which development of the eligible product is completed.

The new rule does not change the definition of expenditures that are eligible for the credit.

Implementation

To expedite certification, the new development requirement applies to all products in respect of which a determination of eligibility has not been made on or before April 23, 2015, including those awaiting certification on April 24, 2015.  However, only the 80 per cent test applies to products for which certification was applied for before April 24, 2015.  Both the 80 per cent test and the 25 per cent test need to be met for products that apply for certification on or after April 24, 2015.

Crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour les produits multimédias interactifs numériques Bulletin

Le 16 mars 2017

Sommaire

Le Crédit d’impôt de l’Ontario pour les produits multimédias interactifs numériques (CIOPMIN) est un crédit d’impôt remboursable offert aux sociétés admissibles pour les dépenses liées à la conception, à la commercialisation et à la distribution de produits multimédias interactifs numériques admissibles.  Le crédit correspond à 40 pour cent des dépenses admissibles de main-d’œuvre, de marketing et de distribution pour les sociétés admissibles qui créent et commercialisent leurs propres produits, et à 30 pour cent des dépenses admissibles de main-d’œuvre pour les sociétés admissibles qui créent leurs produits dans le cadre d’un contrat d’achat de services.  Un crédit d’impôt remboursable de 35 pour cent est également offert aux sociétés admissibles de jeux numériques et aux sociétés de jeux numériques spécialisées.

Le 23 avril 2015, le gouvernement a annoncé des changements proposés à l’admissibilité au CIOPMIN afin de :

  • Cibler le crédit sur les produits de divertissement et sur les produits éducatifs destinés aux enfants de moins de 12 ans;
  • Exclure du CIOPMIN certains produits comme les moteurs de recherche, les bases de données immobilières et les produits destinés aux nouvelles et aux affaires publiques;
  • Renforcer la règle qui exclut les produits promotionnels;
  • Améliorer le processus de certification en remplaçant les anciennes exigences de conception par des règles fondées sur les coûts de main-d’œuvre de la société qui crée le produit.

Un règlement d’application des modifications proposées à l’admissibilité a été déposé le 14 mars 2017.  Le présent Bulletin donne un aperçu de l’incidence du règlement sur les exigences d’admissibilité au CIOPMIN.  Pour en savoir plus, les sociétés qui demandent le crédit devraient consulter le règlement.

Notez que ces nouvelles exigences d’admissibilité ne s’appliquent pas au crédit d’impôt offert aux sociétés admissibles de jeux numériques et aux sociétés de jeux numériques spécialisées. 

Exigences d’admissibilité au CIOPMIN

1. Exigence liée à l’objectif principal

L’exigence liée à l’objectif principal a été modifiée pour prévoir que le CIOPMIN soit offert uniquement pour les produits dont l’objectif principal est l’un des suivants :

  • divertir l’utilisateur;
  • éduquer des utilisateurs de moins de 12 ans. 

Un produit ne peut avoir qu’un seul objectif principal. 

Objectif principal de divertir l’utilisateur

Si l’objectif principal consiste à divertir l’utilisateur, le produit doit être conçu pour les loisirs.  Un produit ayant pour objectif principal d’informer ou d’éduquer l’utilisateur n’est pas considéré comme un produit ayant pour objectif principal de le divertir.  Par exemple, les produits d’information n’ont pas comme objectif principal de divertir l’utilisateur, même si l’utilisateur s’en sert pendant son temps libre. 

Un jeu numérique est considéré comme un produit ayant pour objectif principal de divertir l’utilisateur.

Objectif principal d’éduquer des utilisateurs de moins de 12 ans

Pour que l’objectif principal d’un produit soit l’éducation d’utilisateurs de moins de 12 ans, celui-ci doit être conçu comme un outil d’enseignement destiné à des enfants de moins de 12 ans.  Cela pourrait inclure, par exemple, un produit qui est conçu pour enseigner les lettres de l’alphabet.  Un produit qui est conçu principalement pour éduquer les jeunes et les adultes n’est pas considéré comme un produit ayant pour objectif principal l’éducation d’utilisateurs de moins de 12 ans.

Mise en œuvre

Ces modifications à l’exigence liée à l’objectif principal s’appliquent aux dépenses engagées après le 23 avril 2015.  Les dépenses qui sont engagées jusqu’au 23 avril 2015 pour les produits admissibles antérieurement ne sont pas touchées.

2. Produits exclus

Certains produits ne sont plus admissibles au CIOPMIN.  Il s’agit notamment :

  • Des produits dont le contenu est constitué de nouvelles, d’actualités ou de sujets concernant les affaires publiques, d’opinions, de commentaires, de conseils ou de nouvelles sur les conditions météorologiques ou les marchés.  Quelques exemples de produits exclus comprennent un site Web ou une application pour un journal, un magazine ou un blogue.  Des produits ayant un contenu non admissible seraient exclus, même si le contenu est disponible uniquement en ligne.
  • Des produits principalement destinés à des fins industrielles, commerciales ou institutionnelles, y compris les produits de formation professionnelle et d’autres types de produits de formation liée à l’emploi.  Cela comprend tout produit conçu pour fournir de la formation professionnelle aux employés ou pour les informer ou les éduquer.
  • Des produits qui constituent principalement des documents de référence.  Cela comprend habituellement tout produit conçu pour être utilisé comme une ressource pour trouver de l’information, comme un guide d’utilisation d’équipement ou de logiciel, un dictionnaire ou une carte.
  • Des produits qui rassemblent principalement du contenu provenant de diverses sources Internet en un seul endroit.
  • Des produits qui servent principalement à trier et à organiser du contenu précis d’Internet.
  • Des produits qui consistent en des moteurs de recherche sur Internet.
  • Des produits qui consistent en des blogues.
  • Des produits qui sont principalement des bases de données.  Cela comprend tout produit dont l’objectif principal est de faciliter la recherche et la récupération des informations stockées, comme une base de données immobilières ou de recettes.

En plus des produits exclus énumérés ci-dessus, un produit qui est un site Web est également exclu à moins que ce dernier n’héberge principalement :

  • un ou plusieurs jeux numériques;
  • du contenu lié à une production de cinéma, de télévision ou de diffusion sur Internet qui est hébergé dans le cadre d’une convention de licence pour le droit d’auteur liée à une production de cinéma, de télévision ou de diffusion sur Internet, pourvu que le site Web ne diffuse pas plus de 10 pour cent d’une production de cinéma, de télévision ou de diffusion sur Internet (qui répond à la définition donnée ci-après de production de cinéma, de télévision ou de diffusion sur Internet);
  • une ou plusieurs expériences virtuelles ou de réalité augmentée;
  • du contenu destiné à l’éducation des utilisateurs de moins de 12 ans;
  • toute combinaison de ce qui précède.

Exceptions à l’exclusion des sites Web :

Jeu numérique

Un site Web qui héberge principalement un ou plusieurs jeux numériques est un produit admissible aux fins du CIOPMIN, pourvu que le produit réponde à tous les autres critères d’admissibilité.  Un produit qui est un jeu numérique comprend les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • est utilisé par une ou plusieurs personnes;
  • définit des buts et règles pour le jeu;
  • présente des défis à l’utilisateur et a une issue incertaine.

Production de cinéma, de télévision ou de diffusion sur Internet

Une production de cinéma, de télévision ou de diffusion sur Internet doit être réalisée aux fins d’une

  • diffusion commerciale dans les salles de cinéma;
  • diffusion à la télévision;
  • diffusion sur Internet pour laquelle l’utilisateur final doit payer des frais pour l’achat, une licence ou un abonnement.

Une production de cinéma, de télévision ou de diffusion sur Internet ne comprend pas ce qui suit :

  • une émission d’information, d’actualités ou d’affaires publiques ou une émission qui comprend des bulletins sur la météo ou les marchés boursiers;
  • une émission-débat;
  • une production comportant un jeu, un questionnaire ou un concours, sauf celles qui s’adressent principalement aux personnes mineures;
  • la présentation d’une activité ou d’une manifestation sportive;
  • la présentation d’un gala ou d’une remise de prix;
  • une production visant à recueillir des fonds;
  • de la téléréalité;
  • de la pornographie;
  • de la publicité;
  • une production produite principalement à des fins industrielles, commerciales ou institutionnelles;
  • une production, sauf un documentaire, qui consiste en totalité ou en presque totalité en métrage d’archives.

Produits d’éducation destinés aux utilisateurs de moins de 12 ans

Un site Web qui héberge principalement du contenu destiné à éduquer des utilisateurs de moins de 12 ans est un produit admissible aux fins du CIOPMIN, pourvu que le produit réponde à tous les autres critères d’admissibilité.

Produit qui héberge des expériences de réalité virtuelle ou augmentée

Un site Web qui héberge principalement une ou plusieurs expériences de réalité virtuelle ou augmentée est un produit admissible aux fins du CIOPMIN, pourvu que le produit réponde à tous les autres critères d’admissibilité.

Produits ayant un contenu similaire

Si la plus grande partie du contenu d’un produit en particulier est disponible sur un site Web qui est exclu, le produit en particulier est également exclu.  Par exemple, si un produit est une application et que le même contenu est disponible dans un site Web qui est exclu, l’application est également un produit exclu. 

Mise en œuvre

Ces exclusions de produits s’appliquent à l’égard des dépenses engagées après le 23 avril 2015.  Les dépenses qui sont engagées jusqu’au 23 avril 2015 pour les produits admissibles antérieurement ne sont pas touchées. 

3. Produits promotionnels

Pour être admissible au CIOPMIN, un produit ne doit pas principalement servir à présenter ou à promouvoir le concepteur ou l’acheteur dans le cas d’un produit précis.  De même, un produit ne doit pas principalement servir à présenter, à promouvoir ou à vendre les produits ou services du concepteur ou de l’acheteur dans le cas d’un produit précis.

La règle qui exclut les produits principalement utilisés pour la promotion a été renforcée par le fait que les produits dénués d’un volet de génération de revenus sont considérés comme des produits promotionnels exclus. 

S’il est question d’un produit particulier, le produit doit générer des revenus pour l’acheteur.  S’il n’est pas question d’un produit particulier, le produit doit générer des revenus pour le concepteur.

Aux fins de l’application de cette règle, un volet de génération de revenus est la production de revenus par l’entremise de ce qui suit :

  • vente du produit;
  • frais relatifs à l’utilisation du produit, y compris les frais de licence et d’abonnement;
  • achats intégrés;
  • publicité de tiers;
  • vente ou octroi de licences d’un autre produit conçu par le concepteur qui peut être raisonnablement considéré comme une extension ou une mise à niveau du produit.

Un achat intégré (dans le produit, le jeu ou l’application) se produit lorsque l’utilisateur peut acheter une amélioration du produit.

La publicité de tiers concerne les activités de commercialisation ou de promotion ou les produits ou services d’une personne morale ou physique qui n’a pas de lien avec le concepteur du produit ou l’acheteur.

Mise en œuvre

L’exigence relative au volet de génération de revenus s’applique aux dépenses engagées après le 23 avril 2015.  Les dépenses qui sont engagées jusqu’au 23 avril 2015 pour les produits admissibles antérieurement ne sont pas touchées.

4. Exigence relative à la conception

Le CIOPMIN a été modifié pour que l’exigence selon laquelle « la totalité ou la quasi-totalité » du produit doit être conçue en Ontario par la société qui réclame le crédit soit remplacée par une nouvelle règle quantitative fondée sur les coûts de main-d’œuvre associés à la conception d’un produit.  La nouvelle règle quantitative comporte deux critères à respecter ensemble, l’un de 80 pour cent et l’autre de 25 pour cent.

Les formules simplifiées pour ces critères se trouvent ci-dessous.  Pour en savoir plus, les sociétés qui demandent le crédit devraient consulter le règlement.

Le critère de 80 pour cent exige généralement que la formule suivante donne au moins 80 pour cent :

A

B

Où :

A représente le montant total des coûts admissibles de main-d’œuvre qui sont attribuables à des services rendus personnellement en Ontario de l’une des façons suivantes :

  • par les employés de la société qui demande le crédit;
  • par certaines personnes qui fournissent des services à la société qui demande le crédit dans le cadre d’entreprises individuelles qui n’ont pas d’employés;
  • par certaines personnes qui fournissent des services à la société qui demande le crédit par l’entremise de sociétés qui n’ont pas d’employés à part la personne en question.

B représente le montant total des coûts de main-d’œuvre qui sont attribuables à des services rendus directement attribuables à la conception du produit admissible.

Le critère de 25 pour cent exige généralement que la formule suivante donne au moins 25 pour cent :

C

D

Où :

C représente le montant total des coûts admissibles de main-d’œuvre qui sont attribuables à des services rendus personnellement en Ontario par des employés de la société qui demande le crédit.

D représente le montant total des coûts de main-d’œuvre qui sont attribuables à des services rendus directement attribuables à la conception du produit admissible.

Les dépenses ne sont pas admissibles au CIOPMIN si elles font l’objet d’autres crédits d’impôt.  De même, certains types d’aide ont pour effet de réduire le montant des dépenses qui sont admissibles au CIOPMIN.  Toutefois, pour déterminer les coûts correspondant à A et à C dans les formules, on ne réduira pas les coûts de main-d’œuvre admissibles demandés par une société en raison d’une aide reçue ou d’une demande d’autres crédits d’impôt.  Dans les formules, on pourrait considérer par exemple une dépense pour laquelle la société reçoit le crédit d’impôt pour la recherche scientifique et le développement comme des coûts de main-d’œuvre admissibles.  Néanmoins, les coûts qui font l’objet d’une demande d’autres crédits d’impôt ne seront toujours pas admissibles au CIOPMIN, même s’ils sont traités comme tels dans le cadre des formules.

Les montants calculés pour B et D comprendraient, par exemple, les coûts attribuables à des services qui sont fournis de l’une des façons suivantes :

  • par un employé de la société qui demande le crédit, que les services soient ou non fournis en Ontario;
  • dans le cadre d’une entreprise individuelle, qu’elle ait ou non des employés;
  • par une société, qu’elle ait ou non des employés.

Les montants calculés pour A, B, C et D ne comprennent que les dépenses engagées au cours de la période de 37 mois se terminant à la fin du mois au cours duquel la conception du produit admissible s’achève.

La nouvelle règle ne change pas la définition des dépenses qui sont admissibles au crédit.

Mise en œuvre

Pour accélérer la certification, la nouvelle exigence concernant la conception est applicable à tous les produits dont l’admissibilité n’a pas été déterminée le 23 avril 2015 ou avant, y compris ceux en attente de certification le 24 avril 2015.  Cependant, seul le critère de 80 pour cent s’applique aux produits pour lesquels la certification a été demandée avant le 24 avril 2015.  Les critères de 80 pour cent et 25 pour cent doivent être respectés tous les deux pour les produits pour lesquels la certification a été demandée à compter du 24 avril 2015.