2016 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 1

Population Counts: Canada, Ontario and Regions

Raw Census Counts and Net Undercoverage

  • On February 8, 2017, Statistics Canada released the first population counts from the 2016 Census. The Census counted 35.15 million people in Canada and 13.45 million in Ontario on May 10, 2016.
  • While the goal of the Census is to count every resident on Census day, this falls short in two ways. Undercoverage occurs when people are missed by the Census. Overcoverage occurs when people are counted when they should not be, or counted more than once. Since undercoverage is often larger than overcoverage, net undercoverage is usually positive.
  • Historically, Ontario usually has one of the highest net undercoverage rates among the provinces. For the 2006 Census, Ontario’s net undercoverage rate was 3.7 per cent (466,000 people missed). For 2011, the rate was 2.9 per cent (370,000 people missed).
  • Estimates of net undercoverage for the 2016 Census will not be available until the coverage studies have been completed (2018). If the net undercoverage is in the range observed in the previous Census, the adjusted estimate of the 2016 population for Ontario should be between 13.8 and 14.0 million.
  • The estimate of the total population in Ontario on July 1, 2016 is 14.0 million.
  • Because of net undercoverage, this fact sheet looks largely at shares and growth rates between the 2011 and 2016 Censuses rather than population levels.

Population Growth by Province

  • All provinces and territories experienced population growth between 2011 and 2016, with the exception of New Brunswick.
  • Between the 2011 and 2016 Censuses, Canada’s population grew 1.68 million or 5.0 per cent. About 36 per cent of the national growth occurred in Ontario. Ontario population grew 4.6 per cent, modestly lower than the national growth rate.
  • Nunavut and Alberta had the fastest population growth, at 12.7 per cent and 11.6 percent, followed by Saskatchewan (6.3%), British Columbia (5.8%) and the Yukon (5.8%).
  • The population of New Brunswick declined by 0.5 per cent.

Population Growth Varied Significantly Across Census Divisions1

  • Twelve of the 49 census divisions (CDs) in Ontario had a population growth rate higher than the rate for the province as a whole between 2011 and 2016. The fastest-growing CD was Kenora at 13.8 per cent.
  • By contrast, eight out of the 49 census divisions experienced population declines; five of these were in the North. The rate of decline was largest in Prince Edward, at -2.1 per cent.
  • Three-quarters (75%) of Ontario’s population growth between 2011 and 2016 was concentrated in just seven Census Divisions, including all five CDs of the Greater Toronto Area (GTA), plus Ottawa and Simcoe.

GTA Continues to Grow Rapidly

  • Between 2011 and 2016, the GTA’s population increased 6.0 per cent. Its population growth accounted for 60.9 per cent of Ontario’s total population growth over the period, less than the share of growth during the 2006-2011 period (72.1%).
  • About 47.7 per cent of the provincial population lived in the GTA in 2016, up slightly from 47.1 per cent in 2011. All other regions saw slight declines in their shares of provincial population.

Regional Population Growth

  • Central Ontario’s population grew 4.5 per cent over the period, accounting for 21.2 per cent of provincial growth.
  • The population of Eastern Ontario also saw a healthy growth of 3.8 per cent between 2011 and 2016, accounting for 10.9 per cent of provincial growth.
  • Population grew by 2.4 per cent in the Southwest over the 2011-2016 period. This region accounted for 6.2 per cent of Ontario’s growth.
  • Northern Ontario’s population grew slightly by 0.6 per cent between 2011 and 2016. Its share of provincial population fell to 5.8 per cent from 6.0 per cent in 2011.
  • Within the North, five CDs saw growth: Kenora, Sudbury, Manitoulin, Parry Sound and Greater Sudbury.

Large Urban Centres Continue to Grow Faster

  • Over the 2011–2016 period, 92 per cent of Ontario’s total population growth occurred within the 16 Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs) of the province.
  • A Census Metropolitan Area is formed by one or more adjacent municipalities centred on a large urban core. A CMA has a total population of at least 100,000 of which 50,000 or more must live in that core.
  • The Guelph CMA was the fastest-growing CMA in Ontario between 2011 and 2016, with a population rising by 7.7 per cent over the period, followed by Oshawa (6.6%), Toronto (6.2%), and the Ontario part of Ottawa-Gatineau (5.9%).
  • Between 2011 and 2016 six CMAs in other provinces grew faster than the Guelph CMA: Calgary (14.6%), Edmonton (13.9%), Saskatoon (12.5%), Regina (11.8%), Lethbridge (10.8%), and Kelowna (8.4%).
  • Saint John N.B. (-2.2%) was the only CMA in Canada experiencing population decline over the period.

Ontario's Mid-Size Urban Centres

  • In addition to the 16 CMAs, there are 29 midsize urban centres in Ontario designated as Census Agglomerations (CAs). These are urban areas that have an urban core with a population between 10,000 and 50,000.
  • In 2016, 8.2 per cent of Ontarians lived in CAs, down slightly from 8.8 per cent in 2011.
  • Wasaga Beach (17.9%) and Collingwood (13.3%) were the two fastest-growing CAs in Ontario over the 2006-2011 period.
  • A total of twelve CAs experienced small or moderate population declines between 2011 and 2016. Five of these CAs were located in the North: Elliot Lake (-5.3%), Timmins (-3.2%), North Bay (-2.6%), Sault Ste. Marie (-2.1%) and Kenora (-1.6%). Four were in the Southwest: Chatham-Kent (-2.0%), Leamington (-1.2%), Sarnia (-1.0%) and Owen Sound (-0.8%). Finally, three were in Eastern Ontario: Pembroke (-3.1%), the Ontario part of Hawkesbury (-2.7%) and Brockville (-1.2%).

Footnote:

[1] Incomplete enumeration of one or more Indian reserves occurred in 2011 or 2016 for the following CDs, and the results should be interpreted with caution: Brant, Haldimand-Norfolk, Muskoka, Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, Lambton, Middlesex, Algoma, Nipissing, and Kenora.

Accessible Image Description:

Raw Census Population Counts, 2011 and 2016

This chart shows the raw Census population counts for each province and territory in 2011 and 2016. Ontario’s 2011 raw count was 12,852,000 in 2011, and 13,448,000 in 2016.

Return to image

Ontario’s Census Population Growth Rate, Five-Year Intercensal Periods, 1961–2016

This chart shows Ontario’s Census population growth rate by five-year period from 1961 to 2016. The periods of highest growth were in 1961-1966 at 11.6% and in 1986-1991 at 10.8%. The periods of slowest growth were in 1976-1981 at 4.4% and in 2011-2016 at 4.6%.

Return to image

Census Population Growth Rate by Province 2011–2016

This chart shows the Census population growth rate for provinces and territories over the 2011-2016 period. Over this time frame, Canada grew by 5.0%, and Ontario by 4.6%. Alberta was the fastest-growing province at 11.6%. New Brunswick was the only jurisdiction that saw a population decline, at -0.5%.

Return to image

Census Population Growth Rates, Census Divisions, 2011–2016

This chart shows the Census population growth rates for each census division in Ontario over the 2011-2016 period. The fastest-growing census divisions were Kenora at 13.8%, Halton at 9.3%, and Dufferin at 8.5%. The census divisions that saw the fastest population declines were Prince Edward at -2.1%, Chatham-Kent at -2.0%, and Nipissing at -1.9%. Ontario as a whole grew 4.6% over the period.

Return to image

Census Population Growth Rates, Ontario CMAs, 2011–2016

This chart shows the Census population growth rates for Ontario Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs) over the 2011-2016 period. The fastest-growing CMAs were Guelph at 7.7%, Oshawa at 6.6% and Toronto at 6.2%. The slowest-growing CMAs were Thunder Bay at 0.0%, Kingston at 1.0%, and Greater Sudbury at 1.0%.

Return to image

Distribution of Ontario’s Census Population, CMAs, CAs and Rest of Ontario, 2011 & 2016

This chart shows the share of Ontario’s total population accounted for by Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs), Census Agglomerations (CAs) and the rest of the province in both 2011 and 2016. CMAs accounted for 79.9% for the population in 2011 and 81.5% in 2016. CAs accounted for 8.8% of the population in 2011 and 8.2% in 2016. The rest of the province accounted for 11.3% of the population in 2011 and 10.3% in 2016.

Return to image

Contact: Alex Munger (416) 325-0102

Office of Economic Policy
Labour and Demographic Analysis Branch

Faits saillants du recensement 2016 : Feuille de renseignements 1

Chiffres de population : le Canada, l'Ontario et ses régions

Dénombrement brut du recensement et sous-dénombrement net

  • Le 8 février 2017, Statistique Canada publiait les premiers chiffres bruts de population du recensement de 2016. Le recensement a dénombré 35,15 millions d’habitants au Canada dont 13,45 millions en Ontario au 10 mai 2016.
  • Bien que le recensement ait pour objectif de compter tous les résidents le jour du recensement, deux problèmes se produisent. Un sous-dénombrement a lieu lorsque des personnes qui devraient faire partie du recensement en sont absentes. Un surdénombrement se produit lorsque des personnes sont comptées et qu'elles ne devraient pas l'être, ou encore, lorsqu’elles sont comptées plus d'une fois. Comme le sous-dénombrement est souvent plus important que le surdénombrement, le sous-dénombrement net est habituellement positif.
  • Traditionnellement, l’Ontario compte habituellement l’un des taux de sous-dénombrement net les plus élevés de toutes les provinces. Lors du recensement de 2006, le taux de sous-dénombrement net de l’Ontario était de 3,7 % (466 000 personnes manquantes). En 2011, le taux était de 2,9 % (370 000 personnes manquantes).
  • Les chiffres estimatifs du sous-dénombrement net du recensement de 2016 ne seront connus qu’une fois les études connexes terminées (2018). Cependant, si le sous-dénombrement net est similaire à celui des recensements précédents, la population ontarienne de 2016 devrait, selon les estimations rajustées, se situer entre 13,8 et 14,0 millions d'habitants.
  • En date du 1er juillet 2016, la population totale de l’Ontario est estimée à 14,0 millions d’habitants.
  • En raison du sous-dénombrement net, la présente feuille de renseignements examine principalement les parts de population et le taux de croissance entre le recensement de 2011 et celui de 2016, plutôt que les niveaux de population.

Croissance démographique par province

  • À l’exception du Nouveau-Brunswick, toutes les provinces et tous les territoires ont enregistré une croissance démographique entre 2011 et 2016.
  • Entre le recensement de 2011 et celui de 2016, la population canadienne s’est accrue de 1,68 million, soit un taux de 5,0 %. Près de 36 % de la croissance nationale a eu lieu en Ontario. La population de la province s’est accrue de 4,6 %, soit un taux modestement inférieur à celui de la moyenne nationale.
  • Le Nunavut (12,7 %) et l’Alberta (11,6 %) ont profité de la croissance démographique la plus rapide, suivies de la Saskatchewan (6,3 %), de la Colombie-Britannique (5,8 %) et du Yukon (5,8 %). La population du Nouveau-Brunswick a décliné de 0,5 %.

Croissance démographique variée entre les différentes divisions de
recensement1

  • En Ontario, la division de Kenora a enregistré la croissance démographique la plus rapide, avec un taux de 13,8 %. Dans cette division de recensement (DR) ainsi que dans 12 autres parmis les 49 DR en Ontario, le taux de croissance démographique a surpassé celui de l’ensemble de la province.
  • Par contre, huit des 49 divisions de recensement de la province ont connu une baisse de population; cinq de ces divisions se situent dans le Nord. C’est dans Prince Edward que la baisse la plus marquée a été enregistrée, soit -2,1 %.
  • Trois quarts (75 %) de la croissance démographique de l’Ontario observée entre 2011 et 2016 était concentrée dans sept divisions de recensement, incluant les cinq DR de la région du Grand Toronto, ainsi que Simcoe et Ottawa.

Croissance rapide continue de la région du Grand Toronto

  • Entre 2011 et 2016, la population de la région du Grand Toronto a augmenté de 6,0 %. Cette progression a représenté 60,9 % de la croissance démographique totale de l’Ontario au cours de cette période, soit moins que la part de croissance affichée durant la période 2006-2011 (72,1 %).
  • Environ 47,7 % de la population de la province était concentrée dans la région du Grand Toronto en 2016, une hausse par rapport au taux de 47,1 % obtenu en 2011. Les parts de toutes les autres régions ont subi de légers déclins.

Croissance régionale de la population

  • La population du Centre de l’Ontario s’est accrue de 4,5 % au cours de la période, représentant 21,2 % du total de la croissance provinciale.
  • La population de l’Est de l’Ontario a également connu une croissance saine de 3,8 % de 2011 à 2016, ce qui correspond à 10,9 % de la croissance provinciale.
  • La population du Sud-Ouest a enregistré une hausse de 2,4 % de 2011 à 2016. Cette région a contribué à hauteur de 6,2 % à l’accroissement total de la population ontarienne.
  • Dans le Nord de l’Ontario, la population a augmenté légèrement de 0,6 % de 2011 à 2016, sa part de la population provinciale chutant à 5,8 %, par rapport à 6,0 % en 2011.
  • Dans le Nord de la province, cinq DR ont affiché une croissance (soit Kenora, Manitoulin, Parry Sound, Sudbury et le Grand Sudbury).

Croissance toujours plus rapide dans les grands centres urbains

  • Au cours de la période de 2011–2016, 92 % de la croissance démographique totale de l’Ontario s’est produite dans les 16 régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) de la province.
  • Une région métropolitaine de recensement est formée d’une ou de plusieurs municipalités adjacentes centrées autour d’un grand noyau urbain. Une RMR compte une population totale d’au moins 100 000 personnes, dont 50 000 ou plus doivent habiter dans ce noyau.
  • La RMR de Guelph est celle qui a enregistré la plus forte croissance en Ontario entre 2011 et 2016, augmentant de 7,7 % au cours de cette période, suivie des régions d’Oshawa (6,6 %), de Toronto (6,2 %) et de la partie ontarienne d’Ottawa-Gatineau (5,9 %).
  • Entre 2011 et 2016, six RMR d’autres provinces ont connu une croissance plus rapide que celle de Guelph: Calgary (14,6 %), Edmonton (13,9 %), Saskatoon (12,5 %), Regina (11,8 %), Lethbridge (10,8 %) et Kelowna (8,4 %).
  • Saint John au Nouveau Brunswick (-2,2 %) a été la seule RMR au Canada à voir sa population décliner au cours de cette période.

Centres urbains de taille moyenne en Ontario

  • Outre ses 16 RMR, l’Ontario compte 29 centres urbains de taille moyenne, appelés agglomérations de recensement (AR). Il s’agit des centres urbains dont le noyau urbanisé regroupe entre 10 000 et 50 000 habitants.
  • En 2016, 8,2 % des Ontariennes et Ontariens vivaient dans ces 29 AR, ce qui représente une légère baisse par rapport au taux de 8,8 % enregistré en 2011.
  • Au cours de la période de 2011-2016, les AR de Wasaga Beach (17,9 %) et Collingwood (13,3 %) ont connu une croissance plus rapide que l’Ontario dans son ensemble.
  • Au total, 12 AR ont subi une baisse de population légère ou modérée entre 2011 et 2016. Cinq de ces AR sont situées dans le Nord: Elliot Lake (-5,3 %), Timmins (-3,2 %), North Bay (-2,6 %), Sault Ste. Marie (-2,1 %) et Kenora (-1,6 %). Quatre étaient dans le Sud-Ouest: Chatham-Kent (-2,0 %), Leamington (-1,2 %), Sarnia (-1,0 %) et Owen Sound (-0,8 %). Finalement, trois étaient dans l’Est de l’Ontario: Pembroke (-3,1 %), la partie ontarienne de Hawkesbury (-2.7%) et Brockville (-1,2 %).

Note:

[1] Un dénombrement partiel d’une ou de plusieurs réserves indiennes en 2011 ou 2016 s’est produit dans les DR suivantes; les résultats doivent donc être interprétés avec circonspection: Brant, Haldimand-Norfolk, Muskoka, Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry, Lambton, Middlesex, Algoma, Nipissing et Kenora.

Description accessible de l’image :

Chiffres bruts de population du recensement de 2011 et de 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les chiffres bruts de population des recensements de 2011 et de 2016. Pour l’Ontario, le dénombrement brut de 2011 se chiffrait à 12 852 000, tandis que celui de 2016 était de 13 448 000.

Retourner au graphique

Taux de croissance de la population ontarienne, périodes intercensitaires de cinq ans (1961 à 2016)

Ce diagramme illustre les taux de croissance démographique de l’Ontario pour chaque période de cinq ans de 1961 à 2016. Les périodes de plus forte croissance ont eu lieu en 1961-1966 à 11,6 % et en 1986-1991 à 10,8 %. Les périodes à croissance plus lente ont eu lieu en 1976-1981 à 4,4 % et en 2011-2016 à 4,6 %.

Retourner au graphique

Taux de croissance de la population par province, selon le recensement, de 2011 à 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les taux de croissance de la population par province et territoire de 2011 à 2016. Au cours de cette période, la population du Canada a augmenté de 5,0 % et celle de l’Ontario de 4,6 %. L’Alberta a connu la plus forte croissance parmi les provinces à 11,6 %. Le Nouveau-Brunswick était la seule province à subir une décroissance démographique avec -0,5 %.

Retourner au graphique

Taux de croissance de la population du recensement dans les DR, 2011 à 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les taux de croissance de la population du recensement  dans les divisions de recensement de l’Ontario de 2011 à 2016. Les divisions de recensement à plus forte croissance étaient Kenora à 11,3 %, Halton à 9,3 % et Dufferin à 8,5 %. Les divisions de recensement à plus forte décroissance étaient Prince Edward à -2,1 %, Chatham-Kent à -2,0 % et Nipissing à -1,9 %. L’Ontario a connu une croissance totale de 4,6 % au cours de cette période.

Retourner au graphique

Taux de croissance de la population du recensement, RMR de l’Ontario, de 2011 à 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les taux de croissance de la population du recensement dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) de l’Ontario de 2011 à 2016. Les RMR à plus forte croissance étaient Guelph à 7,7 %, Oshawa à 6,6 % et Toronto à 6,2 %. Les RMR à plus faible croissance étaient Thunder Bay à 0,0 %, Kingston à 1,0 % et le Grand Sudbury à 1,0 %.

Retourner au graphique

Répartition de la population du recensement dans la province : RMR, AR et reste de l’Ontario, en 2011 et en 2016

Ce diagramme illustre la répartition de la population de l’Ontario parmi les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR), les agglomérations de recensement (AR) et le reste de la province en 2011 et 2016. Les RMR comptaient pour 79,9 % de la population en 2011 et pour 81,5 % en 2016. Les AR comptaient pour 8,8 % de la population en 2011 et pour 8,2 % en 2016. Le reste de la province comptait pour 11,3 % de la population en 2011 et pour 10,3 % en 2016.

Retourner au graphique

Renseignements : Alex Munger (416) 325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l’analyse en matière de démographie et de travail