2016 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 10

Aboriginal Peoples of Ontario

This factsheet looks at the 2016 Census data on the Aboriginal peoples of Canada released by Statistics Canada.

Ontario’s Aboriginal Population

  • In the 2016 census, 374,395 people self-identified as Aboriginal persons in Ontario. This represented 2.8% of the province’s total population, an increase from 2.4% in 2011.
  • North American Indians accounted for a majority of the Aboriginal population, representing 63.2% in 2016, down from 66.7% in 2011. The Métis followed at 32.2% (up from 28.5% in 2011), and the Inuit at 1.0% (down from 1.1% in 2011).
  • Between 2011 and 2016, Ontario’s Aboriginal population grew 23.1%, much faster than the non-Aboriginal population, which grew by 4.2%. Several factors may account for the faster growth, both demographic and non-demographic (e.g. more individuals choosing to identify themselves as an Aboriginal person).
  • Of the three Aboriginal groups, the fastest gains in population between 2011 and 2016 occurred among the Métis, increasing 40.2%. The number of people identifying as North American Indian and Inuit rose by 15.6% and 15.1%, respectively.

One in Six Aboriginal People Lived on Reserves

  • 14.5% of all Aboriginal people in Ontario lived on reserves in 2016, down from 15.9% in 2011. Of those on reserves, nearly all (99%) were North American Indian, virtually unchanged from 2011. Within the North American Indian population, 22.7% lived on reserves in 2016, down from 23.6% in 2011.

The Aboriginal Population is Relatively Younger

  • The Aboriginal population is younger than the non-Aboriginal population. Almost a third (32.5%) of the Aboriginal population consists of children and teenagers aged 19 and under, compared with 22.5% for the non-Aboriginal population. The share of seniors in the Aboriginal people in 2016 increased to 7.9% from 6.7% in 2011, but was less than half the share of seniors in the non-Aboriginal population (16.2%).

The Aboriginal Population Across Canada

  • The number of Canadians identifying as Aboriginal increased from 1,400,685 in 2011 to 1,673,780 in 2016.
  • Ontario, the most populous province, is also the province with the largest Aboriginal population. One in five of the country’s Aboriginal people (22.4%) lived in Ontario in 2016.
  • BC had the second-largest Aboriginal population (16.2% of Canada’s), followed by Alberta (15.5%).

Aboriginal Population Growth Fastest East of Manitoba

  • Most Aboriginal people lived in Ontario and the West, but the fastest increase in the last five years occurred East of Manitoba.
  • Between 2011 and 2016, the number of people identifying as Aboriginal increased 52.1% in Nova Scotia, 29.9% in New Brunswick, 27.7% in Newfoundland and Labrador, 26.8% in Quebec, 23.1% in Ontario, and 22.9% in PEI.
  • Among regions with higher proportions of Aboriginal people in the population (above 15%), the fastest increases were in Manitoba (13.7%) and Nunavut (11.7%). The Northwest Territories saw a 1.4% decline.

The Territories and Prairie Provinces have the Highest Concentration of Aboriginal Population

  • The proportion of the Canadian population identifying as Aboriginal rose from 4.3% in 2011 to 4.9% in 2016.
  • Nunavut had the highest proportion of Aboriginal people in its population in 2016 (85.9%), followed by the Northwest Territories (50.7%) and the Yukon (23.3%).
  • Among the provinces, Manitoba and Saskatchewan have the largest proportion of Aboriginal people at 18.0% and 16.3%, respectively.
  • All provinces east of Manitoba had less than 6% of Aboriginal people in their populations, with the exception of Newfoundland and Labrador whose Aboriginal peoples accounted for 8.9% of the total population.
  • In Ontario, Aboriginal people accounted for 2.8% of the total population in 2016, up from 2.4% in 2011.
  • 53% of Aboriginal people in Ontario lived in Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs).  Thunder Bay, Greater Sudbury, and Belleville CMAs had the highest shares of Aboriginal people in total population, at 12.7%, 9.7% and 5.2%  respectively. Enumeration issues in Brantford lowered its share from 8.5% in 2011 to 4.8% in 2016.

November 2017

Accessible Image Description:

Aboriginal Groups of Ontario

This pie chart shows the share Aboriginal groups in Ontario in 2011 and 2016. North American Indians accounted for 66.7% of all Aboriginal people in Ontario in 2011 and 63.2% in 2016, Métis for 28.5% in 2011 and 32.2% in 2016, Inuit people for 1.1% in 2011 and 1.0% in 2016, and other groups for 3.6% in 2011 and 3.5% in 2016.

Return to image

Aboriginal Population Living on Reserves, Ontario

This bar chart shows the share of Aboriginal people living on reserves in Ontario. Among all Aboriginal peoples, the share living on reserve went from 15.9% in 2011 to 14.5% in 2016, among North American Indians the share went from 23.6% to 22.7%, among Métis it stayed at 0.3%, among the Inuit the share fell from 0.5% to 0.3%, and among other groups the share feel from 2.5% in 2011 to 2.3% in 2016.

Return to image

Age Distribution of the Population, Ontario

This chart shows the age distribution of the Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal population of Ontario in 2011 and 2016. The share of population aged 0-19 fell from 33.9% in 2011 to 32.5% in 2016 among the Aboriginal population, and from 23.8% to 22.5% for the non-Aboriginal population. The share of population aged 20-64 rose from 59.4% in 2011 to 59.6% in 2016 among the Aboriginal population, and fell from 62.2% to 61.4% for the non-Aboriginal population. The share of population aged 65+ rose from 6.7% in 2011 to 7.9% in 2016 among the Aboriginal population, and from 14.0% to 16.2% for the non-Aboriginal population.

Return to image

The Aboriginal Population, by Province

This bar chart shows the Aboriginal population by province in 2011 and 2016. In Ontario, the Aboriginal population rose from 301,000 in 2011 to 374,000 in 2016. In Ontario, the Aboriginal population rose from 301,000 in 2011 to 374,000 in 2016. In BC, the Aboriginal population rose from 232,000 in 2011 to 271,000 in 2016. In Alberta, the Aboriginal population rose from 221,000 in 2011 to 259,000 in 2016. In Manitoba, the Aboriginal population rose from 196,000 in 2011 to 223,000 in 2016. In Quebec, the Aboriginal population rose from 142,000 in 2011 to 183,000 in 2016. In Saskatchewan, the Aboriginal population rose from 158,000 in 2011 to 175,000 in 2016. In Nova Scotia, the Aboriginal population rose from 34,000 in 2011 to 51,000 in 2016. In Newfoundland and Labrador, the Aboriginal population rose from 36,000 in 2011 to 46,000 in 2016. In Nunavut, the Aboriginal population rose from 27,000 in 2011 to 31,000 in 2016. In New Brunswick, the Aboriginal population rose from 23,000 in 2011 to 29,000 in 2016. In the Northwest Territories, the Aboriginal population stayed at 21,000. In Yukon, the Aboriginal population stayed at 8,000. In PEI, the Aboriginal population rose from 2,000 in 2011 to 3,000 in 2016.

Return to image

2011-2016 Aboriginal Population Growth, by Province and Territory

This bar chart shows Aboriginal population growth by province and territory over 2011-2016. The growth rate over 2011-2016 was 18.9% in Canada, 52.1% in Nova Scotia, 29.9% in New Brunswick, 27.7% in Newfoundland and Labrador, 26.8% in Quebec, 23.1% in Ontario, 22.9% in PEI, 17.2% in Alberta, 16.5% in BC, 13.7% in Manitoba, 11.7% in Nunavut, 10.4% in Saskatchewan, 6.3% in the Yukon, and the number of Aboriginal people fell by 1.4% in the Northwest Territories.

Return to image

Share of Aboriginal People in Total Population

This bar chart shows the share of Aboriginal people in total population. The share was 5% in Canada in 2016, 86% in Nunavut, 51% in the Northwest Territories, 23% in Yukon, 18% in Manitoba, 16% in Saskatchewan, 9% in Newfoundland and Labrador, 7% in Alberta, 6% in BC, 6% in Nova Scotia, 4% in New Brunswick, 3% in Ontario, 2% in Quebec and 2% in PEI.

Return to image

Contact: Alex Munger (416) 325-0102

Office of Economic Policy
Labour Economics Branch

Faits saillants du recensement 2016 : Feuille de renseignements 10

Les peuples autochtones de l’Ontario

Cette fiche d’information examine les données du recensement de 2016 concernant les Autochtones du Canada, publiées par Statistiques Canada.

Les peuples autochtones de l’Ontario

  • Selon le recensement de 2016, 374 395 personnes vivant en Ontario se sont dites Autochtones, soit 2,8 % de l’ensemble de la population de la province, une proportion plus élevée que 2,4 % en 2011.
  • Les Amérindiens représentaient la majorité des Autochtones, soit 63,2 % en 2016, en baisse comparé à 66,7 % en 2011. Les Métis venaient ensuite avec 32,2 % (28,5 % en 2011) et les Inuits avec 1,0 % (1,1 % en 2011).
  • Entre 2011 et 2016, la population autochtone de l’Ontario s’est accrue de 23,1 %, soit beaucoup plus rapidement que la population non autochtone, qui a augmenté de 4,2 %. Plusieurs facteurs peuvent expliquer cet essor, aussi bien démographiques que non démographiques (p. ex., un nombre plus élevé de personnes se disent Autochtones).
  • Parmi les trois peuples autochtones, les Métis ont enregistré les gains démographiques les plus rapides entre 2011 et 2016, avec un taux de croissance de 40,2 %. Les Inuits et les Amérindiens ont vu leurs populations s’accroitre de 15,1 % et 15,6% respectivement.

Un Autochtone sur six vivait dans une réserve

  • En 2016, 14,5 % de l’ensemble des Autochtones de l’Ontario vivait dans des réserves, contre 15,9 % en 2011. La quasi-totalité (99 %) des personnes vivant dans les réserves étaient amérindiennes, à peu près comme en 2011. En 2016, 22,7 % de la population amérindienne de la province vivait dans des réserves, contre 23,6 % en 2011.

Les Autochtones sont relativement plus jeunes

  • Les Autochtones sont plus jeunes que les non-Autochtones. Presqu’un tiers des Autochtones (32,5 %) comprend des enfants et des adolescents âgés de 19 ans et moins, comparativement à 22,5 % pour les non-Autochtones. En 2016, le pourcentage d’Autochtones âgés par rapport à l’ensemble de la population autochtone est passé à 7,9 % (6,7 % en 2011), mais il est deux fois moins élevé que le pourcentage de personnes âgées chez les non-Autochtones.

Les peuples autochtones du Canada

  • Le nombre de Canadiens s’identifiant comme Autochtones  est passé de 1 400 685 en 2011 à 1 673 780 en 2016.
  • L’Ontario, la province la plus peuplée, est aussi celle qui abrite le plus grand nombre d’Autochtones. En 2016, un Autochtone sur cinq (22,4 %) vivait en Ontario.
  • La Colombie-Britannique arrivait en deuxième position (16,2 % de l’ensemble de la population autochtone du Canada), suivie de l’Alberta (15,5 %).

La population autochtone s’accroît le plus rapidement à l’est du Manitoba

  • La plupart des Autochtones vivaient en Ontario et dans l’Ouest, mais la hausse la plus rapide des cinq dernières années a été enregistrée à l’est du Manitoba.
  • Entre 2011 et 2016, le nombre de personnes se disant Autochtones a augmenté de 52,1 % en Nouvelle-Écosse, de 29,9 % au Nouveau-Brunswick, de 27,7 % à Terre-Neuve et Labrador, de 26,8 % au Québec, de 23,1 % en Ontario, et de 22,9 % à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.
  • Parmi les régions affichant une forte concentration d’Autochtones (plus de 15 %), les hausses les plus rapides ont été enregistrées au Manitoba (13,7 %) et au Nunavut (11,7 %). Il y a eu une baisse de 1,4 % dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Les territoires et les provinces des Prairies affichent la plus forte concentration d’Autochtones

  • La proportion de la population canadienne s’identifiant comme Autochtone est passée de 4,3 % en 2011 à 4,9 % en 2016.
  • En 2016, le Nunavut comptait la plus forte proportion d’Autochtones par rapport à l’ensemble de sa population (85,9 %), suivi des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (50,7 %) et du Yukon (23,3 %).
  • Le Manitoba et la Saskatchewan sont les provinces qui comptaient les plus fortes proportions d’Autochtones, soit 18,0 % et 16,3 % respectivement.
  • Toutes les provinces à l’est du Manitoba avaient moins de 6 % d’Autochtones, sauf Terre-Neuve et Labrador avec 8,9 %.
  • En Ontario, les Autochtones comptaient pour 2,8 % de l’ensemble de la population en 2016, contre 2,4 % en 2011.
  • En Ontario, 53 % des Autochtones vivaient dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR). Les RMR de Thunder Bay, du Grand Sudbury et de Belleville comptaient les plus fortes proportions d’Autochtones, soit 12,7 %, 9,7 % et 4,8 % respectivement. Des problèmes d’énumération à Brantford ont causé un déclin de la proportion de 8,5 % en 2011 à 4,8 % en 2016.

Novembre 2017

Description accessible de l’image :

Groupes autochtones de l’Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre la part de chaque groupe autochtone en Ontario en 2011 et 2016. Les Amérindiens représentaient 66,7 % de tous les autochtones en Ontario en 2011 et 63,2 % en 2016, les Métis représentaient 28,5 % en 2011 et 32,2 % en 2016, les Inuits représentaient 1,1 % en 2011 et 1,0 % en 2016, puis les autre groups représentaient 3,6 % en 2011 et 3,5 % en 2016.

Retourner au graphique

Populations autochtones vivant dans des réserves, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre le pourcentage de la population autochtone de l’Ontario vivant dans des réserves en 2011 et 2016. Parmi tous les autochtones, la part vivant dans des réserves est passée de 15,9 % en 2011 à 14,5 % en 2016. Parmi les Amérindiens, la part est passée de 23,6 % à 22,7 %; parmi les Métis la part est demeurée à 0,3 %; parmi les Inuits la part a chuté de 0,5 % à 0,3 %; et la part des autres groupes vivant dans des réserves est passée de 2,5 % en 2011 à 2,3 % en 2016.

Retourner au graphique

Distribution des âges dans la population, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre la distribution des âges dans la population de l’Ontario pour les autochtones et non autochtones en 2011 et 2016. La part de la population âgée de 0 à 19 ans est passée de 33,9 % en 2011 à 32,5 % en 2016 parmi les autochtones et de 23,8 % à 22,5 % parmi les non autochtones. La part de la population âgée de 20 à 64 ans est passée de 59,4 % en 2011 à 59,6 % en 2016 parmi les autochtones et de 62,2 % à 61,4 % parmi les non autochtones. La part de la population âgée de 65 ans et plus est passée de 6,7 % en 2011 à 7,9 % en 2016 parmi les autochtones et de 14,0 % à 16,2 % parmi les non autochtones.

Retourner au graphique

Les populations autochtones par province

Ce diagramme illustre le nombre d’autochtones par province en 2011 et 2016. En Ontario, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 301 000 en 2011 à 374 000 en 2016. En Colombie-Britannique, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 232 000 en 2011 à 271 000 en 2016. En Alberta, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 221 000 en 2011 à 259 000 en 2016. Au Manitoba, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 196 000 en 2011 à 223 000 en 2016. Au Québec, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 142 000 en 2011 à 183 000 en 2016. En Saskatchewan, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 158 000 en 2011 à 175 000 en 2016. En Nouvelle-Écosse, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 34 000 en 2011 à 51 000 en 2016. À Terre-Neuve et Labrador, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 36 000 en 2011 à 46 000 en 2016. Au Nunavut, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 27 000 en 2011 à 31 000 en 2016. Au Nouveau-Brunswick, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 23 000 en 2011 à 29 000 en 2016. Dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le nombre d’autochtones est resté à 21 000. Au Yukon, le nombre d’autochtones est resté à 8 000. À l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le nombre d’autochtones est passé de 2 000 en 2011 à 3 000 en 2016.

Retourner au graphique

Croissance de la population autochtone de 2011 à 2016, par province et territoire

Ce diagramme illustre la croissance de la population autochtone de 2011 à 2016 par province et territoire. La croissance de la population autochtone de 2011 à 2016 a été de 18,9 % au Canada, 52,1 % en Nouvelle-Écosse, 29,9 % au Nouveau-Brunswick, 27,7 % à Terre-Neuve et Labrador, 26,8 % au Québec, 23,1 % en Ontario, 22,9 % à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, 17,2 % en Alberta, 16,5 % en Colombie-Britannique, 13,7 % au Manitoba, 11,7 % au Nunavut, 10,4 % en Saskatchewan, 6,3 % au Yukon, mais elle a diminué de 1,4 % dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Retourner au graphique

Population autochtone en pourcentage de la population totale

Ce diagramme illustre la population autochtone en pourcentage de la population totale. La part de la population autochtone était de 5 % au Canada en 2016, 86 % au Nunavut, 51 % dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 23 % au Yukon, 18 % au Manitoba, 16 % en Saskatchewan, 9 % à Terre-Neuve et Labrador, 7 % en Alberta, 6 % en Colombie-Britannique, 6 % en Nouvelle-Écosse, 4 % au Nouveau-Brunswick, 3 % en Ontario, 2 % au Québec et 2 % à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Retourner au graphique

Contacter Alex Munger au 416 325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l’économie du travail