2016 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 11

Housing and Shelter Costs

This factsheet looks at data on housing released by Statistics Canada as part of the 2016 Census.

Seven in Ten Ontarians Own their Home

  • According to the 2016 Census, the homeownership rate in Ontario was 69.7 per cent, down from 71.4 per cent in 2011, and higher than the national rate of 67.8 per cent.
  • Within Canada, homeownership was highest in Atlantic Canada, and lowest in the territories and Quebec.
  • The proportion of Ontario households that rent their home increased from 28.4 in 2011 to 30.2 per cent in 2016.

Most Homeowners Live in Single-Detached Dwellings

  • Over half of Ontario households lived in single-detached dwellings in 2016 (54.3%), 28.2 per cent lived in apartment buildings of at least five storeys, 17.2 per cent in other single-attached structures (townhouse, duplex, row house, and apartments of less than five storeys) and 0.3 per cent in movable dwellings.
  • The type of dwelling was significantly different whether households were owning or renting their home.
  • Among homeowners, 72.0 per cent lived in single-detached houses, 7.0 per cent in apartments of at least 5 storeys, 20.6 per cent lived in other single-attached dwellings, and 0.4 per cent in movable structures.
  • Among renters, 40.6 per cent lived in apartments of at least five storeys, 46.0 per cent in other single-attached houses, 13.2 per cent in single-detached dwellings and 0.1 per cent in movable structures.

Majority of Homeowners Carry a Mortgage

  • 61.0 per cent of homeowners in Ontario had a mortgage in 2016, while 39.0 per cent owned their home mortgage-free.
  • Among owners, 4.8 per cent reported that their dwelling was in need of major repairs.
  • Accommodations were deemed not suitable (not enough bedrooms) for 3.4 per cent of homeowner households.

One in Six Renters Receives a Subsidy

  • 15.0 per cent of Ontario renters lived in subsidized housing in 2016.
  • Among renters, 8.7 per cent declared that their dwelling was in need of major repairs.
  • Accommodations were deemed not suitable for 11.9 per cent of renter households.

Most Families Own their Home

  • Over three-quarters of Census family households owned their dwelling in 2016 (78.1%).
  • Couple families with children were most likely to be owners, at 83.4 per cent, while lone-parent families were least likely, at 55.1 per cent.
  • Lone-parent family households were also most likely to receive a rental subsidy, at 11.4 per cent. Among lone-parent families who rented in 2016, more than one quarter lived in subsidized housing.
  • Less than half of non-family households (e.g., persons living alone or with friends) owned their dwelling in 2016 (49.7%).

Rising Share of Apartments in Newly Constructed Dwellings

  • For the first time since the 1970s, less than half (42.7%) of all newly constructed dwellings over the 2011-16 period in Ontario were single-detached houses. This is significantly lower than the 51.6 per cent share observed over 2006-10.
  • The proportion of apartment structures of over five storeys built during 2011-16 was much higher than during the previous five-year period, at 29.8 per cent versus 20.6 per cent over 2006-10.
  • The proportion of new single-attached structures declined slightly to 27.3 per cent over 2011-16, from 27.6 per cent during 2006-10.

Record Share of New Condominium Dwellings

  • The share of new constructions being built as condominiums hit a record 35.8 per cent over 2011-16, up from 27.3 per cent in the previous five years, and more than double the proportion observed between 1971 and 2000.
  • The share of Ontarians living in condominiums also hit a record 13.2 per cent in 2016, up from 12.0 per cent in 2011. This was slightly lower than the national average of 13.3 per cent, as condominium living remained significantly more popular in British Columbia (22.1%) and Alberta (16.8%).
  • The lowest propensities to live in a condominium were found in Atlantic Canada, with Newfoundland and Labrador (2.1%) and Prince Edward Island (2.2%) recording the lowest shares of households living in condominiums.

One in Five Toronto Households Living in a Condo

  • Among Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs), Toronto had the highest proportion of households living in condominiums in Ontario at 20.9 per cent.
  • This was lower than in many Western Canada CMAs, with households living in condominiums accounting for 30.6 per cent of the total in Vancouver, 21.8 per cent in Calgary, 21.5 per cent in Abbotsford-Mission, 21.3 per cent in Kelowna, and 19.8 per cent in Edmonton. In Montreal, 16.0 per cent of households lived in condos.
  • In Ontario, other CMAs with relatively high shares of households living in condominiums included the Ontario part of Ottawa-Gatineau (14.9%), Guelph (13.7%) and Hamilton (13.0%). Thunder Bay (3.6%) and Greater Sudbury (1.6%) had the lowest shares.

Proportion of Condominium Renters is Rising

  • In Ontario, 29.0 per cent of condo dwellers were renting their unit in 2016, up from 23.3 per cent in 2011. This was the lowest share among provinces, with a national average of 32.9 per cent.
  • Ontario CMAs had some of the lowest rates of condo rental in Canada. In Toronto, 29.4 per cent of condos were occupied by renters, compared to 29.0 per cent in Vancouver and 33.1 per cent in Montreal.
  • Condos built recently (2011-16) had a higher share of renters. In Toronto, 50.3 per cent of newer condos were occupied by renters (up from 33% in 2011), compared to 36.8 per cent in Vancouver and 28.5 per cent in Montreal.

Average Shelter Cost

  • Households in Ontario paid on average $1,355 in monthly shelter costs, higher than the national average of $1,213.
  • The average monthly shelter cost for tenant households was $1,109. Subsidized tenants paid on average $595, while non-subsidized tenants paid $1,200.
  • Owner households paid on average $1,463 in shelter costs. Those with a mortgage spent on average $1,954, while mortgage-free owners spent $694.
  • Residents of the Toronto ($1,590) and Oshawa ($1,454) CMAs spent the most on average in Ontario on shelter. The lowest average shelter costs among Ontario CMAs were in Thunder Bay ($994) and Windsor ($1,019).

Almost Half of Renters Spend More than 30 per cent of Income on Housing

  • 27.6 per cent of Ontario households paid more than 30 per cent of total household income toward shelter costs, higher than the national average of 24.1 per cent.
  • This proportion was much lower for owner households (19.8%) than for renters (45.6%).

November 2017

Accessible Image Description:

Home Ownership Rates in Canada

This bar chart shows home ownership rates in Canada in 2011 and 2016. The rate decreased for all provinces and territories, with the exception of Quebec and the Northwest Territories. For Canada, the rate decreased from 69.0% in 2011 to 67.8% in 2016, and for Ontario the rate went from 71.4% to 69.7%. Among provinces, the highest home ownership rate in 2016 was in Newfoundland and Labrador at 67.7%, while the lowest rate was in Quebec at 61.3%. Rates were lowest in the Northwest Territories at 53.7% and Nunavut at 20.0%.

Return to image

2016 Occupied Dwelling Types, Ontario

This pie chart shows occupied dwellings by types in Ontario in 2016. The share of total was 54.3% for single-detached, 28.2% for apartments of at least 5 storeys, 17.2% for single attached, and 0.3% for movable.

Return to image

2016 Dwelling Type by Tenure, Ontario

This chart shows 2016 dwelling types by tenure in Ontario. Among owners, 72.0% lived in single-detached dwellings, 20.6% in single-attached, 7.0% in apartments, and 0.4% in movable dwellings. Among renters, 13.2% lived in single-detached dwellings, 46.0% in single-attached, 40.6% in apartments, and 0.1% in movable dwellings.

Return to image

2016 Tenure by Household Type, Ontario

This chart shows 2016 tenure by household type in Ontario. Among all families, 78.1% were owners, 19.1% were unsubsidized renters, and 2.8% were subsidized renters. Among couples without children, 80.4% were owners, 18.4% were unsubsidized renters, and 1.3% were subsidized renters. Among couples with children, 83.4% were owners, 15.0% were unsubsidized renters, and 1.6% were subsidized renters. Among lone-parent families, 55.1% were owners, 33.5% were unsubsidized renters, and 11.4% were subsidized renters. Among multi-family households, 79.3% were owners, 19.0% were unsubsidized renters, and 1.8% were subsidized renters. Among non-family households, 49.7% were owners, 41.6% were unsubsidized renters, and 8.7% were subsidized renters.

Return to image

Dwelling Type Construction by Period, Ontario

This chart shows dwelling type construction by period in Ontario. Between the 2006-2010 and 2011-2016 periods, the share of dwellings constructed as single-detached declined from 51.6% to 42.7%, the share of apartments of at least 5 storeys rose from 20.6% to 29.8%, the share of single-attached fell from 27.6% to 27.3%, and the share of movable dwellings stayed at 0.2%.

Return to image

Condominiums’ Share of New Dwelling Construction in Ontario

This bar chart shows the share of condominiums in new dwelling construction in Ontario by period. Before 1970, the share was less than 10%. From 1971 to 2005 it was between 10% and 20%. It rose to 27.3% in 2006-2010, and reached an all-time high of 35.8% over 2011-2016.

Return to image

Condominium Living in Ontario CMAs

This bar chart shows condominium living in Ontario CMAs. The share of occupied dwellings that are part of a condominium increased from 18.7% in 2011 to 20.9% in 2016 in the Toronto CMA, from 14.4% to 14.9% in the Ottawa-Gatineau CMA (Ontario part), and from 12.8% to 13.7% in the Guelph CMA. Among the CMAs with the lowest shares of condominiums, Greater Sudbury saw its share rise from 1.4% in 2011 to 1.8% in 2016, and Thunder Bay saw its share rise from 3.4% to 3.6%.

Return to image

2016 Average Shelter Cost in Ontario CMAs

This bar chart shows the 2016 average shelter cost in Ontario’s CMAs. The lowest were in Thunder Bay at $994, Windsor at $1,019, and Belleville at $1,067. The highest costs were in Toronto at $1,590, Oshawa at $1,454, and Barrie at $1,451.

Return to image

Share of Income to Shelter Costs by Tenure, Ontario

This chart shows the share of income to shelter costs by tenure in Ontario. Among all households, 72.3% spent less than 30% of their income on shelter, 23.6% spent between 30% and 100%, and 4.0% spent more than 100%. Among owners with mortgages, 72.7% spent less than 30% of their income on shelter, 23.7% spent between 30% and 100%, and 3.5% spent more than 100%. Among owners without mortgage, 91.7% spent less than 30% of their income on shelter, 7.0% spent between 30% and 100%, and 1.2% spent more than 100%. Among subsidized renters, 58.4% spent less than 30% of their income on shelter, 37.9% spent between 30% and 100%, and 3.7% spent more than 100%. Among unsubsidized renters, 53.5% spent less than 30% of their income on shelter, 38.5% spent between 30% and 100%, and 7.8% spent more than 100%.

Return to image

Contact: Alex Munger (416) 325-0102

Office of Economic Policy
Labour Economics Branch

Faits saillants du recensement 2016 : Feuille de renseignements 11

Logement et coûts associés

Cette fiche d’information examine les données publiées par Statistique Canada dans le cadre du recensement de 2016.

Sept Ontariens sur dix possèdent leur logement

  • Selon le recensement de 2016, le taux d’accession à la propriété en Ontario s’établit à 69,7 %, soit moins que le taux de 71,4 % enregistré en 2011 et plus que le taux national, qui est de 67,8 %.
  • Au Canada, le taux d’accession à la propriété est le plus élevé dans le Canada atlantique et le plus faible dans les Territoires et au Québec.
  • La proportion de ménages ontariens locataires a augmenté, passant de 28,4 % en 2011 à 30,2 % en 2016.

La plupart des propriétaires vivent dans une maison individuelle non attenante

  • En 2016, plus de la moitié des ménages ontariens vivaient dans une maison individuelle non attenante (54,3 %), 28,2 % dans un appartement en immeuble de 5 étages et plus, 17,2 % dans une maison jumelée (p. ex., maison de ville, appartement de moins de 5 étages, duplex, maison en rangée) et 0,3 % dans une habitation mobile.
  • Toutefois, les types de logement diffèrent considérablement selon que les ménages possèdent ou louent leur logement.
  • Parmi les propriétaires, 72,0 % vivent dans une maison individuelle non attenante, 7,0 % en appartement d’au moins 5 étages, 20,6 % dans une maison jumelée et 0,4 % dans une habitation mobile.
  • Parmi les locataires, 40,6 % vivent en appartement de 5 étage ou plus, 46,0 % dans une maison jumelée, 13,2 % dans une maison individuelle non attenante et 0,1 % dans une habitation mobile.

La majorité des propriétaires ont une hypothèque

  • Près de 61,0 % des propriétaires ontariens avaient une hypothèque en 2016, tandis que 39,0 étaient sans hypothèque.
  • Parmi les propriétaires, 4,8 % ont indiqué que leur logement nécessitait d’importantes réparations.
  • 3,4 % des propriétaires considèrent que leur logement est inadéquat (nombre insuffisant de chambres).

Un locataire sur six est subventionné

  • En 2016, 15,0 % des locataires ontariens vivent dans un logement subventionné.
  • Parmi les locataires, 8,7 % ont déclaré que leur logement nécessite d’importantes réparations.
  • 11,9 % des locataires considèrent que leur logement est inadéquat.

La plupart des familles possèdent leur logement

  • En 2016, plus des trois quarts des familles qui ont participé au recensement possèdent leur logement (78,1 %).
  • Les couples qui ont des enfants sont plus nombreux à être propriétaires, soit 83,4 %, tandis que les familles monoparentales sont les moins nombreuses, soit 55,1 %.
  • Les familles monoparentales sont aussi plus nombreuses à avoir leur loyer subventionné, soit 11,4 %. En 2016, parmi les familles monoparentales qui louent un logement, plus d’un quart vivent dans un logement subventionné.
  • En 2016, moins de la moitié des ménages hors famille (personnes vivant seules ou avec des amis) sont propriétaires de leur logement (49,7 %).

Augmentation de la part des appartements parmi les logements nouvellement construits

  • Pour la première fois depuis les années 1970, moins de la moitié (42,7 %) de l’ensemble des logements nouvellement construits entre 2011 et 2016 en Ontario sont des maisons individuelles non attenantes. Ce chiffre est inférieur à la proportion constatée de 2006 à 2010 (51,6 %).
  • La proportion d’appartements d’au moins 5 étages construits entre 2011 et 2016 était de loin supérieure à celle de la période de cinq ans précédente, soit 29,8 % contre 20,6 % de 2006 à 2010.
  • La proportion de nouvelles maisons jumelées a baissé légèrement pour s’établir à 27,3 % de 2011 à 2016 par rapport à 27,6 % de 2006 à 2010.

Une proportion record de nouveaux logements en condominium

  • La proportion de nouveaux logements construits en condominium atteint un niveau record, soit 35,8 % entre 2011 et 2016, par rapport à 27,3 % au cours des cinq années précédentes, et presque le double de la proportion observée de 1971 à 2000.
  • En 2016, la proportion de ménages ontariens vivant dans un logement en condominium atteint également un record de 13,2 %, comparé à 12,0 % en 2011. Ce chiffre est légèrement inférieur à la moyenne nationale de 13,3 %, car les logements en condominium demeurent plus populaires en Colombie-Britannique (22,1 %) et en Alberta (16,8 %).
  • Les personnes qui vivent dans les provinces atlantiques sont les moins nombreuses à habiter dans un logement en condominium, avec Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (2,1 %), ainsi que l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (2,2 %) enregistrant les plus faibles proportions de ménages vivant dans ce type de logement.

Un ménage sur cinq vit en condominium à Toronto

  • Parmi les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR), Toronto compte la plus forte proportion de ménages vivant dans un logement en condominium en Ontario, soit 20,9 %.
  • Ce chiffre est inférieur à ceux d’un grand nombre de RMR de l’Ouest canadien, où les ménages vivant dans un logement en condominium représentent 30,6 % du total à Vancouver, 21,8 % à Calgary, 21,5 % à Abbotsford-Mission, 21,3 % à Kelowna et 19,8% à Edmonton. À Montréal, 16,0 % des ménages vivent en condominium.
  • En Ontario, les autres RMR affichant des proportions relativement élevées de ménages en condominium incluent Ottawa-Gatineau (partie ontarienne) (14,9 %), Guelph (13,7%) et Hamilton (13,0 %). Thunder Bay (3,6 %) et le Grand Sudbury (1,6 %) avaient les plus faibles proportions.

Un ménage sur cinq vivant en condominium est locataire

  • En 2016, en Ontario, 29,0 % des personnes vivant en condominium étaient locataires, soit la plus faible proportion parmi les provinces, en hausse comparé à 23,3 % en 2011. La moyenne nationale était de 32,9 %.
  • Les RMR de l’Ontario affichent certains des taux les plus faibles de location de condominium au Canada. À Toronto, 29,4 % des condominiums sont occupés par des locataires, comparé à 29,0 % à Vancouver et à 33,1 % à Montréal.
  • Les logements en condominium construits récemment (2011-2016) comptent une proportion plus élevée de locataires. À Toronto, 50,3 % des nouveaux logements en condominium sont occupés par des locataires (plus que les 33 % en 2011), contre 36,8 % à Vancouver et 28,5 % à Montréal.

Coût moyen du logement

  • Les ménages ontariens paient en moyenne 1 355 $ par mois, soit plus que la moyenne nationale qui s’établit à 1 213 $.
  • Le coût mensuel moyen du logement pour les ménages locataires est de 1 109 $. Les locataires subventionnés paient en moyenne 595 $, tandis que les locataires non subventionnés paient 1 200 $.
  • Les ménages propriétaires paient en moyenne 1 463 $ en frais de logement. Ceux ayant un prêt hypothécaire dépensent en moyenne 1 954 $ tandis que les propriétaires sans prêt hypothécaire dépensent 694 $.
  • Les habitants des RMR de Toronto (1 590 $) et d’Oshawa (1 454 $) dépensent le plus en Ontario en moyenne en frais de logement. Les plus faibles frais de logement moyens sont enregistrés à Thunder Bay (994 $) et à Windsor (1 019 $).

Près de la moitié des locataires consacrent plus de 30 % de leur revenu au logement

  • 27,6 % des ménages ontariens dépensent plus de 30 % de leur revenu total en frais de logement, soit un peu plus que la moyenne nationale de 24,1 %.
  • Cette proportion est beaucoup plus faible pour les ménages propriétaires (19,8 %) que pour les locataires (45,6 %).

Novembre 2017

Description accessible de l’image :

Taux d’accession à la propriété au Canada

Ce diagramme illustre le taux d’accession à la propriété au Canada en 2011 et 2016. Le taux a diminué partout, sauf au Québec et dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Au Canada, le taux est passé de 69,0 % en 2011 à 67,8 % en 2016, alors qu’il est passé de 71,4 % à 69,7 % en Ontario. Parmi les provinces, le taux le plus élevé en 2016 était à Terre-Neuve et Labrador avec 76,7 % et le taux le plus bas était au Québec avec 61,3 %. Les taux les plus bas étaient de 53,7 % dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et de 20,0 % au Nunavut.

Retourner au graphique

Types de logements occupés en 2016, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre les types de logement occupés en Ontario en 2016. La part du total était de 54,3 % pour les maisons individuelles non attenantes, de 28,2 % pour les appartements d’au moins 5 étages, de 17,2 % pour les maisons jumelées et de 0,3 % pour les habitations mobiles.

Retourner au graphique

Type de logement par occupant en 2016, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre le type de logement par occupant en Ontario en 2016. Parmi les propriétaires, 72,0 % vivaient en maison individuelle non attenante, 20,5 % en maison jumelée, 7,0 % en appartement et 0,4 % en habitation mobile. Parmi les locataires, 13,2 % vivaient en maison individuelle non attenante, 46,0 % en maison jumelée, 40,6 % en appartement et 0,1 % en habitation mobile.

Retourner au graphique

Occupants par type de logement 2016, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre le type d’occupation de logement par type de ménage en 2016 en Ontario. Parmi toutes les familles, 78,1 % étaient propriétaires, 19,1 % étaient locataires non subventionnés et 2,8 % étaient locataires subventionnés. Parmi les couples sans enfant, 80,4 % étaient propriétaires, 18,4 % étaient locataires non subventionnés et 1,3 % étaient locataires subventionnés. Parmi les couples avec enfants, 83,4 % étaient propriétaires, 15,0 % étaient locataires non subventionnés et 1,6 % étaient locataires subventionnés. Parmi les familles monoparentales, 55,1 % étaient propriétaires, 33,5 % étaient locataires non subventionnés et 11,4 % étaient locataires subventionnés. Parmi les ménages de plusieurs familles, 79,3 % étaient propriétaires, 19,0 % étaient locataires non subventionnés et 1,8 % étaient locataires subventionnés. Parmi les ménages hors famille, 49,7 % étaient propriétaires, 41,6 % étaient locataires non subventionnés et 8,7 % étaient locataires subventionnés.

Retourner au graphique

Construction par type de logement par période, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre la construction par type de logement par période en Ontario. Entre les périodes 2006-2010 et 2011-2016, la part des nouveaux logements construits en maison individuelles non attenantes a diminué de 51,6 % à 42,7 %, la part des appartements d’au moins 5 étages a augmenté de 20,6 % à 29,8 %, celle des maisons jumelées est passée de 27,6 % à 27,3 % et celle des habitations mobiles est demeurée à 0,2 %.

Retourner au graphique

Part des condominiums parmi les nouvelles constructions de logements en Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre la part des condominiums parmi les nouvelles constructions de logement en Ontario. Avant 1970, moins de 10 % des nouvelles constructions étaient des condominiums. Entre 1971 and 2005 la part était entre 10 % et 20 %. Durant 2006-2010 la part était de 27,3 %. Finalement, la part des condominiums parmi les nouvelles constructions de logement a atteint un sommet de 35,8 % entre 2011 et 2016.

Retourner au graphique

Proportion de logements en condominium en 2016, RMR de l’Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre la proportion de logements in condominiums en 2016 parmi les RMR de l’Ontario. La proportion de condominiums est passée de 18,7 % en 2011 à 20,9 % en 2016 dans la RMR de Toronto, de 14,4 % à 14,9 % dans la partie ontarienne de la RMR d’Ottawa-Gatineau et de 12,8 % à 13,7 % dans la RMR de Guelph. Parmi les RMR ayant les plus faibles proportions de condominiums, la part est passée de 1,4 % en 2011 à 1,8 % en 2016 dans la RMR du Grand Sudbury et de 3,4 % à 3,6 % dans la RMR de Thunder Bay.

Retourner au graphique

Coût moyen du logement en 2016, RMR de l’Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre le coût moyen du logement en 2016 dans les RMR de l’Ontario. Les coûts les plus bas étaient dans les RMR de Thunder Bay avec 994 $, Windsor avec 1 019 $ et Belleville avec 1 067 $. Les coûts les plus élevés étaient à Toronto avec 1 590 $, Oshawa avec 1 454 $ et Barrie avec 1 451 $.

Retourner au graphique

Part du revenu consacré au logement selon le mode d’occupation, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre la part du revenu consacré au logement selon le mode d’occupation en Ontario. Parmi tous les ménages, 72,3 % consacraient moins de 30% de leur revenu au logement, 23,6 % entre 30 % et 100 %, et 4,0 % y consacraient plus de 100 %. Parmi les propriétaires avec prêt hypothécaire, 72,7 % consacraient moins de 30% de leur revenu au logement, 23,7 % entre 30 % et 100 %, et 3,5 % y consacraient plus de 100 %. Parmi les propriétaires sans prêt hypothécaire, 91,7 % consacraient moins de 30% de leur revenu au logement, 7,0 % entre 30 % et 100 %, et 1,2 % y consacraient plus de 100 %. Parmi les locataires subventionnés, 58,4 % consacraient moins de 30% de leur revenu au logement, 37,9 % entre 30 % et 100 %, et 3,7 % y consacraient plus de 100 %. Parmi les locataires non subventionnés, 53,5 % consacraient moins de 30% de leur revenu au logement, 38,5 % entre 30 % et 100 %, et 7,8 % y consacraient plus de 100 %.

Retourner au graphique

Contacter Alex Munger au 416 325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l’économie du travail