2016 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 2

Population Counts: Census Subdivisions in Ontario

Over Two-Thirds of Ontarians Live in the 25 Most Populous Census Subdivisions

  • There are 575 Census Subdivisions (CSDs) in Ontario. These geographical areas correspond to municipalities, Indian reserves or unorganized territories treated as municipal equivalents.
  • According to the 2016 Census, 67.8 per cent of Ontario’s population lives in the province’s 25 most populous Census Subdivisions.
  • The 25 largest CSDs in Ontario as a group grew 5.2 per cent between 2011 and 2016, accounting for 76.0 per cent of total provincial growth over this period.
  • Five of the 10 most populous CSDs are located in the Greater Toronto Area (Toronto, Mississauga, Brampton, Markham and Vaughan). Combined, these five GTA CSDs are home to 34.8 per cent of Ontario’s population and accounted for 40 per cent of provincial growth between 2011 and 2016.
  • Completing the top 10 are the CSDs of Ottawa, Hamilton, London, Kitchener and Windsor.

One in Five Ontarians Live in the City of Toronto

  • The Toronto CSD remains the most populous in the province, and is home to one in five Ontarians. The municipality recorded growth of 4.5 per cent between the 2011 and 2016 Censuses, accounting for 19.5 per cent of provincial population growth, the most of any CSD.
  • The second-largest CSD is Ottawa. The city grew 5.8 per cent over the 2011-16 period and accounted for 8.5 per cent of Ontario’s population growth.
  • Mississauga is the third-largest CSD. The city grew 1.1 per cent from 2011 to 2016 and accounted for 1.4 per cent of total population growth in the province.
  • Brampton, the fourth-largest CSD in Ontario, grew by 13.3 per cent and accounted for 11.7 per cent of all growth in the province over this period, the second largest growth contributor after Toronto.

More Than Half of Ontario’s CSDs Are Growing1

  • Between 2011 and 2016, 335 of Ontario’s 575 CSDs experienced population growth, while 195 saw population decline. Population was unchanged in 21 CSDs, and 24 were not enumerated in either 2011 or 2016 (mostly Indian reserves).

CSDs with Population of More Than 25,0002

  • There were 64 Ontario CSDs with population greater than 25,000 in both 2011 and 2016. As a group, CSDs of this size grew 5.0 per cent over the 2011-16 period, faster than the provincial average. In 2016, they accounted for 83 per cent of the provincial population.
  • Milton had by far the highest growth rate (30.5%), followed by Bradford West Gwillimbury (25.8%) and Whitchurch-Stouffville (21.8%).
  • Eight CSDs within this group experienced population decline between 2011 and 2016, including North Bay (-3.9%), Timmins (-3.2%), Leamington(-2.8%), Sault Ste. Marie (-2.4%), Prince Edward County (-2.1%), Chatham Kent (-2.0%), Sarnia (-1.1%) and Thunder Bay (-0.4%).

CSDs with Population between 10,000 and 24,999

  • CSDs with population of 10,000 to 24,999 grew 3.9 per cent as a group between 2011 and 2016. There were 79 CSDs in this category in 2011 and 83 in 2016, accounting for 9.6 per cent of the provincial population.
  • Within this group, 63 CSDs experienced population growth and 16 saw declines.
  • King had by far the highest growth rate (23.2%) within this group, followed by Wasaga Beach (17.9%) and Essa (13.9%).
  • The largest declines occurred in Elliot Lake (-5.3%), Temiskaming Shores (-4.6%) and Pembroke (-3.3%).

CSDs with Population of Less than 10,000

    • The vast majority of Ontario CSDs have population of less than 10,000 (420 out of 575 in 2016), accounting for 7.4 per cent of total provincial population.
    • Enumeration issues on Indian reserves and very sparsely populated areas affect the reliability of Census count comparisons for this group.

    Note:

    The most appropriate 2016 population figures for Ontario and the rest of Canada are the current postcensal population estimates rather than the 2016 Census counts. See Fact Sheet 1 for notes on Census counts and net undercoverage and the reason why this fact sheet looks largely at shares and growth rates between the 2011 and 2016 Censuses rather than population levels.

    Footnotes:

    [1] Only CSDs that were enumerated in both 2011 and 2016 are included in the growth calculations.

    [2] CSDs are categorized according to 2011 Census Population.

    Accessible Image Description:

    Ontario’s 25 Most Populous CSDs: Share of Provincial Population, 2016 Census

    This chart shows the share of Ontario’s population accounted for by the 25 most populous census subdivisions according to the 2016 Census. Toronto accounted for 20.3% of the provincial population, Ottawa for 6.9%, and Mississauga for 5.4%.

    Return to image

    Top 25 Ontario CSDs by Share of Provincial Growth, 2011 to 2016

    This chart shows the share of total provincial growth accounted for by the 25 most populous census subdivisions in Ontario over the 2011-2016 period. Toronto accounted for 19.5% of total provincial growth over the period, Brampton for 11.7%, and Ottawa for 8.5%.

    Return to image

    10 Fastest-Growing Large CSDs (with 2011 Population of 25,000 and Over)

    This chart shows the 2011-2016 growth rates of the 10 fastest-growing census subdivisions in Ontario that had a population of 25,000 and over in 2011. Milton grew fastest at 30.5%, followed by Bradford West Gwillimbury at 25.8% and Whitchurch-Stouffville at 21.8%.

    Return to image

    10 Fastest-Growing Medium-sized CSDs (with 2011 Population of 10,000 to 24,999)

    This chart shows the 2011-2016 growth rates of the 10 fastest-growing census subdivisions in Ontario that had a population of between 10,000 and 24,999 in 2011. King grew fastest at 23.2%, followed by Wasaga Beach at 17.9% and Essa at 13.9%.

    Return to image

    Contact: Alex Munger (416) 325-0102

    Office of Economic Policy
    Labour and Demographic Analysis Branch

Faits saillants du recensement 2016 : Feuille de renseignements 2

Chiffres de population : Subdivisions de recensement en Ontario

Plus des deux tiers des Ontariennes et Ontariens vivent dans les 25 plus importantes subdivisions de recensement

  • L'Ontario compte 575 subdivisions de recensement (SDR). Ces zones géographiques désignent des municipalités, des réserves indiennes et des territoires non organisés considérés comme municipaux.
  • Selon le recensement de 2016, 67,8 % de la population de l'Ontario vit dans les 25 subdivisions de recensement les plus peuplées.
  • Ensemble, ces 25 SDR en Ontario ont vu leur population augmenter de 5,2 % de 2011 à 2016, ce qui représente 76,0 % de la croissance démographique de la province au cours de cette période.
  • Cinq des 10 SDR les plus peuplées sont situées dans la Région du Grand Toronto (RGT): Toronto, Mississauga, Brampton, Markham et Vaughan. Ces cinq SDR de la RGT combinées représentent 34,8 % de la population de l'Ontario et 40 % de la croissance démographique de la province entre le recensement de 2011 et celui de 2016.
  • Les cinq autres SDR en importance parmi ce groupe de 10 sont Ottawa, Hamilton, London, Kitchener et Windsor.

Un Ontarien sur cinq demeure dans la ville de Toronto

  • La SDR de Toronto demeure la plus peuplée de la province, abritant un Ontarien sur cinq. La ville a enregistré une croissance de 4,5 % entre le recensement de 2011 et celui de 2016, soit 19,5 % de la croissance démographique de la province, la plus élevée de toutes les SDR.
  • La deuxième SDR en importance est Ottawa, où la population a augmenté de 5,8 % de 2011 à 2016, soit 8,5 % de la croissance démographique de l'Ontario.
  • Mississauga est la troisième SDR en importance. Sa population a augmenté de 1,1 % de 2011 à 2016, soit 1,4 % de la croissance démographique de la province.
  • Brampton, la quatrième SDR par ordre d’importance en Ontario, s’est accrue de 13,3 % et représente à elle seule 11,7 % de la croissance provinciale pendant cette période, soit la deuxième en importance après Toronto.

Environ la moitié des SDR de l’Ontario connaissent une croissance1

  • De 2011 à 2016, 335 SDR sur 575 en Ontario ont enregistré une augmentation de leur population et 195 ont vu la leur diminuer. La taille de la population est demeurée la même dans 21 SDR, et 24 n'ont pas été dénombrées soit en 2011 ou en 2016 (dans la plupart des cas, des réserves indiennes).

SDR ayant une population de plus de 25 000 habitants2

  • En 2011 et 2016, l'Ontario comptait 64 SDR ayant une population de plus de 25 000 habitants. Dans l'ensemble, les SDR de cette taille ont vu leur population augmenter de 5,0 % de 2011 à 2016, un taux plus élevé que la moyenne provinciale. En 2016, elles représentaient 83 % de la population provinciale.
  • Milton a de loin enregistré le taux de croissance le plus élevé (30,5 %), suivie de Bradford West Gwillimbury (25,8 %) et Whitchurch-Stouffville (21,8 %).
  • Parmi ce groupe, huit SDR ont subi une baisse de population de 2011 à 2016: North Bay (-3,9 %), Timmins (-3,2 %), Leamington (-2,8 %), Sault Ste. Marie (-2,4 %), Prince Edward County (-2,1 %), Chatham-Kent (-2,0 %), Sarnia (-1,1 %) et Thunder Bay (-0,4 %).

SDR ayant une population de 10 000 à 24 999 habitants

  • Dans l'ensemble, la population des SDR comptant 10 000 à 24 999 habitants a augmenté de 3,9 % de 2011 à 2016. Quelque 79 SDR faisaient partie de cette catégorie en 2011, et 83 en 2016, représentant 9,6 % de la population provinciale.
  • Au sein de ce groupe, 63 SDR ont connu une croissance de leur population, et 16 une diminution.
  • King a enregistré de loin le plus haut taux de croissance (23,2 %) parmi les SDR de cette taille, suivie de Wasaga Beach (17,9 %) et de Essa (13,9 %).
  • Les plus importantes baisses ont été enregistrées à Elliot Lake (-5,3 %), Temiskaming Shores (-4,6 %) et Pembroke (-3,3 %).

SDR ayant une population de moins de 10 000 habitants

  • La grande majorité des SDR en Ontario ont une population de moins de 10 000 habitants (420 sur 575 en 2016), représentant 7,4 % de la population totale de la province.
  • Des problèmes de dénombrement dans les réserves indiennes et dans les régions peu densément peuplées rendent moins fiables les comparaisons de chiffres du recensement pour ce groupe.

Remarque :

Les chiffres de population 2016 les plus appropriés pour l'Ontario et le reste du Canada sont les estimations postcensitaires de la population courante, plutôt que les chiffres du recensement de 2016. Voir la Feuille de renseignements 1 au sujet du dénombrement et du sous-dénombrement net, et la raison pour laquelle cette feuille décrit les parts en pourcentages et les taux de croissance entre 2011 et 2016 plutôt que les niveaux des population.

Notes:

[1] Seules les SDR dénombrées en 2011 et en 2016 ont été incluses dans le calcul de la croissance des populations.

[2] Les SDR sont classées selon le recensement de 2011.

Description accessible de l’image :

25 SDR les plus peuplées de l’Ontario : part de la population provinciale, recensement de 2016

Ce diagramme illustre la part de la population de l’Ontario que constituent les 25 subdivisions de recensement les plus peuplées de la province selon le recensement de 2016. En tout, 20,3 % de la population provinciale habitait à Toronto, 6,9 % à Ottawa et 5,4 % à Mississauga.

Retourner au graphique

25 SDR en importance en Ontario selon la part de la croissance provinciale, de 2011 à 2016

Ce diagramme illustre la part de la croissance démographique provinciale ayant eu lieu de 2011 à 2016  dans les 25 subdivisions de recensement les plus peuplées de l’Ontario. En tout, 19,5 % de la croissance démographique provinciale a eu lieu à Toronto, 11,7 % à Brampton et 8,5 % à Ottawa.

Retourner au graphique

10 grandes SDR ayant connu la croissance la plus rapide (population de 25 000 habitants et plus en 2011)

Ce diagramme illustre les taux de croissance des 10 subdivisions de recensement ayant une population de plus de 25 000 habitants qui ont connu la plus forte croissance démographique en Ontario de 2011 à 2016. La plus forte croissance a eu lieu à Milton avec 30,5 %, suivie de Bradford West Gwillimbury avec 25,8 % et Whitchurch-Stouffville avec 21,8 %.

Retourner au graphique

10 moyennes SDR ayant connu la croissance la plus rapide (population de 10 000 à 24 999 habitants en 2011)

Ce diagramme illustre les taux de croissance des 10 subdivisions de recensement ayant une population de 10 000 à 24 999 habitants en 2011 qui ont connu la plus forte croissance démographique en Ontario de 2011 à 2016. La plus forte croissance a eu lieu à King avec 23,2 %, suivie de Wasaga Beach avec 17,9 % et Essa avec 13,9 %.

Retourner au graphique

Renseignements : Alex Munger (416) 325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l’analyse en matière de démographie et de travail