2016 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 3

Population Counts: Age and Gender

This fact sheet looks at age and gender data recently released by Statistics Canada as part of the 2016 Census. Note that Statistics Canada’s postcensal estimates, rather than the 2016 Census counts, are the most appropriate population figures. Census counts need to be adjusted for net undercoverage (expected in 2018). See Fact Sheet 1 for more details.

Population Aging Acceleration

  • According to the 2016 Census, the average age of Ontario's population was 41.0 years, the same as the average age of the nation as a whole. This represents an increase of 1.1 years in the average age of the province population between 2011 and 2016.
  • Newfoundland and Labrador was the oldest province with an average age of 43.7 years. Alberta was the youngest province with a median age of 37.8 years.

Older Age Groups Growing Fastest

  • Between 2011 and 2016, the fastest growing segment of Ontario’s population was the 90+ age group, which increased 39.7 per cent, followed by the 65–74 age group, which rose 26.1 per cent.
  • The number of seniors 65+ grew by 19.9 per cent over 2011-16, and their share of total population continued to rise, reaching 16.7 per cent, up from 14.6 per cent in 2011 and 12.4 per cent in 1996.
  • The working-age population (15-64) increased by 2.2 per cent between 2011 and 2016. The proportion of Ontarians in this age group was 66.8 per cent in 2016, down from 68.4 per cent in 2011, but higher than 67 per cent in 1996.
  • However, as a result of the large cohorts of baby boomers (aged 51-70 in 2016) moving up the age structure and increases in longevity, population grew for every single age beyond age 50. By contrast, the age group 35-49 shrank almost 6.1 per cent from 2011 to 2016.
  • Similarly, as the baby boom echo cohorts have moved into adulthood, the teenage group (13-19) shrank by 5.7 per cent between 2011 and 2016.
  • The children (0–14) group increased 1.2 per cent. The share of children in Ontario’s population declined slightly, to 16.4 per cent in 2016, down from 17 per cent in 2011 and 20.6 per cent in 1996.

Ontario’s Working-Age Population Getting Older

  • The province’s working-age population is increasingly made up of older individuals. Within this age group the share of people aged 50-64 increased to 32.2 per cent from 30 per cent in 2011.
  • By contrast, the population aged 35–49 declined by 6.1 per cent over 2011-2016, and their share of the working-age population declined to 29.5 per cent from 32.1 per cent in 2011.
  • There were fewer young labour market entrants to replace older workers approaching typical retirement age. In 2016, there were 0.9 people aged 15 to 24 for every person aged 55 to 64, down from a ratio of 1.1 in 2011 and 1.4 in 2001.
  • Baby boomers accounted for 30 per cent of the workingage population in 2016, compared to 39.7 per cent in 2011 and 43.4 per cent in 2006.

More Younger and Older Seniors

  • The first cohort of baby boomers entered the senior age group in 2011. As a result, the number of younger seniors aged 65-69 increased 30.9 per cent from 2011. Their share of all seniors increased to 32.8 per cent in 2016 from 30 per cent in 2011.
  • However, the fastest-growing segments among seniors were the oldest group aged 90+. The number of seniors in this age group increased by almost 40 per cent between the two censuses, reaching 112,620 in 2016, up from 80,620 in 2011. The share of this group among seniors increased to 5 per cent from 4.3 per cent in 2011.
  • In 2016 there were 8,230 centenarians in Canada, the majority of whom were women (6,890). There were 3,010 centenarians living in Ontario.

Women Outnumber Men

  • The 2016 census showed a gender ratio of 95.2 men for every 100 women in Ontario, little changed from 2011 (95.1).
  • The number of male seniors increased 21.9 per cent between 2011 and 2016, faster than growth of female seniors (18.3 per cent).
  • However, female seniors continue to outnumber their male counterparts substantially. There were 82 men per 100 women in the 65+ group, and only 42 men per 100 women in the 90+ group.

Toronto: Highest Share of Working-Age

  • According to the 2016 Census, Toronto was the Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) in the province with the highest proportion of working-age people in its population, at 68.9 per cent.
  • In Canada, Calgary had the highest share of workingage population at 70.2 per cent. Toronto ranked 6th nationally.
  • Peterborough and St. Catharines-Niagara were the two Ontario CMAs with the lowest share of working-age population, at less than 64 per cent. They also were among the five CMAs with the lowest share of workingage of all CMAs in Canada.

Peterborough: Highest Share of Seniors

  • Peterborough and St. Catharines-Niagara were also the two Ontario CMAs with the highest share of seniors in their population, at about 22 per cent. Nationally, only the Trois-Rivières CMA in Quebec had a higher share, at 22.3 per cent.
  • In Ontario, Barrie had the lowest share of seniors in their population among CMAs, at 14.3 per cent, followed by Toronto and Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo, both at 14.5 per cent.
  • Nationally, among all CMAs in Canada, Calgary and Edmonton had the lowest shares of seniors, at 11.0 and 12.3 per cent respectively.

Elliot Lake: Oldest Census Agglomeration

  • Among smaller population centres in Ontario called Census Agglomerations (CAs), Elliot Lake had by far the highest share of seniors, at 37.9 per cent.
  • Nationally, only the Parksville CA in B.C. had a higher proportion of seniors in its population, at 43.9 per cent.
  • Petawawa and Timmins were the two Ontario CAs with the lowest shares of seniors, at 8.1 and 15.2 per cent respectively. Wood Buffalo in Alberta had the lowest share nationally (2.8 per cent).

Haliburton: The Oldest Census Division in Ontario

  • Haliburton was the oldest Census Division (CD) in Ontario with an average age of 52.0 years and a seniors’ share of 32.9 per cent.
  • Kenora was the youngest CD in the province with an average age of 37.6 years. Peel had the lowest proportion of seniors (12.8 per cent).

Accessible Image Description:

Ontario Age Pyramid: 2011 & 2016

This population pyramid shows the number of people of each age in Ontario in the 2011 and 2016 separately for males (on the left) and females (on the right). The number of people in each age is represented by the horizontal length of the corresponding line.  Age is displayed vertically, staring with age zero on the bottom, and ended on the top with ages 95 and older combined into one group.

Return to image

Census Population Growth by Age, Ontario, 2011–16

This bar chart shows the growth rate (%) of population of each age between the 2011 and 2016 censuses.  The bars corresponding to each age above age 50 lie above the zero horizontal line, presenting positive growth for population in each of these ages.  For ages 50 or younger, population declined between 2011 and 2016 for some ages.

Return to image

Age Distribution of Ontario’s Census Population

This chart shows the distribution of population by broad age group as enumerated in the four consecutive censuses, 2001, 2006, 2011 and 2016.  The last bar on the right shows that in the 2016 census the share of children (0-14) in the total population was 16.4%, lower than the share of seniors (16.7%).

Return to image

Distribution of Ontario’s Working Age Population

This bar chart shows the percentage distribution of the working-age population by five-year age group in Ontario.  For each age group, its share of the working-age population in 2011 and 2016 is displayed side by side for comparison.  The two bars on the left end show the share of the age group 15-19 declining from 9.8% in 2011 to 9.0% in 2016. The two bars on the right end show the share of the age group 60-64 increasing from 8.7% to 9.4%.

Return to image

Distribution of Ontario’s Senior Population

This chart shows the percentage distribution of senior population in Ontario by five-year age group (ages 95 and above is combined into one group).  For each age group its share of senior population in 2011 and 2016 is displayed side by side for comparison. The chart shows that the share of the younger seniors (65-69) and the share of the oldest group (90+) increased between 2011 and 2016, while the share of the other age groups declined or was unchanged.

Return to image

Ontarians Aged 90+ Enumerated

This chart shows the number of population aged 90+ as enumerated in the five consecutive censuses, 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011 and 2016.  There were 41,006 people aged 90 or older enumerated in the 1996 census.  In the 2016 census, the counts of this age group increased to 112,620.

Return to image

Proportion of Working-Age Population in Ontario CMAs, 2016

This chart shows the proportion of working-age population of each of 16 Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs) in Ontario.  The Toronto CMA had the highest share of working-age population, at 68.9%.  Peterborough was the CMA with the lowest share of working-age population, at 63.1%.

Return to image

Proportion of Seniors in Ontario CMAs, 2016

This chart shows the proportion of senior population of each of 16 Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs) in Ontario.  The Peterborough CMA had the highest share of senior population, at 22.2%.  Barrie was the CMA with the lowest share of senior population, at 14.3%.

Return to image

Ontario Census Agglomerations with Highest & Lowest Proportion of Seniors, 2016

This chart shows the five Census Agglomerations (CAs) with highest proportions of seniors and the five CAs with lowest proportions of seniors.  It is shown in this chart that among all CAs in Ontario the Elliot Lake CA had the highest share of seniors, at 37.9%, and Petawawa had the lowest share of seniors, at 8.1%.

Return to image

Contact Huan Nguyen (416) 325-0816

Office of Economic Policy
Labour Economics Branch

 

Page: 3410  |

Faits saillants du recensement 2016 : Feuille de renseignements 3

Chiffres de population : âge et sexe

La présente feuille de renseignements examine les chiffres de population par âge et sexe publiés récemment par Statistique Canada à la suite du recensement de 2016. Veuillez noter que les chiffres de population les plus récents demeurent les estimations post-censitaires de Statistique Canada, plutôt que les chiffres du recensement de 2016. Les chiffres du recensement doivent être ajustés en fonction du sousdénombrement net (disponible en 2018). Voir la Feuille de renseignements 1 pour de plus amples informations.

Accélération du vieillissement de la population

  • Selon le recensement de 2016, l’âge moyen de la population ontarienne était de 41,0 ans, similaire à la moyenne nationale et représentant une augmentation de 1,1 an entre 2011 et 2016.
  • Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador était la province la plus âgée, avec un âge moyen de 43,7 ans, tandis que l’Alberta était la province la plus jeune avec un âge moyen de 37,8 ans.

Les groupes plus âgés accusent la croissance la plus rapide

  • Entre 2011 et 2016, le groupe de 90 ans et plus est celui qui a connu la croissance la plus rapide de l’Ontario, avec une hausse de 39,7 %, suivi de près par le groupe des 65 à 74 ans qui s’est accru de 26,1 %.
  • Le nombre d’aînés de 65 ans et plus s’est accru de 19,9 % au cours de la période allant de 2011 à 2016 et la proportion de la population qu’ils représentent a continué d’augmenter pour atteindre 16,7 %, par rapport à 14,6 % en 2011 et à 12,4 % en 1996.
  • La population en âge de travailler (15 à 64 ans) a augmenté de 2,2 % entre 2011 et 2016. La proportion d’Ontariens compris dans ce groupe d’âge a atteint 66,8 % en 2016, par rapport à 68,4 % en 2011 et à 67 % en 1996.
  • Toutefois, alors que la grande cohorte des baby-boomers (âgés de 51 à 70 ans en 2016) monte dans la structure d’âge et que l’espérance de vie s’allonge, la population de chaque âge au-delà de 50 ans a augmenté. En revanche, le nombre de personnes âgées de 35 à 49 ans a décliné de près de 6,1 % de 2011 à 2016.
  • De la même façon, alors que la cohorte de l’écho du babyboom se trouve maintenant à l’âge adulte, le nombre d’adolescents âgés de 13 à 19 ans a diminué de 5,7 % de 2011 à 2016.
  • L’ensemble du groupe des enfants (âgés de 0 à 14 ans) a connu une augmentation de 1,2 %. La portion d’enfants de la population ontarienne a continué de décroître pour atteindre 16,4 % en 2016, par rapport à 17 % en 2011 et à 20,6 % en 1996.

La population ontarienne en âge de travailler vieillit

  • La population ontarienne en âge de travailler est de plus en plus composée de personnes plus âgées. Parmi ce groupe d’âge, la part de la population âgée de 50 à 64 ans se chiffrait à 32,2 %, en hausse comparé à 30 % en 2011.
  • En revanche, le nombre d’Ontariens âgés de 35 à 49 ans a diminué de 6,1 % au cours de la période allant de 2011 à 2016. Ce groupe constituait 29,5 % de la population en âge de travailler en 2016, en baisse par rapport à 32,1 % en 2011.
  • Il y avait moins de jeunes arrivants sur le marché du travail pour remplacer ceux qui approchaient de l’âge ordinaire du départ à la retraite. En 2016, il y avait 0,9 travailleur dans le groupe d’âge de 15 à 24 ans pour chaque travailleur faisant partie du groupe des 55 à 64 ans, en baisse par rapport à 1,1 en 2011 et à 1,4 en 2001.
  • Les baby-boomers constituaient 30 % de la population en âge de travailler en 2016, comparativement à 39,7 % en 2011 et 43,4 % en 2006.

Plus d’aînés jeunes et âgés

  • Les baby-boomers ont commencé à entrer dans le groupe d’âge des aînés en 2011. Par conséquent, le nombre de jeunes aînés âgés de 65 à 69 ans s’est accru de 30,9 % depuis 2011. Leur part du nombre d’aînés total a augmenté pour atteindre 32,8 % en 2016, par rapport à 30 % en 2011.
  • Par contre, le groupe des aînés ayant connu la croissance la plus rapide a été le groupe des 90 ans et plus. Ce groupe a connu une hausse de presque de 40 % depuis le recensement précédent, portant leur nombre à 112 620 en 2016, en hausse par rapport à 80 620 en 2011.
  • En 2016, le nombre de centenaires au Canada se chiffrait à 8 230 et était composé majoritairement de femmes (6 890). Il y avait 3 010 centenaires vivant en Ontario.

Plus de femmes que d’hommes

  • Le recensement de 2016 montrait, en Ontario, un ratio de 95,2 hommes pour chaque tranche de 100 femmes. Ce ratio était sensiblement inchangé depuis 2011 (95,1).
  • Le nombre d’aînés masculins a augmenté de 21,9 % de 2011 à 2016, plus rapidement que la croissance du nombre de femmes dans ce groupe (18,3%).
  • Les femmes continuaient de dépasser sensiblement les hommes en nombres dans les groupes plus âgés. On comptait 82 hommes pour 100 femmes dans le groupe des plus de 65 ans, et seulement 42 hommes pour 100 femmes dans le groupe des plus de 90 ans.

Toronto compte la plus grande part de population en âge de travailler

  • Selon le recensement de 2016, la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Toronto comptant la plus grande part de personnes en âge de travailler de la province, soit 68,9 %.
  • À l’échelle canadienne, c’est Calgary qui détient la plus grande part de population en âge de travailler, c’est-à-dire 70,2 %. À l’échelle nationale, la RMR de Toronto se classe au 6e rang.
  • Les régions de St.Catharines-Niagara et de Peterborough étaient les deux RMR de l’Ontario ayant la plus petite part de population en âge de travailler, avec un taux de moins de 64 %. Ces deux RMR font partie des cinq RMR canadiennes ayant les plus petites parts de population en âge de travailler.

Peterborough compte la plus grande part d’aînés

  • Peterborough et St.Catharines-Niagara étaient également les deux RMR de l’Ontario comptant la plus grande proportion d’aînés, à environ 22 %. Sur le plan national, seule Trois- Rivières au Québec avait une part plus élevée, avec 22,3 %.
  • En Ontario, Barrie comptait la plus petite proportion d’aînés dans sa population parmi les RMR, avec un taux de 14,3 %, suivie de Toronto et Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo, avec toutes deux 14,5 %.
  • À l’échelle nationale, les RMR de Calgary et Edmonton avaient les plus bas taux d’aînés, avec 11,0 % et 12,3 % respectivement.

Elliot Lake est la plus âgée des agglomérations de recensement

  • Parmi les plus petits centres de populations de l’Ontario, appelés les agglomérations de recensement (AR), Elliot Lake compte, de loin, la plus grande proportion d’aînés, avec 37,9 %.
  • Sur le plan national, seule l’AR de Parksville en Colombie- Britannique comptait une plus grande proportion d’aînés au sein de sa population avec un taux de 43,9 %.
  • Petawawa et Timmins étaient les deux AR de l’Ontario avec la plus petite part d’aînés avec un taux respectif de 8,1 % et de 15,2 %. Wood Buffalo (Fort McMurray) en Alberta avait la plus petite proportion à l’échelle nationale (2,8 %).

Haliburton : la plus âgée des divisions de recensement en Ontario

  • Haliburton était la plus âgée des divisions de recensement (DR) en Ontario avec un âge moyen de 52,0 ans et une proportion d’aînés de 32,9 %.
  • Kenora était la plus jeune des DR dans la province avec un âge moyen de 37,6 ans. Peel avait la proportion la plus faible d’aînés (12,8 %).

Description accessible de l’image :

Pyramide d’âge de l’Ontario (2011 et 2016)

Cette pyramide des âges montre le nombre de personnes de chaque âge en Ontario en 2011 et en 2016 séparément pour les hommes (à la gauche) et pour les femmes (à la droite). Le nombre de personnes de chaque âge est représenté horizontalement avec une ligne proportionnée. L’âge est illustré verticalement avec l’âge zéro en bas et le group des personnes âgées de 95 ans et plus en haut.

Retourner au graphique

Croissance de la population recensée selon l’âge Ontario, 2011-2016

Ce diagramme illustre le taux de croissance de la population de chaque âge entre 2011 et 2016. Les barres correspondant à chaque âge en haut de 50 ans sont au-dessus de la ligne zéro, ce qui représente une croissance pour tous ces âges. Le nombre de personnes âgées de moins de 50 ans a diminué pour certains groupes.

Retourner au graphique

Répartition selon l’âge de la population recensée de l’Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre la distribution de la population par groupe d’âge énumérés au cours des quatre derniers recensements, soit 2001, 2006, 2011 et 2016. La dernière barre à la droite montre que, selon le recensement de 2016, la part de la population âgée de 0 à 14 ans était de 16,4 %, plus basse que la part des personnes âgées de 65 ans et plus à 16,7 %.

Retourner au graphique

Répartition de la population de l’Ontario en âge de travailler

Ce diagramme illustre la distribution en pourcentage de la population en âge de travailler par groupe de 5 ans en Ontario. La part de la population en âge de travailler que représentent chaque groupe d’âge est illustrée pour 2011 et 2016 côte à côte. Les deux barres à la gauche montrent que la part du groupe d’âge 15-19 a diminué pour passer de 9,8 % en 2011 à 9,0 % en 2016. Les deux barres à la droite montrent que la part du groupe 60-64 a augmenté de 8,7 % à 9,4 %.

Retourner au graphique

Répartition de la population d’aînés de l’Ontario

Ce diagramme montre la distribution en pourcentage de la population de 65 ans et plus en Ontario selon les groupes d’âges de cinq ans (les personnes âgées de 95 et plus forment un seul groupe). Pour chaque groupe d’âge, la part de la population totale d’aînés est illustrée pour 2011 et 2016. Le diagramme montre que la part des jeunes aînés de 65-69 ans et celle de ceux âgés de 90 ans et plus ont augmenté entre 2011 et 2016, alors que celles des autres groupes d’aînés a diminué ou est demeurée la même.

Retourner au graphique

Énumération des ontariens âgés de 90 ans et plus

Ce diagramme illustre le nombre de personnes âgées des 90 ans et plus selon les cinq derniers recensements, soit 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011 et 2016. Il y avait 41 006 personnes de 90 ans et plus en 1996, alors qu’il y en avait 112 620 en 2016.

Retourner au graphique

Proportion de la population en âge de travailler des RMR de l’Ontario en 2016

Ce diagramme illustre la proportion de population en âge de travailler dans chacune des 16 régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) en Ontario. La RMR de Toronto avait la part la plus élevée avec 68,9 %, alors que la RMR de Peterborough avait la plus faible avec 63,1 %.

Retourner au graphique

Proportion d’aînés des RMR de l’Ontario en 2016

Ce diagramme illustre la proportion de personnes âgées dans chacune des 16 régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) en Ontario. La RMR de Peterborough avait la part la plus élevée avec 22,2 %, alors que la RMR de Barrie avait la part la plus faible avec 14,3 %.

Retourner au graphique

Agglomération de recensement de l’Ontario ayant les plus hauts et plus bas taux d’aînés, 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les cinq agglomérations de recensement (AR) ayant les plus fortes et les plus faibles proportions de personnes âgées en Ontario en 2016. L’AR d’Elliot Lake avait la proportion d’aînés la plus élevée, alors que l’AR de Petawawa avait la plus faible avec 8,1 %.

Retourner au graphique

Renseignements : Alex Munger (416) 325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l‘économie du travail