2016 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 6

Mother Tongue and Language

This fact sheet looks at mother tongue and language information released by Statistics Canada as part of the 2016 Census.

Share of Population with an Official Language as Mother Tongue Declined

  • In 2016, 9.1 million Ontarians reported English as their mother tongue, an increase of 3% from 2011. However, the share declined to 68.2% from 69.3% in 2011.
  • There were 527,690 people reporting French as their mother tongue in Ontario in 2016, almost unchanged from 2011. They represented 4.0% of population in 2016, a modest change from 4.1% in 2011.
  • In 2016, 3.7 million Ontarians were Allophones (people with a mother tongue other than English or French), up from 3.4 million in 2011. The share of this group increased to 27.9% from 26.6% in 2011.
  • The 2016 Census showed that English remained the language spoken most often at home. Also, the percentage of Ontarians speaking English most often at home (80.5%) was substantially higher than the share of the population with English as mother tongue (68.2%).

Some Non-official Mother Tongues Grew Significantly

  • Around 200 languages were reported by Ontarians as mother tongue in the 2016 Census. The top 25 of these accounted for 98.3% of Ontario’s total population.
  • Among mother tongues spoken by over 40,000 Ontarians in 2016 (25 of them), the fastest growing since 2011 were Arabic (31.0%), Hindi (26.5%), Persian (24.7%), Bengali (23.7%), Urdu (21.5%), Chinese (18.0), and Tagalog (17.6%).
  • In 2016, Chinese languages remained the most numerous non-official mother tongue group in Ontario. Almost 628,000 people reported one of the Chinese languages as their mother tongue, representing 4.7% of Ontario’s population, an increase from 4.1% in 2011. Of all different Chinese languages Mandarin and Cantonese accounted for 46.6% and 46.1%, correspondingly.
  • Italian remained the fourth largest mother tongue in Ontario, but its numbers declined 7.2% since 2011. Punjabi rose to the fifth place, pushing Spanish to the sixth place. Arabic rose to the seventh. Tagalog, Urdu and Portuguese were in the eighth, ninth and tenth place, respectively.

Toronto CMA: Largest Proportion of Allophones

  • More than four in 10 people had a mother tongue other than English or French in the Toronto Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) in 2016.
  • The Chinese language group remained the dominant non-official language group in the Toronto CMA, having been reported by 531,575 people, or 19.4% of the CMA's population whose mother tongue was neither English nor French.
  • Punjabi rose to the second place with 186,030 people, pushing Italian (164,510) to the third place, followed by Tagalog (161,515) and Urdu (148,625).

Other Ontario Census Metropolitan Areas

  • Peterborough, Belleville, and Brantford CMAs had the highest shares of Anglophones in their population, at 93.0%, 92.1% and 88.4%, respectively.
  • The CMAs with the highest shares of Francophones were Greater Sudbury (26.6%), Ottawa-Gatineau (Ont. part) (16.3%), Kingston (3.5%), and Windsor and St. Catharines - Niagara (both at 3.3%).
  • Toronto had the highest share of non-official languages as mother tongue (44.7%), followed by Kitchener - Cambridge - Waterloo (24.0%), Windsor (23.2%), and Hamilton (22.3%).

Ontario Municipalities (Population 5,000+)

  • Among Ontario’s municipalities of at least 5,000 people in 2016, Markham had the highest share of non-official languages as mother tongue (62.3%), followed by Richmond Hill (61.0%), Vaughan (52%), Mississauga (50.2%), Brampton (48.4%), and Toronto (45.7%).
  • Compared to 2011, the share of non-official languages of these municipalities also increased, except Toronto where the share of non-official languages declined slightly.
  • The highest shares of Anglophones were found in the municipalities of Stone Mills (96.4%), St. Clair (95.8%), Georgian Bluffs and Brockton (both at 95.6%), and Greater Napanee (95.5%).
  • The highest shares of Francophones were in the municipalities of Hearst (87.6%), Hawkesbury (79.1%), Alfred & Plantagenet (76.6%), The Nation (67.5), and Kapuskasing (66.7%).

September 2017

Accessible Image Description:

Population by Mother Tongue, Ontario

These pie charts show the distribution of Ontario’s population by mother tongue in 2011 and 2016. In 2011, 69.3% of Ontarians had English as mother tongue, 4.1% had French and 26.6% had another language. In 2016, 68.2% of Ontarians had English as mother tongue, 4.0% had French, and 27.9% had another language.

Return to image

Population by Language Spoken at Home, Ontario

These pie charts show the distribution of Ontario’s population by language spoken at home in 2011 and 2016. In 2011, 81.1% of Ontarians spoke English at home, 2.4% spoke French and 16.4% spoke another language at home. In 2016, 80.5% of Ontarians spoke English at home, 2.3% spoke French and 17.2% spoke another language at home.

Return to image

Non-official Mother Tongues, Ontario

These pie charts show the distribution on Ontario’s population with non-official mother tongues in 2011 and 2016. In 2011, 15.2% of Ontarians with non-official mother tongues had one of the Chinese languages as mother tongue, 7.7% had Italian, 5.4% had Spanish, 5.3% had Punjabi, 4.7% had Tagalog, and 61.6% had other languages. In 2016, 16.2% of Ontarians with non-official mother tongues had one of the Chinese languages as mother tongue, 6.5% had Italian, 5.5% had Punjabi, 5.3% had Spanish, 5.0% had Arabic, and 61.4% had another language.

Return to image

Mother Tongue Distribution, Toronto CMA

These pie charts show the distribution of the Toronto CMA’s population by mother tongue in 2011 and 2016. In 2011, 57.0% had English as mother tongue, 8.2% had one of the Chinese languages, 3.2% had Italian, 3.0% had Punjabi, 2.5% had Tagalog, 2.3% had Spanish, 1.6% had French, and 22.2% had another language. In 2016, 56.0% had English as mother tongue, 9.0% had one of the Chinese languages, 3.2% had Punjabi, 2.8% had Italian, 2.7% had Tagalog, 2.5% had Urdu, 1.6% had French, and 22.2% had another language.

Return to image

Mother Tongue Distribution, Ontario CMAs, 2016

This line chart shows the distribution of Ontario CMAs’ population by mother tongue in 2016. The CMAs with the highest proportion of English mother tongue were Belleville and Peterborough. The CMAs with the highest proportion of French mother tongue were Greater Sudbury and the Ontario part of Ottawa-Gatineau. The CMAs with the highest proportion of non-official mother tongues were Toronto and Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo.

Return to image

Ontario Municipalities (5,000+) with High Shares of Non-Official Mother Tongues, 2016

This bar chart shows Ontario municipalities of over 5,000 residents with high shares of non-official mother tongues in 2016. The five highest proportions were in Markham (62.3%), Richmond Hill (61.0%), Vaughan (52.0%), Mississauga (50.2%), and Brampton (48.4%).

Return to image

Contact: Huan Nguyen (416) 325-0816

Office of Economic Policy
Labour Economics Branch

Page: 3413  |

Faits saillants du recensement 2016 : Feuille de renseignements 6

Langues maternelles et langues

Cette fiche d’information examine les données sur les langues maternelles et les langues publiées par Statistique Canada dans le cadre du recensement de 2016.

La proportion de langues officielles comme langues maternelles diminue

  • En 2016, 9,1 millions d’Ontariens ont déclaré avoir l’anglais comme langue maternelle, soit 3 % de plus qu’en 2011. Le pourcentage a diminué légèrement par rapport à 2011, passant de 69,3 % à 68,2 %.
  • En 2016, 527 690 Ontariens ont déclaré avoir le français comme langue maternelle, presque inchangé depuis 2011. En 2011, ces personnes représentaient 4,1 % de la population, contre 4,0 % en 2016.
  • En 2016, 3,7 millions d’Ontariens étaient allophones (personnes dont la langue maternelle n’est ni l’anglais ni le français), contre 3,4 millions en 2011. Le pourcentage représenté par ce groupe a augmenté, passant de 26,6 % en 2011 à 27,9 % en 2016.
  • Selon les résultats du recensement de 2016, l’anglais est resté la langue le plus souvent parlée à la maison. En outre, le pourcentage d’Ontariens parlant l’anglais le plus souvent à la maison (80,5 %) était considérablement plus élevé que la proportion de la population dont l’anglais est la langue maternelle (68,2 %).

Certaines langues maternelles non officielles ont progressé considérablement

  • Lors du recensement de 2016, quelque 200 langues ont été déclarées comme langues maternelles en Ontario. Les 25 langues arrivant en tête de liste comptaient pour 98,3 % de l’ensemble de la population de l’Ontario.
  • En 2016, parmi les langues maternelles parlées par plus de 40,000 Ontariens (25), celles qui ont progressé le plus rapidement depuis 2011 étaient l’arabe (31,0 %), l’hindi (26,5 %), le persan (24,7 %), le bengali (23,7 %), l’ourdou (21,5 %), le chinois (18,0 %) et le tagalog (17,6 %).
  • En 2016, le chinois est resté la langue maternelle non officielle la plus parlée en Ontario. Presque 628 000 personnes ont déclaré avoir une langue chinoise comme langue maternelle, soit 4,7 % de la population, une augmentation comparé à 2011 (4,1 %). Le mandarin et le cantonais représentaient 46,6 % et 46,1% de ce groupe de langues, respectivement.
  • L’italien est resté la quatrième langue maternelle la plus parlée en Ontario, mais le nombre de personnes qui parlent cette langue a baissé de 7,2 % depuis 2011. Le punjabi est monté en cinquième place, alors que l’espagnol a glissé en sixième. L’arabe est monté au septième rang. Le tagalog, l’ourdou et le portugais étaient huitième, neuvième et dixième, respectivement.

RMR de Toronto : Plus forte proportion d’allophones

  • En 2016, plus de quatre personnes sur 10 vivant dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Toronto ont déclaré avoir une langue maternelle autre que l’anglais ou le français.
  • Le groupe parlant une langue chinoise est resté le principal groupe de la RMR de Toronto qui ne parle pas une langue officielle. Ce groupe comptait 531 575 personnes, soit 19,4 % des personnes ayant déclaré que leur langue maternelle n’est ni l’anglais ni le français.
  • Le punjabi est monté en deuxième position avec 186 030 personnes, poussant l’italien en troisième place avec 164 510 personnes, suivi du tagalog (161 515 personnes) et de l’ourdou (148 625 personnes).

Autres régions métropolitaines de recensement de l’Ontario

  • Les RMR de Peterborough, Belleville et Brantford comptaient les plus fortes proportions d’anglophones au sein de leur population, soit 93,0 %, 92,1 % et 88,4 % respectivement.
  • Les RMR abritant les plus fortes proportions de francophones étaient le Grand Sudbury (26,6 %), Ottawa-Gatineau (côté Ontario) (16,3 %), Kingston (3,5 %), et Windsor et St. Catharines-Niagara (à égalité avec 3,3 %).
  • Toronto a enregistré la plus forte proportion de langues maternelles non officielles (44,7 %), suivi de Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo (24,0 %), Windsor (23,2 %) et Hamilton (22,3 %).

Municipalités de l’Ontario (population de 5 000+)

  • En 2016, parmi les municipalités comptant au moins 5 000 habitants, Markham avait la plus forte proportion de langues maternelles non officielles (62,3 %), suivi de Richmond Hill (61,0 %), Vaughan (52,0 %), Mississauga (50,2 %), Brampton (48,4 %) et Toronto (45,7 %).
  • Comparé à 2011, les proportions de langues non officielles dans ces municipalités ont augmenté, exception faite de Toronto qui a vu sa proportion diminuer légèrement.
  • Les plus fortes proportions d’anglophones ont été constatées dans les municipalités de Stone Mills (96,4 %), St. Clair (95,8 %), Georgian Bluffs et Brockton (toutes deux à 95,6 %) et le Grand Napanee (95,5 %).
  • Les plus fortes proportions de francophones se trouvaient dans les municipalités de Hearst (87,6 %), Hawkesbury (79,1 %), Alfred et Plantagenet (76,6 %), La Nation (67,5 %) et Kapuskasing (66,7 %).

15 septembre 2017

Description accessible de l’image :

Répartition de la population par langue maternelle, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre la répartition de la population ontarienne selon la langue maternelle en 2011 et en 2016. En 2011, 69,3 % de la population avait l’anglais comme langue maternelle, 4,1 % le français et 26,6 % une autre langue. En 2016, 68,2 % de la population avait l’anglais comme langue maternelle, 4,0 % le français et 27,9 % une autre langue.

Retourner au graphique

Répartition de la population selon la langue parlée à la maison

Ce diagramme illustre la répartition de la population ontarienne selon la langue parlée à la maison en 2011 et en 2016. En 2011, 81,1 % de la population parlait l’anglais à la maison, 2,4 % le français et 16,4 % une autre langue. En 2016, 80,5 % de la population parlait l’anglais à la maison, 2,3 % le français et 17,2 % une autre langue.

Retourner au graphique

Langues maternelles non officielles, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre la répartition de la population ayant une langue maternelle non officielle en Ontario en 2011 et en 2016. En 2011, 15,2 % de la population de langue maternelle non officielle avait une des langues chinoises comme langue maternelle, 7,7 % l’italien, 5,4 % l’espagnol, 5,3 % le punjabi, 4,7 % le tagalog et 61,6 % une autre langue. En 2016, 16,2 % de la population de langue maternelle non officielle avait une des langues chinoises comme langue maternelle, 6,5 % l’italien, 5,5 % le punjabi, 5,3 % l’espagnol, 5,0% l’arabe et 61,4 % une autre langue.

Retourner au graphique

Répartition de la population par langue maternelle, RMR de Toronto

Ce diagramme illustre la répartition de la population de la RMR de Toronto selon la langue maternelle en 2011 et en 2016. En 2011, 57,0 % de la population avait l’anglais comme langue maternelle, 8,2 % avait une des langues chinoises, 3,2 % l’italien, 3,0 % le punjabi, 2,5 % le tagalog, 2,3 % l’espagnol, 1,6 % le français et 22,2 % une autre langue. En 2016, 56,0 % de la population avait l’anglais comme langue maternelle, 9,0 % une des langues chinoises, 3,2 % le punjabi, 2,8 % l’italien, 2,7 % le tagalog, 2,5 % l’ourdou, 1,6 % le français et 22,2 % une autre langue.

Retourner au graphique

Répartition de la population par langue maternelle, RMR de l’Ontario, 2016

Ce diagramme montre la répartition de la population des RMR de l’Ontario selon la langue maternelle en 2016. Les RMR ayant les plus fortes proportions d’anglais comme langue maternelle étaient Belleville et Peterborough. Les RMR ayant les plus fortes proportions de français comme langue maternelle étaient le Grand Sudbury et la partie ontarienne d’Ottawa-Gatineau. Les RMR ayant les plus fortes proportions de langues maternelles non officielles étaient Toronto et Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo.

Retourner au graphique

Municipalités de l’Ontario (5 000+) ayant de fortes proportions de langues non officielles comme langues maternelles, 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les municipalités ontariennes de 5 000 résidants et plus ayant de fortes proportions de langues non officielles comme langues maternelles en 2016. Les plus fortes proportions étaient à Markham (62,3 %), Richmond Hill (61,0 %), Vaughan (52,0 %), Mississauga (50,2 %) et Brampton (48,4 %).

Retourner au graphique

Contacter Alex Munger au 416 325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l’économie du travail