2016 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 8

Immigration

This factsheet looks at immigration and citizenship information released by Statistics Canada as part of the 2016 Census.

Ontario: Highest Proportion of Foreign-born Population

  • The 2016 Census enumerated over 7.5 million foreign-born individuals in Canada, accounting for 21.9% of the total population. In Ontario, 3,852,145 foreign-born residents represented 29.1% of total population, the highest proportion among provinces. British Columbia was second at 28.3%.
  • The proportion of foreign-born individuals has been rising in Ontario since the early 1950s when it stood at 18.5%.
  • Between 2011 and 2016, Ontario’s foreign-born population increased by 6.7%, much faster than growth in the province’s Canadian-born population (+3.2%).
  • Ontario attracted 39.0% of the 1.2 million newcomers who arrived to Canada during the 2011-2016 period, in line with it’s share of the national population (38.5%).
  • According to the Census, 472,170 immigrants arrived in Ontario between 2011 and 2016. These recent newcomers made up 12.3% of the foreign-born population and 3.6% of total population in 2016.

New Immigrants Distributed More Evenly

  • While the bulk of people who immigrated to Canada prior to 2011 live in Ontario (53.4%) and British Columbia (17.7%), the distribution of recent immigrants is more even across the country.
  • Among people who immigrated to Canada between 2011 and 2016, 39.0% settled in Ontario, 17.8% in Quebec, 17.1% in Alberta, 14.5% in British Columbia, and 11.7% in the rest of the country.

Recent Immigrants Mainly from Asia

  • Asia (including the Middle East) remained by far Ontario’s largest source of immigrants between 2011 and 2016, with 68.8% of newcomers arriving from the region, up from 63.1% during the 2006-2011 period.
  • Newcomers born in Europe made up the second largest group at 9.6% of recent immigrants. Comparatively, 32.5% of foreign-born Ontarians who immigrated prior to 2011 were born in Europe.
  • The combined share of recent immigration from the Caribbean, Central and South America declined from 12.2% during 2006-11 to 9.8% over 2011-16. Africa’s share remained relatively stable at 8.3%.
  • India was the leading source country of newcomers to Ontario from 2011 to 2016, accounting for 14.7% of the total, followed by China (12.5%), the Philippines (11.3%), Pakistan (5.4%) and Iran (4.5%).

Toronto is Canada’s Major Immigrant Gateway

  • The 2016 Census enumerated 2,705,550 foreign-born individuals in the Toronto Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) in 2016, the largest number of any CMA in the country. These individuals comprised 70.2% of Ontario’s and 35.9% of Canada’s overall immigrant populations.
  • Between 2011 and 2016, the foreign-born population grew by 6.6% in the Toronto CMA, compared to 4.4% for the Canadian-born population.
  • Toronto’s foreign-born population accounted for 46.1% of its total population in 2016, up slightly from 2011 (46.0%) and still the highest share among CMAs in Canada. Vancouver came in second at 40.8%. The Hamilton CMA, at 24.1%, was fifth nationally and the second highest in Ontario.

More Than Three-Quarters of New Immigrants to Ontario Settled in the Toronto CMA

  • Of the 472,170 people who immigrated to Ontario between 2011 and 2016, an estimated 356,930, or 75.6%, chose to settle in the Toronto CMA. These recent immigrants made up 6.1% of Toronto's total population in 2016.
  • The top two source countries of recent immigrants to Toronto were India and China. Combined, these two countries accounted for more than three out of every ten newcomers to the Toronto CMA. From 2011 to 2016, 58,820 immigrants or 16.5% of all newcomers settling in the Toronto CMA were from India. An additional 49,815 newcomers, or 14.0% of the total, arrived from China.

High Share of Foreign-born Population in Municipalities Surrounding the City of Toronto

  • The City of Toronto was home to 1,266,000 foreign-born individuals in 2016, the largest number among Ontario municipalities. However, many municipalities surrounding Toronto had higher shares of foreign-born population.
  • In Markham, almost six out of 10 (58.7%) residents were born outside Canada, up from 57.9% in 2011. This was the highest proportion in Ontario and the second highest in Canada after Richmond, British Columbia (60.2%).
  • Other Toronto CMA municipalities with high shares of foreign-born population include Richmond Hill (57.4%), Mississauga (53.4%), Brampton (52.3%) and Toronto (47.0%).
  • Toronto is seeing a decline in its share of foreign-born in population, down from 50.0% in 2006.

November 2017

Accessible Image Description:

Share of Foreign-born Population in Ontario

This bar chart shows the share of foreign-born population in Ontario from 1911 to 2016. The share was 20.1% in 1911, went down to a low of 18.5% in 1951, and has been going up since to reach 29.1% in 2016.

Return to image

Provincial Distribution of Immigrants to Canada

This pie chart show the provincial distribution of immigrants to Canada. Among immigrants who arrived before 2011, 53.4% went to Ontario, 17.7% to BC, 13.8% to Quebec, 10.1% to Alberta and 5.0% to the rest of the country. Among recent immigrants, 39.0% went to Ontario, 17.8% to Quebec, 17.1% to Alberta, 14.5% to BC and 11.7% to the rest of Canada.

Return to image

Country of Birth of Foreign-born Ontarians by Period of Immigration

This pie chart show the country of birth of foreign-born Ontarians by period of immigration. Prior to 2011, 45.7% of immigrants to Ontario came from Asia, 32.5% from Europe, 6.7% from Central/South America, 6.4% from the Caribbean, 5.5% from Africa, 2.8% from North America and 0.3% from Oceania/Other. From 2011 to 2016, 68.8% of immigrants to Ontario came from Asia, 9.6% from Europe, 5.3% from Central/South America, 4.5% from the Caribbean, 8.3% from Africa, 3.1% from North America and 0.4% from Oceania/Other.

Return to image

Census Metropolitan Areas with Highest Shares of Foreign-born Population in 2016

This bar chart shows census metropolitan areas with the highest shares of foreign-born population in 2016. These were Toronto (46.1%), Vancouver (40.8%), Calgary (29.4%), Abbotsford-Mission (24.8%), Hamilton (24.1%), Winnipeg (23.9%), Edmonton (23.8%), Montreal (23.4%), Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo (23.0%) and Windsor (22.9%).

Return to image

Toronto CMA’s Share of Foreign-born Population in Ontario

This pie chart show the Toronto CMA’s share of foreign-born population in Ontario. Among immigrants before 2011, 69.5% reside in the Toronto CMA, and 30.5% in the rest of Ontario. Among recent immigrants, 75.6% reside in the Toronto CMA and 24.4% in the rest of Ontario.

Return to image

Toronto CMA Municipalities with Highest Shares of Foreign-born Population, 2011 & 2016

This bar chart shows the Toronto CMA municipalities with the highest share of foreign-born population in 2011 and 2016. From 2011 to 2016, the share in Markham went from 57.9% to 58.7%, in Richmond Hill from 54.9% to 57.4%, in Mississauga from 52.9% to 53.4%, in Brampton from 50.6% to 52.3%, in Toronto from 48.6% to 47.0%, in Vaughan from 46.4% to 46.3%, and in Ajax from 34.2% to 38.9%.

Return to image

Contact: Alex Munger (416) 325-0102

Office of Economic Policy
Labour Economics Branch

Page: 3415  |

Faits saillants du recensement 2016 : Feuille de renseignements 8

Immigration

Cette fiche d’information examine les données du recensement de 2016 sur l’immigration et la citoyenneté publiées par Statistique Canada.

Proportion de personnes nées à l’étranger en Ontario

  • Selon le recensement de 2016, il y avait quelque 7,5 millions de personnes nées à l’étranger au Canada, représentant 21,9 % de la population totale. En Ontario, les 3 852 145 personnes nées à l’étranger représentaient 29,1 % de l'ensemble de la population, soit plus que dans toutes les autres provinces. La Colombie-Britannique arrivait au deuxième rang avec 28,3 %.
  • La proportion de personnes nées à l’étranger est en augmentation en Ontario depuis le début des années 1950, alors qu’elle était de 18,5 %.
  • Entre 2011 et 2016, le nombre de personnes vivant en Ontario et nées à l’étranger s’est accru de 6,7 %, par rapport à 3,2 % pour les personnes nées au Canada.
  • L’Ontario a attiré 39,0 % des 1,2 million nouveaux immigrants arrivés au Canada entre 2011 et 2016, une proportion similaire à la part Ontarienne de la population nationale (38,5 %).
  • D’après le recensement, 472 170 immigrants sont arrivés en Ontario entre 2011 et 2016. Ces nouveaux arrivants représentaient 12,3 % des personnes nées à l’étranger et 3,6 % de l'ensemble de la population en 2016.

Immigrants récents distribués plus également

  • Bien que la grande majorité des immigrants arrivés au Canada avant 2011 résident en Ontario (53,4 %) et en Colombie-Britannique (17,7 %), la répartition géographique des immigrants récents est plus juste au niveau national.
  • Parmi les immigrants arrivés au Canada entre 2011 et 2016, 39,0 % se sont installés en Ontario, 17,8 % au Québec, 17,1 % en Alberta, 14,5 % en Colombie-Britannique et 11,7 % dans le reste du pays.

Immigrants récents principalement originaires d’Asie

  • L’Asie (y compris le Moyen-Orient) est restée la source la plus importante d’immigrants pour l’Ontario. Entre 2011 et 2016, 68,8 % des nouveaux arrivants étaient originaires de cette région, contre 63,1 % entre 2006 et 2011.
  • Les nouveaux arrivants nés en Europe formaient le deuxième groupe le plus important d’immigrants récents avec 9,6 %, comparativement à 32,5 % des immigrants arrivés avant 2011.
  • Prise globalement, la proportion d’immigrants récents venant des Caraïbes et d’Amérique centrale et du Sud a diminué, passant de 12,2 % entre 2006 et 2011 à 9,8 % de 2011 à 2016. La part venant d’Afrique est demeurée relativement stable à 8,3 %.
  • Entre 2011 et 2016, l’Inde était le principal pays source de nouveaux arrivants qui se sont établis en Ontario (14,7 % des immigrants récents), suivie par la Chine (12,5 %), les Philippines (11,3 %) , le Pakistan (5,4 %) et l’Iran (4,5 %).

Toronto est la principale porte d’entrée des immigrants au Canada

  • Selon le recensement de 2016, il y avait 2 705 550 personnes nées à l’étranger à Toronto, soit plus que dans n’importe quelle autre région métropolitaine du pays. Ces personnes représentaient 70,2 % de la population immigrante de l’Ontario et 35,9 % de celle du Canada.
  • Entre 2011 et 2016, le nombre de personnes nées à l’étranger s’est accru de 6,6 % dans la région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR) de Toronto, par rapport à 4,4 % pour les personnes nées Canada.
  • En 2016, les personnes nées à l’étranger vivant à Toronto représentaient 46,1 % de l'ensemble de sa population, une faible hausse comparativement à 2011 (46,0 %), et le pourcentage le plus élevé de toutes les RMR au Canada. Vancouver était en deuxième place avec 40,8 %. La RMR de Hamilton, avec 24,4 %, était la cinquième au pays et la deuxième en Ontario.

Plus des trois quarts des nouveaux immigrants de l’Ontario se sont installés dans la RMR de Toronto

  • Parmi les 472 170 personnes nées à l’étranger qui ont immigré en Ontario entre 2011 et 2016, environ 356 930 (75,6 %) ont décidé de s’établir dans la RMR de Toronto. Ces immigrants récents représentaient 6,1 % de l'ensemble de la population de Toronto en 2016.
  • Les deux principaux pays sources d’immigrants récents étaient l’Inde et la Chine. Ensemble, ces deux pays ont représenté près de trois nouveaux arrivants sur dix dans la RMR de Toronto. 58 820 immigrants, soit 16,5 % de l'ensemble des nouveaux arrivants dans la RMR de Toronto venaient d’Inde. Un nombre supplémentaire de 49 815 nouveaux arrivants, soit 14,0 % du total, étaient originaires de Chine.

Proportion importante de personnes nées à l’étranger vivant dans les municipalités autour de la ville de Toronto

  • En 2016, la ville de Toronto abritait 1 266 000 personnes nées à l’étranger, soit plus que n’importe quelle autre municipalité de la province. Cependant, d’autres municipalités autour de Toronto comptent de plus fortes proportions de personnes nées à l’étranger.
  • En 2016, presque six habitants de Markham sur dix (58,7 %) étaient nés à l’étranger, soit plus que partout ailleurs en Ontario et la deuxième plus haute proportion au Canada après Richmond en Colombie-Britannique (60,2 %); en 2011, ce pourcentage était de 57,9 % à Markham.
  • Les autres municipalités de la RMR de Toronto abritant de fortes proportions de personnes nées à l’étranger étaient Richmond Hill (57,4 %), Mississauga (53,4 %), Brampton (52,3 %) et Toronto (47,0 %).
  • Toronto enregistre une chute de la proportion de personnes nées à l’étranger par rapport à l’ensemble de la population, en baisse par rapport à 50,0 % en 2006.

Novembre 2017

Description accessible de l’image :

Proportion de la population de l’Ontario née à l’étranger

Ce diagramme illustre la proportion de la population de l’Ontario née à l’étranger de 1911 à 2016. En 1911 la part était de 20,1 %, suivie d’une diminution jusqu’à 18,5 % en 1951 et d’une augmentation jusqu’en 2016 à 29,1 %.

Retourner au graphique

Distribution des immigrants au Canada par province

Ce diagramme illustre la distribution des immigrants au Canada par province. Parmi les immigrants qui sont arrivés avant 2011, 53,4 % sont allés en Ontario, 17,7 % en Colombie-Britannique, 13,8 % au Québec, 10,1 % en Alberta et 5,0 % dans le reste du pays. Parmi les immigrants récents, 39,0 % sont allés en Ontario, 17,8 % au Québec, 17,1 % en Alberta, 14,5 % en Colombie-Britannique et 11,7 % dans le reste du Canada.

Retourner au graphique

Proportion d’immigrants récents en Ontario par région d’origine

Ce diagramme illustre la proportion d’immigrants en Ontario par région d’origine. Parmi les immigrants d’avant 2011, 45,7 % venaient d’Asie, 32,5 % d’Europe, 6,7 % d’Amérique Centrale/du Sud, 6,4 % des Caraïbes, 5,5 % d’Afrique, 2,8 % d’Amérique du Nord et 0,3 % d’Océanie/Autre. Parmi les immigrants d’entre 2011 et 2016, 68,8 % venaient d’Asie, 9,6 % d’Europe, 5,3 % d’Amérique Centrale/du Sud, 4,5 % des Caraïbes, 8,3 % d’Afrique, 3,1 % d’Amérique du Nord et 0,4 % d’Océanie/Autre.

Retourner au graphique

Régions métropolitaines de recensement abritant les plus fortes proportions de personnes nées à l’étranger en 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les régions métropolitaines de recensement abritant les plus fortes proportions de personnes nées à l’étranger en 2016 : Toronto (46,1 %), Vancouver (40,8 %), Calgary (29,4 %), Abbotsford-Mission (24,8 %), Hamilton (24,1 %), Winnipeg (23,9 %), Edmonton (23,8 %), Montréal (23,4 %), Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo (23,0 %) et Windsor (22,9 %).

Retourner au graphique

Pourcentage de la population de la RMR de Toronto née à l’étranger par rapport au reste de l’Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre le pourcentage de la population de l’Ontario née à l’étranger vivant dans la RMR de Toronto et dans le reste de l’Ontario. Parmi les immigrants d’avant 2011, 69,5 % résident dans la RMR de Toronto et 30,5 % dans le reste de la province. Parmi les immigrants d’entre 2011 et 2016, 75,6 % résident dans la RMR de Toronto et 24,4 % dans le reste de la province.

Retourner au graphique

Municipalités de la RMR de Toronto ayant le plus grand pourcentage de personnes nées à l’étranger, 2011 et 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les municipalités de la RMR de Toronto ayant le plus grand pourcentage de personnes nées à l’étranger. De 2011 à 2016, la part a changé à Markham de 57,9 % à 58,7 %, à Richmond Hill de 54,9 % à 57,4 %, à Mississauga de 52,9 % à 53,4 %, à Brampton de 50,6 % à 52,3 %, à Toronto de 48,6 % à 47,0 %, à Vaughan de 46,4 % à 46,3 %, et à Ajax de 34,2 % à 38,9 %.

Retourner au graphique

Contacter Alex Munger au 416 325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l’économie du travail