2016 CENSUS HIGHLIGHTS: Factsheet 9

Ethnic Origin and Visible Minorities

This factsheet looks at data on ethnic origin and visible minorities released by Statistics Canada as part of the 2016 Census. In the Census, visible minorities are defined as persons who are non-Caucasian in race or non-white in colour and who do not report being Aboriginal.

Ontario’s Population is Highly Diverse

  • Ethnic origin refers to the ethnic or cultural origins of the respondent’s ancestors. About 250 ethnic origins were reported by Ontarians in the 2016 Census.
  • The ethnic origin most often reported in Ontario was Canadian, either alone or in combination with others.
  • Canadian (3,109,770) was followed by English (2,808,810), Scottish (2,107,290), Irish (2,095,465), French (1,349,255), German (1,189,670), Italian (931,805), Chinese (849,340), East Indian (774,495) and Dutch (527,750).
  • Among the top 10 ethnic origins, only English and French saw numerical declines between 2011 and 2016.

Almost Three in Ten Ontarians Identify as Visible Minorities

  • In 2016, 3,885,585 Ontarians identified as members of the visible minority population.
  • These individuals comprised 29.3% of Ontario’s total population and represented more than half of Canada’s total visible minorities (7.7 million).
  • The bulk of the visible minority population live in Census Metropolitan Areas, including 3.0 million in Toronto.
  • Between 2011 and 2016, Ontario’s visible minority population increased by 18.5%, while the population not belonging to a visible minority group declined by 0.2%. Ontario’s 374,395 people who self-identified as Aboriginal are not counted as part of the visible minority population.
  • Of the 3.9 million Ontarians who identified as visible minority, more than one-third (36.5%) were born in Canada, while 63.5% were born outside Canada.

South Asian Was the Largest Visible Minority

  • Combined, the four largest visible minority groups in 2016 –South Asian, Chinese, Black and Filipino– accounted for almost three-quarters (73.2%) of visible minorities.
  • South Asian was the single largest visible minority group, accounting for 29.6% of visible minorities and 8.7% of Ontario’s total population. Chinese was second (19.4%), followed by Black (16.2%), Filipino (8.0%), Arab (5.4%) Latin American (5.0%) and West Asian (4.0%).
  • Between 2011 and 2016, the fastest-growing groups were Arab (+39%), Multiple Visible Minority (+33%), and West Asian (+26%). The groups to add the most people were South Asian (+184,420) and Chinese (+125,410).

Visible Minorities in Ontario’s CMAs

  • In 2016, nearly all (98.3%) of Ontario’s visible minorities lived in Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs). They comprised 35.3% of the province’s total CMA population.
  • The Toronto CMA was home to 3,011,905 people identifying as visible minorities or 51.4% of its population, the first census above the 50% mark. This represented 77.5% of Ontario’s total visible minority population.
  • Ottawa-Gatineau (Ontario part) had the second highest proportion (25.0%) of visible minorities among all the 16 CMAs of the province.
  • Windsor ranked third (20.5%), followed by Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo (19.3%) and Hamilton (17.7%).
  • Greater Sudbury (3.7%), Thunder Bay (4.0%) and Belleville (4.1%) were the Ontario CMAs with the lowest proportions of visible minority population.

South Asians: Toronto CMA’s Largest Visible Minority

  • South Asians represented 32.3% of all visible minorities in the Toronto CMA. They accounted for 84.6% of all South Asians in Ontario.
  • The Chinese made up 21.0% of Toronto’s visible minorities and 10.8% of its total population; Black people made up 14.7% of the CMA’s visible minorities and 7.5% of its population; while Filipinos made up 8.4% of the CMA’s visible minorities and 4.3% of it’s total population.

Markham and Brampton Have the Highest Proportions of Visible Minorities Among Ontario Municipalities

  • Town of Markham had the highest proportion of visible minorities in Canada. Visible minorities accounted for over three quarters (77.9%) of its population, up from 72.3% in 2011. About 45.1% of Markham’s population was of Chinese origin and 17.8% South Asian.
  • In Brampton, visible minorities represented 73.3% of the population, the second highest in Ontario. South Asians comprised 44.3% of Brampton’s population.
  • In Richmond Hill, visible minorities represented 60.0% of the population, the third highest in Ontario. People of Chinese origin comprised 29.4% of Richmond Hill’s population.
  • In Mississauga, visible minorities represented 57.2% of the population, the fourth highest in Ontario. South Asians comprised 23.2% of Mississauga’s population.
  • In Ajax, visible minorities represented 56.7% of the population, the fifth highest in Ontario. South Asians, the largest visible minority, comprised 20.9% of Ajax’s population.

November 2017

Accessible Image Description:

Top 10 Ethnic Origins, Ontario

This bar chart shows the top 10 ethnic origins in Ontario. The top origin was Canadian with over 3 million people, followed by English, Scottish and Irish (all 3 above 2 million), French at 1,349,000, followed by German, Italian, Chinese, East Indian, and Dutch.

Return to image

Share of Visible Minority in the Population

This bar chart shows the share of visible minority population by province. For Canada the share was 22.3%. The highest shares among provinces were in B.C. (30.3%), Ontario (29.3%) and Alberta (23.5%). The share in Quebec was 13.0%. The lowest was in New Brunswick at 3.4%.

Return to image

Visible Minorities in Ontario, 2016

This pie chart shows the distribution of visible minorities in Ontario in 2016: South Asian at 29.6%, Chinese at 19.4%, Black at 16.2%, Filipino at 8.0%, Arab at 5.4%, Latin American at 5.0%, West Asian at 4.0%, Southeast Asian at 3.4%, Korean at 2.3%, Japanese at 0.8%, multiple visible minority at 3.3% and visible minority not identified elsewhere at 2.5%.

Return to image

Proportion of Visible Minorities, Ontario CMAs, 2016

This bar chart shows the proportion of visible minorities in Ontario CMAs in 2016. The total for Ontario as a whole was 29.3%, and for all CMAs 35.3%. Toronto at 51.4%, Ottawa-Gatineau at 25.0% and Windsor at 20.5% were highest. Thunder Bay at 4.0% and Greater Sudbury at 3.7% were lowest.

Return to image

Visible Minorities in the Toronto CMA, 2016

This pie chart shows visible minorities in the Toronto CMA in 2016. 48.6% were not a visible minority, 16.6% were South Asian, 10.8% were Chinese, 7.5% were Black, 4.3% were Filipino and 12.1% were other visible minorities.

Return to image

Highest Proportions of Visible Minorities, Ontario Municipalities (5,000+), 2016

This bar chart shows the highest proportions of visible minorities among Ontario municipalities in 2016. The highest were in Markham (77.9%), Brampton (73.3%), Richmond Hill (60.0%), Mississauga (57.2%), Ajax (56.7%) and Toronto (51.5%).

Return to image

Contact: Alex Munger (416) 325-0102

Office of Economic Policy
Labour Economics Branch

Faits saillants du recensement 2016 : Feuille de renseignements 9

Origines ethniques et minorités visibles

Cette fiche d’information examine les données sur les origines ethniques et les minorités visibles publiées par Statistique Canada dans le cadre du recensement de 2016. Dans le recensement, les minorités visibles sont définies comme des personnes qui ne sont pas de race blanche ou qui n'ont pas la peau blanche et qui ne se disent pas Autochtones.

La population de l’Ontario est très diversifiée

  • L’origine ethnique s’entend des origines ethniques ou culturelles des ancêtres des répondants. Au total, près de 250 origines ethniques ont été déclarées par les Ontariens dans le cadre du recensement de 2016.
  • L’origine ethnique la plus souvent déclarée en Ontario était « canadien », seule ou mêlée à d’autres origines.
  • Canadien (3 109 770) était suivie par anglais (2 808 810), écossais (2 107 290), irlandais (2 095 465), français (1 349 255), allemand (1 189 670), italien (931 805), chinois (849 340), indien de l’Inde (774 495) et hollandais (527 750).
  • Parmi les 10 principales origines ethniques, seulement anglais et français ont subi un déclin numérique entre 2011 et 2016.

Un Ontarien sur quatre est membre de la population des minorités visibles

  • En 2016, 3 885 585 Ontariens ont déclaré faire partie de la population des minorités visibles.
  • Ces personnes représentaient 29,3 % de l'ensemble de la population de l’Ontario et plus de la moitié de la totalité des minorités visibles du Canada (7,7 millions de personnes).
  • La vaste majorité des minorités visibles vit dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement, incluant 3 million à Toronto.
  • Entre 2011 et 2016, la population des minorités visibles de l’Ontario s’est accrue de 18,5 %, alors que la population ne faisant pas partie des minorités visible a chuté de 0,2 %. Les 374 395 personnes qui vivent en Ontario et ont dit être des Autochtones ne sont pas incluses dans la population des minorités visibles.
  • Sur les 3,9 millions d’Ontariens qui se sont déclarés membres de la population des minorités visibles, plus du tiers (36,5 %) sont nées au Canada, tandis que 63,5 % sont nées dans un autre pays.

Les Sud-Asiatiques formaient la plus grande minorité visible

  • En 2016, pris globalement, les quatre groupes de minorités visibles les plus importants – Sud-Asiatique, Chinois, Noir et Philippin – comptaient pour près des trois quarts (73,2 %) des minorités visibles.
  • Le groupe Sud-Asiatique comptait le plus grand nombre de personnes, représentant 29,6 % de toutes les minorités visibles et 8,7 % de l'ensemble de la population de l’Ontario. Chinois (19,4 %) arrivait second, suivi de Noir (16,2 %), Philippin (8,0 %) , Arabe (5,4 %), Latino-Américain (5,0 %) et Asiatique occidental (4,0 %).
  • Entre 2011 et 2016, les groupes à la croissance la plus rapide étaient Arabe (+39 %), Minorités visibles multiples (+33 %) et Asiatique occidental (+26 %). Les groups qui ont augmenté le plus numériquement étaient Sud-Asiatique (+184 420) et Chinois (+125 410).

Minorités visibles dans les RMR de l’Ontario

  • En 2016, près de la totalité (98,3 %) des minorités visibles de l’Ontario vivaient dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR). Elles constituaient 35,3 % de l'ensemble de la population des RMR de la province.
  • La RMR de Toronto abritait 3 011 905 minorités visibles qui représentaient 51,4 % de sa population, soit 77,5 % de l'ensemble des minorités visibles de l’Ontario.
  • Ottawa-Gatineau (côté Ontario) affichait la deuxième plus importante proportion (25,0 %) de minorités visibles parmi les 16 RMR de la province.
  • Windsor a enregistré la troisième plus forte proportion de minorités visibles (20,5 %), suivi de Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo (19,3 %) et Hamilton (17,7 %).
  • Le Grand Sudbury (3,7 %), Thunder Bay (4,0 %) et Belleville (4,1 %) étaient les RMR de l’Ontario ayant les plus faibles proportions de minorités visibles.

Sud-Asiatiques: la plus importante minorité visible de la RMR de Toronto

  • Les Sud-Asiatiques vivant à Toronto représentaient 32,3 % de l'ensemble des minorités visibles de la RMR et 84,6 % du total des Sud-Asiatiques de l’Ontario.
  • Les Chinois représentaient 21,0 % des minorités visibles de Toronto et 10,8 % de l'ensemble de sa population. Les Noirs formaient 14,7 % des minorités visibles de la RMR et 7,5 % de l'ensemble de sa population. Les Philippins formaient 8,4 % des minorités visibles de la RMR de Toronto et 4,3 % de l'ensemble de sa population.

Markham et Brampton affichent les plus fortes proportions de minorités visibles parmi les municipalités ontariennes

  • La ville de Markham avait la plus forte proportion de minorités visibles du Canada. Les minorités visibles représentaient plus des trois quarts (77,9 %) de sa population, contre 72,3 % en 2011. Environ 45,1 % des minorités visibles de Markham était Chinoises et 17,8 % était Sud-Asiatiques.
  • À Brampton, les minorités visibles représentaient 73,3 % de la population, se plaçant en deuxième place parmi les municipalités de l’Ontario. Les Sud-Asiatiques constituaient 44,3 % de la population de Brampton.
  • À Richmond Hill, les minorités visibles représentaient 60,0 % de la population, la troisième plus forte proportion de la province. Les Chinois constituaient 29,4 % de la population de Richmond Hill.
  • À Mississauga, les minorités visibles représentaient 57,2 % de la population, la quatrième plus forte proportion de la province. Les Sud-Asiatiques constituaient 23,2 % de la population de Mississauga.
  • À Ajax, les minorités visibles représentaient 56,7 % de la population, la cinquième plus forte proportion de la province. Les Sud-Asiatiques, la plus grande minorité visible à Ajax, constituaient 20,9 % de la population.

Novembre 2017

Description accessible de l’image :

10 principales origines ethniques, Ontario

Ce diagramme illustre les 10 principales origines ethniques en Ontario. La première était Canadien à plus de 3 millions de personnes, suivie d’Anglais, Écossais et Irlandais (toutes trois au-dessus des 2 millions), Français à 1 349 000, puis Allemand, Italien, Chinois, Indien de l’Inde et Hollandais.

Retourner au graphique

Pourcentage de minorités visibles dans la population

Ce diagramme illustre le pourcentage de minorités visibles dans la population des provinces. Le taux était de 22,3 % au Canada. Parmi les provinces, les plus haut taux étaient en Colombie-Britannique (30,3 %), en Ontario (29,3 %) et en Alberta (23,5 %). Le taux au Québec était de 13,0 %. Le plus bas taux était au Nouveau-Brunswick avec 3,4 %.

Retourner au graphique

Minorités visibles, Ontario, 2016

Ce diagramme illustre la proportion des différentes minorités visibles en Ontario en 2016 : Sud-Asiatique à 29,6 %, Chinois à 19,4 %, Noirs à 16,2 %, Philippins à 8,0 %, Arabes à 5,4 %, Latino-Américains à 5,0 %, Asiatiques occidentaux à 4,0 %, Asiatiques du Sud-Est à 3,4 %, Coréens à 2,3 %, Japonais à 0,8 %, minorités visibles multiples à 3,3 % et minorités visibles non incluses ailleurs à 2,5 %.

Retourner au graphique

Proportions de minorités visibles, RMR de l’Ontario, 2016

Ce diagramme illustre la proportion de minorités visibles dans les RMR de l’Ontario en 2016. Pour la province en entier le taux était de 29,3 %, alors qu’il était de 35,3 % pour l’ensemble des RMR. Les plus haut taux étaient à Toronto (51,4 %), Ottawa-Gatineau (25,0 %) et Windsor (20,5 %). Les plus bas taux étaient à Thunder Bay (4,0 %) et dans le Grand Sudbury (3,7 %).

Retourner au graphique

Principales minorités visibles, RMR de Toronto, 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les principales minorités visibles de la RMR de Toronto. 48,6 % n’étaient pas une minorité visible, 16,6 % étaient Sud Asiatiques, 10,8 % étaient Chinois, 7,5 % étaient Noirs, 4,3 % étaient Philippins et 12,1 % faisaient partie d’autres minorités visibles.

Retourner au graphique

Municipalités de l’Ontario (5 000+) ayant les plus fortes proportions de minorités visibles, 2016

Ce diagramme illustre les municipalités de l’Ontario ayant les plus fortes proportions de minorités visibles en 2016. Les plus haut taux étaient dans les municipalités de Markham (77,9 %), Brampton (73,3 %), Richmond Hill (60,0 %), Mississauga (57,2 %), Ajax (56,7 %) et Toronto (51,5 %).

Retourner au graphique

Contacter Alex Munger au 416 325-0102

Bureau des politiques économiques
Direction de l’économie du travail