In accordance with the Fiscal Transparency and Accountability Act, 2004, this report presents a long-range assessment of Ontario’s economic and fiscal environment.

Since the government’s first report, much has changed. Ontario’s population has risen from 12.5 million to 13 million people. The number of Ontario seniors (those over 65) has gone from 1.6 million to 1.8 million. At the same time, we’ve seen many Ontario industries face significant challenges. The slowing U.S. economy, rising oil prices and a higher-than-anticipated Canadian dollar affected growth — particularly in the manufacturing and resource sectors. The auto sector has seen a dramatic shift in employment.

Global economic crisis affected Ontario

In the fall of 2008, Ontario, like most other jurisdictions, began to experience the impacts of a global economic crisis. The effect on Ontario individuals, families and businesses was, and continues to be, profound.

While no jurisdiction, including Ontario, was able to predict this crisis, it dramatically underlined the importance of being able to adapt to challenging times. Governments have a responsibility to lead and to respond to broader forces. While the government cannot reverse the flow of globalization, undo the recession or stop population aging, it can take the necessary steps towards improving Ontario’s prospects.

Leading the province forward

This report both outlines and underlines the importance of adapting to a new economic reality. To ensure that Ontario’s productivity and competitiveness continue to improve, the McGuinty government has taken significant steps to lead the province forward. In 2009, the government announced a comprehensive tax package that will help create jobs and make Ontario more competitive. The government is also modernizing the province’s infrastructure and building a stronger workforce with full-day learning for four- and five-year-olds.

The goal of this report is to better understand what Ontario will be facing in the coming years. It outlines Ontario’s anticipated demographic changes, economic projections and the implications for public services. Finally, it summarizes the government’s efforts to improve public infrastructure and to position Ontario for a prosperous and sustainable future.

CONTENT OF REPORT

This report has six chapters including an overview of the major challenges and issues that Ontario may face as well as the actions the government is taking now to prepare the province for the future.

Chapter 1: Demographic Trends and Projections

Key trends identified

Demographic change has a significant impact on Ontario’s long-term economic and fiscal outlook. This chapter highlights demographic trends over the past two decades. It also provides population projections for the next 20 years and discusses some of the implications of those projections. This chapter identifies five key trends:

  • population growth will be healthy but the pace will moderate;
  • immigration will account for a predominant and rising share of population growth;
  • seniors will make up a much larger share of the population;
  • working-age population growth will slow; and
  • large urban centres will experience the fastest rate of population growth.

Chapter 2: Long-Term Ontario Economic Projection

Long-term economic growth projected

This chapter provides a projection of Ontario’s macroeconomic growth over the 2010 to 2030 period.

The chapter discusses:

  • the fundamental determinants of long-term economic capacity — the supply of labour, the stock of capital and productivity;
  • the key external factors that affect economic performance, including the performance of the economy in other jurisdictions, commodity prices, the Canadian dollar exchange rate and interest rates;
  • details of the long-term economic projection for Ontario;
  • risks to the economic projection; and
  • the perspective of other jurisdictions regarding long-term economic growth.

Chapter 3: Long-Term Sustainability of Ontario Public Services

Demand for public services

Chapter 3 looks at the implications of the economic and demographic projections discussed in previous chapters on the demand for public services. It examines:

  • demand for health care, education and training, children’s and social services, and other government programs;
  • the implications of an aging population for government revenues;
  • other jurisdictions’ long-term perspectives; and
  • fiscal sustainability.

Chapter 4: Modernizing Ontario’s Tax System for Jobs and Growth

Modernizing Ontario’s tax system

The McGuinty government has taken action to help better prepare Ontario for a changing economy both now and for the long term. The comprehensive tax package announced in the 2009 Budget creates a more modern tax system that will better support long-term economic growth, create more jobs, raise incomes and help sustain the public services Ontarians rely on.

Chapter 4 discusses how the comprehensive tax package promotes jobs and growth through:

  • sales tax harmonization;
  • tax relief for people; and
  • tax relief for business.

Chapter 5: Addressing Ontario’s Infrastructure Gap

Ontario addresses infrastructure challenges

Good public infrastructure can boost Ontario’s productivity, encourage investment, lower business costs and improve travel times. Growing urban populations, an expanding economy and climate change will increase the demand for infrastructure. This chapter outlines the Province’s response to these infrastructure challenges by discussing:

  • how infrastructure stimulus investments, ReNew Ontario and other measures are laying a foundation for future productivity and economic growth; and
  • how key provincial investments now will better prepare Ontario for its future infrastructure needs.

Chapter 6: Towards a Prosperous and Sustainable Future

Improving productivity and growth

This chapter outlines some of the government’s policies aimed at improving Ontario’s productivity and economic growth over the long term. These include:

  • modernizing the tax system to strengthen the long-term competitiveness of Ontario’s economy by lessening the tax burden on income and investment;
  • reducing regulatory barriers to innovation and economic growth by looking at ways to simplify and modernize the government’s relationship with business;
  • investing in infrastructure to create jobs today while increasing Ontario’s productive capacity for the future;
  • investing in knowledge and skills as building blocks to competitiveness;
  • building environmental sustainability into Ontario’s economic growth;
  • fostering innovation and a knowledge-based economy, particularly in advanced manufacturing, information and communications technology, business and financial services, entertainment and creative industries, and life sciences; and
  • partnering with key sectors for economic diversity.

Fostering innovation and a knowledge economy

While this paper is a summary of work and analysis on the major issues that face Ontario, it is not a fiscal plan or an economic prediction. It is a guide to what might happen; a considered list of what to pay attention to in the long term. The non-historical and forward-looking statements here are not guarantees of future performance and involve certain risks and uncertainties that are difficult to predict. Actual future results and trends may differ from what is presented.

Table of Contents

Conformément à la Loi de 2004 sur la transparence et la responsabilité financières, le présent rapport fournit une évaluation à long terme de la situation économique et financière de l’Ontario.

Les choses ont bien changé depuis la publication du premier rapport du gouvernement. La population de l’Ontario est passée de 12,5 millions à 13 millions d’habitants. Le nombre de personnes âgées (celles qui ont plus de 65 ans) est passé de 1,6 million à 1,8 million dans la province. En outre, un grand nombre d’industries ontariennes ont dû relever des défis de taille. Le ralentissement de l’économie américaine, la hausse des prix du pétrole et l’appréciation plus forte que prévu du dollar canadien ont eu une incidence négative sur la croissance, particulièrement dans les secteurs manufacturier et des ressources. Enfin, l’emploi dans le secteur de l’automobile a connu de nombreux bouleversements.

L’Ontario a été affecté par la crise économique mondiale

À l’automne 2008, l’Ontario, comme la plupart des autres territoires, a commencé à subir les répercussions de la crise économique mondiale. Ces effets sur les particuliers, les familles et les entreprises de la province ont été et demeurent très prononcés.

Aucun territoire, y compris l’Ontario, n’avait prévu cette crise, ce qui témoigne de l’importance d’être en mesure de s’adapter aux difficultés qui se présentent. Les gouvernements ont la responsabilité de prendre l’initiative et de réagir aux effets des forces en présence. Le gouvernement ne peut mettre fin à la mondialisation ou à la récession ni empêcher le vieillissement de la population, mais il peut prendre les mesures nécessaires pour améliorer les perspectives de l’Ontario.

Faire progresser la province

Le présent rapport décrit et souligne l’importance de s’adapter à la nouvelle réalité économique. Le gouvernement McGuinty a pris des mesures importantes pour s’assurer que la productivité et la compétitivité de l’Ontario continuent de s’améliorer et faire progresser la province. En 2009, il a annoncé un train détaillé de mesures fiscales qui contribueront à créer des emplois et à améliorer la compétitivité de l’Ontario. De plus, il modernise l’infrastructure de la province et renforce la main‑d’oeuvre en mettant en oeuvre un programme d’apprentissage à temps plein pour les enfants de quatre et cinq ans.

Le présent rapport a pour but d’aider le lecteur à comprendre ce à quoi l’Ontario fera face au cours des prochaines années. Il décrit les changements démographiques prévus dans la province, les projections économiques et les effets sur les services publics. Enfin, il résume les efforts déployés par le gouvernement afin d’améliorer l’infrastructure publique et de mettre l’Ontario sur la voie d’un avenir prospère et durable.

Le rapport comporte six chapitres et un aperçu des plus importants défis et enjeux auxquels l’Ontario pourrait être confronté, ainsi que des mesures que prend le gouvernement pour aider la province à se préparer à l’avenir.

Chapitre 1 : Tendances et projections démographiques

Principales tendances

Les changements démographiques ont une incidence considérable sur les perspectives économiques et financières à long terme de l’Ontario. Ce chapitre présente les tendances démographiques des deux dernières décennies et les projections démographiques pour les 20 prochaines années, ainsi que certaines des conséquences de ces projections. Il fait état de cinq tendances principales :

  • la croissance démographique sera bonne, mais le rythme de croissance se modérera;
  • une partie prédominante et de plus en plus grande de la croissance démographique sera attribuable à l’immigration;
  • les personnes âgées représenteront une partie beaucoup plus importante de la population;
  • la croissance de la population d’âge actif ralentira;
  • le rythme de croissance démographique sera le plus élevé dans les grands centres urbains.

Chapitre 2 : Projections économiques à long terme de l’Ontario

Projections de la croissance économique à long terme

Ce chapitre présente des projections de la croissance macroéconomique de l’Ontario de 2010 à 2030.

Ce chapitre traite des questions suivantes :

  • les déterminants fondamentaux de la capacité économique à long terme : la main‑d’oeuvre disponible, le stock de capital et la productivité;
  • les principaux facteurs externes ayant une incidence sur le rendement de l’économie, notamment le rendement affiché par d’autres territoires, le prix des produits de base, le taux de change du dollar canadien et les taux d’intérêt;
  • les projections économiques à long terme pour l’Ontario;
  • les risques pour les projections économiques;
  • les prévisions d’autres territoires concernant la croissance économique à long terme.

Chapitre 3 : Viabilité à long terme des services publics de l’Ontario

Demande à l’égard des services publics

Le chapitre 3 porte sur les conséquences des projections économiques et démographiques présentées dans les chapitres précédents pour la demande à l’égard des services publics. Dans ce chapitre, on examine ce qui suit :

  • la demande à l’égard des services de santé, de l’éducation et de la formation, des services sociaux et à l’enfance et d’autres programmes gouvernementaux;
  • l’incidence du vieillissement de la population sur les revenus du gouvernement;
  • les perspectives à long terme d’autres territoires;
  • la viabilité budgétaire.

Chapitre 4 : Moderniser le régime fiscal de l’Ontario pour stimuler la création d’emplois et la croissance

Modernisation du régime fiscal de l’Ontario

Le gouvernement McGuinty a pris diverses mesures pour mieux préparer l’Ontario à l’évolution de l’économie, tant aujourd’hui qu’à long terme. Le train détaillé de mesures annoncées dans le budget de 2009 permet de moderniser le régime fiscal afin de favoriser la croissance économique à long terme, de créer un plus grand nombre d’emplois, de hausser les revenus et de soutenir les services publics sur lesquels la population de l’Ontario compte.

Dans le chapitre 4, on discute de la façon dont le train détaillé de mesures fiscales favorise la croissance et la création d’emplois grâce à :

  • l’harmonisation de la taxe de vente;
  • des réductions d’impôt pour les particuliers;
  • des réductions d’impôt pour les entreprises.

Chapitre 5 : Combler le déficit d’infrastructure de l’Ontario

L’Ontario relève les défis en matière d’infrastructure

Une infrastructure publique en bon état peut accroître la productivité de l’Ontario, encourager les investissements, abaisser les coûts des entreprises et réduire la durée des déplacements. L’augmentation de la population dans les zones urbaines, la croissance de l’économie et le changement climatique hausseront la demande en matière d’infrastructure. Ce chapitre décrit les mesures que la province a prises pour relever ces défis liés à l’infrastructure. On y discute des points suivants :

  • comment les investissements visant à stimuler le développement de l’infrastructure, le plan ReNouveau Ontario et diverses autres mesures jettent les assises de la productivité et de la croissance économique futures;
  • comment les investissements clés actuels de la province permettront à l’Ontario de mieux répondre à ses besoins futurs en matière d’infrastructure.

Chapitre 6 : Vers un avenir prospère et durable

Accroître la productivité et stimuler la croissance

Ce chapitre décrit certaines des politiques du gouvernement ayant pour but d’accroître la productivité et de stimuler la croissance de l’économie en Ontario à long terme. Ces politiques comprennent les mesures suivantes :

  • moderniser le régime fiscal pour renforcer la compétitivité à long terme de l’économie de l’Ontario en réduisant les impôts perçus sur le revenu et les investissements;
  • éliminer des obstacles réglementaires à l’innovation et à la croissance économique en trouvant des moyens de simplifier et de moderniser les rapports que le gouvernement entretient avec les entreprises;
  • investir dans l’infrastructure pour créer des emplois aujourd’hui tout en haussant la capacité productive future de l’Ontario;
  • investir dans les connaissances et les compétences, qui sont essentielles à la compétitivité de la province;
  • intégrer la durabilité de l’environnement à la croissance de l’économie de l’Ontario;

Favoriser l’innovation et l’économie du savoir

  • favoriser l’innovation et l’économie du savoir, particulièrement dans les domaines de la fabrication de pointe, de la technologie de l’information et des communications, des services commerciaux et financiers, des secteurs du divertissement et de la création, et des sciences de la vie;
  • collaborer avec des secteurs clés pour diversifier l’économie.

Le présent rapport résume divers travaux et analyses portant sur les principaux enjeux auxquels l’Ontario fait face, mais ce n’est pas un plan financier ni un ensemble de prévisions économiques. Il se contente de décrire ce qui pourrait arriver et de dresser la liste des questions à surveiller à long terme. Les déclarations non historiques et prospectives formulées ici ne sont pas une garantie de performance future et comportent un certain nombre de risques et d’incertitudes difficiles à prévoir. Par conséquent, les futurs résultats et tendances pourraient être différents de ce qui est présenté.

Table des matières