The Fiscal Transparency and Accountability Act, 2004, mandates that the government publish a long-term report. The legislation specifies that the report must contain:

  • A description of anticipated changes in the economy and in population demographics over the next 20 years;
  • A description of the potential impact of these changes on the public sector and on Ontario’s fiscal policy during that period; and
  • An analysis of key fiscal policy issues that, in the Minister of Finance’s opinion, are likely to affect the long-term sustainability of the economy and of the public sector.

Looking beyond Ontario’s current economic and fiscal environment allows the government to focus on long-term decision-making. The decisions it will make in the next few years will prepare Ontario to deal with the opportunities and challenges of the coming decades. While the future cannot be known in any detail, it is useful to assess the broad trends that will shape Ontario’s economic and social environment. These include:

  • An aging and more slowly growing population;
  • Intensifying global competition, especially from emerging economies;
  • Rapid technological change, with profound but uncertain impacts; and
  • Expansion of global trade, bringing cheaper goods and services to consumers.

These tendencies are likely to persist in the coming two decades. Some other factors are less certain. For example, this report anticipates that:

  • Resource prices are likely to rise as the demand from global economic growth outstrips the discovery of new supplies and the development of input-saving substitutes;
  • In the global competition for talent, Ontario’s welcoming, secure communities and attractive quality of life will continue to attract many international immigrants;
  • Interest rates will rise from historic lows as economic growth improves; and
  • Pressure on the physical environment will remain a concern and a focus of public policy.

Ontario’s economy is already transforming in response to these long-term forces. Global competition has led to the restructuring of Ontario’s manufacturing industry towards higher value-added, more advanced production. The service sector is also capturing new markets through innovation in product design and customer service. Increasingly, many services are traded internationally. Ontario’s future prosperity hinges on more firms, both goods and services producing, continuing to seize opportunities in the global market.

This report considers these and other forces that will affect Ontario between 2014 and 2035, and examines their implications for Ontario’s long-term economic and fiscal prospects. The report is divided into six chapters, and includes an overview of Ontario’s long-term productivity and retirement income security.

Chapter 1: Population and Labour Force Trends and Projections

Demographic changes have a significant impact on Ontario’s long-term economic and fiscal outlook. This chapter presents population and labour force trends unfolding in the province and discusses their potential impacts. Six key trends are identified:

  • Population growth will moderate;
  • Immigration will sustain population growth;
  • Overall population will continue to age;
  • Growth in the working-age population will slow;
  • The overall labour force participation rate will decline; and
  • Population growth will be concentrated in the Greater Toronto Area.

Population aging and slower growth of the working-age group may restrain future economic growth in the absence of significant productivity improvements, and will increase pressure on government spending, particularly on health and infrastructure. As immigration becomes the main source of labour force growth, it will be crucial to help newcomers smoothly integrate into the labour market. Greater labour force participation by older workers, youth and other underrepresented groups will be important to help mitigate slowing growth in the workforce.

Chapter 2: Long-Term Ontario Economic Projection

This chapter provides a projection of Ontario’s macroeconomic growth over the 2014 to 2035 period. The chapter discusses:

  • Key factors in the global economy that affect Ontario’s economic performance, including the performance of the U.S. and global economies, commodity prices, the Canadian dollar exchange rate and interest rates;
  • Underlying contributors that determine the Ontario economy’s long-term potential to grow, such as labour supply, productivity and the availability of public and private capital;
  • Details of the long-term economic outlook for Ontario;
  • The impact of different labour productivity assumptions on the long-term outlook; and
  • Risks to the economic projection.

The projection shows an economy that will grow somewhat more slowly than in the past, primarily as a result of slower growth in the working-age population. This moderation in the growth of available workers will be a significant challenge, but can be met by enhancing the productive capacity of the labour force through innovation, enhanced management practices, skills training and increases in investment.

Chapter 3: The Changing Shape of Ontario’s Economy

This chapter examines the changing structure of Ontario’s economy, including:

  • Global economic restructuring and the shift from goods-producing industries to advanced manufacturing and services-producing industries;
  • Challenges to and opportunities for improving Ontario’s manufacturing competitiveness;
  • The government’s response to these challenges and opportunities — helping create strong economic fundamentals to support growth;
  • The economy’s ability to adapt to new economic realities and transform for future growth; and
  • Detailed industry-specific analyses for major goods- and services-producing sectors.

Ontario’s manufacturing sector has significantly restructured in recent years due to a higher Canadian dollar, increased competition from lower-cost jurisdictions, slower U.S. growth, and slower gains in productivity compared to the United States. However, many Ontario manufacturers such as aerospace and food processing firms, as well as many services firms, are successfully capturing new markets by offering innovative new products and services. The government has worked to create a strong business climate built around competitive taxes, an effective regulatory system, a skilled and healthy workforce, and modern infrastructure — which will help firms and workers adapt and seize opportunities in the challenging new global economy.

Chapter 4: Long-Term Fiscal Prospects

This chapter outlines some of the impacts that Ontario’s long-term demographic and economic growth outlook could have on future demand for public services. It discusses these impacts from three perspectives:

  • The importance of fiscal sustainability for long-term delivery and protection of public services;
  • Key drivers of demand for public services: health care, education and training, children’s and social services, other government programs, and public infrastructure; and
  • The implications of fiscal sustainability from an intergovernmental perspective — in particular, the trend of federal fiscal sustainability being achieved at the expense of provinces and territories.

Ontario’s changing demographics, along with external and internal economic challenges, are expected to put pressure on the demand for public services. The government is already taking responsible steps to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of public services to ensure they are on a long-term, sustainable footing. This includes moving forward with recommendations of the Commission on the Reform of Ontario’s Public Services, and continuing to advocate for predictable and sustainable support from the federal government.

Chapter 5: Productivity in Ontario: Challenges and Opportunities

Productivity growth is a key driver of an economy’s prosperity and living standards. However, Ontario’s labour productivity growth has slowed significantly over the past decade, and the gap with the United States has widened. This chapter:

  • Reviews Ontario’s historical productivity trends;
  • Compares Ontario’s productivity growth with other jurisdictions;
  • Examines potential causes of Ontario’s lagging productivity growth;
  • Describes current government initiatives and possible future areas of policy focus to improve productivity and competitiveness; and
  • Identifies opportunities for the business sector to strengthen productivity over the long term.

As the growth of Ontario’s labour force slows, stronger productivity gains will be increasingly important to ensure future prosperity. A key challenge will be shaping government policies to support private-sector opportunities that will raise productivity growth.

Chapter 6: Retirement Income Security

A significant portion of today’s workers could experience a decline in living standards in retirement because they are not saving enough. In the absence of change, this problem will likely worsen over time. This chapter:

  • Discusses the extent of the retirement savings problem and the factors contributing to it;
  • Identifies who is most likely to have inadequate retirement savings; and
  • Describes how increasing retirement savings would have positive economic benefits.

Inadequate retirement incomes among future retirees will occur at a time when the population is aging and labour force growth is projected to slow. Taken together, these trends could create more pressure on programs directed at seniors, and an even greater transfer of resources from the younger, working-age population. Adequate personal savings, efficient investments and better access to pension plans would enable Ontarians to be better prepared financially for their retirement future.

~~~~

While this paper is a summary of work and analysis on the major issues that face Ontario, it is not a fiscal plan or an economic prediction. It is a guide to what might happen; a considered list of what to pay attention to over the long term.

Ontario is a prosperous province. The future will present both challenges and opportunities. Through hard work, the flexibility to embrace change and adapt, and by investing wisely in people, infrastructure and business climate, this prosperity can be sustained.

: Rapport sur les perspectives économiques à long terme de l’Ontario
INTRODUCTION

La Loi de 2004 sur la transparence et la responsabilité financières exige du gouvernement qu’il publie un rapport sur les perspectives économiques à long terme. La loi précise que le rapport doit comprendre :

  • une description des changements prévus dans l’économie et le profil démographique au cours des 20 prochaines années;
  • une description des retombées éventuelles de ces changements sur le secteur public et la politique budgétaire de l’Ontario au cours de cette période;
  • une analyse des enjeux financiers clés qui, de l’avis du ministre des Finances, sont susceptibles d’influer sur la soutenabilité à long terme de l’économie et du secteur public.

En faisant des prévisions quant au contexte économique et financier de l’Ontario, le gouvernement peut prendre des décisions à long terme qui prépareront l’Ontario à saisir les occasions et à relever les défis des décennies à venir. Même s’il est impossible de faire des prévisions précises, il est utile d’évaluer les grandes tendances qui façonneront le contexte socioéconomique de l’Ontario. Celles-ci englobent :

  • le vieillissement et le ralentissement de la croissance de la population;
  • l’intensification de la concurrence mondiale, particulièrement de la part des économies en émergence;
  • les changements technologiques rapides et leurs effets marqués mais incertains;
  • l’expansion des échanges commerciaux mondiaux, permettant de fournir des biens et des services moins coûteux aux consommateurs.

Ces tendances devraient se maintenir pour les deux prochaines décennies. Certains autres facteurs demeurent toutefois incertains. Par exemple, le présent rapport prévoit que :

  • le prix des ressources est susceptible d’augmenter car la découverte de nouvelles sources d’approvisionnement et le développement de substituts exigeant moins d’intrants risquent de ne pas suffire à la demande découlant de la croissance économique mondiale;
  • en ce qui a trait à la concurrence à l’échelle internationale pour attirer des talents, les collectivités accueillantes et sûres de l’Ontario ainsi que la qualité de vie qu’on y retrouve continueront d’attirer de nombreux immigrants;
  • les taux d’intérêt augmenteront par rapport au creux historique actuel à mesure que la croissance économique s’améliorera;
  • les pressions sur l’environnement physique demeureront un sujet de préoccupation et un élément central de la politique publique.

L’économie de l’Ontario se transforme déjà en réaction à ces forces à long terme. La concurrence mondiale a mené à la restructuration du secteur ontarien de la fabrication, qui a augmenté sa production de pointe à valeur ajoutée. Le secteur des services s’approprie également de nouveaux marchés grâce à l’innovation dans la conception des produits et le service à la clientèle. De plus en plus, de nombreux services sont échangés internationalement. La prospérité future de l’Ontario repose sur une augmentation du nombre d’entreprises, productrices de biens et de services, qui continuent de saisir les occasions qu’offre le marché mondial.

Le présent rapport examine ces forces et d’autres qui auront des retombées sur l’Ontario entre 2014 et 2035, ainsi que les conséquences pour les perspectives économiques et financières à long terme de l’Ontario. Il est divisé en six chapitres, et donne un aperçu de la productivité à long terme de l’Ontario et de la sécurité du revenu de retraite.

Chapitre 1 : Population et main-d’oeuvre – tendances et projections

Les changements démographiques ont des incidences considérables sur les perspectives économiques et financières à long terme de l’Ontario. Ce chapitre présente les tendances relatives à la population et à la main-d’oeuvre pour l’Ontario, ainsi qu’une analyse de leurs conséquences éventuelles. Il fait état de six grandes tendances :

  • la croissance démographique ralentira;
  • l’immigration sera le pilier de la croissance démographique;
  • le vieillissement de la population se poursuivra;
  • la croissance de la population en âge de travailler ralentira;
  • le taux global d’activité diminuera;
  • la croissance de la population se fera surtout dans la région du grand Toronto.

Le vieillissement de la population et le ralentissement de la croissance de la population en âge de travailler pourraient freiner la croissance économique future si la productivité n’augmente pas de façon importante et nécessiter une hausse des dépenses gouvernementales, particulièrement en santé et dans le domaine de l’infrastructure. Comme l’immigration devient la source principale de croissance de la main-d’oeuvre, il sera essentiel d’aider les nouveaux arrivants à s’intégrer sans heurt au marché du travail. La présence accrue des travailleurs âgés, des jeunes et des membres d’autres groupes sous-représentés sur le marché du travail sera importante pour atténuer le ralentissement de la croissance de la population active.

Chapitre 2 : Projections économiques à long terme de l’Ontario

Dans le présent chapitre, on prévoit la croissance macroéconomique de l’Ontario au cours de la période de 2014 à 2035. Ce chapitre traite des questions suivantes :

  • les principaux facteurs de l’économie mondiale ayant une incidence sur le rendement de l’économie ontarienne, notamment le rendement affiché par les États-Unis et d’autres territoires, le prix des produits de base, le taux de change du dollar canadien et les taux d’intérêt;
  • les facteurs sous-jacents qui contribuent à déterminer le potentiel de croissance à long terme de l’économie ontarienne, comme la main-d’oeuvre disponible, la productivité et la disponibilité du capital, dans les secteurs public et privé;
  • les perspectives économiques à long terme pour l’Ontario;
  • l’incidence de différentes hypothèses relatives à la productivité du travail sur les perspectives à long terme;
  • les risques pour les projections économiques.

Les projections montrent une économie plus anémique que par le passé, surtout à cause de la croissance plus lente de la population en âge de travailler. Ce ralentissement de la croissance des travailleurs disponibles représentera certes un défi considérable, mais l’Ontario pourra le relever en améliorant la capacité productive de la main-d’oeuvre par l’entremise d’innovations, de meilleures pratiques de gestion, du perfectionnement des compétences et de la majoration des investissements.

Chapitre 3 : Évolution de l’économie de l’Ontario

Ce chapitre examine la structure changeante de l’économie ontarienne, notamment :

  • la restructuration de l’économie mondiale et le passage des industries productrices de biens aux industries de fabrication et de production de services de pointe;
  • les défis et les occasions touchant l’amélioration de la compétitivité du secteur de la fabrication de l’Ontario;
  • les mesures préconisées par le gouvernement pour relever ces défis et saisir ces occasions, contribuant à créer de solides facteurs économiques fondamentaux;
  • la capacité de l’économie à s’adapter aux nouvelles réalités économiques et à se transformer pour assurer sa croissance future;
  • des analyses sectorielles détaillées concernant les principaux secteurs de production de biens et de services.

Le secteur ontarien de la fabrication s’est considérablement restructuré au cours des dernières années en raison de la vigueur du dollar canadien, de la concurrence accrue livrée par les territoires où les coûts de production sont moindres, du ralentissement de la croissance aux États-Unis et du ralentissement des gains de productivité comparativement aux États-Unis. Cependant, de nombreuses entreprises manufacturières de secteurs comme l’aérospatiale et la transformation des aliments et entreprises de services accaparent de nouveaux marchés en offrant de nouveaux produits et services novateurs. Le gouvernement a déployé des efforts pour créer un climat d’affaires solide profitant d’impôts compétitifs, d’un système de réglementation efficace, d’une main-d’oeuvre qualifiée et en santé et d’une infrastructure moderne, ce qui aidera les entreprises et les travailleurs à s’adapter aux défis de la nouvelle économie mondiale et à saisir les occasions qu’elle offre.

Chapitre 4 : Perspectives financières à long terme

Ce chapitre présente certaines des conséquences que les perspectives de croissance démographique et économique à long terme de l’Ontario pourraient avoir sur la demande future de services publics. On le fait selon trois perspectives :

  • L’importance de la viabilité financière pour assurer la prestation et la protection à long terme des services publics;
  • Les moteurs clés de la demande à l’égard des services publics, dont la santé, l’éducation et la formation, les services sociaux et les services à l’enfance, d’autres programmes gouvernementaux et l’infrastructure publique;
  • L’incidence de la viabilité financière d’un point de vue intergouvernemental, tout particulièrement la tendance selon laquelle la viabilité financière fédérale est assurée au détriment des provinces et des territoires.

L’évolution des caractéristiques démographiques de l’Ontario, conjuguée aux défis économiques externes et internes, devrait accroître la demande de services publics. Le gouvernement prend déjà des mesures responsables pour améliorer l’efficience et l’efficacité des services publics pour en assurer la viabilité à long terme. Il le fait notamment en mettant en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission de réforme des services publics de l’Ontario et en continuant de revendiquer un soutien équitable, prévisible et durable du gouvernement fédéral.

Chapitre 5 : La productivité en Ontario : Défis et possibilités

La croissance de la productivité est un moteur clé de la prospérité économique et du niveau de vie. Cependant, la croissance de la productivité du travail en Ontario a accusé un ralentissement important au cours de la dernière décennie, et l’écart avec les États-Unis s’est élargi. Ce chapitre :

  • donne un aperçu des tendances historiques en matière de productivité en Ontario;
  • compare la croissance de la productivité de l’Ontario à celle d’autres territoires;
  • examine les causes possibles du retard accusé par la productivité en Ontario;
  • décrit les initiatives gouvernementales actuelles et les futurs secteurs de politique possibles pour améliorer la productivité et la compétitivité;
  • cerne des moyens que le secteur des entreprises pourrait employer pour renforcer la productivité à long terme.

En raison du ralentissement de la croissance de la main-d’oeuvre ontarienne, les gains de productivité seront particulièrement importants pour la prospérité future de la province. L’un des principaux défis sera d’orienter les politiques gouvernementales pour qu’elles appuient les occasions de développement du secteur privé et favorisent ainsi la croissance de la productivité.

Chapitre 6 : Sécurité du revenu de retraite

Un nombre important de travailleurs d’aujourd’hui pourraient subir une baisse de leur niveau de vie à la retraite parce qu’ils n’épargnent pas assez. Faute de changement, ce problème risque de s’aggraver avec le temps. Ce chapitre :

  • examine l’ampleur du problème lié à l’épargne-retraite et les facteurs qui y contribuent;
  • identifie les personnes les plus susceptibles de ne pas épargner suffisamment pour la retraite;
  • décrit les avantages économiques possibles d’une hausse de l’épargne-retraite.

Trois tendances, à savoir l’insuffisance des revenus de retraite chez les futurs retraités, le vieillissement de la population et le ralentissement de la croissance de la main-d’oeuvre, pourraient contribuer à créer plus de pressions sur les programmes destinés aux personnes âgées et occasionner un transfert encore plus important des ressources de la population jeune et en âge de travailler. Des économies personnelles suffisantes, des placements rentables et un meilleur accès à des régimes de retraite permettraient aux Ontariennes et aux Ontariens d’être mieux préparés financièrement en vue de leur future retraite.

~~~~

Le présent rapport résume divers travaux et analyses portant sur les principaux enjeux auxquels l’Ontario fait face, mais ce n’est pas un plan financier ni un ensemble de prévisions économiques. Il se contente de décrire ce qui pourrait arriver et de dresser la liste des questions à surveiller à long terme.

L’Ontario est une province prospère. L’avenir comporte à la fois des défis et des occasions. En travaillant fort, en faisant preuve de souplesse pour s’adapter au changement et se l’approprier, et en investissant dans les gens, l’infrastructure et le climat d’affaires, nous pourrons soutenir cette prospérité.