Engagement

Public consultations: Ontario Gas Card Program Modernization: Discussion Paper

Preamble

The Ontario government is exploring options to modernize the Ontario Gas Card Program to improve service for First Nation individuals, gasoline retailers and industry stakeholders; and overall program efficiency and integrity.

Ontario respects First Nation individuals’ rights to purchase tax-exempt gasoline, and as such, is seeking a meaningful dialogue with First Nation individuals, on-reserve retailers and communities on approaches that would help to make purchasing tax exempt gasoline faster, easier and more efficient.

Ontario legislation applies gasoline tax at a rate of 14.7 cents per litre of gasoline. Qualified First Nation bands and individuals are exempt from paying this tax if they buy gasoline on-reserve for their exclusive use from an authorized on-reserve gasoline retailer. Only those on-reserve gasoline retailers who are authorized by the Ministry of Finance may sell tax-exempt gasoline to qualified First Nation bands and individuals.

The Ministry of Finance is committed to ensuring that qualified First Nation bands and individuals can purchase tax-exempt gasoline according to the provisions of the Gasoline Tax Act (GTA) The ministry must also ensure that compliance measures are in place, so that an exemption from payment of Ontario's gasoline tax is granted only to persons who are eligible. Upon application, the ministry provides each eligible First Nation band or individual with a "Certificate of Exemption," commonly referred to as a "gas card." At the time of the sale, the purchaser will present his or her gas card to the retailer.

First Nation communities have expressed concerns with the Ontario Gas Card Program such as:

  • The administrative burden of filing manual claims and long processing times for these refunds;
  • The perception that requiring First Nation individuals to use the Federal Certificate of Indian Status Card to apply for an Ontario Gas Card, and then to use the Ontario Gas Card to purchase gasoline exempt from tax is onerous and unfair; and
  • The ministry’s refusal of on-reserve gasoline retailers’ refund claims due to invalid gas cards.

Through the recent Ontario Budget and the 2015 Fall Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review, the Province committed to engaging with First Nations to seek advice on modernizing the Ontario Gas Card Program.

Context

On August 24, 2015 the Chiefs of Ontario and the Government of Ontario signed a historic Political Accord that will guide the relationship between First Nations and the province. The Accord affirms the inherent right to self-government, commits parties to work together on issues of mutual interest and sets a path for further reconciliation between First Nations and the people of Ontario.

The government is committed to developing a new relationship and continuing ongoing dialogue with First Nation communities and leaders.

Objectives

The Ministry of Finance’s main objective in engaging First Nation communities on the modernization of the Ontario Gas Card Program is to identify an approach that will minimize the burden to both individuals and businesses, while enhancing the program’s integrity.

Key components under consideration to meet this objective include:

  • Reviewing the requirements for First Nation individuals to obtain a gas card; and
  • Identifying the technology options to process refunds.

Engaging First Nation communities and industry stakeholders representing gasoline wholesalers and collectors, is essential to ensure any solution considered takes into account the impact on individuals and businesses when purchasing gasoline on reserve. This discussion paper is a first step toward initiating ongoing dialogue on current program challenges, opportunities and solutions.

By addressing inefficiencies with the Ontario Gas Card Program in collaboration with First Nation communities, Ontario aims to:

  • Respect and support First Nations’ rights to purchase tax-exempt gasoline;
  • Provide a more efficient process for First Nation individuals to purchase tax-exempt gasoline; and
  • Provide a more efficient process for First Nation gasoline retailers to obtain tax refunds.

Overview

In Ontario, there is a tax of 14.7 cents per litre on gasoline. First Nation individuals and bands do not have to pay this tax when they buy gasoline: for their own use, and from an authorized gasoline retailer on a reserve. Ontario’s Gas Tax Act applies a tax on consumers of gasoline products in Ontario, with the exception of First Nation individuals and bands (as defined in the federal Indian Act) who acquire gasoline, aviation fuel or propane on reserve for their exclusive use.

The Province requires First Nation individuals to present a valid gas card issued by the Ministry of Finance when making a purchase. The Ministry must ensure that compliance measures are in place, so that an exemption from payment of Ontario's gasoline tax is granted only to persons who are entitled. To get a gas card, you need to be a First Nation individual who has a Certificate of Indian Status card (CIS card) issued by Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), or First Nation band.

Gasoline tax is collected by ministry-designated Collectors (e.g., authorized bulk distributors or wholesalers) from First Nation on-reserve gasoline retailers who purchase gasoline (tax included) from them. Some Collectors are authorized to accept “vouchers” from retailers. These vouchers offer a credit equivalent to the taxes paid by the retailers that can be used for their next purchase of gasoline from their Collectors.  Collectors can then credit the vouchers remitted by on-reserve retailers from their taxes owed to the Province.

On-reserve gasoline retailers, in turn, sell gasoline to First Nation bands and individuals without collecting tax.  Retailers (who have not submitted vouchers directly to their Collectors) then apply for a refund from the Ministry of Finance for gasoline tax paid directly to the Collector.

Beginning in 2008, the Ministry of Finance began to offer an optional electronic service (e-service) that accepts electronic vouchers from retailers for gasoline tax refunds of tax-exempt sales to First Nation bands and individuals. The retailer may select a service provider (or act as its own service provider) that meets ministry specifications to participate in the e-service for retailers.

Approximately 28 per cent of all on-reserve retailers currently participate in the e-service option. Most First Nation gasoline retailers do not use e-service, and manually submit claims to the ministry.  Using the manual process, it can take up to forty (40) business days to receive a refund. During this time the retailer experiences an out-of-pocket expense when taxes have been paid but they have not received a refund.

For a more detailed description of the transaction process please read bulletin:

Authorized On-Reserve Gasoline Retailers: E-Service and Tax-Exempt Sales of Gasoline

Jurisdictional Perspective

There are several different approaches used in other Canadian jurisdictions to support the gasoline tax exemption.

Several provinces use the federal CIS card to verify entitlement, and use an approved electronic point of sale system for filing claims available from multiple electronic service providers.  Some of these electronic service providers offer “real time” service that enables retailers to immediately validate CIS cards.  It has been noted that the ability to validate CIS cards in real-time at point of sale has been highly beneficial for retailers and government for the purposes of decreasing the turn-around time for refunds.

Providing your input

The Ministry of Finance welcomes your input on modernizing the Ontario Gas Card Program. A number of questions are included below to help the Ministry of Finance to better understand your perspectives on the program.

You may provide your responses through regular mail to the following address or through email to the address included below by October 31, 2016:

Ontario Ministry of Finance
Program Policy and Analytics Branch
33 King Street West, 4th Floor
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
L1H 8H5

Email: GasCard.Modernization@ontario.ca

To find out more about the Ontario Gas Card Program in Ontario, please read the publication Gas Card Certificate of Exemption.

Questions:

First Nation Individuals - Gasoline Purchases:

  • Have you had any difficulties using the Ontario Gas Card to purchase tax-exempt gasoline on-reserve?  If so, please describe these difficulties.
  • What could be changed to make it easier for you to purchase tax-exempt gasoline on-reserve?
  • How could using your Certificate of Status Indian Card to purchase tax-exempt gasoline on-reserve improve the current process?
  • What do you think about the other jurisdictional approaches outlined in this paper (e.g., use of the federal CIS card to verify entitlement)?
  • Do you think there is a different way to provide the gasoline tax exemption to First Nation individuals or to First Nation communities more effectively and efficiently?
  • Do you have any other suggestions or comments that you would like to share?

First Nation On-Reserve Gasoline Retailers – Gasoline Sales:

  • Specifically, have you experienced any issues with customers’ use of the Ontario Gas Card (e.g., presenting expired cards, not presenting a card at all)? If so, please describe the issues and how you addressed the issues.
  • How do you submit tax refund applications to the Ministry of Finance (e.g., manually or through an electronic point of sale system), and what has your experience been with the process?
  • If you currently submit tax refund applications manually, would the ability to process your refunds electronically benefit your business? If so, then how?
  • In what other ways could the gasoline tax refunds be delivered to First Nation on-reserve gasoline retailers more effectively?
  • Do you have any other suggestions or comments that you would like to share?

Gasoline Collectors and Wholesalers – Gasoline Sales:

  • As a Collector or Wholesaler what general observations do you have about the current Ontario Gas Card Program?
  • Do you have any other suggestions or comments that you would like to share?

Engagement

Événements et consultations: Modernisation du Programme Ontarien des Cartes d'Essence : Document de Discussion

Préambule

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario explore divers moyens de moderniser son programme de cartes d’essence afin d’améliorer le service aux membres des Premières Nations, détaillants d’essence et intervenants de l’industrie, ainsi que l’efficacité et l’intégrité du programme dans son ensemble.

L’Ontario respecte le droit des membres des Premières Nations d’acheter de l’essence exonérée de taxe et, dans cette optique, cherche à établir un dialogue constructif avec les membres des Premières Nations, les détaillants dans les réserves et les communautés sur la meilleure façon d’accélérer, de faciliter et d’optimiser l’efficacité de ce type d’achat.

La loi ontarienne applique une taxe sur l’essence au taux de 14,7 cents le litre. Les bandes et membres admissibles des Premières Nations sont exemptés de payer cette taxe s’ils achètent de l’essence pour leur usage personnel chez un détaillant d’essence autorisé dans une réserve. Seuls les détaillants d’essence qui se trouvent dans une réserve et qui y sont autorisés par le ministère des Finances peuvent vendre de l’essence exonérée de taxe aux bandes et membres admissibles des Premières Nations.

Le ministère des Finances s’est engagé à permettre aux bandes et membres admissibles des Premières Nations d’acheter de l’essence exonérée de taxe, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi de la taxe sur l’essence. Le ministère veille également à ce que des mesures soient mises en place afin que l’exemption de la taxe de l’Ontario sur l’essence ne soit accordée qu’aux personnes admissibles. Sur demande, le ministère remet à chaque bande ou membre admissible d’une Première Nation un « certificat d’exemption », plus couramment appelé « carte d’essence ». Au moment de la vente, l’acheteur présente sa carte d’essence au détaillant.

Les communautés des Premières Nations ont exprimé certaines préoccupations au sujet du programme ontarien des cartes d’essence, notamment :

  • le fardeau administratif associé à la transmission manuelle des demandes de remboursement et les longs délais de remboursement;
  • le fait que l’obligation des membres des Premières Nations d’utiliser leur certificat fédéral de statut d’Indien pour demander une carte d’essence de l’Ontario et d’utiliser cette carte pour acheter de l’essence exonérée de taxe peut être considérée comme onéreuse et injuste;
  • le refus du ministère d’honorer des demandes de remboursement soumises par les détaillants lorsqu’une carte d’essence n’est pas valide.

Dans son récent budget et sa publication intitulée Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l’Ontario de 2015, la province a promis de recueillir les commentaires des Premières Nations en vue de moderniser le programme ontarien des cartes d’essence.

Contexte       

Le 24 août 2015, les Chefs de l’Ontario et le gouvernement de l’Ontario ont signé un accord politique historique pour encadrer les relations entre les Premières Nations et la province. L’accord affirme que les Premières Nations ont droit à l’autonomie de leur gouvernement, engage les parties à collaborer pour résoudre les problèmes communs et ouvre la voie vers la réconciliation entre les Premières Nations et la population de l’Ontario.

Le gouvernement s’est engagé à établir de nouvelles relations avec les communautés et les dirigeants des Premières Nations.

Objectifs

En sollicitant l’aide des Premières Nations pour moderniser le programme ontarien des cartes d’essence, le ministère des Finances a pour objectif principal de définir une approche permettant d’alléger le processus pour les particuliers et les entreprises et d’augmenter l’intégrité du programme.

Les principaux éléments pris en considération pour atteindre cet objectif incluent :

  • la révision des exigences posées aux membres des Premières Nations pour obtenir une carte d’essence;
  • l’identification d’options technologiques pour traiter les remboursements.

La participation des communautés des Premières Nations et des intervenants de l’industrie représentant les grossistes d’essence et les percepteurs est essentielle, car toute solution envisagée doit tenir compte de ses effets sur les particuliers et les entreprises qui achètent de l’essence dans une réserve. Ce document de discussion constitue une première étape vers l’engagement d’un dialogue continu portant sur les défis, possibilités et solutions inhérents au programme actuel.

En corrigeant les inefficacités du programme ontarien des cartes d’essence en collaboration avec les communautés des Premières Nations, la province entend :

  • respecter et appuyer les droits des membres des Premières Nations d’acheter de l’essence exonérée de taxe;
  • mettre à la disposition des membres des Premières Nations un processus plus efficace d’achat d’essence exonérée de taxe;
  • augmenter l’efficacité du processus de recouvrement des taxes pour les détaillants d’essence des Premières Nations.

Aperçu

La taxe sur l’essence en Ontario est de 14,7 cents le litre. Les bandes et les membres des Premières Nations n’ont pas à payer cette taxe sur l’essence achetée pour leur usage personnel chez un détaillant autorisé dans une réserve. La Loi de la taxe sur l’essence de l’Ontario impose une taxe aux consommateurs de produits d’essence en Ontario, sauf aux bandes et membres des Premières Nations (tels que définis dans la Loi sur les Indiens) qui achètent de l’essence, des carburants aviation ou du propane dans une réserve pour leur usage exclusif.

La province exige que les membres des Premières Nations présentent une carte d’essence valide émise par le ministère des Finances lors de chaque achat. Le ministère veille également à ce que des mesures de conformité soient mises en place afin que l’exemption de la taxe de l’Ontario sur l’essence ne soit accordée qu’aux personnes admissibles. Pour obtenir une carte d’essence, vous devez être membre d’une Première Nation détenant un certificat de statut d’Indien (carte d’identité) émis par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada ou une bande des Premières Nations.

Les détaillants d’essence autorisés dans la réserve d’une Première Nation paient la taxe sur l’essence aux percepteurs désignés par le ministère (distributeurs en gros ou grossistes) de qui ils achètent de l’essence (taxe incluse). Certains percepteurs sont autorisés à accepter les « reçus » des détaillants. Ces reçus offrent aux détaillants un crédit équivalent aux taxes payées et applicable sur leurs prochains achats d’essence de leurs percepteurs. Les percepteurs peuvent ainsi déduire de leurs taxes dues à la province les montants figurant sur les reçus présentés par les détaillants.

Les détaillants dans les réserves, en retour, vendent de l’essence aux bandes et membres des Premières Nations sans percevoir la taxe. Les détaillants (qui n’ont pas soumis de reçus aux percepteurs) présentent au ministère des Finances une demande de remboursement pour les taxes sur l’essence payées directement aux percepteurs.

En 2008, le ministère des Finances a introduit un service électronique facultatif qui accepte les bons électroniques des détaillants pour les remboursements de la taxe sur les ventes d’essence exonérées de taxe aux bandes et aux membres des Premières Nations. Le détaillant peut choisir un fournisseur de service (ou agir lui-même à ce titre) qui satisfait aux exigences du ministère pour participer au service électronique.

Environ 28 pour cent de tous les détaillants dans les réserves ont choisi d’adhérer au service électronique. La plupart des détaillants des Premières Nations n’utilisent pas le service électronique et présentent leurs demandes de remboursement au ministère manuellement. Le processus manuel implique un délai allant jusqu’à quarante (40) jours ouvrables avant la réception du remboursement. Pendant ce temps, le détaillant doit débourser lui-même les montants des taxes qui ont été payées, mais qui ne lui ont pas été remboursées.

La description détaillée du processus de transaction se trouve à l’adresse suivante :

Détaillants d'essence autorisés dans les réserves : Service électronique pour la vente d'essence exonérée de taxe

Perspectives ailleurs au Canada

Les autres gouvernements provinciaux ont recours à différentes approches dans la gestion des ventes d’essence exonérées de taxe.

Plusieurs provinces utilisent le certificat fédéral de statut d’Indien pour vérifier l’admissibilité et un système de point de vente électronique approuvé pour soumettre les demandes de remboursement, un service offert par de nombreux fournisseurs de services électroniques. Certains de ces fournisseurs offrent un service « en temps réel » qui permet aux détaillants de valider immédiatement les cartes de statut d’Indien. Il s’avère que la possibilité de valider en temps réel les cartes de statut d’Indien présente un avantage indéniable tant pour les détaillants que pour le gouvernement, en réduisant les temps d’attente reliés aux remboursements.

Vos commentaires et suggestions

Le ministère des Finances accueillera vos commentaires et suggestions à l’égard de la modernisation du programme ontarien des cartes d’essence. Les quelques questions ci-dessous aideront le ministère des Finances à mieux comprendre votre point de vue concernant ce programme.

Vous pouvez répondre par la poste ou par courriel aux adresses suivantes d’ici le 31 octobre 2016 :

Ministère des Finances de l’Ontario
Direction des politiques relatives aux programmes et de l’analytique
33, rue King Ouest, 4e étage
Oshawa (Ontario)
L1H 8H5

Courriel : GasCard.Modernization@ontario.ca

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le programme ontarien des cartes d’essence, veuillez consulter Carte d'essence (Certificat d'exemption).

Questions :

Membres des Premières Nations – Achats d’essence :

  • Avez-vous eu des difficultés à utiliser la carte d’essence de l’Ontario pour acheter de l’essence exonérée de taxe dans une réserve? Si oui, veuillez décrire ces difficultés.
  • Quels changements pourraient être apportés pour faciliter vos achats d’essence exonérée de taxe dans une réserve?
  • Comment est-ce que l’utilisation de votre carte de statut d’Indien pourrait améliorer le processus actuel d’achat d’essence exonérée de taxe dans une réserve?
  • Que pensez-vous des méthodes utilisées dans d’autres provinces pour vérifier l’admissibilité et mentionnées dans ce document (par exemple, l’utilisation de la carte fédérale de statut d’Indien)?
  • À votre avis, existe-t-il une façon plus efficace et plus pratique d’exempter les membres et les communautés des Premières Nations de la taxe sur l’essence?
  • Avez-vous d’autres suggestions ou commentaires dont vous aimeriez nous faire part?

Détaillants autorisés dans les réserves des Premières Nations – Ventes d’essence :

  • Plus particulièrement, avez-vous eu des problèmes reliés à l’utilisation par les clients de la carte d’essence de l’Ontario (par exemple, la présentation d’une carte non valide ou d’aucune carte)? Si c’est le cas, veuillez décrire ces problèmes et la façon dont vous les avez réglés.
  • Par quel moyen soumettez-vous vos demandes de remboursement au ministère des Finances (c’est-à-dire, manuellement ou au moyen d’un système électronique au point de vente) et comment s’est déroulée votre expérience avec cette méthode?
  • Si vous soumettez vos demandes de remboursement manuellement, est-ce que votre entreprise aurait avantage à passer au processus de remboursement électronique? Si oui, quels seraient les avantages d’une telle transition?
  • Y aurait-il d’autres façons plus efficaces d’effectuer les remboursements de taxes sur l’essence aux détaillants dans les réserves des Premières Nations?
  • Avez-vous d’autres suggestions ou commentaires dont vous aimeriez nous faire part?

Percepteurs et grossistes – Ventes d’essence :

  • En tant que percepteur ou grossiste, quelles observations générales auriez-vous à soumettre concernant le programme ontarien des cartes d’essence en vigueur actuellement?
  • Avez-vous d’autres suggestions ou commentaires dont vous aimeriez nous faire part?