News: Greater Flexibility For Some Jointly Sponsored Pension Plans
McGuinty Government's Changes Make Pension Funding More Stable And Predictable

May 26, 2011

Ontario is taking another step toward modernizing pensions.

The government is providing more flexibility for the funding of jointly sponsored pension plans (JSPPs) – a kind of pension plan where risk is shared between employers and employees. Contributions required from members and employers who participate in these plans would be more stable and predictable. Plans would also be required to disclose more information to their members, who as joint sponsors have a say in how their pension plan is governed.

To ensure that plans of different sizes are treated fairly, the government is also simplifying the rules for “solvency concerns”, which determine whether a pension plan must file a valuation report on its financial state every year. Typically, plans must file valuation reports every three years.

Certain JSPPs and specified Ontario multi-employer pension plans (SOMEPPs) will be exempt from “solvency concerns” requirements until December 31, 2012, because these plans are presently not required to fund on a solvency basis. During this exemption period, a different test will be developed to determine when these plans need to file valuation reports annually in the future.

As reaffirmed in the 2011 Budget - Turning the Corner, the McGuinty government is committed to modernizing Ontario's pension system, and playing a leading role in national discussions on the retirement income system to help Ontario families.

QUICK FACTS

  • These changes are consistent with the report of the Expert Commission on Pensions, which said pension plans with joint governance and risk sharing should be funded according to more flexible rules.
  • The government intends to introduce additional reforms to funding rules, such as strengthening funding for benefit improvements. For more details, please see the August 24, 2010 backgrounder that details proposals to strengthen Ontario's pension system. 
  • The following JSPPs, which existed on August 24, 2010, would have a solvency funding exemption: the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan (Teachers’); the Ontario Municipal Employees Retirement System (OMERS); the Healthcare of Ontario Pension Plan (HOOPP); the College of Applied Arts and Technology (CAAT) Pension Plan; the OPSEU Pension Plan; and the Pension Plan for the Employees of OPSEU.

LEARN MORE

Read the Turning the Corner to a Better Tomorrow: the 2011 Ontario Budget

See the pension and retirement income system reforms that the McGuinty government has undertaken.  

Read the new regulation on Ontario’s e-Laws website. 

FOR MEDIA INQUIRIES ONLY:
Andrew Chornenky, Minister's Office, 416-325-9819
Scott Blodgett, Ministry of Finance, 416-325-0324

ontario.ca/finance-news
Disponible en français

- 30 -

Goto the top of this page.

Nouvelles : Plus grande marge de manœuvre à l'égard de certains régimes de retraite conjoints
Les changements apportés par le gouvernement McGuinty rendent plus stable et prévisible la capitalisation des régimes de retraite

le 26 mai 2011

L’Ontario franchit une autre étape vers la modernisation du secteur des pensions.

Le gouvernement assouplit les règles de capitalisation des régimes de retraite conjoints – un type de régime où les risques sont partagés entre les employeurs et les employés. Les cotisations requises par les participants et les employeurs participant à ces régimes seraient alors plus stables et plus prévisibles. En outre, les promoteurs de régimes seraient tenus de divulguer davantage de renseignements à leurs participants qui, en tant que promoteurs conjoints, auraient désormais leur mot à dire dans la gestion du régime de retraite.

Afin de veiller au traitement équitable des régimes d’envergure différente, le gouvernement simplifie également les règles de solvabilité, qui déterminent si un régime de retraite est tenu de produire chaque année un rapport d’évaluation sur sa situation financière. En règle générale, les régimes doivent déposer des rapports d’évaluation tous les trois ans.

Certains régimes de retraite conjoints et régimes de retraite interentreprises spécifiés de l’Ontario seront exemptés des critères de solvabilité jusqu’au 31 décembre 2012, car ils ne sont présentement pas capitalisés en fonction de la solvabilité. Durant cette période d’exemption, un test différent sera mis au point afin de déterminer à quel moment ces régimes devront produire des rapports d’évaluation chaque année à l’avenir.

Tel qu’il l’a réaffirmé dans son Budget 2011 – Remonter la pente, le gouvernement McGuinty s’est engagé à moderniser le système des pensions en Ontario, et joue un rôle de chef de file dans les pourparlers engagés à l’échelle nationale sur la réforme du système de revenu de retraite afin de venir en aide aux familles ontariennes.

FAITS EN BREF

  • Ces modifications cadrent parfaitement avec le rapport de la Commission ontarienne d’experts en régimes de retraite, qui préconisait une réglementation plus flexible de la capitalisation des régimes de retraite en cas de gouvernance paritaire et de partage des risques.
  • Le gouvernement entend instaurer des réformes additionnelles qui s’ajouteraient aux règles de capitalisation, telles qu’une consolidation du financement de la majoration des prestations. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez le document d'information du 24 août 2010. 
  • Les régimes de retraite conjoints suivants, existant en date du 24 août 2010, profiteraient d’une exemption de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité :  Le Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario (enseignants) ; le Régime de retraite des employés municipaux de l’Ontario (OMERS); le régime de retraite pour la communauté ontarienne des soins de santé (HOOPP); le régime de retraite du Collège d’arts appliqués et de technologie (CAAT); le Régime de retraite du Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l’Ontario (SEFPO); et le Régime de retraite des employés du SEFPO.

POUR EN SAVOIR PLUS

Lisez le Budget de l’Ontario 2011 : Remonter la pente vers un avenir meilleur

Voyez les réformes du système de revenu de retraite et des régimes de retraite entreprises par le gouvernement McGuinty.    

Lisez le nouveau règlement sur le site Web lois-en-ligne de l’Ontario.

RENSEIGNEMENTS AUX MÉDIAS SEULEMENT :
Andrew Chornenky, Bureau du ministre, 416 325-9819
Scott Blodgett, ministère des Finances, 416 325-0324

ontario.ca/nouvelles-finances
Available in English