: Temporary Solvency Funding Relief

The 2012 Ontario Budget announced a proposed extension of the 2009 solvency funding relief measures to sponsors of private-sector defined benefit plans, in light of the pension funding challenges that resulted from recent declines in long-term interest rates and low investment returns.

Consistent with the provisions introduced in 2009, the proposed solvency funding relief measures would allow plan administrators to elect one or both of the following options, when filing the first actuarial valuation report prepared as of a date on or after September 30, 2011 and before September 30, 2014:

  • Consolidate existing solvency payment schedules into a new longer five-year payment schedule; and/or
  • Extend the solvency payment schedule to a maximum of 10 years (from the current maximum of five years) for a new solvency deficiency determined in the report, subject to the consent of plan beneficiaries.

The Budget also announced proposed amendments to regulations under the Pension Benefits Act which would provide plan sponsors with additional pension funding flexibility.  The proposed measures would:

  • permit solvency and going concern special payments to be amortized beginning one year after a plan valuation date; and
  • allow employers to use irrevocable letters of credit from financial institutions to cover up to 15 per cent of a plan’s solvency liabilities.

The proposed relief measures would be introduced in stages.  Ontario Regulation 164/12, which came into effect on June 22, 2012, constitutes the initial stage for implementing the announced solvency funding relief.  This first regulation would extend the filing date for valuation reports, prepared as of a date on or after September 30, 2011 and before March 31, 2012, by up to six months until December 31, 2012.  This extension in the filing date is intended to provide plan administrators with sufficient time to comply with and reflect the relief provisions in their valuation reports, which must be filed with the Financial Services Commission of Ontario.

Subsequent regulations to extend the 2009 solvency funding relief options and to permit the use of letters of credit are planned for the next stages.

: Allégement temporaire de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité

Dans son budget 2012, le gouvernement de l’Ontario  a annoncé le projet de prolonger les mesures d’allégement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité de 2009 pour les promoteurs des régimes de retraite à cotisations déterminées du secteur privé, compte tenu des problèmes de financement associés à la baisse des taux d’intérêt à long terme et aux faibles rendements des placements en vigueur depuis quelque temps.

Conformément aux dispositions présentées en 2009, les mesures proposées permettraient aux administrateurs des régimes de choisir une des deux options suivantes, ou les deux, pour le premier rapport d’évaluation actuarielle qui sera préparé à partir du 30 septembre 2011 et avant le 30 septembre 2014 :

  • regrouper les calendriers existants de paiement de solvabilité en un nouveau calendrier de paiement plus long de cinq ans; et(ou)
  • prolonger le calendrier de paiement de solvabilité sur une période maximale de 10 ans (au lieu du maximum actuel de cinq ans) pour un nouveau déficit de solvabilité déterminé dans le rapport, si les participants au régime y consentent.

Le budget proposait également des modifications aux règlements en vertu de la Loi sur les régimes de retraite, qui donneraient aux promoteurs du régime plus de latitude pour capitaliser le régime. Les mesures proposées permettraient :

  • l’amortissement, un an après la date d’évaluation du régime, des paiements de solvabilité et des paiements spéciaux de permanence; et
  • aux employeurs d’utiliser des lettres de crédit irrévocables d’établissements financiers pour couvrir jusqu’à 15 % des passifs de solvabilité du régime.

Les mesures d’allégement proposées seraient présentées en plusieurs étapes. Le Règlement de l’Ontario 164/12, qui est entré en vigueur le 22 juin 2012, constitue la première étape du projet d’allégement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité. Ce premier règlement prolongerait la date de dépôt des rapports d’évaluation préparés à partir du 30 septembre 2011 et avant le 31 mars 2012, de six mois au maximum jusqu’au 31 décembre 2012. Cette prolongation de la date de dépôt a pour but de donner aux administrateurs des régimes le temps de se conformer aux dispositions d’allégement et d’inclure ces dispositions dans les rapports d’évaluation qui doivent être remis à de la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario.

Les règlements suivants visant à prolonger les options d’allégement de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité de 2009 et à autoriser l’utilisation des lettres de crédit sont prévus pour les étapes suivantes.