: Solvency Funding Review

In recent years, low long-term interest rates have placed funding pressures on pension plan sponsors of single-employer defined benefit pension plans. Recognizing this situation, the government has initiated a review of the current solvency funding framework, with a view to developing a balanced set of solvency funding reforms that would focus on plan sustainability, affordability and benefit security, and take into account the interests of pension stakeholders – including sponsors, unions, members and retirees.

In the 2016 Ontario Budget, the government announced the appointment of David Marshall, former president and CEO of the WSIB, to lead the solvency funding review. 

A New Funding Framework for Defined Benefit Pension Plans in Ontario

Ontario is moving forward with changes that will help ensure workers’ retirement benefits are protected and maintained, while enabling business to grow and be more competitive.

Highlights of the new funding framework for defined benefit pension plans include:

  • Requiring funding on enhanced going concern basis; changes to the going concern funding rules include shortening the amortization period from 15 years to 10 years  for funding a shortfall in the plan and consolidating special payment requirements into a single schedule;
  • Requiring funding of a reserve within the plan, called a Provision for Adverse Deviation or PfAD.  This reserve will help manage future risk and help ensure benefits are secure; and
  • Requiring funding on a solvency basis in the event that a plan’s funded status falls below 85 per cent (based on the Financial Services Commission of Ontario’s most recent estimates, 15 per cent of plans would still need to fund on this basis under the new regime.)

To help ensure benefit security in the event that a pension plan is not fully funded and the employer is bankrupt, the government will be increasing the monthly guarantee provided by the Pension Benefits Guarantee Fund for a worker’s pension by 50 per cent, to $1,500 from $1,000.

This new funding regime will help keep defined benefit pension plans healthy and sustainable. Employers will continue to be required to ensure pension funds are appropriately funded and will need to pay into a reserve to protect benefits for their workers and retirees. Employers will have greater flexibility in managing their pension contributions, allowing them to budget for their pension costs more easily. There will be no impact on the pensions that retirees now receive as a result of these changes.

Further Details

Strengthening and Modernizing Workplace Pensions

Consultation Process

Stakeholder Reference Group

As announced in the 2016 Ontario Budget, a stakeholder reference group (SRG) was established to ensure that any reforms to the existing solvency funding framework are informed by a broad range of stakeholder opinions. Consistent with this goal, SRG members represent a diverse set of views.

Membership (affiliations for identification purposes only):
Simon Archer, Associate, Koskie Minsky LLP
Elizabeth Brown, Partner, Hicks Morley LLP
Louis Erlichman, former Research Director, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
Robert Farmer, President, Canadian Federation of Pensioners
Caroline Hughes, VP Government Relations, Ford Canada
Allan Shapira, Partner, Aon Hewitt
Winston Woo, Director, Tax, Pension & Government Programs, AGS Automotive Systems
Corey Vermey, Director, Pensions & Benefits Department, Unifor

On-going Consultations

In addition, roundtable discussions have been held with representatives of:

  • Employers;
  • Labour;
  • Retirees;
  • Broader public sector employers; and
  • Public sector JSPP administrators.

Consultation Paper

The 2016 Ontario Budget made a commitment to release a consultation paper outlining possible reform measures.

The consultation paper was released on July 26, 2016. The consultation period ended September 30, 2016.

Timelines and Transition

The government intends to introduce legislation in the fall to enable these changes and will be consulting on the details of new regulations.
Measures to support transition to the new framework will be implemented in the coming weeks.  These measures will allow plans to elect to defer the start of new solvency special payments for one year beyond the date on which they are normally required to start.

  • The transition measures will be available for reports dated on or after December 31, 2016 and before December 31, 2017.
  • They ensure that employers will not have their contributions increased because of solvency funding requirements for a report dated in that time frame.

Consultations: Examen de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité

Au cours des dernières années, la faiblesse des taux d’intérêt à long terme a exercé une pression financière sur les promoteurs des régimes de retraite d’employeur unique à prestations déterminées. Reconnaissant la situation, le gouvernement a entrepris l’examen de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité, visant à élaborer une série de réformes de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité, axées sur la viabilité et le caractère abordable des régimes ainsi que sur la sécurité des prestations, et qui tiendraient compte des intérêts des différents intervenants du secteur des régimes de retraite, incluant les promoteurs, les syndicats, les participants à des régimes et les retraités.

Dans le Budget 2016 de l’Ontario, le gouvernement a annoncé la nomination de David Marshall, ancien président et directeur général de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail, pour diriger l’examen de la capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité.

Un nouveau cadre de capitalisation pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées en Ontario

L'Ontario va de l'avant et adopte des changements qui contribueront à maintenir et à protéger les prestations de retraite des travailleurs tout en permettant aux entreprises de croître et d'être plus concurrentielles.

Voici les points saillants du nouveau cadre de capitalisation pour les régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées :

  • l'obligation d'une capitalisation sur une base de continuité accrue; les changements aux règles de capitalisation sur une base de continuité incluent le raccourcissement de la période d'amortissement, qui passera de 15 à 10 ans, pour combler tout déficit de capitalisation du régime ainsi que la consolidation des paiements spéciaux requis selon un seul échéancier;
  • l'obligation d'établir une réserve dans le cadre du régime, appelée provision pour écarts défavorables ou PED. Cette réserve contribuera à gérer le risque futur et à protéger les prestations;
  • l'obligation d'une capitalisation sur une base de solvabilité dans l'éventualité où la capitalisation d'un régime est inférieure à 85 % (selon les plus récentes estimations de la Commission des services financiers de l'Ontario, 15 % des régimes auraient encore besoin d'être capitalisés sur une base de solvabilité en vertu du nouveau cadre).

Dans le but de mieux protéger les prestations dans l'éventualité de la capitalisation insuffisante d'un régime et de la faillite d'un employeur, le gouvernement augmentera de 50 % la garantie mensuelle prévue dans le cadre du Fonds de garantie des prestations de retraite, qui passera de 1 000 $ à 1 500 $.

Ces nouvelles modalités de capitalisation contribueront à assurer la santé et la viabilité des régimes de retraite à prestations déterminées. Les employeurs continueront d'être tenus de capitaliser suffisamment les caisses de retraite et devront établir une réserve pour protéger les prestations des travailleurs et des retraités. Les employeurs bénéficieront d'une plus grande souplesse pour la gestion de leurs cotisations de retraite, ce qui facilitera l'établissement des coûts de leurs régimes. Ces changements n'auront aucune incidence sur les prestations que les retraités reçoivent en ce moment.

Plus de détails

Accroître la viabilité des régimes de retraite d'employeur

Processus de consultation

Groupe de référence des intervenants

Tel qu’il a été annoncé dans le Budget 2016 de l’Ontario, un groupe de référence des intervenants (GRI) a été fondé pour veiller à ce que toute réforme du cadre actuel de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité soit fondée sur une vaste gamme d’opinions provenant des intervenants. Dans cette optique, les membres du GRI représentent une grande diversité de points de vue.

Membres (affiliations mentionnées à des fins d’identification uniquement) :
Simon Archer, associé, Koskie Minsky LLP
Elizabeth Brown, partenaire, Hicks Morley LLP
Louis Erlichman, ancien directeur de la recherche, Association internationale des machinistes et des travailleurs de l’aérospatiale
Robert Farmer, président, Fédération canadienne des retraités
Caroline Hughes, vice-présidente, Relations gouvernementales, Ford Canada
Allan Shapira, partenaire, Aon Hewitt
Winston Woo, directeur, Fiscalité, retraite et programmes gouvernementaux, AGS Automotive Systems
Corey Vermey, Directeur, Service des pensions et avantages sociaux, Unifor

Consultations en cours

Par ailleurs, des discussions ont été tenues avec les représentants suivants :

  • Employeurs;
  • Travail;
  • Retraités;
  • Employeurs du secteur parapublic;
  • Administrateurs de régimes de retraite conjoints du secteur public.

Document de consultation

Dans le Budget 2016 de l’Ontario, le gouvernement a pris l'engagement de publier un document de consultation présentant les mesures potentielles de réforme.

Ce document de consultation a été publié le 26 juillet 2016. La période de consultation a pris fin le 30 septembre 2016.

Calendrier et transition

Le gouvernement a l'intention de déposer une loi cet automne afin de mettre en ouvre ces changements et effectuera une consultation sur les dispositions des nouveaux règlements.

Les mesures visant à soutenir la transition vers le nouveau cadre seront mises en oeuvre au cours des prochaines semaines. Elles permettront aux régimes de reporter le versement des nouveaux paiements spéciaux au titre du déficit de solvabilité d'un an, à partir de la date à laquelle ils devaient normalement commencer à être versés.

  • Les mesures de transition visent les rapports d'évaluation en date du 31 décembre 2016 ou par la suite et avant le 31 décembre 2017.
  • Grâce à ces mesures, les employeurs ne verront pas leurs cotisations augmenter en raison des exigences en matière de capitalisation du déficit de solvabilité à l'égard d'un rapport déposé durant cette période.