EQUITY IN EDUCATION TAX CREDIT

Discussion Paper

Ontario Ministry of Finance
August 30, 2001


EQUITY IN EDUCATION TAX CREDIT
DISCUSSION PAPER

INTRODUCTION

The 2001 Speech from the Throne outlined the Government's commitment to high standards for students and more choice for parents in education.

Consistent with this vision, the 2001 Budget dedicated an additional $360 million for the publicly-funded school system. Since 1995, the Government has increased education spending from $12.9 billion to $13.8 billion - more than is required to meet the needs created by increasing enrolment. This funding will ensure that students in public, Catholic and Frenchlanguage schools have the tools that they need to succeed. The Government is firmly committed to a quality publicly-funded education system, and will continue to make new investments to improve the quality of education in Ontario.

The 2001 Budget announced the introduction of the Equity in Education Tax Credit. This tax credit is intended to support parents who have been seeking more choice in education for their children. Some parents choose to send their children to an independent school. For many, the cost is prohibitive. The Government believes it is time to address the needs of these parents.

In doing so, Ontario joins other provinces who support educational choice. British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Quebec all support educational choice by providing grants to independent schools. Ontario is taking a different approach by providing support directly to parents so that they can make the decisions that they believe are right for their children.

The Government believes that education is one of the best investments that can be made for the future of this province, and it is making those investments by providing additional funding to publicly-funded schools, and tax support to parents to increase choice in education.

TECHNICAL DISCUSSIONS

The legislation implementing the Equity in Education Tax Credit, Bill 45, has been passed by the Legislature of Ontario and received Royal Assent. Hearings were held on Bill 45 by the Standing Committee on Finance and Economic Affairs in June. Over 100 groups and individuals made presentations, and another 200 groups and individuals provided written submissions. Now that the Legislature has approved the tax credit, the Government is seeking advice about the structure and content of any necessary regulations. This paper is designed to facilitate the technical discussions scheduled to begin in September 2001.

No decision has been made on any of the issues, and no decision will be made without considering both the comments made by all participants and written submissions received.

Written submissions are welcome from all interested parties, including those that participate in the technical discussions. These should be received by September 28, 2001 in order to be considered.

AIMS OF THE EQUITY IN EDUCATION TAX CREDIT

The aim of the tax credit is to support choice in education at the primary and secondary levels for parents and guardians by providing a partial refundable tax credit.

PRINCIPLES OF DESIGN

Key to designing the tax credit is ensuring parental choice within the parameters established in the May 2001 Ontario Budget and the provisions approved by the Ontario Legislature in Bill 45 in June of 2001.

Section 8.4.2 of the Income Tax Act (Ontario) (see Appendix) allows a qualifying taxpayer to claim a tax credit of 10 percent of eligible tuition fees paid to an eligible independent school in respect of 2002. The tax credit rises to 20 percent in 2003. The 2001 budget proposal would also increase the tax credit rate to 30 percent in 2004, 40 percent in 2005 and 50 percent in 2006 and subsequent years.

The credit rates will be applied to the first $700 of tuition fees per month of full-time study, to a maximum of $7,000 per taxation year. In the first year, the maximum value of the credit will be $700 for each eligible child and would rise to $3,500 when fully implemented in 2006.

The tax credit should be calculated in such a way as to ensure that tax support is received in an equitable manner. This calculation should recognize any reimbursements and other tax credits for tuition.

The design of the tax credit must also minimize the complexity and paperwork for parents and schools.

DISCUSSION ISSUE: DEFINITION OF "ELIGIBLE FEES"

"Eligible fees" will include the fees that parents normally pay for instruction at an independent school. The budget stated that "eligible fees" would not include expenses such as books, sports, uniforms, computers, travel or boarding. In practice, schools would be expected to provide a receipt to parents indicating the amount of fees paid, reduced by the costs of travel, boarding and uniforms, etc., that were included in the fees.

There are two issues relating to the definition of eligible fees on which comments are especially being sought:

  1. Interaction of the Equity in Education Tax Credit and the Charitable Donations Tax Credit
  2. Treatment of Scholarships and Bursaries

Comments on other issues relating to "eligible fees" are also welcome.

1. Interaction of the Equity in Education Tax Credit and the Charitable Donations Tax Credit

Canada Customs and Revenue Agency (CCRA) allows religious schools to issue tax receipts in respect of the religious education component of tuition costs through the Charitable Donations Tax Credit (CDTC). The potential for overlap creates the need to clarify the interaction between the two credits.

How should the tax credit be calculated in order to reflect the availability of the charitable donation tax credit?

2. Scholarships and Bursaries

As the Equity in Education Tax Credit is intended to be a partial tax credit to assist parents with the tuition costs of independent schools, advice is needed on how best to recognize amounts that are paid by another party.

Are there issues arising from the availability of scholarships and bursaries that should be taken into consideration?

DISCUSSION ISSUE: DEFINITION OF "ELIGIBLE SCHOOLS"

For many years, parents have made the decision to pay for an independent education for their children on the basis of their own views and research. Schools, for their part, have been successful in meeting parents' needs and expectations. The Government would appreciate hearing options for supporting the objective of increasing parental involvement and choice in independent schools.

What requirements or criteria should independent schools have to meet to be eligible for the tax credit?

Would requiring schools to provide disclosure statements on issues that are important to parents better assist parental choice?

The following issues may be appropriate for disclosure:

  1. Academic Program
  2. Safety Issues
  3. Operating Experience

Are there other areas where disclosure would be appropriate?

1. Academic Program

Currently, independent schools must file annually a Notice of Intent to Operate, along with other information. Those secondary schools wishing to grant Ontario Secondary School Diplomas (OSSD) must also pass an inspection of their curriculum, instruction methods and student work products.

Should eligible schools be required to issue an annual disclosure statement that outlines their academic program?

  • If so, what aspects of the program should be described in the disclosure statement?

Are there other ways of ensuring that parents have sufficient information about the academic program of a school?

2. Safety Issues

Currently, independent schools must comply with a range of public safety standards, building code, public health regulations, fire codes, etc. Parents have been sending their children to independent schools for many years under these provisions.

Should other ways of improving children's safety be considered?

3. Operating Experience

Currently, the Education Act and other relevant legislation require independent schools to operate under the same consumer protection regime that applies to businesses. For example, the Education Act requires that the operator of an independent school file an annual Notice of Intent to Operate, providing information regarding the location of the school, and the names of the principal and the owner. The Business Practices Act provides protection to parents against unfair business practices such as misrepresentation.

Are there other ways of providing increased protection to parents of children in independent schools?

OTHER ISSUES

A number of other eligibility criteria will require definition.

1. Eligible Schools

(a) Number of Students

Currently, the Ministry of Education requires a minimum of five students for a school to be registered.

How many students should a school be required to have to be an eligible school?

(b) Location of School

Should schools have to provide instruction in, or substantially in, Ontario?

2. Eligible Taxpayers

(a) Relation to the Child

Should the taxpayer claiming the credit have some relationship to the child, e.g., a parent, legal guardian or other family member?

(b) Apportionment Rules

Where tuition is paid by more than one person, how should the maximum amount eligible for the tax credit (i.e., $7,000) be allocated between the persons?

3. Eligible child

Currently, the funding formula for publicly-funded schools provides funding for students who are at least 4 years old on December 31st of the school year and as old as 20 years old, with certain adjustments for the number of years spent in high school.

Should there be age restrictions in respect of eligible children?

4. Eligible course of study

Currently, in publicly-funded schools, a course of study provides 1,500 minutes of instruction per week. For junior and senior kindergarten, full time study is defined as 750 minutes per week.

What should an eligible course of study be?



For more information, call toll-free 1-800-263-7965 or visit www.fin.gov.on.ca/.

Written submissions can be mailed to the following address:

Mr. Ernie Hardeman, MPP
Parliamentary Assistant to the Deputy Premier
Technical Discussions
Frost Building North
95 Grosvenor Street
3rd Floor
Toronto, Ontario
M7A 1Z1

or e-mailed to: eetc@fin.gov.on.ca



APPENDIX: SECTION 8.4.2 OF THE INCOME TAX ACT (ONTARIO)

Note: Effective January 1, 2002, the Act is amended by the Statutes of Ontario, 2001, chapter 8, section 41 by adding the following section:

Equity in education tax credit

8.4.2 (1) In this section,

"eligible child" means, in respect of a qualifying taxpayer, an individual who satisfies the rules prescribed by the regulations; ("enfant admissible")

"eligible course of study" means an elementary or secondary school course of study,

  1. that is provided by an eligible independent school to a pupil enrolled in the school,

  2. that satisfies the rules prescribed by the regulations; ("programme d'étudesadmissible")

"eligible fees" means the amount determined under the rules prescribed by the regulations; ("frais admissibles")

"eligible independent school" means a school that satisfies the rules prescribed by the regulations or a school that is designated by regulation as an eligible independent school; ("école indépendante admissible")

"qualifying taxpayer" means, in respect of a taxation year, a person,

  1. who is an individual for the purposes of section 8,

  2. who is resident in Ontario on the last day of the taxation year, and

  3. who satisfies the rules prescribed by the regulations. ("contribuable admissible")

Amount of tax credit

(2) The amount of the equity in education tax credit in respect of an eligible child for a taxation year is the amount calculated using the formula,

A * B

in which,

"A" is the appropriate percentage for the taxation year as determined under subsection (3), and

"B" is the lesser of,

  1. the prescribed monthly amount for the taxation year or, if no amount is prescribed for the taxation year, the amount, not exceeding $7000, that is determined by multiplying $700 by the number of months in the taxation year in which the eligible child was enrolled in an eligible independent school as a full-time pupil and attending classes at the school in the taxation year in an eligible course of study, and

  2. the amount of eligible fees reasonably attributable to the taxation year that were paid by a qualifying taxpayer to an eligible independent school in respect of an eligible child who was enrolled in the school during the taxation year as a full-time pupil and attending classes at the school during the taxation year in an eligible course of study.

Appropriate percentage

(3) For the purposes of "A" in subsection (2), the appropriate percentage for a taxation year is determined as follows:

  1. If the taxation year commences after December 31, 2001 and ends before January 1, 2003, the appropriate percentage is 10 per cent.

  2. If the taxation year commences after December 31, 2002, the appropriate percentage is 20 per cent.

Qualifying taxpayer's share

(4) The amount of a qualifying taxpayer's share of the equity in education tax credit in respect of an eligible child for a taxation year is the amount of the credit determined under subsection (2) as apportioned in accordance with the rules prescribed by regulation.

Regulations

(5) The Minister may make regulations,

  1. prescribing rules for the purposes of the definitions in subsection (1);

  2. designating particular schools as eligible independent schools for the purposes of the definition;

  3. defining terms used in this section that are not already defined in the Act;

  4. prescribing rules for the purposes of determining a qualifying taxpayer's share of an equity in education tax credit under subsection (4).

Same, eligible independent schools

(6) A regulation prescribing rules for the purposes of the definition of "eligible independent school" may establish different classes of schools and prescribe different rules for each class.

See: 2001, c. 8, ss. 41, 42 (4).





© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2001
ISBN 0-7794-1854-9

Page: 1303  |

Crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation

CRÉDIT D'IMPÔT POUR L'ÉQUITÉ
EN MATIÈRE D'ÉDUCATION

Document de discussion

Ministère des Finances de l'Ontario
Le 30 août 2001


Introduction

Le discours du Trône de 2001 faisait état de l'engagement du gouvernement à l'égard de normes élevées applicables aux élèves et d'un plus grand choix pour les parents en matière d'éducation.

Conformément à cet objectif, le budget de 2001 a affecté un montant supplémentaire de 360 millions de dollars au système d'écoles publiques. Depuis 1995, le gouvernement a augmenté les dépenses en éducation, les faisant passer de 12,9 milliards de dollars à 13,8 milliards de dollars – plus que ce qui est nécessaire pour combler les besoins découlant des effectifs à la hausse. Ce financement assurera que les élèves des écoles publiques, catholiques et de langue française disposent des outils dont ils ont besoin pour réussir. Le gouvernement a pris un engagement ferme à l'égard d'un système scolaire public de qualité, et il entend continuer à faire de nouveaux investissements visant à améliorer la qualité de l'éducation en Ontario.

Le budget de 2001 annonçait le Crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation, lequel vise à aider les parents qui souhaitent disposer d'un plus grand choix pour l'éducation de leurs enfants. Certains parents choisissent d'inscrire leurs enfants à une école indépendante. Pour beaucoup, le coût en est prohibitif. Le gouvernement estime qu'il est temps de répondre aux besoins de ces parents.

Ce faisant, l'Ontario se joint à d'autres provinces qui appuient le choix en matière d'éducation. La Colombie-Britannique, l'Alberta, la Saskatchewan, le Manitoba et le Québec appuient tous le choix en matière d'éducation en accordant des subventions aux écoles indépendantes. L'Ontario adopte une approche différente en fournissant de l'aide directement aux parents de sorte que ces derniers peuvent prendre les décisions qu'ils jugent appropriées pour leurs enfants.

Le gouvernement est persuadé que l'éducation constitue l'un des meilleurs investissements possibles pour l'avenir de notre province, et il procède à des investissements en fournissant des fonds supplémentaires aux écoles publiques, ainsi que de l'aide sous forme de crédits d'impôt aux parents, afin d'accroître le choix en matière d'éducation.

Discussions techniques

La Loi mettant en œuvre le Crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation (le crédit d'impôt), le projet de loi 45, a été adoptée par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario et a reçu la sanction royale. Des audiences ont eu lieu sur le projet de loi 45 sous l'égide du Comité permanent des finances et des affaires économiques en juin. Plus de 100 groupes et particuliers ont fait des exposés et 200 autres groupes et particuliers ont présenté des mémoires. Maintenant que l'Assemblée législative a adopté le crédit d'impôt, le gouvernement souhaite recueillir des conseils sur la structure et le contenu de tout règlement nécessaire. Le présent document vise à faciliter les discussions techniques prévues pour septembre 2001.

Aucune décision n'a été prise concernant les points soulevés, et aucune décision ne sera prise sans tenir compte des observations formulées par les participants et des mémoires reçus.

Les mémoires de toutes les parties intéressées, incluant celles qui participent aux discussions techniques, sont les bienvenus. Ils devront toutefois être présentés d'ici le 28 septembre 2001 pour être pris en considération.

Objectif du Crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation

Le crédit d'impôt vise à appuyer le choix des parents et tuteurs en matière d'éducation aux paliers élémentaire et secondaire, en offrant un crédit d'impôt remboursable partiel.

Principe de conception

Un élément essentiel de la conception du crédit d'impôt consiste à assurer un choix approprié pour les parents, dans le cadre des paramètres établis dans le budget de l'Ontario de mai 2001 et des dispositions approuvées par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario dans le projet de loi 45 en juin 2001.

L'article 8.4.2 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Ontario) (voir Annexe) permet à un contribuable admissible de réclamer un crédit d'impôt de 10 % des frais de scolarité admissibles versés à une école indépendante admissible pour l'année d'imposition 2002. Ce taux passera à 20 % pour 2003. Le budget de 2001 établit un tableau prévoyant que le taux de crédit d'impôt sera de 30 % pour 2004, de 40 % pour 2005 et de 50 % pour 2006 et les années suivantes.

Les taux de crédit d'impôt s'appliqueront à la première tranche de 700 $ des frais de scolarité par mois d'études à temps plein, jusqu'à concurrence de 7 000 $ par année d'imposition. La valeur maximale du crédit sera de 700 $ pour chaque enfant admissible pour la première année, et augmentera à 3 500 $ lorsque le crédit sera entièrement mis en oeuvre en 2006.

Le crédit d'impôt doit être calculé de manière à assurer que l'aide fiscale est reçue équitablement. Ce calcul doit tenir compte de tous les remboursements et autres crédits d'impôts pour les frais de scolarité.

La conception du crédit d'impôt doit aussi minimiser la complexité et de la quantité de documents pour les parents et les écoles.

Point de discussion : définition de « frais admissibles »

Les « frais admissibles » comprendront les frais que les parents paient normalement à une école indépendante. Le budget précisait que les « frais admissibles » ne comprendraient pas des dépenses comme les livres, les activités sportives, les uniformes, les ordinateurs, les déplacements et l'hébergement. Dans la pratique, on s'attendrait à ce que les écoles remettent aux parents un reçu indiquant le montant des frais payés, moins le coût des déplacements, de l'hébergement, des uniformes et autres qui ont été inclus dans les frais.

Deux questions liées à la définition de frais admissibles pour lesquelles des commentaires sont particulièrement souhaités :

  1. l'interaction entre le Crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation et le Crédit d'impôt pour dons de bienfaisance
  2. la façon de tenir compte des bourses d'études

Des commentaires sur d'autres aspects liés aux « frais admissibles » seront également les bienvenus.

1. Interaction entre le Crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation et le Crédit d'impôt pour dons de bienfaisance

L'Agence des douanes et du revenu du Canada (ADRC) permet aux écoles religieuses d'émettre des reçus pour fins d'impôt relativement à la portion des frais de scolarité applicable à l'éducation religieuse, par l'entremise du Crédit d'impôt pour dons de bienfaisance (CIDB). La possibilité de chevauchement entraîne la nécessité de clarifier l'interaction entre les deux crédits.

Comment le crédit d'impôt doit-il être calculé de manière à refléter la disponibilité du crédit d'impôt pour dons de bienfaisance?

2. Bourses d'études

Puisque le crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation a pour but d'être un crédit d'impôt partiel afin d'aider les parents à assumer les frais de scolarité des écoles indépendantes, nous avons besoin de conseils sur la meilleure manière de reconnaître les montants versés par une autre partie.

La disponibilité de bourses d'études soulève-t-elle d'autres questions dont il conviendrait de tenir compte?

Point de discussion : définition d'« écoles admissibles »

Pendant de nombreuses années, les parents ont pris la décision de payer pour des études dans une école indépendante pour leurs enfants en se fondant sur leurs propres opinions et recherches. Les écoles, pour leur part, réussissaient à répondre aux besoins et attentes des parents. Le gouvernement aimerait entendre parler d'options qui appuieraient l'objectif d'accroître la participation des parents et le choix relativement aux écoles indépendantes.

À quels critères ou exigences les écoles indépendantes devraient-elles répondre pour être admissibles au crédit d'impôt?

Si on exigeait que les écoles fournissent des énoncés de divulgation sur les questions importantes pour les parents, est-ce que cela faciliterait le choix pour les parents?

Il pourrait convenir que les questions suivantes fassent l'objet d'une divulgation :

  1. Programme d'études
  2. Questions liées à la sécurité
  3. Expérience dans l'administration d'une école

Y a-t-il d'autres questions pour lesquelles une divulgation conviendrait?

1. Programme d'études

À l'heure actuelle, les écoles indépendantes doivent préparer tous les ans un Avis d'intention de fonctionner comme école privée ainsi que d'autres données. Les écoles secondaires qui veulent décerner le Diplôme d'études secondaires de l'Ontario (DESO) doivent aussi se soumettre à un examen de leur curriculum, de leurs méthodes d'enseignement et des produits du travail de leurs élèves.

Les écoles admissibles devraient-elles être obligées à publier un énoncé de divulgation annuel décrivant leur programme d'études?

  • Dans l'affirmative, quels aspects du programme l'énoncé de divulgation devrait-il décrire?

Y a-t-il d'autres moyens de s'assurer que les parents sont suffisamment informés du programme d'études d'une école?

2. Questions liées à la sécurité

À l'heure actuelle, les écoles indépendantes doivent satisfaire à une gamme de normes de sécurité publiques, au code du bâtiment, à la réglementation sur la santé publique, aux codes des incendies, etc. Les parents envoient depuis des années leurs enfants dans des écoles indépendantes soumises à ces dispositions.

Devrait-on examiner d'autres moyens d'améliorer la sécurité des enfants?

3. Expérience dans l'administration d'une école

À l'heure actuelle, la Loi sur l'éducation et les autres dispositions législatives pertinentes exigent que les écoles indépendantes fonctionnent conformément au même régime de protection des consommateurs que celui qui s'applique aux entreprises. Par exemple, la Loi sur l'éducation exige que l'exploitant d'une école indépendante dépose chaque année un Avis d'intention de fonctionner comme école privée, qui donne des renseignements sur l'emplacement de l'école, le nom du directeur d'école et du propriétaire. La Loi sur les pratiques de commerce protège les parents contre des pratiques de commerce déloyales telles que la représentation inexacte des faits.

Y a-t-il d'autres moyens de mieux protéger les parents d'enfants qui fréquentent les écoles indépendantes?

Autres questions

Il faudra définir un certain nombre d'autres critères d'admissibilité.

1. Écoles admissibles

a) Nombre d'élèves

À l'heure actuelle, le ministère de l'Éducation exige un minimum de cinq élèves pour qu'une école puisse être enregistrée.

Combien d'élèves une école devrait-elle accueillir pour être admissible?

b) Emplacement de l'école

Les écoles devraient-elles être tenues d'offrir la totalité ou une proportion substantielle de leur enseignement en Ontario?

2. Contribuables admissibles

a) Relation avec l'enfant

Le contribuable réclamant le crédit devrait-il avoir un certain lien avec l'enfant, par exemple père ou mère, tuteur légal ou membre de la famille?

b) Règles de calcul au pro rata

Lorsque les frais de scolarité sont payés par plus d'une personne, comment devrait-on répartir le montant maximal admissible pour le crédit d'impôt (c.-à-d. 7 000 $) entre ces personnes?

3. Enfant admissible

À l'heure actuelle, la formule de financement pour les écoles publiques fournit des fonds pour les élèves qui ont au moins quatre ans le 31 décembre de l'année scolaire, jusqu'à l'âge de 20 ans, avec certains rajustements pour le nombre d'années passées à l'école secondaire.

Devrait-il y avoir des restrictions d'âge pour ce qui est des enfants admissibles?

4. Programme d'études admissible

À l'heure actuelle, dans les écoles publiques, un programme d'études comporte 1 500 minutes d'enseignement par semaine. Pour la prématernelle et la maternelle, des études à temps plein comprennent 750 minutes par semaine.

Que devrait être un programme d'études admissible?

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, composez sans frais le 1 800 263-7965, ou visitez le site www.fin.gov.on.ca.

Les observations écrites doivent être acheminées à l'adresse suivante :

M. Ernie Hardeman, député
Adjoint parlementaire au vice-premier ministre
Discussions techniques
Édifice Frost Nord
95, rue Grosvenor
3e étage
Toronto, Ontario
M7A 1Z1

ou envoyées par courrier électronique à l'adresse suivante:

eetc@fin.gov.on.ca



ANNEXE:
Article 8.4.2 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Ontario)

Remarque : À compter du 1er janvier 2002, la Loi est modifiée par l'article 41 du chapitre 8 des Lois de l'Ontario de 2001 par adjonction de l'article suivant :

Crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation

8.4.2 (1) Les définitions qui suivent s'appliquent au présent article.

«contribuable admissible» À l'égard d'une année d'imposition, personne qui réunit les conditions suivantes :

  1. elle est un particulier au sens de l'article 8;
  2. elle réside en Ontario le dernier jour de l'année;
  3. elle satisfait aux règles prescrites par les règlements. («qualifying taxpayer»)

«école indépendante admissible» École qui satisfait aux règles prescrites par les règlements ou qui est désignée comme telle par règlement. («eligible independent school»)

«enfant admissible» À l'égard d'un contribuable admissible, particulier qui satisfait aux règles prescrites par les règlements. («eligible child»)

«frais admissibles» La somme calculée en application des règles prescrites par les règlements. («eligible fees»)

«programme d'études admissible» Programme d'études de l'élémentaire ou du secondaire qui réunit les conditions suivantes :

  1. il est offert par une école indépendante admissible à un élève qui y est inscrit;

  2. il satisfait aux règles prescrites par les règlements. («eligible course of study»)

Montant du crédit d'impôt

(2) Le crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation à l'égard d'un enfant admissible pour une année d'imposition correspond au montant calculé selon la formule suivante :

A * B

où :

«A» représente le taux de base pour l'année, fixé en application du paragraphe (3);

«B» représente le moindre des montants suivants :

  1. le montant mensuel prescrit pour l'année ou, s'il n'en est prescrit aucun, le montant, jusqu'à concurrence de 7 000 $, qui correspond au produit de la multiplication de 700 $ par le nombre de mois de l'année pendant lesquels l'enfant admissible était inscrit à une école indépendante admissible en tant qu'élève à temps plein et y suivait un programme d'études admissible pendant l'année,

  2. le montant des frais admissibles qu'il est raisonnable d'attribuer à l'année et qu'un contribuable admissible a versés à une école indépendante admissible à l'égard d'un enfant admissible qui y était inscrit en tant qu'élève à temps plein et y suivait unprogramme d'études admissible pendant l'année.

Taux de base

(3) Le taux de base pour l'année d'imposition est le suivant pour l'application de l'élément «A» au paragraphe (2) :

  1. 10 pour cent, si l'année commence après le 31 décembre 2001 et se termine avant le 1er janvier 2003.

  2. 20 pour cent, si l'année commence après le 31 décembre 2002.

Part du contribuable admissible

(4) La part du crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation qui revient au contribuable admissible à l'égard d'un enfant admissible pour une année d'imposition correspond à la partie du crédit calculé en application du paragraphe (2) qui lui est attribuée conformément aux règles prescrites par les règlements.

Règlements

(5) Le ministre peut, par règlement :

  1. prescrire des règles pour l'application des définitions qui figurent au paragraphe (1);

  2. désigner des écoles données comme écoles indépendantes admissibles pour l'application de la définition;

  3. définir les termes utilisés dans le présent article mais non définis dans la présente loi;

  4. prescrire les règles permettant de calculer la part du crédit d'impôt pour l'équité en matière d'éducation qui revient au contribuable admissible pour l'application du paragraphe (4).

Idem : écoles indépendantes admissibles

(6) Les règlements qui prescrivent des règles pour l'application de la définition de «école indépendante admissible» peuvent établir des catégories d'écoles différentes et prescrire des règles différentes pour chaque catégorie.

Voir : 2001, chap. 8, art. 41 et par. 42 (4).

© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2001
ISBN 0-7794-1854-9

Page : 1303  |