MAIN HEADING: Progress on Implementing Commission on the Reform of Ontario’s Public Services’ Recommendations

The Commission on the Reform of Ontario’s Public Services, led by Don Drummond, was established in 2011 to provide advice on how to deliver the most effective and efficient public services possible and achieve a sustainable fiscal balance. The Commission’s report was released on February 15, 2012, and is available at www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/reformcommission/index.html

The government is continuing to move ahead with the Commission’s recommendations — over 80 per cent of recommendations are now being acted on, up from 60 per cent in the 2013 Budget.

These actions are enabling sustainable transformation and supporting successful expenditure management. The government is continuing to implement the Commission’s recommendations as part of its commitment to deliver the most effective and efficient public services.

A cross-section of actions taken to implement the Commission’s recommendations appears in the table below.

Transformative Initiatives Being Implemented by Sector

Health Care

  • Establishing new not-for-profit community-based specialty clinics that offer selected OHIP-insured, low-risk routine services, such as cataract and colonoscopy procedures.
  • Opening two new birth centres — the Ottawa Birth and Wellness Centre and the Toronto Birth Centre — to give women a home-like, family-centred setting in the community where they can have a midwife-attended birth.
  • Supporting the expansion and development of community paramedicine initiatives across the province, where paramedics work to reduce the need for 911 calls by providing information on better ways for patients to get care.
  • Introducing Bill 162, the Making Healthier Choices Act, 2014, which, if passed, would make Ontario the first province to require food service premises with 20 or more locations in the province to post calories on menus, making it easier for families to make informed and healthy food choices.
  • Funding 75 new nurse practitioner positions in long-term care homes over the next three years. The funding would strengthen the quality of care received by residents, reduce hospital admissions, and improve resident and caregiver experience.

Elementary and Secondary Education

  • Improving student achievement and closing gaps in student outcomes.
  • Introducing reforms to the sector so stakeholders can better work together to ensure the system's long-term sustainability.
  • Establishing a Technical Working Group on Benefits to explore the creation of one or more province-wide benefit plan(s) for education-sector workers.
  • Reaching an agreement in March 2013 with the Ontario Teachers’ Federation to freeze contribution rates for five years, thereby ensuring that the Teachers’ Pension Plan does not add to employer and taxpayer costs if addressing any new funding shortfalls.

Postsecondary Education

  • Releasing the Differentiation Policy Framework in November 2013 to drive institutional differentiation in the sector and signing mandate agreements with Ontario’s universities and colleges.
  • Launching a new database on ONTransfer.ca that students can use to check how their course credits are recognized at other colleges and universities, and help make informed decisions about their education.
  • Implementing the collection of Key Performance Indicators to monitor and increase quality at Private Career Colleges.
  • Maintaining the Ontario Student Access Guarantee, which requires colleges and universities that receive public funding to provide financial aid to help students cover program expenses, such as tuition and books, that exceed the financial assistance covered by the Ontario Student Assistance Program (OSAP).
  • Lowering the OSAP loan default cost-sharing threshold for private institutions from 25 per cent to 20 per cent in 2015–16, to address low performance and improve student outcomes.
  • Working with the sector to support structural reforms to university pension plans to ensure long-term sustainability.

Social Programs

  • Streamlining employment benefits into a simple, flexible approach to make services easier to access and remove barriers to help more people find jobs while also strengthening the accountability and efficiency of the benefits system.
  • Developing a modern social assistance case management system including enhanced online services to support long-term social assistance reform and promote consistent, client-focused delivery.
  • Increasing the basic needs and shelter amounts for social assistance clients with the lowest levels of support to create a fairer social assistance system and support ongoing efforts to alleviate poverty in Ontario.
  • Expanding the Passport and Special Services at Home programs to provide more direct funding to individuals with developmental disabilities and their families to transform to a modern developmental services system and ensure that clients receive the supports and services that they need.
  • Continuing to transform the child welfare sector by implementing a new funding model for children’s aid societies, enhancing outcome-based accountability measures across the sector and implementing new technology to improve outcomes for children and youth in care.
  • Continuing to transform mental health services by establishing lead community-based child and youth mental health agencies across the province to improve access to services through a more coordinated and responsive system for children, youth and their families.
  • Enhancing early identification of children with special needs and improving the integration and coordination of rehabilitation services across government to achieve improved outcomes for children and youth.

Immigration

  • Serving as the provincial co-chair of the Forum of Ministers Responsible for Immigration, starting in April 2014. The Province will continue to advocate its interests through the Forum in ensuring newcomers have the necessary support to succeed and contribute fully to Ontario's prosperity.
  • Acting as provincial co-chair on developing Canada's new proposed immigrant selection model, including the development of an “Expression of Interest” application system for economic immigration.
  • Demanding federal compensation for the cost of the Ontario Temporary Health Program launched in January 2014, to fill the gaps of health care coverage for refugees when the federal government scaled back its Interim Federal Health Program.

Business Support

  • Reviewing Ontario’s business support programs. A Technical Panel has been established to review Ontario’s business support programs and provide a framework for ongoing evaluation; its final report is expected this spring.
  • Presenting refundable tax credits as ministry expenses, consistent with the Public Sector Accounting Board accounting standard for tax revenue.
  • Making business tax incentives more effective, such as better targeting the Apprenticeship Training Tax Credit (ATTC) to help improve completion rates among ATTC-eligible trades and proposing to limit the small business deduction to small corporations.

Infrastructure
and Real Estate

  • Proposing Bill 141, the Infrastructure for Jobs and Prosperity Act, 2014, that, if passed, would require the Province to regularly table a long-term infrastructure plan in the legislature covering a period of at least 10 years.
  • Improving how municipalities plan and prioritize their infrastructure needs through the Municipal Infrastructure Strategy.
  • Shrinking the government’s office footprint in the City of Toronto by about one million square feet.

Energy

  • Seeking efficiencies in the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) and the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) by proposing to merge them into a single, more efficient organization that would help eliminate duplication, better meet today’s electricity needs and save ratepayers money.
  • Launching emPOWERme, a new, interactive website to help energy consumers take charge of the power they use by better understanding the province’s electricity system. In line with Ontario’s Open Government initiative, six Long-Term Energy Plan (LTEP) data modules were also posted on the Ministry of Energy and Ontario Power Authority websites to provide more detailed information regarding the assumptions underlying the LTEP.
  • Continuing to inform the public on changing supply and demand conditions, and outline the progress to date on the LTEP.
  • Continuing to move forward with Ontario Power Generation (OPG) and Hydro One transformation initiatives, including OPG’s estimated savings of $1 billion over six years (2011–16) by reducing overall headcount and Hydro One’s cost-reduction and productivity savings of $108 million annually for its distribution business by 2018.

Northern Development

  • Committing to work with Matawa-member First Nation communities on long-term environmental monitoring, socioeconomic and community development, regional infrastructure and resource revenue-sharing as part of developing the Ring of Fire region opportunities.

Environment

  • Continuing to implement risk-based approaches to environmental approvals across more program areas to improve environmental outcomes and address business needs by leveraging current technology.
  • Continuing to coordinate and integrate environmental approvals with other governments to reduce duplication.
  • Exploring policy and legislative options that would support the implementation of the polluter-pay principle. This includes policies focused on prevention and minimizing future provincial liabilities resulting from contaminated sites.

Justice Sector

  • Developing an online administrative child support calculation service to provide parents with the option to set up and update child support determinations without going to court.
  • Consolidating services, streamlining operations and enhancing efficiency through the clustering of 17 adjudicative tribunals. Most recently, the Safety, Licensing Appeals and Standards Tribunals Ontario cluster was created in 2013.
  • Working with Infrastructure Ontario to use Alternative Financing and Procurement (AFP) to meet the infrastructure needs of Ontario’s justice system.
  • Using civilians for administrative duties, such as data entry, in order to ensure police officers are able to focus on their core responsibilities. The hiring of civilian staff has enabled Ontario Provincial Police officers to better use their time for front-line policing services.

Government Business Enterprises

  • Accelerating the Liquor Control Board of Ontario’s (LCBO) store network expansion by adding more than 55 new or relocated stores over the past two years. In addition, the LCBO is launching nine destination boutiques within LCBO stores and 10 express stores in grocery stores as part of its strategic plan.
  • Continuing with the OLG Modernization Plan, including the procurement of private service providers for its gaming sites and lottery network. The OLG is continuing with the Charitable Bingo and Gaming Revitalization Initiative by developing and offering products and technologies for participating licensed bingo centres such as electronic bingo, electronic break open tickets, and play on demand games. The OLG has also announced a pilot program for the electronic delivery of 50/50 draws to benefit charities, and additionally, plans to launch its internet gaming operation, PlayOLG.ca, in the fall of 2014.

Intergovernmental Relations

  • Advocating strongly for reforming federal programs that are not working effectively in Ontario’s interests.
  • Calling on the federal government to stop taking unilateral actions that hurt Ontarians and outlining more than 110 actions that the federal government has taken since 2006 that have hurt people and businesses across Ontario.
  • Continuing to phase down the Ontario Municipal Partnership Fund to $500 million by 2016. Overall support to municipalities continues to increase, with provincial uploads more than offsetting any reduction to the program.

MAIN HEADING: Progrès réalisés dans la mise en oeuvre des recommandations de la Commission de réforme des services publics de l’Ontario

La Commission de réforme des services publics de l’Ontario, dirigée par Don Drummond, a été établie en 2011 pour conseiller le gouvernement sur la façon la plus efficiente et la plus efficace de dispenser des services publics et de parvenir à un équilibre financier durable. Le rapport de la Commission a été publié le 15 février 2012, et on peut le consulter à www.fin.gov.on.ca/fr/reformcommission/index.html.

Le gouvernement continue de mettre en oeuvre les recommandations de la Commission et plus de 80 % d’entre elles ont déjà fait l’objet de mesures, comparativement à 60 % dans le budget de 2013.

Ces mesures favorisent une transformation durable et la saine gestion des dépenses. Dans le cadre de son engagement à fournir les services publics les plus efficaces et les plus efficients qui soient, le gouvernement continue de mettre en oeuvre les recommandations de la Commission.

On trouvera ci-dessous un échantillon représentatif des mesures prises en réponse aux recommandations de la Commission.

Initiatives de transformation par secteur

Santé

  • Établissement dans les collectivités de cliniques spécialisées sans but lucratif offrant certains services de routine à faible risque, assurés par l’Assurance-santé de l’Ontario, comme les chirurgies de la cataracte et les coloscopies.
  • Ouverture de deux centres de naissance, le Centre de naissance et de bien-être d’Ottawa et le Toronto Birth Centre, pour permettre aux femmes d’accoucher avec l’aide d’une sage-femme dans un milieu chaleureux, axé sur la famille.
  • Soutien à l’expansion et au développement dans toute la province des initiatives paramédicales communautaires visant à offrir aux patients des renseignements sur les meilleures façons d’obtenir des soins sans recourir au service d’urgence 911.
  • Dépôt du projet de loi 162, la Loi de 2014 pour des choix plus sains qui, si elle était adoptée, ferait de l’Ontario la première province à exiger que les lieux de restauration ayant 20 établissements ou plus dans la province affichent le nombre de calories sur les menus, ce qui aiderait les familles à faire des choix alimentaires éclairés et sains.
  • Financement de 75 nouveaux postes d’infirmière praticienne dans les foyers de soins de longue durée au cours des trois prochaines années. Le financement améliorerait la qualité des soins que reçoivent les résidents, réduirait le nombre d’admissions dans les hôpitaux et améliorerait l’expérience des résidents et des aidants naturels.

Éducation élémentaire et secondaire

  • Amélioration du rendement des élèves et réduction des écarts en matière de rendement des élèves.
  • Instauration de réformes dans le secteur pour que les intervenants puissent mieux travailler ensemble afin d’assurer la viabilité à long terme du système.
  • Mise sur pied d’un groupe de travail technique chargé d’explorer la création d’un ou de plusieurs régimes de prestations à l’échelle de la province pour les travailleurs du secteur.
  • Entente conclue en mars 2013 avec la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario afin de geler les taux de cotisation pendant cinq ans, pour éviter que le Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario ait à augmenter les coûts pour les employeurs et les contribuables en cas de nouveau manque à gagner.

Éducation postsecondaire

  • Publication du Cadre stratégique de l’Ontario pour la différenciation du système d’éducation postsecondaire en novembre 2013 et conclusion d’ententes de mandat avec les collèges et universités de l’Ontario.
  • Lancement d’une nouvelle base de données sur ONTransfer.ca que les étudiantes et les étudiants peuvent utiliser pour vérifier si leurs crédits sont reconnus dans d’autres collèges et universités et prendre des décisions éclairées concernant leurs études.
  • Mise en oeuvre d’une collecte d’indicateurs de rendement clés pour surveiller et accroître la qualité de l’éducation dans les collèges privés d’enseignement professionnel.
  • Maintien de la Garantie d’accès aux études de l’Ontario, laquelle oblige les collèges et universités qui reçoivent des fonds publics à fournir une aide financière pour permettre aux étudiants de couvrir les dépenses liées à leur programme d’études, comme les droits de scolarité et les manuels, qui dépassent le niveau de soutien fourni par le Régime d'aide financière aux étudiantes et étudiants de l'Ontario (RAFEO).
  • Adoption de mesures pour faire passer de 25 % à 20 % en 2015-2016 le taux de défaut de paiement des prêts du RAFEO donnant lieu au partage de coûts pour les établissements privés, afin de s’attaquer au problème de rendement et améliorer les résultats des étudiantes et des étudiants.
  • Collaboration avec le secteur pour soutenir les réformes structurelles aux régimes de retraite des universités afin d’en assurer la viabilité à long terme.

Programmes sociaux

  • Regroupement des programmes de prestations d’emploi dans un modèle simple et flexible pour faciliter l’accès aux services et éliminer les obstacles afin d’aider plus de personnes à trouver un emploi tout en resserrant l’obligation redditionnelle et l’efficience du système de prestations.
  • Élaboration d’un système moderne de gestion des dossiers d’aide sociale, notamment en améliorant les services en ligne pour soutenir la réforme de l’aide sociale à long terme et promouvoir la prestation de services uniformes, axés sur les clients.
  • Augmentation des montants prévus pour les besoins essentiels et le logement pour les clients de l’aide sociale ayant les niveaux de soutien les plus faibles afin de créer un régime d’aide sociale plus juste et de soutenir les efforts continus pour atténuer la pauvreté en Ontario.
  • Expansion du programme Passeport et du Programme de services particuliers à domicile pour fournir plus de financement direct aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et à leur famille afin de moderniser le système de services aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et de veiller à ce que les clients reçoivent les mesures de soutien et les services dont ils ont besoin.
  • Poursuite de la transformation du secteur du bien-être de l’enfance en mettant en oeuvre un nouveau modèle de financement des sociétés d’aide à l’enfance, en améliorant les mesures de responsabilisation fondées sur les résultats dans le secteur et en instaurant une nouvelle technologie pour améliorer les résultats pour les enfants et les jeunes pris en charge.
  • Poursuite de la transformation des services de santé mentale en établissant à l’échelle de la province des organismes directeurs en santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes au sein des collectivités afin d’améliorer l’accès aux services grâce à un système mieux coordonné qui répond plus efficacement aux besoins des enfants, des jeunes et de leur famille.
  • Amélioration du dépistage précoce des enfants ayant des besoins particuliers et amélioration de l’intégration et de la coordination des services de réadaptation à l’échelle du gouvernement pour améliorer les résultats pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Immigration

  • Coprésidence provinciale du forum des ministres responsables de l’immigration, à compter d’avril 2014. La province continuera de défendre ses intérêts par l’entremise du forum afin que les nouveaux arrivants aient le soutien nécessaire pour réussir et contribuer entièrement à la prospérité de l’Ontario.
  • Coprésidence provinciale d’un projet visant à développer le modèle proposé de sélection des immigrants du Canada, y compris l’élaboration d’un système axé sur la déclaration d’intérêt au titre de l’immigration économique.
  • Demande d’une compensation fédérale pour le coût du Programme d'assurance-santé provisoire de l'Ontario lancé en janvier 2014, afin de combler les lacunes de la couverture des soins médicaux pour les réfugiés découlant de la diminution du Programme fédéral de santé intérimaire.

Soutien aux entreprises

  • Examen des programmes ontariens de soutien aux entreprises. Un comité technique a été établi pour examiner les programmes de soutien aux entreprises et fournir un cadre d’analyse pour une évaluation permanente; il devrait présenter son rapport final ce printemps.
  • Présentation des crédits d’impôt remboursables sous forme de charges des ministères, ce qui est conforme aux normes comptables du Conseil sur la comptabilité dans le secteur public pour ce qui est des revenus fiscaux.
  • Amélioration de l’efficacité des incitatifs fiscaux, par exemple en ciblant davantage le crédit d’impôt pour la formation en apprentissage (CIFA) afin d’accroître le taux d’achèvement dans les métiers admissibles au CIFA, et proposer de limiter aux petites sociétés l’admissibilité à la déduction applicable aux petites entreprises.

Infrastructure et biens immobiliers

  • Dépôt du projet de loi 141, la Loi de 2014 sur l'infrastructure au service de l'emploi et de la prospérité qui, si elle était adoptée, exigerait que le gouvernement présente régulièrement un plan d’infrastructure à long terme à l’Assemblée législative portant sur une période d’au moins 10 ans.
  • Amélioration de la façon dont les municipalités établissent un plan et les priorités à l’égard de leurs besoins en infrastructure par l’entremise de la Stratégie pour l'infrastructure municipale.
  • Réduction de l’empreinte immobilière du gouvernement dans la ville de Toronto en réduisant l’espace occupé par ses bureaux d’environ un million de pieds carrés.

Énergie

  • Recherche des économies à faire à l’Office de l’électricité de l'Ontario (OEO) et à la Société indépendante d’exploitation du réseau d’électricité (SIERE) en proposant la fusion de l’OEO et de la SIERE pour en faire un seul organisme plus efficient, ce qui permettrait d’éliminer le double emploi, de mieux répondre aux besoins en électricité d’aujourd’hui et d’économiser l’argent des consommateurs.
  • Lancement d’un nouveau site Web interactif, ÉNERGISEZmoi, pour aider les consommateurs d’électricité à prendre en charge leur consommation d’énergie en comprenant mieux le réseau d’électricité de la province. En accord avec l’Initiative pour un gouvernement ouvert, six modules de données du Plan énergétique à long terme (PELT) ont également été affichés sur les sites Web du ministère de l’Énergie et de l’Office de l’électricité de l’Ontario afin de fournir de plus amples renseignements sur les hypothèses qui sous-tendent le PELT.
  • Poursuite de la communication de renseignements au public sur l’évolution des conditions d’offre et de demande, et compte rendu de l’avancement du PELT.
  • Poursuite des initiatives de transformation de l’Ontario Power Generation (OPG) et d’Hydro One, comprenant des économies de 1 milliard de dollars sur six ans (2011-2016) que l’OPG prévoit réaliser en réduisant son effectif global, ainsi que la réduction des coûts et les économies en matière de productivité de 108 millions de dollars par année que prévoit réaliser Hydro One pour ses activités de distribution d’ici 2018.

Développement du Nord

  • Engagement à collaborer à long terme avec les communautés des Premières Nations Matawa pour la surveillance de l’environnement, le développement socioéconomique et communautaire, l’infrastructure régionale et le partage des revenus tirés des richesses naturelles dans le cadre de la création de possibilités économiques dans la région du Cercle de feu.

Environnement

  • Poursuite de la mise en oeuvre des approches fondées sur le risque en matière d’autorisations environnementales dans plus de secteurs de programmes afin d’améliorer les résultats environnementaux et de répondre aux besoins des entreprises en mettant à profit la technologie actuelle.
  • Poursuite de la coordination et de l’intégration des autorisations environnementales avec d’autres gouvernements afin de réduire les chevauchements.
  • Exploration de modèles de politiques et de mesures législatives qui pourraient appuyer l’application du principe selon lequel c’est le pollueur qui paye. On pourrait notamment envisager des politiques axées sur la prévention et visant à réduire la responsabilité financière future de la province à l’égard des lieux contaminés.

Justice

  • Élaboration d’un service administratif de calcul en ligne des aliments en faveur des enfants pour donner aux parents l’option d’établir et de mettre à jour la détermination des aliments à payer en faveur des enfants sans aller devant les tribunaux.
  • Regroupement des services, rationalisation des activités et accroissement de l’efficience grâce au regroupement de 17 tribunaux décisionnels. Récemment, le groupe des Tribunaux de la sécurité, des appels en matière de permis et des normes Ontario a été créé en 2013.
  • Collaboration avec Infrastructure Ontario pour diversifier les modes de financement et l’approvisionnement afin de répondre aux besoins infrastructurels du système judiciaire de l’Ontario.
  • Recours à des civils pour les fonctions administratives, comme la saisie des données, afin de permettre aux policiers de se concentrer sur leurs responsabilités fondamentales. L’embauche de personnel civil a permis aux agents de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario de consacrer davantage de temps aux services policiers de première ligne.

Entreprises publiques

  • Accélération de l’expansion du réseau de succursales de la Régie des alcools de l’Ontario (LCBO) en ajoutant plus de 55 succursales, nouvellement établies ou déménagées au cours des deux dernières années. En outre, la LCBO lance neuf boutiques spécialisées dans les magasins de la LCBO et 10 points de vente à service rapide dans les épiceries dans le cadre de son plan stratégique.
  • Poursuite du plan de modernisation de l’OLG, y compris la passation de contrats avec des fournisseurs de services du secteur privé pour les lieux de jeux et le réseau des postes de loterie. L’OLG poursuit également l’initiative Revitalisation du bingo et du jeu de bienfaisance en élaborant et en offrant des produits et des technologies pour les centres de bingo participants détenant une licence, comme le bingo électronique, les billets à fenêtre électroniques et les jeux sur demande. L’OLG a également annoncé le lancement d’un programme pilote offrant des tirages 50/50 par voie électronique au bénéfice des organismes de bienfaisance, et il prévoit également lancer son activité de jeu sur Internet, PlayOLG.ca, dès l’automne 2014.

Relations intergouvernementales

  • Revendication d’une réforme des programmes fédéraux qui ne répondent pas efficacement aux intérêts de l’Ontario.
  • Prise de position pour réclamer que le gouvernement fédéral cesse d’adopter des mesures unilatérales au détriment de la population ontarienne et énumérer plus de 110 mesures que le gouvernement fédéral a prises depuis 2006 qui ont eu des effets nuisibles sur la population et les entreprises de l’Ontario.
  • Poursuite de la réduction graduelle du financement du Fonds de partenariat avec les municipalités de l’Ontario pour le ramener à 500 millions de dollars d’ici 2016. Globalement, le soutien provincial accordé aux municipalités continue d’augmenter, les prises en charge provinciales faisant plus que compenser les réductions du financement du FPMO.