Transfer Tax

In 2017, the government amended the Electricity Act, 1998 regarding the application of hydro PILs against a taxpayer’s Transfer Tax liability. Learn more.


To promote consolidation of the electricity distribution sector, the 2015 Ontario Budget introduced time limited relief on taxes pertaining to transfers of electricity assets for all Municipal Electricity Utilities, including transfers to the private sector, effective January 1, 2016.

A permanent exemption from the transfer tax on transfers of electricity assets within the public sector has been in place since October 2009.

Before January 1, 2016, Municipal Electricity Utilities (MEUs) were subject to a transfer tax of 33 per cent on the fair market value of the electricity assets sold to the private sector, less any payments in lieu of taxes (PILs) or Ontario Corporate Income Tax (CIT) paid up to the time of the transfer.

The time limited relief on transfer tax, beginning January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018:

  • reduces the transfer tax rate from 33 to 22 per cent, and
  • exempts MEUs with fewer than 30,000 customers from the transfer tax.

These rules will remain in effect for any MEU with a related Merger, Acquisition, Amalgamation and Divestiture application before the Ontario Energy Board (OEB) before January 1, 2019, and a written agreement completed before January 1, 2019, provided the agreement is not materially changed thereafter.

For more information on these measures, see Time-Limited Relief on Taxes Pertaining to Transfers of Electricity Assets.

PILs Deemed Disposition Rules

MEUs, and Ontario Power Generation Inc. and the corporation’s subsidiaries, that are exempt from federal and Ontario income tax, must make PILs under the Electricity Act, 1998 to the Ontario Electricity Financial Corporation. PILs are equal to the federal and Ontario income tax the MEU would pay if it were a taxable corporation.

An MEU that ceases to be exempt from federal and Ontario income tax is deemed to dispose all of its assets at fair market value, with any tax gain arising on the deemed disposition being subject to PILs (PILs deemed disposition rules). Ontario Power Generation Inc. and the corporation’s subsidiaries are also subject to PILs deemed disposition rules.

Any capital gains arising under the PILs deemed disposition rules are exempt from PILs for the period beginning January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018.

The exemption will remain in effect for any MEUs with a related Merger, Acquisition, Amalgamation and Divestiture application before the OEB before January 1, 2019, and a written agreement completed before January 1, 2019 provided the agreement is not materially changed thereafter.

PILs and dispositions of partnership interests

O. Regs. 124/99, 162/01 and 207/99 to the Electricity Act, 1998 have been amended to adopt federal anti‑avoidance measures set out in section 100 of the Income Tax Act (Canada). The measures are intended to prevent the avoidance of PILs through dispositions of partnership interests made directly, or indirectly, as part of a series of transactions to a person who is not subject to PILs, or to a partnership whose members are not all subject to PILs.

Holding companies

Past payments in lieu of federal and provincial tax may apply to reduce the transfer tax liability of a municipal corporation or municipal electricity utility.

Proposed amendments to the Electricity Act, 1998 will now avail a municipal electricity utility's PILs credits to reduce the transfer tax payable by a municipal corporation's intermediary holding company that disposes of the municipal corporation’s indirect interest in the municipal electricity utility.

Background

As part of the restructuring of the electricity sector, municipalities were given ownership of their MEUs, which has provided them with a source of income and the potential to realize significant proceeds if they sell their MEUs.

Historically, the government has encouraged consolidation of the electricity sector through exemptions from the transfer tax for public to public sales or mergers of local distribution companies.

To spur consolidation and encourage efficiency within the sector, Ontario has implemented additional time-limited relief on taxes pertaining to transfers of electricity assets for all PILs payers, including transfers to the private sector.

Page: 2855  |

Impôt sur les transferts

En 2017, le gouvernement a modifié la Loi de 1998 sur l’électricité concernant l'application des paiements tenant lieu d'impôts relatifs à l'électricité en réduction de l'impôt sur les transferts dont un contribuable est redevable. Pour en savoir davantage.


Pour favoriser la consolidation du secteur de la distribution de l'électricité, le Budget 2015 de l'Ontario a introduit, pour une période déterminée, un allègement de l'impôt sur les transferts d'actifs d'électricité, pour tous les services municipaux d'électricité (SME), y compris les transferts au secteur privé, à compter du 1er janvier 2016.

Une exonération permanente de l'impôt sur les transferts d'actifs d'électricité dans le secteur public est en place depuis octobre 2009.

Avant le 1er janvier 2016, les SME étaient soumis à un impôt sur les transferts de 33 pour cent sur la juste valeur marchande des actifs d'électricité vendus au secteur privé, moins les paiements tenant lieu d'impôt (aussi appelés paiements en remplacement d'impôt ou PERI) ou l'impôt de l'Ontario sur les revenus des sociétés versés jusqu'au date du transfert.

En vertu de l'allègement de l'impôt sur les transferts, en vigueur du 1er janvier 2016 au 31 décembre 2018 :

  • le taux d'imposition sur les transferts passe de 33 pour cent à 22 pour cent, et
  • les SME ayant moins de 30 000 clients sont exonérés de l'impôt sur les transferts.

Ces règles s'appliquent à tout SME ayant soumis une demande connexe de fusion, d'acquisition et de dessaisissement auprès de la Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario (CEO) avant le 1er janvier 2019 et ayant conclu une entente écrite avant le 1er janvier 2019, à condition que l'entente ne fasse pas l'objet de modifications importantes par la suite.

Pour avoir plus de renseignements sur ces mesures, consultez Allègement, pour une période déterminée, de l'impôt sur les transferts d'actifs d'électricité.

Règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des PERI

Les SME, ainsi qu'Ontario Power Generation Inc. et ses filiales, qui sont exonérés de l'impôt sur le revenu fédéral et ontarien doivent, aux termes de la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité, verser des PERI à la Société financière de l'industrie de l'électricité de l'Ontario. Les PERI correspondent à l'impôt fédéral et ontarien sur le revenu qu'un SME paierait s'il était une société imposable.

Un SME qui n'est plus exonéré de l'impôt fédéral et ontarien sur le revenu est réputé avoir disposé de tous ses actifs à leur juste valeur marchande, et tout gain fiscal découlant de la disposition réputée est assujetti aux PERI (règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des PERI). Ontario Power Generation Inc. et ses filiales sont aussi assujettis aux règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des PERI.

Les gains en capital découlant de la disposition réputée en vertu des règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des PERI sont exonérés des PERI du 1er janvier 2016 au 31 décembre 2018

L'exonération demeure en vigueur pour tout SME ayant soumis une demande connexe de fusion, d'acquisition et de dessaisissement auprès de la CEO avant le 1er janvier 2019 et ayant conclu une entente écrite avant le 1er janvier 2019, à condition que l'entente ne fasse pas l'objet de modifications importantes par la suite.

PERI et disposition de participation dans une société de personnes

Les règlements de l'Ontario 124/99, 162/01 et 207/99 de la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité ont été modifiés afin d'y inclure des mesures fédérales contre l'évitement fiscal tel qu'il est stipulé à l'article 100 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu du Canada. Ces mesures sont destinées à prévenir l'évasion des PERI à travers des dispositions d'une participation dans une société de personnes, faite directement ou indirectement dans le cadre d'une série d'opérations, à une personne qui n'est pas assujettie aux PERI ou à une société de personnes dont les associés ne sont pas tous assujettis aux PERI.

Sociétés de portefeuille

Les paiements antérieurs tenant lieu d'impôts fédéral et provincial pourraient être appliqués pour réduire l'impôt sur les transferts d'une municipalité ou d'un service municipal d'électricité.

Des modifications proposées à la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité permettront dorénavant aux services municipaux d'électricité d'appliquer leurs crédits relatifs aux paiements tenant lieu d'impôts pour réduire l'impôt sur les transferts à payer de la société de portefeuille intermédiaire d'une municipalité qui dispose de la participation indirecte de cette municipalité dans le service municipal d'électricité.

Contexte

Dans le cadre de la restructuration du secteur de l'électricité, les municipalités se sont vu confier la propriété de leur SME, ce qui leur a fourni une source de revenus et la possibilité de réaliser un produit important advenant la vente du SME.

Dans le passé, le gouvernement a encouragé la consolidation du secteur de l'électricité au moyen d'exemptions de l'impôt sur les transferts dans le cas de la vente ou de la fusion de sociétés locales de distribution au sein du secteur public.

Pour stimuler la consolidation et encourager l'efficience dans le secteur, l'Ontario a instauré, pour une période déterminée, un allègement supplémentaire de l'impôt sur les transferts des actifs relatifs à l'électricité pour toutes les parties devant verser des PERI, y compris les transferts au secteur privé.

Page : 2855  |