Time-Limited Relief on Taxes Pertaining to Transfers of Electricity Assets

This page explains the 2016 amendments to three regulations made under the Ontario Electricity Act, 1998 (Act):

  • O. Reg. 124/99 Transfer Tax on Municipal Electricity Property (Transfer Tax Regulation)
  • O. Reg. 162/01 Payments In Lieu of Corporate Taxes – Municipal Electricity Utilities (PILs (MEUs) Regulation)
  • O. Reg. 207/99 Payments In Lieu of Corporate Taxes (PILs (Hydro/OPG) Regulation).

This page is for information purposes only and does not replace the law found in the Act or the regulations under the Act.

The government of Ontario recognizes that consolidation within the electricity sector can improve efficiency and the capacity of MEUs to meet key priorities, including upgrading aging infrastructure, and that private capital can play an important role in facilitating consolidation. To spur consolidation and encourage efficiency within the sector, Ontario has implemented additional time-limited relief on taxes pertaining to transfers of electricity assets for all PILs payers including transfers to the private sector.

The relief applies for the period January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2018, and includes:

  • reducing the transfer tax rate from 33 to 22 per cent
  • exempting MEUs with fewer than 30,000 customers from the transfer tax
  • exempting capital gains arising under the PILs Deemed Disposition Rules from PILs.

Amendments are also made to the PILs (MEUs) Regulation and the PILs (Hydro / OPG) Regulation to adopt, effective April 23, 2015, federal anti‑avoidance measures in order to prevent the avoidance of PILs through dispositions of partnership interests made directly, or indirectly as part of a series of transactions, to a person who is not subject to PILs or to a partnership whose members are not all subject to PILs.

The 2012 federal budget amended section 100 of the Income Tax Act (Canada) (ITA) with respect to the taxation of capital gains on the disposition of partnership interests to specified persons. Section 100 is intended to prevent the conversion of recapture and other income gains that would arise on the disposition of the assets of a partnership into capital gains.

Electricity assets held by partnerships

Where electricity assets are held through a general or limited partnership, the rules contained in the ITA with respect to partnerships are adopted for purposes of the Act with any appropriate modifications.

Transfer Tax Regulation

Time‑limited reduction to the prescribed percentage

Amendments have been made to the Transfer Tax Regulation to provide a time‑limited reduction of the prescribed percentage from 33 per cent to 22 per cent on transfers of any interest in real or personal property that has been used in connection with generating, transmitting, distributing or retailing electricity for transfers occurring between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2018.

All municipal corporations and MEUs will be subject to the reduced transfer tax on the transfer of electricity assets during this period. Additional time‑limited relief is provided for municipal corporations and MEUs that have fewer than 30,000 customers.

Time‑limited relief for MEUs with fewer than 30,000 customers

Amendments have been made to the Transfer Tax Regulation to exempt municipal corporations and MEUs with fewer than 30,000 customers from the transfer tax on transfers of electricity assets occurring between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2018.

'Interests, options, warrants and rights' and 'total number of consumers' are taken into account in determining whether a municipal corporation or MEU qualifies for the transfer tax exemption.

Interests, options, warrants and rights

The total number of customers of a municipal corporation or MEU is established by reference to the figures published in the Ontario Energy Board 2014 Yearbook of Electricity Distributors. Also considered in calculating the total number of customers are any transactions, or series of transactions, after December 31, 2014 and the date of the transfer whereby the municipal corporation or MEU acquires:

  • an interest in, or an option, warrant or a right under a contract in equity or otherwise to acquire an interest in an MEU, partnership or trust that generates, transmits, distributes or retails electricity in Ontario, or
  • an interest in electricity assets from an MEU, partnership or trust that includes the right to provide electricity to consumers.

Total number of consumers test

The total number of customers of a municipal corporation or an MEU includes the total number of consumers of any persons, partnerships or trusts in which the municipal corporation or MEU has a direct or indirect interest, and with whom the municipal corporation or MEU does not deal at arm's length or with whom the municipal corporation or MEU is affiliated. The meaning of the terms arm's length and affiliated is defined in the ITA.

PILs Regulations

The amendments made to the PILs (MEUs) Regulation and the PILs (Hydro/OPG) Regulation, collectively, the PILs Regulations, are identical in nature.

De minimis test

Only taxpayers that are tax exempt under the regular income tax regime can be subject to PILs in Ontario. A PILs payer will remain in the PILs regime and will continue to be liable for PILs in Ontario even if up to ten per cent of the capital of the PILs payer is owned, directly or indirectly, by persons that are not subject to PILs. Once the ten per cent ownership threshold is crossed, the PILs payer becomes subject to the PILs Deemed Disposition Rules (contained in the PILs Regulations), exits the PILs regime, and becomes subject to regular federal and provincial income taxes.

Time‑limited relief for capital gains arising under the PILs Deemed Disposition Rules

Consolidation within the electricity sector can improve the capacity of MEUs to meet key priorities such as the ability to upgrade aging infrastructure. Private capital can play an important role in facilitating this process. To encourage private investment and consolidation within the sector, the government of Ontario has provided additional relief by exempting from tax under the PILs regime all capital gains pertaining to transfers of electricity assets for all MEUs, including transfers to the private sector, for the period beginning January 1, 2016 and ending December 31, 2018.

Under the PILs Deemed Disposition Rules, an MEU will have a disposition of all of its assets at fair market value. As a result of the deemed disposition, the MEU would typically realize:

  1. capital gains
  2. income from recapture of previously claimed capital cost allowance and eligible capital property (ECP) expense, and
  3. income in respect of amounts allocated to ECP (e.g., goodwill) in excess of recapture included in 2.

ECP includes various intangible assets, e.g., customer lists and goodwill. The 2016 federal budget announced that new rules would be implemented to treat gains on the sale of ECP as capital gains effective January 1, 2017. The exemption for capital gains arising under the PILs Deemed Disposition Rules will apply in respect of all capital gains, including ECP such as goodwill, to the extent that such gains are treated as capital gains for federal income tax purposes.

Adoption of federal anti‑avoidance rules for dispositions of partnership interests

In its 2012 budget, the federal government implemented changes with respect to the taxation of capital gains on the disposition of partnership interests to specified persons. A partnership interest is capital property that is subject to capital gains treatment. The federal changes are designed to prevent the conversion of recapture and other income gains (which are fully taxed) that would be realized on the disposition of the assets of a partnership into capital gains (only half of which is subject to tax) that can be achieved through the disposition of partnership interests instead of partnership assets.

Effective April 22, 2015, the PILs Regulations were amended to adopt, with appropriate modifications, the federal anti‑avoidance measures in order to prevent the avoidance of PILs and transfer tax through dispositions of partnership interests made directly or indirectly as part of a series of transactions to a person who is not subject to PILs or a partnership whose members are not all subject to PILs.

Agreements to acquire shares

The PILs rules incorporate a federal anti‑avoidance provision which applies if a private sector taxpayer has a right to acquire shares of a municipal corporation. The effect of this provision is that where a person (other than the Crown, a municipality, or a tax‑exempt municipal corporation) has any type of right to acquire shares of a tax‑exempt municipal corporation, and the exercise of such right would cause the municipal corporation to lose its tax‑exempt status, then the corporation is deemed not to be a tax‑exempt entity. 'Right' is defined broadly to include any type of contingent, immediate or future right related to the acquisition of shares.

To achieve the government's goal of promoting consolidation of the electricity distribution sector, the anti‑avoidance rule will not be applied to the extent that a written agreement to make a bona fide transfer of shares is executed before January 1, 2019 and is not materially changed after that date other than as may be required to obtain the approval for the transfer from the Ontario Energy Board or from any other governmental regulatory body.

Past rulings

If a PILs payer has received a written ruling from the Ministry after December 31, 2007 and before April 23, 2015 that applies to a taxpayer‑specific disposition of an interest in a partnership to any person or partnership that is not an eligible corporation or eligible partnership, the Ministry will generally consider the ruling to continue to apply to the taxpayer‑specific disposition, despite the amendments, provided that all material facts in respect to the disposition were disclosed to the Ministry when the ruling was issued.

Questions regarding the application of time‑limited relief

If a question of interpretation of a term or provision of the Act or the regulations, or a question of the application of the Act or the regulations to a specific fact situation arises, a written request for an interpretation or application may be submitted to the Ministry at the address provided below.

Ministry of Finance
Advisory Services
33 King Street West, 3rd Floor
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

For more information

If this page does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the Act and related regulations, visit ontario.ca/finance or contact the Ministry of Finance at 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) or 1‑800‑263‑7776 for teletypewriter (TTY).

Page: 3351  |

Allègement, pour une période déterminée, de l'impôt sur les transferts d'actifs d'électricité

La présente page porte sur les modifications apportées à trois règlements visés par la Loi de 1998 sur l'électricité (la Loi), soit :

  • Règl. de l'Ont. 124/99, L'impôt sur les transferts des biens municipaux relatifs à l'électricité (règlement relatif à l'impôt sur les transferts)
  • Règl. de l'Ont. 162/01, Paiements tenant lieu d'impôt sur les sociétés - Services Municipaux d'Électricité (règlement sur les paiements tenant lieu d'impôt – SME)
  • Règl. de l'Ont. 207/99, Paiements tenant lieu d'impôt sur les sociétés (règlement sur les paiements tenant lieu d'impôt - Hydro/OPG).

Le contenu de la présente page est publié à titre d'information uniquement. Il ne remplace en rien le contenu de la Loi ou des règlements visés par la Loi.

Le gouvernement de l'Ontario est conscient que la consolidation peut accroître l'efficience et la capacité des services municipaux d'électricité (SME) afin de leur permettre de répondre aux grandes priorités, ce qui comprend la modernisation de l'infrastructure vieillissante, et que les capitaux privés peuvent jouer un rôle important pour faciliter cette consolidation. Pour stimuler la consolidation et encourager l'efficience dans le secteur, l'Ontario a instauré, pour une période déterminée, un allègement supplémentaire de l'impôt sur les transferts d'actifs relatifs à l'électricité pour toutes les parties devant verser des paiements tenant lieu d'impôt aussi appelé paiements en remplacement d'impôt ou PERI, y compris les transferts au secteur privé.

L'allègement fiscal est en vigueur du 1er janvier 2016 au 31 décembre 2018 et comprend :

  • la réduction du taux d'imposition sur les transferts, ce taux passant de 33 pour cent à 22 pour cent
  • l'exemption de l'impôt sur les transferts pour les SME ayant moins de 30 000 clients
  • l'exemption des gains en capital en vertu des règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des PERI.

Afin d'adopter les mesures fédérales visant à contrer l'évitement fiscal, des modifications ont été apportées au règlement sur les paiements tenant lieu d'impôt sur les sociétés – SME, ainsi qu'au règlement sur les paiements tenant lieu d'impôt (Hydro/OPG). Ces modifications sont entrées en vigueur le 23 avril 2015. Ces mesures sont destinées à parvenir l'évasion des PERI à travers des dispositions d'une participation dans une société de personnes, faite directement ou indirectement, dans le cadre d'une série d'opérations, à une personne qui n'est pas assujettie aux PERI ou à une société de personnes dont les associés ne sont pas tous assujettis aux PERI.

Dans le budget fédéral de 2012, le gouvernement a modifié l'article 100 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (Canada) concernant l'imposition des gains en capital sur la disposition d'une participation dans une société de personnes en faveur de personnes précises. L'article 100 vise à empêcher que les gains récupérés ou les autres revenus réalisés sur les dispositions des actifs d'une société de personnes soient convertis en gains en capital.

Actifs d'électricité détenus par des sociétés de personnes

Lorsque les actifs d'électricité sont détenus par l'entremise d'une société de personnes ou d'une société en commandite, les règles contenues dans la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu concernant lesdites sociétés sont adoptées dans le cadre de la Loi avec les modifications nécessaires.

Règlement relatif à l'impôt sur les transferts

Réduction du pourcentage prescrit pour une période déterminée

Des modifications ont été apportées au règlement touchant l'impôt sur les transferts afin de permettre une réduction, pour une période déterminée, du pourcentage prescrit sur les transferts d'un intérêt sur des biens meubles ou immeubles qui ont servi à la production, au transport, à la distribution ou à la vente au détail d'électricité. Ce pourcentage passe de 33 pour cent à 22 pour cent, du 1er janvier 2016 au 31 décembre 2018.

Les corporations municipales et les SME sont soumis à l'impôt réduit sur les transferts d'actifs d'électricité durant cette période. Un allègement fiscal supplémentaire, pour une période limitée, est prévu pour les corporations municipales et les SME ayant moins de 30 000 clients.

Allègement, pour une période déterminée, pour les SME ayant moins de 30 000 clients

Des modifications ont été apportées au règlement relatif à l'impôt sur les transferts afin que les corporations municipales et les SME ayant mois de 30 000 clients soient exemptés de l'impôt sur les transferts d'actifs d'électricité entre le 1er janvier 2016 et le 31 décembre 2018.

Pour déterminer si une corporation municipale ou un SME est admissible à l'exemption d'impôt sur les transferts, on tient compte des participations, options, bons de souscription et droits, ainsi que nombre total de consommateurs.

Participation, options, bons de souscription et droits

Le nombre total de clients d'une corporation municipale ou d'un SME est établi d'après les chiffres publiés dans l'Annuraire 2014 des distributeurs d'électricité de la Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario. On tient compte également de toute opération ou suite d'opérations survenues après le 31 décembre 2014 et de la date du transfert à laquelle la corporation municipale ou le SME acquiert :

  • une participation, une option, un bon de souscription ou un droit en vertu d'un contrat, en équité ou autrement, pour obtenir une participation dans une SME, une société de personnes ou une fiducie qui produit, transporte, distribue ou vend au détail de l'électricité en Ontario, ou
  • une participation dans les actifs d'électricité d'un SME, d'une société de personnes ou d'une fiducie qui inclut le droit de fournir de l'électricité aux consommateurs.

Nombre total de consommateurs

Le nombre total de clients d'une corporation municipale ou d'un SME comprend le nombre total de consommateurs de toutes personnes, sociétés de personnes ou de fiducies dans lesquels la corporation municipale ou le SME a une participation directe ou indirecte et avec lesquels la corporation municipale ou le SME a un lien de dépendance ou avec lesquels la corporation municipale ou le SME est affilié. L'expression sans lien de dépendance et le mot affiliation sont définis dans la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu.

Règlements relatifs aux paiements en remplacement d'impôt (PERI)

Les modifications au règlement sur les PERI (SME), ainsi qu'au règlement sur les PERI (Hydro/OPG), désignés collectivement dans la présente par les règlements sur les PERI, sont identiques.

Régie des minimes

Seuls les contribuables exemptés d'impôt en vertu du régime régulier d'impôt sur le revenu peuvent être assujettis aux PERI en Ontario. La partie devant verser un PERI demeure assujettie au régime des PERI et continue de devoir verser des PERI en Ontario même si jusqu'à dix pour cent de son capital est détenu, directement ou indirectement, par des personnes qui ne sont pas assujetties aux PERI. Lorsque le seuil de dix pour cent est franchi, il devient assujetti aux règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des PERI (contenue dans les règlements sur les PERI), quitte le régime des PERI et devient assujetti aux impôts fédéral et provincial habituels.

Allègement, pour une période déterminée, sur les gains en capital en vertu des règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des PERI

La consolidation dans le secteur de l'électricité peut accroître la capacité des SME de répondre aux grandes priorités, notamment la modernisation de l'infrastructure vieillissante. Les capitaux privés peuvent jouer un rôle important pour faciliter cette consolidation. Pour favoriser les investissements privés et la consolidation du secteur, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a instauré un allègement fiscal supplémentaire, soit une exemption d'impôt, dans le cadre du régime des PERI, sur les gains en capital sur les transferts d'actifs d'électricité pour tous les SME, y compris les transferts au secteur privé. L'allègement fiscal est en vigueur du 1er janvier 2016 au 31 décembre 2018.

En vertu des règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des PERI, un SME disposera de ses actifs à la juste valeur marchande. Par conséquent, le SME :

  1. réaliserait des gains en capital
  2. obtiendrait un revenu de la récupération de la déduction pour amortissement demandée auparavant et des dépenses liées aux immobilisations admissibles
  3. obtiendrait un revenu concernant les montants consacrés aux immobilisations admissibles (p. ex. achalandage) dépassant la récupération mentionnée à la rubrique 2.

Les immobilisations admissibles comprennent divers actifs incorporels comme les listes de clients et l'achalandage. Dans le budget fédéral de 2016, le gouvernement a annoncé que de nouvelles règles seraient mises en place pour que les gains sur la vente d'immobilisations admissibles soient traités comme des gains en capital à compter du 1er janvier 2017. L'exemption sur les gains en capital découlant des règles de disposition présumée sous le régime des PERI s'appliquera sur tous les gains en capital, y compris les immobilisations admissibles comme l'achalandage, dans la mesure où de tels gains sont considérés comme des gains en capital aux fins de l'impôt sur le revenu fédéral.

Adoption des mesures fédérales visant à contrer l'évitement fiscal lors de la disposition d'une participation dans une société de personnes

Dans le budget de 2012, le gouvernement fédérale a apporté des modifications concernant l'imposition des gains en capital sur la disposition d'une participation dans une société de personnes en faveur de personnes précises. Une participation dans une société de personnes est une immobilisation soumise au traitement des gains en capital. Les modifications visent à empêcher que les gains récupérés ou les autres revenus (imposable en totalité) qui sont réalisés sur la disposition des actifs d'une société de personnes soient convertis en gains en capital (dont la moitié seulement est assujettie à l'impôt) qui peuvent être réalisés par la disposition d'une participation dans une société de personnes au lieu des actifs de cette société.

À compter du 22 avril 2015, des modifications ont été apportées aux règlements sur les PERI afin d'adopter les mesures fédérales visant à contrer l'évitement fiscal pour prévenir l'évasion des PERI et l'impôt sur les transferts à travers des dispositions d'une participation dans une société de personnes, faite directement ou indirectement dans le cadre d'une série d'opérations, en faveur d'une personne qui n'est pas assujettie aux PERI ou en faveur d'une société de personnes dont les associés ne sont pas tous assujettis aux PERI.

Accords en vue d'acquérir des actions

Les règles sur les PERI comprennent une disposition fédérale visant à contrer l'évitement fiscal. Cette disposition s'applique lorsqu'un contribuable du secteur privé a le droit d'acquérir des actions d'une corporation municipale. Ainsi, lorsqu'une personne autre que la Couronne, une municipalité ou une corporation municipale exonérée d'impôt a le droit d'acquérir des actions d'une telle corporation et lorsque l'exercice de ce droit entraînerait, pour cette corporation, la perte de son statut d'organisme exonéré d'impôt, la corporation est considérée comme une entité qui n'est pas exonérée d'impôt. La définition générale du mot « droit » comprend tout droit éventuel, immédiat ou futur relié à l'acquisition d'actions.

Pour atteindre l'objectif du gouvernement qui consiste à promouvoir la consolidation du secteur de la distribution d'électricité, la règle visant à contrer l'évitement fiscal ne s'appliquera pas dans la mesure où une entente écrite en vue de faire un transfert de bonne foi des actions est signée avant le 1er janvier 2019 et ne subit aucune modification importante après cette date sauf une modification qui pourrait être requise pour obtenir l'approbation du transfert de la part de la Commission de l'énergie de l'Ontario ou de tout autre organisme gouvernemental de réglementation.

Décisions antérieures

Lorsqu'une partie devant verser un PERI a reçu, après le 31 décembre 2007 et avant le 23 avril 2015, une décision écrite du ministère qui s'applique à la disposition, par un contribuable déterminé, d'une participation dans une société de personnes à une personne ou société de personnes qui n'est pas une corporation ou une société de personnes admissible, le ministère considère que la décision continue de s'appliquer à la disposition faite par le contribuable déterminé, malgré les modifications, à condition que les faits essentiels concernant la disposition aient été divulgués au ministère quand la décision a été rendue.

Questions au sujet de l'application de l'allègement fiscal pour une période déterminée

Si une question d'interprétation d'un terme ou d'une disposition de la Loi ou des règlements, ou une question concernant l'application de la Loi ou des règlements par rapport à une situation factuelle particulière se pose, une demande d'interprétation doit être présentée, par écrit, au ministère à l'adresse indiquée ci après.

Ministère des Finances
Direction des services consultatifs
33, rue King Ouest, 3e étage
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

Renseignements supplémentaires

Si les renseignements sur cette page ne correspondent pas à votre situation, veuillez vous reporter à la Loi ou aux règlements qui s'y rapportent, consulter ontario.ca/finances ou communiquer avec le ministère des Finances au 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) ou, dans le cas d'un téléscripteur (TTY), au 1‑800‑263‑7776.

Page : 3351  |