Associated Employers

Effective January 1, 2014, the amount of annual Ontario payroll that may be exempt from Employer Health Tax (EHT) is increased from $400,000 to $450,000. To better target EHT relief, the exemption is eliminated for private‑sector employers with annual Ontario payrolls over $5 million. Eligible employers who are registered charities can claim the exemption even if their payroll exceeds $5 million.

Tax exemption

Are you exempt?

Eligible employers are exempt from EHT on the first $450,000 of total Ontario remuneration. Total Ontario remuneration refers to the remuneration on which you are required to pay EHT.

Employers with total Ontario remuneration over $5 million are not eligible to claim the exemption. Employers that are associated at any time during the year must take into account the total Ontario remuneration of each associated entity in determining whether they can claim the exemption. When the combined total Ontario remuneration of all the employers that are associated exceeds $5 million, these employers are not eligible for the exemption.

Eligible employers are generally private‑sector employers. Eligible employers who are members of an associated group are required to enter into an agreement to allocate the tax exemption for the year.

For more information about the tax exemption, refer to tax exemption.

Associated employers rules

Extension of associated corporations rules

Associated employers are connected by ownership or by a combination of ownership and relationships between individuals. Individuals are related either through blood, marriage or adoption. The rules for associated corporations under section 256 of the federal Income Tax Act are used to determine whether or not employers are associated for EHT purposes. Although these rules refer to corporations, their application is extended under the EHT Act to include individuals, partnerships, and trusts. Employers are associated if they are associated with each other at any time in the year.

Individuals, partnerships, and trusts are deemed to be corporations with one class of voting shares.

Rules to determine ownership of shares:

  • Sole Proprietor

    The individual owns all of the shares of the corporation.

  • Partnership

    Each partner owns shares in the same proportion in which he or she shares the income or loss of the partnership.

  • Trust

    Each beneficiary of a trust owns shares in the same proportion in which he or she shares the income or loss of the trust.

All of the following examples show employers which are associated.

Example (a) and (b)

One of the corporations controls the other.

Example (a)

A parent company controls a subsidiary.

A parent company controls a subsidiary by 97%.

    Example (b)

    A doctor hires a superintendent to manage his rental properties, and hires a secretary in his medical practice. He also owns an art gallery.

    A doctor hires a superintendant and a secretary. The doctor also owns 100% of Art Gallery Ltd.

    Example (c)(i)

    Both of the corporations are controlled by the same person:

    A dentist owns 83% of Art Gallery Ltd. and 75% of Laboratory Equipment Co.

    Example (c)(ii)

    or group of persons:

    Bob owns 80% of Great White North Co. and 33.3% of Canadian Bacon Ltd. Geddy Lee owns 33.3% of Canadian Bacon Ltd. Doug owns 20% of Great White North Co. and 33.3% of Canadian Bacon Ltd.

    Both Great White North Co. and Canadian Bacon Ltd. are controlled by the group of Bob and Doug.

    Example (d)

    Each corporation is controlled by a different person and they are related. One of them owns at least 25 per cent of any class of shares of each corporation (other than shares of a specified class).

    Ms. A owns 94% of Lunber Co. and 25% of Furniture Co. Mr. B (Ms. A's brother) own 75% of Furniture Co.

    Example (e)

    One corporation is controlled by one person, and that person is related to all members of the group that controls the other corporation. That one person also owns at least 25 per cent of the shares of the other corporation (other than shares of a specified class). It is not necessary that the members of the group be related to each other.

    Mr. X owns 92% of Fish Market Inc. and 25% of Laundry Ltd. Mr. Y (Mr. X's brother) owns 25% of Laundry Ltd. Mr. Z (Mr. X's son) owns 25% of Laundry Ltd. Mrs. W (Mr. X's sister-in-law) owns 25% of Laundry Ltd.

    Example (f)

    Each corporation is controlled by a related group, with all members of one group related to all members of the other group. One or more persons who are members of both groups, either alone or together, own at least 25 per cent of the shares of each corporation (other than shares of a specified class). It is not necessary for every member of a group to own shares in the other corporation.

    Mrs. X owns 60% of Garden Centre Ltd. Mr. X owns 40% of Garden Centre Ltd. and 25% of Factory Outlet Inc. Mr. Y (Mr. X's brother) owns 25% of Factory Outlet Inc. Mrs. Z (Mr. X's sister) owns 50% Factory Outlet Inc.

    Example (g)

    Both of the employers are associated through a third corporation.

    Global Pharmacy Holding Company owns 55% of Pharmacy 1 employer and 75% of Pharmacy 2 employer.

    Association rules include indirect ownership

    Share ownership includes both direct beneficial ownership and indirect ownership. Indirect ownership occurs when shares of a corporation are held by another corporation. For example, when Bob owns 100 per cent of Company X which owns 50 per cent of Company Y, Bob is considered to own 50 per cent of Company Y.

    Control

    Situations when control can occur

    These are situations in which control can occur:

  1. When a person owns enough shares to give him or her a majority of the votes.
  2. When a person has direct or indirect influence that, if exercised, would result in control of the corporation. For example, the ability to cause the corporation to change the board of directors, or to make decisions relating to vital actions of the corporation, would result in control of the corporation. A potential influence, even if it is not actually exercised, would be sufficient to result in control in fact. Control can occur regardless of share ownership.
  3. When a person owns more than 50 per cent of the fair market value of all shares, regardless of whether or not these shares have voting rights.

Situations when control does not occur

A person at arm's length may have influence over a corporation, regarding how the business is to be conducted, from a legal arrangement (for example, under a franchise, license, lease, distribution, supply or management agreement). This influence is not control.

Relationship

The term related is used in examples (d) to (f) in the association rules, and the term related group is used in example (f).

Related individuals

Individuals can be related by blood, marriage, or adoption. For tax purposes, you are related to your spouse or common‑law partner, parents and children and in‑laws, siblings and in‑laws, and grandparents and in‑laws, and grandchildren. However, you are not related to your uncles, aunts, nieces, nephews and cousins.

Related group

Related group is defined as a group of people, with each member related to every other member of the group.

For example, three brothers form a related group.

A group consisting of a son, father, and brother of the father does not form a related group, because an uncle and a nephew are not considered to be related for tax purposes.

References

For more details on relationships, refer to the CRA’s web page entitled S1-F5-C1, Related Persons and Dealing at Arm's Length.

Registered charities

Special rules

Eligible employers who are associated with a registered charity are not required to include the payroll of the charity when determining whether the combined payroll of the associated group is within the $5 million exemption threshold. The associated group is not required to share its exemption with the charity and is not required to include the charity on its Associated Employers Exemption Allocation Form.

A registered charity that has two or more qualifying charity campuses may claim an exemption amount for each qualifying charity campus.

For more information on the EHT rules for registered charities.

Non‑share capital and non‑profit corporations

The usual associated rules do not apply

For non‑share capital and non‑profit corporations, the association rules dealing with control through share ownership do not apply. We rely on direct or indirect influence, the type of control described under the section Control in (2).

Factors to be considered in determining associated status

The ministry will consider the following factors in its determination of associated employer:

  • whether the board, committee (or majority of the members) or person in charge is the same for two or more organizations
  • whether the board, committee or person in charge of each organization is reporting to the same body or larger organization
  • whether the board, committee or person in charge is appointed (or could be appointed) by another organization
  • whether the employer is a member of a larger organization under an agreement/contract (whether verbal or written)
  • whether a larger organization has the ability to directly or indirectly terminate the existence of the employer or its business
  • whether the larger organization has the ability to make alternative decisions concerning the actions of the employer in the short, medium or long term
  • what would happen to the ownership of assets upon dissolution of the employer
  • whether there is a third party ownership of a large debt on demand
  • who has the responsibility of outstanding debts/liabilities upon dissolution
  • whether there is economic dependence on the larger organization.

Associated employers exemption allocation schedule

Eligible employers who are members of an associated group of employers at any time during the year are required to enter into an agreement to allocate the tax exemption for the year. Only one member is required to complete the Associated Employers Exemption Allocation form and submit it to the ministry by the return due date. The exemption for all members of the group will be denied if a completed form is not received.

For more information on allocating the tax exemption, refer to tax exemption.

Request for written interpretations

To obtain a written interpretation on a specific situation, please send your request in writing to:

Ministry of Finance
Advisory Services
33 King Street West, 3rd Floor
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

For more information

Visit ontario.ca/eht or contact the Ministry of Finance at 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) or 1‑800‑263‑7776 for teletypewriter (TTY).

Page: 500  |

Employeurs associés

À compter du 1er janvier 2014, le montant des frais de personnel annuels en Ontario qui seront exonérés de l'impôt‑santé des employeurs (ISE) passera de 400 000 $ à 450 000 $. Afin de mieux cibler l'allégement au titre de l'ISE, l'exonération sera éliminée pour les employeurs du secteur privé dont la masse salariale annuelle en Ontario dépasse 5 millions de dollars. Les employeurs admissibles qui sont des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés peuvent demander l'exonération même si leur masse salariale dépasse 5 millions de dollars.

Exonération fiscale

Êtes‑vous exonéré de l'ISE?

Les employeurs admissibles sont exonérés de l'ISE sur la première tranche de 450 000 $ de la rémunération totale en Ontario. La rémunération totale en Ontario s'entend de la rémunération sur laquelle un employeur est tenu de payer l'ISE.

Les employeurs dont la rémunération totale en Ontario s'élève à plus de 5 millions de dollars ne peuvent demander l'exonération. Les employeurs qui étaient associés à un quelconque moment au cours de l'année doivent également tenir compte de la rémunération totale en Ontario versée par chacune des autres entités associées, qu'elles aient droit ou non à l'exonération. Lorsque la rémunération totale combinée en Ontario de tous les employeurs associés s'élève à plus de 5 millions de dollars, ces employeurs n'ont pas droit à l'exonération.

Les employeurs admissibles sont généralement des employeurs du secteur privé. Les employeurs admissibles qui appartiennent à un groupe d'employeurs associés doivent conclure une entente prévoyant la répartition de l'exonération pour l'année.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'exonération d'impôt‑santé, consultez l'exonération fiscale.

Règles relatives aux employeurs associés

Application étendue des règles relatives aux sociétés associées

Les employeurs associés sont liés entre eux soit par des droits de propriété, soit par une combinaison de droits de propriété et de liens de parenté entre particuliers. Les particuliers peuvent être liés par le sang, le mariage ou l'adoption. Les règles régissant les sociétés associées en vertu de l'article 256 de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu (fédérale) servent à déterminer si les employeurs sont associés ou non aux fins de l'ISE. Bien que ces règles fassent allusion à des sociétés, en vertu de la Loi sur l'ISE, elles s'appliquent également à des particuliers, des sociétés de personnes et des fiducies. On considère que des employeurs sont associés s'ils étaient associés les uns aux autres à un quelconque moment de l'année.

Les particuliers, sociétés de personnes et fiducies sont réputés être des sociétés ne possédant qu'une seule catégorie d'actions avec droit de vote.

Règles servant à déterminer la propriété des actions :

  • Propriétaire unique

    Le particulier détient toutes les actions de la société.

  • Société de personnes

    Chaque membre de la société détient des actions de la société dans une proportion égale à sa part du revenu ou des pertes de la société de personnes.

  • Fiducie

    Chaque bénéficiaire d'une fiducie détient des actions de la fiducie dans une proportion égale à sa part du revenu ou des pertes de la fiducie.

Tous les exemples qui suivent illustrent des employeurs associés.

Exemple (a) et (b)

L'une des sociétés contrôle l'autre.

Exemple (a)

Une société‑mère contrôle une filiale.

Société mère contrôle 97% d'une filiale.

Exemple (b)

Un médecin embauche un gérant pour administrer ses immeubles locatifs, et une secrétaire pour son cabinet. Il possède aussi une galerie d'art.

Un médecin embauche un gérant et une secrétaire. Le médecin contrôle 100% d'une galerie d'art.

Exemple (c)(i)

La même personne contrôle les deux sociétés :

Un dentiste contrôle 83 % d'une galeire d'art et 75 % d'une cie de matériel de laboratoire.

Exemple (c)(ii)

Ou le même groupe de personnes contrôle les deux sociétés :

Robert contrôle 80 % de Cie du Grand Nord et contrôle 33,3 %  de Bacon Canadien Ltée. Geddy lee contrôle 33,3 % de Bacon Canadien Ltée. Daniel contrôle 20 % de Cie du Grand Nord et contrôle 33,3 % de Bacon Canadien Ltée.

Cie du Grand Nord et Bacon Canadien Ltée sont contrôlées par le groupe de Robert et Daniel.

Exemple (d)

Chaque société est contrôlée par une personne différente et ces personnes ont un lien de parenté entre elles. L'une de ces personnes détient au moins 25 % de n'importe quelle catégorie d'actions de chaque société (autres que les actions d'une catégorie exclue).

Mme A contrôle 94 % du Cie de Matériaux et contrôle 25 % du Cie de Meubles. M. B (frère de Mme A) contrôle 75 % du Cie de Meubles.

Exemple (e)

Une société est contrôlée par une personne, et cette personne a un lien de parenté avec tous les membres d'un groupe qui contrôle l'autre société. Cette personne détient aussi au moins 25 % des actions de l'autre société (autres que les actions d'une catégorie exclue). Il n'est pas nécessaire que les membres du groupe aient un lien de parenté.

M. X contrôle 92 % du Marché du poisson Inc. et contrôle 25 % du Buanderie Ltée. M. Y (frère de M. X) contrôle 25 % du Buanderie Ltée. M. Z (fils de M. X) contrôle 25 % du Buanderie Ltée. Mme W (belle-soeur de M. X) contrôle 25 % du Buanderie Ltée.

Exemple (f)

Chaque société est contrôlée par un groupe lié, et tous les membres d'un groupe ont un lien de parenté avec tous les membres de l'autre groupe. Une ou plusieurs personnes qui sont membres des deux groupes, soit seules ou ensemble, détiennent au moins 25 % des actions de chaque société (autres que les actions d'une catégorie exclue). Il n'est pas nécessaire que chacun des membres d'un groupe détienne des actions dans l'autre société.

Mme X contrôle 60 % du Centre du Jardin Ltée. M. X contrôle 40 % du Centre du Jardin Ltée et contrôle 25 % du Magasin d'usine Inc. M. Y (frère de M. X) contrôle 25 % du Magasin d'usine Inc. Mme Z (soeur de M. X) contrôle 50 % du Magasin d'usine Inc.

Exemple (g)

Les deux employeurs sont associés par le biais d'une tierce société :

Société de portefeuille pharmaceutique globale contrôle 55 % du Employeur de la pharmacie 1 et 75 % de Employeur de la pharmacie 2.

Règles relatives aux associations qui portent sur l'actionnariat indirect

Il existe deux types d'actionnariat : direct et indirect. Il y a actionnariat indirect quand les actions d'une société sont détenues par une autre société. Par exemple, Robert possède 100 % de la compagnie X qui, elle, détient 50 % de la compagnie Y; on considère alors que Robert possède 50 % des parts de la compagnie Y.

Contrôle

Situations où il y a contrôle

On distingue différentes situations où il peut y avoir contrôle :

  1. Lorsqu'une personne détient suffisamment d'actions pour avoir la majorité des votes.
  2. Lorsqu'une personne jouit d'une influence directe ou indirecte qui, si elle l'exerce, lui donnerait le contrôle de la société. Par exemple, le pouvoir de changer le conseil d'administration de la société ou de prendre des décisions sur des activités cruciales de celle‑ci. Une influence potentielle, même si elle n'est pas effectivement exercée, pourrait suffire à lui donner un contrôle de fait. Le contrôle ne dépend pas nécessairement de l'actionnariat.
  3. Lorsqu'une personne détient plus de 50 % de la juste valeur marchande de toutes les actions (avec ou sans droit de vote).

Situations où il n'y a pas de contrôle

Une personne peut avoir une influence sur une société, concernant la manière dont l'entreprise doit être exploitée, à la suite d'arrangements légaux (par exemple en vertu d'un contrat de franchise, de licence, d'un bail, d'un contrat de distribution, d'approvisionnement ou de gestion). Cette influence n'est pas considérée comme une forme de contrôle.

Liens

Les termes lien et lié sont utilisés dans les exemples (d) à (f) des règles relatives aux associations, et l'expression groupe lié est employée dans l'exemple (f).

Liens entre personnes

Les particuliers peuvent être liés par le sang, le mariage ou l'adoption. Aux fins de l'impôt, vous êtes lié(e) à votre époux(se) ou conjoint de fait, et à vos parents et enfants, frères et soeurs, grands‑parents, parents par alliance et petits‑enfants. Cependant, vous n'êtes pas lié(e) à vos oncles, tantes, neveux et nièces, cousins et cousines.

Groupe lié

L'expression groupe lié s'entend d'un groupe de personnes dont chaque membre est lié à tous les autres membres du groupe.

Par exemple, trois frères forment un groupe lié.

Un groupe formé d'un fils, de son père et du frère de ce dernier ne constitue pas un groupe lié parce qu'un oncle et un neveu ne sont pas considérés comme des personnes liées aux fins de l'impôt.

Références

Pour plus de précisions sur les liens, consultez la page Web de l'Agence du revenu du Canada intitulée S1-F5-C1, Personnes liées et personnes sans lien de dépendance entre elles.

Organismes de bienfaisance enregistré

Règles spéciales

Les employeurs admissibles qui sont associés à un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré ne sont pas tenus d'inclure la masse salariale de l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré au moment de déterminer si la masse salariale combinée de tous les employeurs associés est inférieure à 5 millions de dollars. Le groupe associé n'est pas tenu de partager son exonération avec l'organisme de bienfaisance enregistré ou de l'inclure sur son formulaire Répartition de l'exonération des employeurs associés.

Un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui a deux ou plusieurs complexes de bienfaisance admissibles peut demander un montant d'exonération pour chacun.

Pour plus de précisions sur les règles régissant l'ISE dans le cas des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés.

Sociétés sans capital‑actions et sans but lucratif

Les règles habituelles relatives aux associations ne s'appliquent pas

Dans le cas de sociétés sans capital‑actions et sans but lucratif, les règles habituelles relatives aux associations et ayant trait au contrôle par actionnariat ne s'appliquent pas. Nous nous en tenons donc à l'influence directe ou indirecte, soit le type de contrôle décrit sous la rubrique Contrôle en (2).

Facteurs à considérer pour déterminer s'il s'agit d'un employeur associé

Le ministère tiendra compte des facteurs suivants pour déterminer s'il s'agit ou non d'un employeur associé :

  • si le conseil d'administration, le comité (ou la majorité de ses membres) ou la personne responsable est le (la) même pour deux organismes ou plus
  • si le conseil d'administration, le comité ou la personne responsable de chaque organisme rend compte au même organisme ou au plus grand organisme
  • si le conseil d'administration, le comité ou la personne responsable est nommé(e) [ou pourrait être nommé(e)] par un autre organisme
  • si l'employeur fait partie d'un plus grand organisme en vertu d'une entente ou d'un contrat (verbal ou écrit)
  • si un plus grand organisme a le pouvoir de mettre fin, directement ou indirectement, aux activités de l'employeur ou de son entreprise
  • si le plus grand organisme a le pouvoir de prendre d'autres décisions quant aux actions de l'employeur à court, moyen ou long terme
  • ce qui arriverait à la propriété des éléments d'actif en cas de dissolution de l'employeur
  • si une dette importante, exigible sur demande, appartient à un tiers
  • qui aurait la responsabilité des dettes/du passif en cours en cas de dissolution
  • s'il existe un lien de dépendance économique avec le plus grand organisme.

Répartition de l'exonération entre employeurs associés

Les employeurs admissibles qui appartiennent à un groupe d'employeurs associés à un quelconque moment de l'année doivent conclure une entente prévoyant la répartition de l'exonération pour l'année. Seul l'un des employeurs du groupe est tenu de remplir le formulaire de Répartition de l'exonération des employeurs associés et de l'envoyer au ministère avant la date limite indiquée. Tous les membres du groupe se verront refuser l'exonération si ce formulaire dûment rempli n'est pas envoyé au ministère.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'exonération d'impôt‑santé, consultez l'exonération fiscale.

Demandes d'interprétation écrite

Pour obtenir une interprétation écrite d'une situation, veuillez en faire la demande par écrit au :

Ministère des Finances
Services consultatifs
33, rue King Ouest, 3eétage
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

Pour plus de renseignements

Visitez ontario.ca/ise ou communiquez avec le ministère des Finances à 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) ou 1‑800‑263‑7776 pour l'appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS).

Page : 500  |