Fuel Tax and Gasoline Tax

Frequently Asked Questions About Penalties and Offences


Are there penalties and offences under the Gasoline Tax Act for failure to collect tax or failure to file a tax return or excess unverifiable losses?

Ontario's enforcement program includes a range of audit, investigation and inspection activities.

The Gasoline Tax Act (the Act) provides for numerous fines and penalties for persons who are involved in gasoline activities without authorization. Here are some examples.

Failure to Collect

A collector, importer, wholesaler, or retailer who fails to collect the required tax may be assessed a penalty equal to 110 per cent of the tax not collected.

Further, the Act provides that any collector, importer, wholesaler, or retailer who fails to collect the tax required, is liable upon conviction, to pay a fine equal to three times the tax not collected.

Failure to File

Returns not filed, filed late or with less than the required amount of tax, may result in assessed penalties of 10 per cent of the tax collectable and five per cent of the tax payable.

Excess Unverifiable Losses

The Act provides for the assessment of a penalty where product loss by a collector is found to be in excess of a prescribed threshold. The penalty, if assessed, will be equal to the amount of tax that would have been collectable if the excess unverifiable product loss had been product sold to a consumer in Ontario.

Over a 36 month period, tax collectors are required to reconcile the volume of products in opening inventories, received, or manufactured, with the volume of product, which can be accounted for by way of taxable sales, tax exempt sales, exports, closing inventories and losses from known causes (theft, fire, contamination, reported spillage). Unverifiable losses result when product cannot be accounted for in the reconciliation.

Page: 3315  |

Taxe sur l'essence

Foire aux questions - Pénalités et Infractions


En vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur l'essence, une personne qui omet de percevoir la taxe ou de produire une déclaration ou qui a des pertes invérifiables excédentaires est‑elle coupable d'une infraction et doit‑elle payer une pénalité?

Le programme d'exécution des lois de l'Ontario comporte différentes activités de vérification, d'enquête et d'inspection.

La Loi de la taxe sur l'essence (la Loi) prévoit diverses amendes et pénalités pour les personnes qui participent sans autorisation à des activités liées à l'essence. Voici quelques exemples.

Omission de percevoir la taxe

Un percepteur, importateur, grossiste ou détaillant qui omet de percevoir la taxe requise peut être passible d'une pénalité égale à 110 % de la taxe non perçue.

En outre, la Loi prévoit que tout percepteur, importateur, grossiste ou détaillant qui omet de percevoir la taxe exigée est passible, sur déclaration de culpabilité, d'une amende égale à trois fois la taxe non perçue.

Omission de produire une déclaration

Le fait de ne pas produire de déclaration, de la remettre tardivement ou accompagnée d'un montant de taxe inférieur à celui requis peut entraîner des pénalités égales à 10 % de la taxe percevable et à 5 % de la taxe payable.

Pertes invérifiables excédentaires

La Loi prévoit l'imposition d'une pénalité lorsque la perte de produit par un percepteur est reconnue comme dépassant un seuil prescrit. La pénalité, si elle est imposée, sera égale au montant de la taxe qui aurait été percevable si la quantité de produit correspondant à la perte invérifiable excédentaire avait été vendue à un acheteur en Ontario.

Au cours d'une période de 36 mois, les percepteurs de la taxe sont tenus de faire le rapprochement de la quantité des produits en stock d'ouverture, reçue ou fabriquée, et de la quantité de produit qui peut être prise en compte au moyen des ventes taxables, des ventes exonérées, des exportations, des stocks de clôture et des pertes découlant de causes connues (vol, feu, contamination, déversement signalé). Il y a perte invérifiable lorsque le produit ne peut pas être justifié dans le rapprochement.

Page : 3315  |