No Exemption on Transfers from Corporation to Corporation

There is no exemption from land transfer tax on the transfer of farmed land from a corporation to a corporation. Regulation 697 does not provide for such an exemption.

Transfers from a corporation to an individual, and then immediately from the individual, to another corporation will be taxable on each transaction. For example:

  • The farmed land exemption may not apply to the transfer from a corporation to an individual, if the individual immediately transfers the farmed land to another person: the minister may determine that the principle purpose of the transfer was not to enable the individual to continue farming the land.
  • A second transfer of the same land from the individual to another family farm corporation may not qualify for the exemption if the individual did not farm the land in his or her personal capacity before the transfer.

Furthermore, if exemptions are claimed on transfers from a corporation to an individual, and then from the individual to another corporation, the transfers may be subject to the general anti-avoidance rule; the minister may make a determination of tax consequences as is reasonable in the circumstances in order to deny a tax benefit that would result, directly or indirectly, from an avoidance transaction or from a series of transactions that includes an avoidance transaction.

Page: 3333  |

Aucune exonération pour les cessions entre une société et une autre société

Aucune exonération des droits de cession immobilière n'est prévue pour la cession de terre agricole entre une société et une autre société. Le Règlement 697 (en anglais seulement) ne prévoit pas une telle exonération.

La cession d'une société à un particulier, puis immédiatement de cette personne à une autre société est imposable à chaque opération. Par exemple :

  • L'exonération des droits de cession de terres agricoles ne peut être accordée à la cession d'une société à un particulier, si ce dernier cède immédiatement la terre agricole à une autre personne : le ministère peut déterminer que le but principal de la cession n'était pas de permettre au particulier de continuer à exploiter le bien‑fonds.
  • La deuxième cession du même bien‑fonds d'un particulier à une autre société agricole familiale ne peut être pas admissible à l'exonération si le particulier n'a pas exploité le bien‑fonds à titre personnel avant la cession.

En outre, si une exonération est demandée pour des cessions d'une société à un particulier, puis du particulier à une autre société, les cessions peuvent faire l'objet de la disposition générale anti‑évitement; le ministère peut déterminer les conséquences fiscales raisonnables dans les circonstances afin de refuser un avantage fiscal qui résulterait, directement ou indirectement, d'une opération d'évitement ou d'une série d'opérations comptant une opération d'évitement.

Page : 3333  |