Land Transfer Tax 'De Minimis' Partnership Exemption: Clarifying Amendments for Certain Dispositions

Note: This page was originally published in February 2016. It was revised in June 2017 to extend the Special Voluntary Disclosure Policy (SVDP) to August 31, 2017. This page was previously revised in November 2016 to extend the SVDP to June 30, 2017, and in March 2016 to include two new sections: An update to facilitate compliance and Filing returns.

This page explains the amendments that have been made to Ontario Regulation 70/91 (Regulation) through the filing of O.Reg 35/16. It provides general information only and does not replace the Land Transfer Tax Act (Act) and Regulations.

Amendments have been made to section 1 of the Regulation to clarify how the 'de minimis' partnership exemption (Exemption) from land transfer tax (LTT) under section 3 of the Act applies to certain dispositions of a beneficial interest in land, including those occurring in respect of complex real estate structures involving real estate investment trusts (REITs) and/or layer(s) of limited partnership(s).

The amendments are applicable on or after July 19, 1989 (the date on which the Exemption became effective).

Clarifying amendments

The amendments clarify that, for dispositions on or after July 19, 1989:

  1. One of the following must be satisfied by the person (the individual or corporation) who acquires the beneficial interest in land:
    1. The person was a partner in the partnership immediately before the disposition and that person's entitlement as a partner to a percentage of the profits of the partnership, assuming it had profits to distribute, increased as a result of the disposition, or
    2. The person became a partner in the partnership as a result of the disposition and became entitled as a partner to a percentage of the profits of the partnership, assuming it had profits to distribute, as a result of the disposition.
  2. For limited partnerships, the provisions of the Limited Partnerships Act apply to determine if the person is a partner in a limited partnership.
  3. For further clarity, the amendments state that the Exemption is not available if the partner who acquires the partner's interest in the partnership is a trust (such as a REIT) or another partnership.

Other requirements of the Exemption, including those respecting the five per cent limit, continue to apply.

Multi-layered structures

It is possible that a taxpayer (an individual or corporation) may acquire a beneficial interest in land through trusts or partnerships.

The Exemption is not available when a REIT or another type of trust becomes a partner in a partnership that holds land. Similarly, the Exemption is not available when a partnership becomes a partner in another partnership that holds land.

Past rulings

If a person has received a written ruling from the ministry on or before February 18, 2016 that applies to a taxpayer‑specific disposition of a beneficial interest in land that is a partner's interest in a partnership, the ministry will generally consider the ruling to continue to apply to the taxpayer-specific disposition, despite the amendments, provided that all material facts in respect to the disposition were disclosed to the ministry when the ruling was issued.

An update to facilitate compliance

The following measures apply only to dispositions of a beneficial interest in land through one or more partnerships.

  1. Assessment/Reassessment period
  2. For dispositions of a beneficial interest in land through one or more partnerships, the Minister will assess and/or reassess only dispositions that occurred on or after February 18, 2012.

  3. Prosecutions

    For dispositions of a beneficial interest in land through one or more partnerships that occurred prior to February 18, 2016, the ministry will not initiate prosecutions under the Act.

  4. Special Voluntary Disclosure Policy (SVDP)

    A special, time-limited, voluntary disclosure policy (SVDP) will be available only with respect to dispositions of a beneficial interest in land through one or more partnerships. The SVDP will apply only to dispositions that occurred on or before February 17, 2016.

    In general, the requirements of the SVDP will be the same as the ministry's general voluntary disclosure policy (VDP), as set out in the ministry's Voluntary Disclosure web page (with certain exceptions set out below).

    Like the general VDP, provided that the program requirements are met, the ministry will not assess penalties in respect of the dispositions reported in the disclosure. In addition, it is proposed that under the SVDP:

    • Interest will not apply from the time of the disposition up to August 31, 2017.
    • The ministry will issue an acceptance letter upon verifying that the disclosure is valid and program requirements are met.

    The SVDP will be time limited. The disclosure must be made on or before August 31, 2017.

    Full payment will be expected upon disclosure. Where the whole amount owing cannot be paid immediately, the ministry may consider reasonable payment arrangements.

    Dispositions disclosed under the SVDP will generally be subject to the assessment/reassessment period in the Act.

    For dispositions that are not eligible for the SVDP, or that do not meet the deadline for the SVDP, the ministry's general VDP will continue to apply.

    Note: as stated previously, for dispositions of a beneficial interest in land through partnership(s) that occurred prior to February 18, 2016, the ministry will not initiate prosecutions under the Act.

  5. Extension of time for returns (Dispositions on or after February 18, 2016)

    For dispositions of a beneficial interest in land through one or more partnerships, returns and remittances for dispositions that occurred on or after February 18, 2016 will be due the later of the thirtieth day after the date of the disposition and January 1, 2017. Interest will not start to accrue for these transactions until January 1, 2017.

Filing returns

To help facilitate compliance and in accordance with its usual practice, the ministry accepts returns and payments made by a partner on behalf of other partners, as well as by trustee(s) on behalf of beneficiaries.

Questions regarding the application of the Exemption

If a question of interpretation of a term or provision of the Act or the regulations, or a question of the application of the Act or the regulations to a specific fact situation arises, a written request for an interpretation may be submitted to the ministry at the address provided below. Full and fair disclosure of all of the facts and documents must be provided.

Ministry of Finance
Advisory Services, Land Transfer Tax
33 King Street West, 3rd Floor
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

For more information

If this page does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the Act and related regulations, visit ontario.ca/finance or contact the Ministry of Finance at 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) or 1‑800‑263‑7776 for teletypewriter (TTY).

Page: 3327  |

Exemption au titre d'une participation minimale dans une société de personnes découlant des droits de cession immobilière : modifications visant à préciser certaines dispositions

NOTA : La présente page a été publiée la première fois en février 2016. Elle a été mise à jour en juin 2017 afin de prolonger la Politique concernant la divulgation volontaire spéciale (PDVS) jusqu'au 31 août 2017. Cette page a également été mise à jour en novembre 2016 pour prolonger la PDVS au 30 juin 2017, et en mars 2016 afin d'y inclure deux nouvelles sections : Une mise à jour pour faciliter la conformité et Dépôt des déclarations.

Cette page explique les modifications qui ont été apportées au Règlement de l'Ontario 70/91 (Règlement) à travers le Règlement O.Reg 35/16. Elle fournit des renseignements généraux uniquement et ne remplace pas la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière (Loi) et ses règlements.

L'article 1 du Règlement a été modifié afin de préciser la façon dont l'exemption au titre d'une participation minimale dans une société de personnes (exemption) découlant des droits de cession immobilière en vertu de l'article 3 de la Loi s'applique à certaines aliénations d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds, y compris celles qui se rapportent à des structures immobilières complexes comprenant des fiducies de placement immobilier et (ou) des niveaux de sociétés en commandite.

Les modifications sont applicables le 19 juillet 1989 (la date d'entrée en vigueur de l'exemption) ou après cette date.

Modifications aux fins de précision

Les modifications précisent que, pour les aliénations qui ont eu lieu le 19 juillet 1989 ou après cette date :

  1. La personne (le particulier ou la société) qui acquiert un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds doit satisfaire à l'une des conditions ci‑dessous& :
    1. La personne était un associé de la société de personnes immédiatement avant l'aliénation et le droit de cette personne, en tant qu'associé, à un pourcentage des profits de la société de personnes, en supposant qu'elle avait des profits à distribuer, a augmenté du fait de l'aliénation, ou
    2. La personne est devenue un associé de la société de personnes du fait de l'aliénation et a obtenu le droit, en tant qu'associé, à un pourcentage des profits de la société de personnes, en supposant qu'elle avait des profits à distribuer, du fait de l'aliénation.
  2. En ce qui a trait aux sociétés en commandite, les dispositions de la Loi sur les sociétés en commandite s'appliquent pour déterminer si la personne est un associé de la société en commandite.
  3. Plus précisément, les modifications indiquent que l'exemption ne s'applique pas si l'associé qui acquiert l'intérêt de l'associé dans la société de personnes est une fiducie (p. ex., une fiducie de placement immobilier) ou une autre société de personnes.

Les autres exigences de l'exemption, y compris celles qui se rapportent à la limite de cinq pour cent, continuent de s'appliquer.

Structures à multiples niveaux

Il est possible qu'un contribuable (un particulier ou une société) puisse acquérir un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds (par l'entremise de fiducies ou de sociétés de personnes).

L'exemption ne s'applique pas lorsqu'une fiducie de placement immobilier ou un autre genre de fiducie devient un associé d'une société de personnes qui possède le bien-fonds. De même, l'exemption ne s'applique pas lorsqu'une société de personnes devient un associé d'une autre société de personnes qui possède le bien‑fonds.

Décisions rendues dans le passé

Si une personne a reçu, le 18 février 2016 ou avant cette date, une décision écrite de la part du ministère qui s'applique à l'aliénation propre à un contribuable d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds qui constitue l'intérêt d'un associé dans une société de personnes, le ministère considérera généralement que la décision continue de s'appliquer à l'aliénation propre au contribuable, malgré les modifications apportées, pourvu que tous les faits importants relatifs à l'aliénation aient été communiqués au ministère lorsque la décision a été rendue.

Une mise à jour pour faciliter la conformité

Les mesures suivantes ne s'appliquent qu'aux aliénations d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds au moyen d'une ou de plusieurs sociétés de personnes.

  1. Période de cotisation/nouvelle cotisation

    Dans le cas des aliénations d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds au moyen d'une ou de plusieurs sociétés de personnes, le ministre établira une cotisation et/ou une nouvelle cotisation uniquement à l'égard des aliénations survenues à compter du 18 février 2012.

  2. Poursuites

    Dans le cas des aliénations d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds au moyen d'une ou de plusieurs sociétés de personnes qui sont survenues avant le‑18‑février‑2016, le ministre n'intentera pas de poursuite en vertu de la Loi.

  3. Politique concernant la divulgation volontaire spéciale (PDVS)

    Une politique concernant la divulgation volontaire spéciale et limitée dans le temps (PDVS) sera disponible uniquement à l'égard des aliénations d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds au moyen d'une ou de plusieurs sociétés de personnes. La PDVS ne s'appliquera qu'aux aliénations survenues le ou avant le 17 février 2016.

    En général, les exigences de la PDVS seront les mêmes que celle de la politique générale de divulgation volontaire du ministère (PDV), telle qu'elle est présentée sur notre site Web Divulgation volontaire du ministère (avec certaines exceptions présentées ci‑après).

    Comme dans le cas de la PDV générale, à condition que les exigences du programme soient respectées, le ministère n'imposera pas de pénalité à l'égard des aliénations déclarées dans la divulgation. De plus, il est proposé qu'en vertu de la PDVS :

    • Les intérêts ne s'appliqueront pas à partir du moment de l'aliénation jusqu'au 31 août 2017.
    • Le ministère émettra une lettre d'acceptation après avoir vérifié que la divulgation est valide et que les exigences du programme sont respectées.

    La PDVS sera limitée dans le temps. La divulgation doit être faite au plus tard le 31 août 2017.

    Un paiement complet sera attendu au moment de la divulgation. Si le montant exigible ne peut être payé au complet immédiatement, le ministère pourra considérer des accords de paiement raisonnables.

    Les aliénations divulguées dans la PDVS seront généralement assujetties à la période de cotisation/nouvelle cotisation prévue dans la Loi.

    Dans le cas des aliénations qui ne sont pas admissibles à la PDVS, ou qui ne respectent pas l'échéance de la PDVS, la PDV générale du ministère continuera de s'appliquer.

    Nota : comme il est indiqué ci‑dessus, dans le cas d'aliénations d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds au moyen d'une ou de plusieurs sociétés de personnes qui sont survenues avant le 18 février 2016, le ministère n'intentera pas de poursuite en vertu de la Loi.

  4. Prolongation du délai de dépôt des déclarations (Aliénations survenues à compter du 18 février 2016)

    Dans le cas d'aliénations d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds au moyen d'une ou de plusieurs sociétés de personns, les déclarations et les remises pour les aliénations qui sont survenues à compter du 18 février 2016 seront exigibles le trentième jour suivant la date de l'aliénation ou, si cette date est plus éloignée, le 1er janvier 2017. Les intérêts pour ces aliénations ne commenceront pas à courir avant le 1er janvier 2017.

Dépôt des déclarations

Pour faciliter la conformité, et conformément à sa pratique habituelle, le ministère acceptera les déclarations et les paiements faits par un associé au nom d'autres associés, ainsi que par le ou les fiduciaires au nom des bénéficiaires.

Questions relatives à l'application de l'exemption

Si une question d'interprétation d'un terme ou d'une disposition de la Loi ou des règlements, ou une question concernant l'application de la Loi ou des règlements par rapport à une situation factuelle particulière se pose, une demande d'interprétation doit être présentée, par écrit, au ministère à l'adresse indiquée ci‑dessous. Tous les faits et les documents doivent être divulgués complètement et équitablement.

Ministère des Finances
Services consultatifs, Droits de cession immobilière
33, rue King Ouest, 3e étage
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

Pour en savoir plus

Si la présente page ne couvre pas entièrement votre situation particulière, consultez la Loi et les règlements afférents, visitez le site ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le ministère des Finances au 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) ou au 1‑800‑263‑7776 pour le téléimprimeur (ATS).

Page : 3327  |