Exemption for Certain Transfers of Farmed Land

Ordinarily, a transfer of farmed land is subject to land transfer tax. However, under Regulation 697, R.R.O. 1990 made under the Land Transfer Tax Act (Act), certain transfers of farmed land between family members may qualify for an exemption from land transfer tax. There are many conditions for the exemption to apply, conditions that must be met both before the transfer and after the transfer.

Click on the link below that describes your transfer of land for information on the required conditions.

The terms family farm corporation, farming, farming assets, members of the family, child, and spouse are defined in the Act or in Regulation 697.

When claiming the family farm exemption, please note that there is a distinction between a family farm corporation and an individual. An individual refers to a single human being operating a farming business in a personal capacity. A family farm corporation is not an individual. It is a separate legal entity from its shareholders and owners. Although a corporation is not an individual, it is a person. Please refer to the court case of Upper Valley Dodge Chrysler Limited v. (Ontario) Minister of Finance for more details on the subject.

It is also important to understand that if a corporation is farming the land (e.g., the expenses and income of the farming are on the corporation's books) then the individual who performs the physical and intellectual work is doing so on behalf of the corporation (for example, as an employee), and not as an individual in his or her personal capacity.

Page: 3328  |

Exonération de droits de certains cessions de terres agricoles

Généralement, la cession d'une terre agricole fait l'objet de droits de cession immobilière. Toutefois, en vertu du Règlement 697, R.R.O. 1990 (en anglais seulement) pris en vertu de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière (la Loi), certaines cessions de terres agricoles entre membres de famille peuvent être admissibles à une exonération des droits de cession immobilière. Pour que l'exonération soit accordée, de nombreuses conditions doivent être remplies avant et après la cession.

Cliquer sur le lien ci‑dessous qui décrit la cession de votre bien‑fonds pour obtenir des renseignements sur les critères requis.

Les expressions/termes société agricole familiale, activité agricole, actif agricole, membres de la famille, enfant et conjoint sont définis dans la Loi et le Règlement 697.

Lors de la demande d'exonération pour une société agricole familiale, noter qu'il existe une distinction entre une société agricole familiale et un particulier. Un particulier désigne à un être humain unique exploitant une entreprise agricole à titre personnel. Une société agricole familiale n'est pas un particulier. Il s'agit d'une personne juridique distincte de ses actionnaires et propriétaires. Bien qu'une société ne soit pas un particulier, il s'agit d'une personne. Consulter l'affaire Upper Valley Dodge Chrysler Limited v. (Ontario) Minister of Finance (en anglais seulement) pour en savoir plus sur la question.

Il est également important de comprendre que si une société exploite le bien‑fonds (p. ex., les revenus et les charges de l'activité agricole figurent dans les documents comptables de la société), alors le particulier qui effectue le travail physique et intellectuel le fait au nom de la société (par exemple, à titre d'employé), et non pas en sa qualité de particulier à titre personnel.

Page : 3328  |