Quarterly Reporting Periods for Land Transfer Tax on Qualifying Unregistered Dispositions of a Beneficial Interest in Land

New regulation filed (April 26, 2018) to facilitate compliance with section 3 of the Land Transfer Tax Act to allow quarterly filing for dispositions that are changes in the composition of certain trusts and partnerships. This regulation does not apply to the Non‑Resident Speculation Tax.


On this page

  1. Eligibility for quarterly reporting periods
  2. Changes in the composition of a qualifying entity
  3. Consolidated filing

Eligibility for quarterly reporting periods

O. Reg. 343/18: Timing of Tax Payable Under Subsection 3(2) of the Act provides for Land Transfer Tax (LTT) imposed under section 3 for certain dispositions of a beneficial interest in land through a qualifying entity to be payable no later than the 30th day after the end of the specified calendar year quarter in which the disposition occurred.

A qualifying entity is a trust or partnership in which 50 or more persons hold an interest on the first day of the year in which the disposition occurs. These interests can be held directly or indirectly (i.e., through one or more other partnerships or trusts).

Under the regulation, the ability to pay quarterly applies to LTT that arises when a person acquires an interest in a qualifying entity, or when a person’s interest in a qualifying entity is increased.

Interest on a late remittance starts to accrue on the 31st day after the end of the specified calendar year quarter in which the disposition occurred.

This regulation does not apply to the Non‑Resident Speculation Tax.

Changes in the composition of a qualifying entity

The purpose of this regulation is to facilitate compliance with section 3 of the Land Transfer Tax Act for dispositions of a beneficial interest in land that result from changes in the composition of a qualifying entity. This regulation would generally not apply when a partnership or a trust that is a qualifying entity acquires land, or an interest in land, as property of the partnership or trust.

Commencement date

O. Reg. 343/18 applies to dispositions of a beneficial interest in land that occur on or after January 1, 2018.

Consolidated filing

The Ministry of Finance accepts consolidated filing by a representative of a qualifying entity on behalf of partners and beneficiaries who hold an interest in a qualifying entity.

Note: Links to the forms mentioned below will be made available soon.

Please complete and submit the following to the Ministry of Finance:

  • Return on Dispositions of a Beneficial Interest in Land by Partners or Beneficiaries Holding an Interest in Qualifying Entity
  • Schedule 1 (Description of Land)
  • Schedule 2 (Description of Disposition, by Partner/Beneficiary)

Dispositions of a beneficial interest in land reported by way of a consolidated filing are subject to the rules and requirements imposed under the Land Transfer Tax Act, including audit and record‑keeping requirements.

Related

Land Transfer Tax

Land Transfer Tax 'De Minimis' Partnership Exemption: Clarifying Amendments for Certain Dispositions

Page: 3368  |

Périodes de déclaration trimestrielles pour les droits de cession immobilière sur les aliénations non enregistrées admissibles d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds

Un nouveau règlement déposé (le 26 avril 2018) pour simplifier la conformité à l'article 3 de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière permettra la déclaration trimestrielle pour les aliénations qui se rapportent à des changements dans la composition de certaines fiducies et sociétés de personnes. Cette disposition ne s'applique pas à l'impôt sur la spéculation pour les non‑résidents.


Sur cette page

  1. Admissibilité aux périodes de déclarations trimestrielles
  2. Changement dans la composition des entités admissibles
  3. Production de déclarations consolidées

Admissibilité aux périodes de déclaration trimestrielles

Le Règl. de l'Ont. 343/18 : Date d'exigibilité des droits visés au paragraphe 3(2) de la Loi permet l'imposition de droits de cession immobilière en vertu de l'article 3 par rapport à certaines aliénations d'un intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds par l'entremise d'une entité admissible payables au plus tard le 30e jour après la fin du trimestre de l'année civile où l'on a déterminé que l'aliénation a eu lieu.

Une entité admissible est une fiducie ou une société de personnes dans laquelle 50 personnes ou plus détiennent un intérêt la première journée de l'année où a lieu l'aliénation. Ces intérêts peuvent être détenus directement ou indirectement (c.‑à‑d. par l'intermédiaire d'une ou de plusieurs autres sociétés de personnes ou fiducie).

En vertu du règlement, la possibilité de faire des paiements trimestriels s'applique aux droits de cession immobilière qui découlent de l'acquisition par une personne d'un intérêt dans une entité admissible ou dans l'accroissement de l'intérêt dans l'entité admissible.

Les intérêts sur les versements tardifs commencent à s'accumuler le 31e jour après la fin du trimestre de l'année civile dans laquelle l'on a déterminé que l'aliénation a eu lieu.

Ce règlement ne s'applique pas à l'impôt sur la spéculation pour les non‑résidents.

Changement dans la composition des entités admissibles

Le règlement a pour but de simplifier la conformité à l'article 3 de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière pour les aliénations d'un intérêt bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds qui suivent des changements dans la composition d'une entité admissible. Ce règlement ne s'applique pas généralement lorsqu'un une société de personnes ou une fiducie qui est une entité admissible acquiert un bien fonds, ou un intérêt dans un bien fonds, comme bien‑fonds d'une société de personnes ou d'une fiducie.

Date d'entrée en vigueur

Le Règl. de l'Ont. 343/18 s'applique aux aliénations d'un intérêt à titre de bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds qui ont lieu le 1er janvier 2018 ou après.

Production de déclarations consolidées

Le ministère des Finances permet à un représentant autorisé d'une entité admissible de produire des déclarations consolidées au nom des associés et bénéficiaires qui détiennent un intérêt dans l'entité admissible.

Pour effectuer une déclaration consolidée, remplissez et soumettez la Déclaration des aliénations d'intérêt à titre bénéficiaire dans un bien‑fonds par des associés ou des bénéficiaires détenant un intérêt dans une entité admissible (Règlement de l'Ontario 343/18), ainsi que les documents justificatifs au ministère des Finances.

Les aliénations d'un intérêt bénéficiaire dans un bien-fonds qui sont déclarées sur une base consolidée sont assujetties aux règlements et exigences en vertu de la Loi sur les droits de cession immobilière, y compris les exigences relatives à la vérification et à la conservation des dossiers.

Sujets connexes

Droits de cession immobilière

Exemption au titre d'une participation minimale dans une société de personnes découlant des droits de cession immobilière : modifications visant à préciser certaines dispositions

Page : 3368  |