Refunds and Rebates

Refunds and Rebates – Retail Sales Tax

The 2018 Ontario Fall Economic Outlook and Fiscal Review made a technical amendment to remove a spent provision that provided one‑time support to businesses during the transition to Harmonized Sales Tax in 2010 (Retail Sales Tax Act). The Minister of Finance will stop re‑issuing stale‑dated cheques for Small Business Transition Support payments on December 31, 2018.

For more information, see Schedule 37 of Bill 57, Restoring Trust, Transparency and Accountability Act, 2018.

If you have a stale‑dated cheque for the small business transition payment, contact the Ministry of Finance at 1‑866‑668‑8297.


A refund is for tax that has been overpaid or incorrectly paid, and is returned to a business or individual under a taxing statute or regulation. A refund is also for persons who have remitted to the Minister amounts in excess of the tax collectable or payable.

A rebate is for tax properly paid and is subsequently returned to a business or individual under a rebate provision.

An application for refund and all supporting documents, including documents showing proof of payment of tax or amounts remitted, must be received by the Ministry of Finance within four years from the date the tax was paid.

The Ontario Ministry of Finance offers a Direct Deposit service where refund and rebate payments are deposited directly into your account at the bank of your choice.

Download: Direct Deposit Request / Direct Deposit Authorization

Page: 3320  |

Remboursements et remises

Remboursements et remises – Taxe de vente au détail

Le Perspectives économiques et revue financière de l'Ontario 2018 a fait une modification de forme qui élimine une disposition caduque qui offrait un soutien ponctuel aux entreprises pendant la période de transition vers la taxe de vente harmonisée en 2010 (Loi sur la taxe de vente au détail). Le ministère des Finances cessera de réémettre les chèques périmés pour les paiements de soutien à la transition pour petites entreprises le 31 décembre 2018.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez l’annexe 37 du Projet de loi 57, Loi de 2018 visant à rétablir la confiance, la transparence et la responsabilité.

Si vous avez un chèque périmé pour le paiement de soutien à la transition pour petites entreprises, communiquez avec le ministère des Finances au 1‑866‑668‑8297.


Un remboursement est accordé dans le cas d'un paiement en trop ou d'un paiement inexact à une entreprise ou individu, et en vertu d'une loi ou d'un règlement régissant une taxe ou un impôt. Un remboursement est également accordé aux personnes qui ont remis au ministère un montant dépassant la taxe perceptible ou payable.

Une remise correspond à une taxe adéquatement versée et par la suite retournée á l'acheteur dans le cadre d'une remise prévue.

Toute demande de remboursement, ainsi que les documents justificatifs nécessaires, notamment tous documents attestant du paiement de la taxe ou des montants payés, doivent parvenir au ministère des Finances dans les quatre ans suivant la date de paiement de la taxe payée.

Le ministère des Finances de l'Ontario offre le service de virement automatique de vos remboursements et remises dans le compte bancaire de votre choix.

Télécharger : Demande de virement automatique / Authorisation de virement automatique

Page : 3320  |