Tax-Included Pricing and Requirements for Spirits Manufacturers

Subsection 65(2) of the Alcohol and Gaming Regulation and Public Protection Act, 1996 (the act) states that spirits manufacturers (distillers) that sell spirits from Ontario distillery retail stores must make available to purchasers, by an approved method, information with respect to the amount of taxes included in the price. This page addresses this requirement as well as the approved methods of providing such information.

For the purposes of this page 'spirits' includes 'spirits coolers'.

This page provides general information. It is not exhaustive and does not replace the law found in the Alcohol and Gaming Regulation and Public Protection Act, 1996, and related regulations.

Not all spirits sold in Ontario are subject to the spirits taxes

Although the retail price (i.e., purchases at a retail store and not licensed establishments) of a particular spirits is the same whether it is purchased at a Liquor Control Board of Ontario (LCBO) store or one of its agency stores or at a distillery retail store in Ontario, the spirits taxes do not apply to all spirits sold in Ontario.

For example:

Spirits purchased from the LCBO or from a person who purchased from the LCBO are not subject to the spirits tax, nor are spirits purchased at a licensed establishment. Only spirits purchased at an Ontario distillery retail store are subject to the spirits taxes.

Tax-included pricing requirements

Distillers that sell spirits from Ontario distillery retail stores shall also make available to purchasers such information with respect to the amount of the spirits taxes included in the price as the Minister specifies and by a method approved by the Minister.

Information with respect to the amount of taxes included in the price: Spirits taxes contained in invoices

Where invoice is issued by distiller

Distillers that sell spirits from their distillery retail store may provide the amount of the spirits taxes payable on the spirits sold to purchasers on the invoices issued to purchasers.

Where invoice is not issued by distiller

Where an invoice is not provided detailing the amount of spirits taxes payable, the following section outlines the information that distillers that sell spirits from their distillery retail store must provide to customers and the method of providing that information.

Information with respect to the amount of taxes included in the price: Spirits taxes not contained in invoices

Ministry policy

The ministry has approved the following as meeting the requirements of subsection 65(2) of the act in specifying the information with respect to the amount of taxes included in the price that must be made available to purchasers and the method of providing the information.

Distillers that sell spirits from their distillery retail store must post in a prominent location where the spirits is sold, or provide to purchasers, an information sheet specifying:

  • the current spirits tax rates (basic, volume and environmental) applicable to spirits and spirits coolers
  • information on how the retail price of the spirits is determined under the act, and
  • a reference to the ministry's website at ontario.ca/finance for further information.

Information sheet for distillers approved by the ministry: Spirits Tax Information Sheet - Effective July 1, 2017

Request for written interpretations

If this information does not completely address your particular situation, refer to the act and related regulations, or contact the ministry at:

Ministry of Finance
Advisory Services
33 King Street West, 3rd Floor
Oshawa ON L1H 1A1

Fax: 905‑436‑4471

For more information

Visit ontario.ca/finance or contact the Ministry of Finance at 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) or 1‑800‑263‑7776 for teletypewriter (TTY). The Alcohol and Gaming Regulation and Public Protection Act, 1996, and Ontario's other public statutes and regulations may be obtained online at ontario.ca/e laws.

Page: 3356  |

Prix taxes comprises et exigences relatives aux distilleries

Le paragraphe 65(2) de la Loi de 1996 sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux et la protection du public (la loi) précise que les fabricants de spiritueux (distilleries) qui vendent des spiritueux dans des magasins de détail de distilleries de l'Ontario doivent mettre à la disposition des acheteurs, de la manière approuvée, les renseignements concernant le montant des taxes comprises dans le prix. La présente page explique cette exigence, ainsi que les méthodes approuvées pour fournir de tels renseignements.

Aux fins de cette page, les « spiritueux » incluent les « spiritueux panachés ».

Cette page fournit des renseignements généraux. Elle n'est pas complète et ne remplace pas les renseignements contenus dans la Loi de 1996 sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux et la protection du public et les règlements connexes.

Les spiritueux vendus en Ontario ne sont pas tous assujettis aux taxes sur les spiritueux

Bien que le prix de détail (c. à d. les achats effectués dans un magasin de détail et non dans un établissement titulaire d'un permis d'alcool) d'un spiritueux en particulier soit le même qu'on l'achète dans une succursale de la Régie des alcools de l'Ontario (LCBO) ou dans l'un de ses magasins agences ou dans un magasin de détail de distillerie en Ontario, les taxes sur les spiritueux ne s'appliquent pas à tous les spiritueux vendus en Ontario.

Par exemple :

Les spiritueux achetés auprès d'une succursale de la LCBO ou auprès d'une personne l'ayant achetée auprès d'une succursale de la LCBO ne sont pas assujettis à la taxe sur les spiritueux, ni d'ailleurs ne sont les spiritueux achetés dans un établissement titulaire d'un permis d'alcool. Seuls les spiritueux achetés dans un magasin de détail de distillerie en Ontario sont assujettis aux taxes sur les spiritueux.

Exigences relatives aux prix taxes comprises

Les distilleries qui vendent des spiritueux dans un magasin de détail de distillerie en Ontario doivent mettre à la disposition des acheteurs, de la manière qu'approuve le ministre, les renseignements que précise ce dernier concernant le montant des taxes comprises dans le prix.

Renseignements concernant le montant de taxes comprises dans le prix : taxes sur les spiritueux indiquées sur les factures

Factures émises par la distillerie

Les distilleries qui vendent des spiritueux dans leur magasin de détail de distillerie peuvent indiquer sur la facture des acheteurs le montant des taxes payables sur les spiritueux.

Factures non émises par la distillerie

Lorsque la facture n'indique pas le montant des taxes payables sur les spiritueux, la section qui suit précise l'information que les distilleries qui vendent des spiritueux dans leur magasin de détail de distillerie doivent fournir aux clients, ainsi que le mode de communication de telle information.

Renseignements concernant le montant de taxes comprises dans le prix : taxes sur les spiritueux non indiquées sur les factures

Politique du ministère

Le ministère a approuvé les méthodes suivantes qu'il considère comme étant conformes aux exigences du paragraphe 65 (2) de la loi qui stipule que les renseignements concernant le montant des taxes comprises dans le prix doivent être mis à la disposition des acheteurs, et aux exigences relatives à la manière de communiquer tels renseignements.

Les distilleries qui vendent des spiritueux dans leur magasin de détail de distillerie doivent afficher, bien en évidence sur les lieux de vente des spiritueux, ou fournir aux acheteurs, un feuillet d'information précisant :

  • les taux de taxe sur les spiritueux en vigueur (taxe de base, taxe sur le volume et taxe écologique) applicables aux spiritueux et spiritueux panachés
  • l'information sur comment le prix de détail des spiritueux est déterminé en vertu de la loi, et
  • le lien vers le site Web du ministère, à l'adresse ontario.ca/finances pour obtenir plus de précisions.

Feuillet d'information pour les distilleries approuvé par le ministère : Feuillet d'information sur la taxe sur les spiritueux ‑ En vigueur le 1er juillet 2017

Demande d'interprétation écrite

Si les renseignements contenus ici ne répondent pas exactement à votre situation particulière, consultez la loi ou les règlements connexes, ou communiquez avec le ministère à l'adresse suivante :

Ministère des Finances
Services consultatifs
33, rue King Ouest, 3e étage
Oshawa ON L1H 1A1

Télécopieur : 905‑436‑4471

Pour plus de renseignements

Visitez ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le ministère des Finances à 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) ou 1‑800‑263‑7776 par téléimprimeur (ATS). On peut consulter, en ligne, la Loi de 1996 sur la réglementation des alcools et des jeux et la protection du public, ainsi que d'autres lois et règlements publics de l'Ontario, à l'adresse ontario.ca/lois-en-ligne.

Page : 3356  |